yes, therapy helps!
Psychosomatic disorders: causes, symptoms and treatment

Psychosomatic disorders: causes, symptoms and treatment

April 30, 2024

You've probably heard on occasion that a person's tension has gone up or that their hair is falling out due to anxiety. In these cases, it is considered that a mental phenomenon is the cause of a real physiological phenomenon .

These examples do not seem very important in terms of health, but in other cases more severe illnesses can be found, causing pain or discomfort or even incapacitating in some vital domain for the subject. Here we would be talking about a psychosomatic disorder .

  • Related article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"

When the disease is caused by the mind

Psychosomatic disorder means any disorder with a visible and medically verifiable correlate in the body that is caused and / or potentiated by psychic or mental elements. In other words, psychosomatic means any situation in which mental processes have a direct, concrete and easy to define on one or more areas of the body.


This means that there is no single psychosomatic disorder, but there is a wide variety of them depending on the type of physical symptoms and the system of the organism that presents damages.

The causes of this type of disorder are as we have said mentally, but there is no single process by which they are formed. In general they suppose the existence of a stress, anxiety, frustration or mental discomfort persistent over time, causing constant suffering, responding the body physically and causing real damage to him. Generally the damage is caused by the continued release of adrenaline and cortisol or the presence of deficits or excesses in the normal emission of neurotransmitters and hormones.


Disorders generated or accentuated by the psyche

Psychosomatic disorders are many and varied, and may affect different systems such as endocrine, cardiovascular, respiratory, digestive or immune.

Some of the main disorders that can occur or be aggravated largely due to psychic causes are the following.

  • Cardiopathies: angina pectoris, myocardial infarction.
  • Vascular alterations : arterial hypertension.
  • Pneumopathies: asthma.
  • Gastrointestinal disorders: peptic ulcer, irritable colitis colitis syndrome.
  • Metabolic disorders: diabetes mellitus.
  • Genitourinary: dysmenorrhea, polyuria.
  • Dermopathies : acne, eczema
  • Immunopathies: cancer, infectious diseases.

Differences between somatoform and psychosomatic disorders

Psychosomatic and somatoform disorders are often confused . However, we are facing different types of disorder, because despite agreeing on different fundamental and defining aspects, there is a main difference.


This difference is that while in somatoform disorders the patient suffers a series of symptoms of a physical or physiological type but that nevertheless do not have a physiological correlate in the form of tissue damage, in psychosomatic disorders there is visible and detectable damage in the body.

Thus, the main difference is that in psychosomatic disorders there is an organic damage or real physical illness while in the somatomorphs these are not visible , although in both cases there are symptoms of them and that also in both cases the problem is caused or potentiated by a psychic phenomenon.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Factitious Disorders: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Treatment of psychosomatic disorder

The treatment of psychosomatic disorders can be complex, and to achieve this it is necessary to have the participation of a multidisciplinary team, being especially necessary the participation of specialists in medicine and in psychology .

In general, the type of treatment will vary greatly depending on the type of pathology that is generated or enhanced. For example, an ulcer will have a different treatment than dysmenorrhea or an angina pectoris or an arrhythmia.

Pharmacological and medical intervention

At the pharmacological and medical level, the treatment will focus first on treating the presented symptomatology and the tissue damage from which it is derived. Given that anxiety and mood are linked to this type of disorders, the treatment of these aspects at the pharmacological level can also be very useful, although in this aspect the drugs usually have only a temporary effect and may reappear symptoms .

Psychological intervention

At a psychological level, it is basic that the patient is able to express the psychic motive for which he or she generates the symptoms, which will require the use of techniques dedicated to this purpose.It is recommended the use of those techniques used in the treatment of anxiety, stress and depression. In addition, it must take into account the type of condition generated and the effects that its existence may have psychically on the patient.

The realization of different relaxation techniques, the problem solving technique, the learning of different methods to tolerate and manage stress and anxiety, and even training in social skills (in cases where anxiety is exacerbated by a deficit) in this kind of skills), Cognitive restructuring in order to modify dysfunctional beliefs , systematic desensitization or psychodrama can be very helpful in order to improve the symptomatology.

The use of theatricalization in the form of role-playing, modeling or psychodrama is an element to be taken into account and can greatly contribute to the improvement of symptoms by allowing the subject to express or even become aware of the origin of his illness or the reason why it has been enhanced.

Also, the performance of moderate physical exercise (depending on the case, since if there is coronary disease, caution should be exercised in this aspect), the expression of conflicts or even elements such as aromatherapy can also be useful for this type of patient.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Bruceta, J.M .; Well, A.M .; More, B. (2000). Psychological intervention in health disorders. Dykinson.
  • Sandín, B. (1993). Stress and Health: Factors that intervene in the relationship between stress and physical illness. Madrid: Pyramid.

Somatic Symptom Disorders Part II: Core Features and Treatment (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Troubles psychosomatiques: causes, symptômes et traitement

Troubles psychosomatiques: causes, symptômes et traitement

Septembre 12, 2022

Vous avez probablement entendu à l'occasion que la tension d'une personne a augmenté ou que ses cheveux tombent en raison de l'anxiété. Dans ces cas, on considère que un phénomène mental est la cause d'un vrai phénomène physiologique .

Ces exemples ne semblent pas très importants du point de vue de la santé, mais dans d'autres cas, des maladies plus graves peuvent être découvertes, provoquant une douleur ou un inconfort, voire une incapacité dans un domaine vital du sujet. Ici nous parlerions d'un trouble psychosomatique .

  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"

Quand la maladie est causée par l'esprit

Par trouble psychosomatique, on entend tout trouble avec un corrélat visible et médicalement vérifiable dans le corps, causé et / ou potentialisé par des éléments psychiques ou mentaux. En d'autres termes, psychosomatique signifie toute situation dans laquelle les processus mentaux ont une action directe, concrète et facile à définir sur une ou plusieurs zones du corps.


Cela suppose que il n'y a pas de trouble psychosomatique unique, mais il en existe une grande variété en fonction du type de symptômes physiques et du système de l'organisme qui présente des dommages.

Les causes de ce type de trouble sont, comme nous l’avons dit mentalement, mais il n’existe pas de processus unique permettant de les former. En général ils supposent l'existence d'un stress, d'une anxiété, d'une frustration ou d'un malaise mental persistant dans le temps, causant des souffrances constantes, réagissant physiquement au corps et lui causant de réels dommages. Généralement, les dommages sont causés par la libération continue d'adrénaline et de cortisol ou par la présence de déficits ou d'excès dans l'émission normale de neurotransmetteurs et d'hormones.


Troubles générés ou accentués par la psyché

Les troubles psychosomatiques sont nombreux et variés et peuvent affecter différents systèmes tels que le système endocrinien, cardiovasculaire, respiratoire, digestif ou immunitaire.

Les principaux désordres qui peuvent survenir ou être aggravés en grande partie par des causes psychiques sont les suivants.

  • Cardiopathies: angine de poitrine, infarctus du myocarde.
  • Altérations vasculaires : hypertension.
  • Pneumopathies: asthme.
  • Troubles gastro-intestinaux: ulcère peptique, syndrome de colite irritable.
  • Troubles métaboliques: diabète sucré.
  • Appareil génito-urinaire: dysménorrhée, polyurie.
  • Dermopathies : acné, eczéma
  • Immunopathies: cancer, maladies infectieuses.

Différences entre les troubles somatoformes et psychosomatiques

Les troubles psychosomatiques et somatoformes sont souvent confondus . Cependant, nous sommes confrontés à différents types de désordres, car, même s’ils s’accordent sur différents aspects fondamentaux et déterminants, il existe une différence principale.


Cette différence est que, dans les troubles somatoformes, le patient présente une série de symptômes de type physique ou physiologique mais n’ayant pas de corrélation physiologique sous la forme de lésions tissulaires, il existe des dommages visibles et détectables dans le corps.

Ainsi, la principale différence est que, dans les troubles psychosomatiques, il existe un dommage organique ou une maladie physique réelle dans les somatomorphes ceux-ci ne sont pas visibles , bien que dans les deux cas, ils présentent des symptômes et que, dans les deux cas également, le problème soit causé ou aggravé par un phénomène psychique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Troubles factices: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Traitement de trouble psychosomatique

Le traitement des troubles psychosomatiques peut être complexe et, pour ce faire, il est nécessaire de faire appel à une équipe multidisciplinaire, particulièrement nécessaire. la participation de spécialistes en médecine et en psychologie .

En général, le type de traitement variera considérablement en fonction du type de pathologie générée ou améliorée. Par exemple, un ulcère aura un traitement différent de celui de la dysménorrhée ou de l’angine de poitrine ou de l’arythmie.

Intervention pharmacologique et médicale

Sur le plan pharmacologique et médical, le traitement portera d’abord sur la symptomatologie présentée et les lésions tissulaires qui en découlent. Étant donné que l’anxiété et l’humeur sont liées à ce type de troubles, le traitement de ces aspects au niveau pharmacologique peut également être très utile, bien que dans cet aspect les médicaments n'a habituellement qu'un effet temporaire et peut réapparaître des symptômes .

Intervention psychologique

Au niveau psychologique, il est fondamental que le patient puisse exprimer le motif psychique pour lequel il génère les symptômes, ce qui nécessitera l’utilisation de techniques dédiées à cette fin.Il est recommandé d'utiliser les techniques utilisées dans le traitement de l'anxiété, du stress et de la dépression. En outre, il doit prendre en compte le type d’état généré et les effets que son existence peut avoir psychiquement sur le patient.

La réalisation de différentes techniques de relaxation, la technique de résolution de problèmes, l’apprentissage de différentes méthodes pour tolérer et gérer le stress et l’anxiété, voire l’acquisition de compétences sociales (dans les cas où l’anxiété est exacerbée par un déficit) dans ce genre de compétences), Restructuration cognitive afin de modifier les croyances dysfonctionnelles , une désensibilisation systématique ou un psychodrame peuvent être très utiles pour améliorer la symptomatologie.

L’utilisation de la théâtralisation sous forme de jeu de rôle, de modélisation ou le psychodrame est un élément à prendre en compte et peut grandement contribuer à l’amélioration des symptômes en permettant au sujet d’exprimer ou même de prendre conscience de l’origine de sa maladie ou des raisons pour lesquelles elle a été renforcée.

En outre, la pratique d'exercices physiques modérés (selon le cas, car en cas de maladie coronarienne, il faut être prudent à cet égard), l'expression de conflits ou même d'éléments tels que l'aromathérapie peut également être utile pour ce type de patient.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Bruceta, J. M.; Eh bien, A.M; Plus, B. (2000). Intervention psychologique dans les troubles de la santé. Dykinson.
  • Sandín, B. (1993). Stress et santé: Facteurs intervenant dans la relation entre stress et maladie physique. Madrid: pyramide.

Troubles psychosomatiques (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes