yes, therapy helps!
Psychotherapy and mediation: similarities and differences

Psychotherapy and mediation: similarities and differences

November 27, 2021

That mediation is not therapy is known, although both have aspects in common. In the following lines we will see exactly what they are the similarities and differences between group psychotherapy and mediation , and the way in which these two disciplines help us face everyday problems.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

The similarities between mediation and psychotherapy

To have a better understanding of the aspects that differentiate both disciplines, it is necessary to consider their common aspects. Thus, taking as a reference the treatment of family conflict, there would be two levels of intervention: family therapy and family mediation . In each of them, the role of the professional (psychotherapist and mediator) is to facilitate communication. Each of these contexts develops its particular process of intervention.


At first glance, both when we intervene in family therapy and when we intervene in family mediation, we are working with part or all of the members of the family group, with which a priori seems to share the same objective: promote the welfare of its members . Each of these interventions is carried out in a confidentiality framework and employs a set of techniques and tools to achieve its objectives.

Adjusting a little more the look, the therapeutic approach (therapy or family psychotherapy), addresses two fundamental questions: the treatment of emotional disorders . He works with a primary natural group, the family, and in this area of ​​intervention, the family is seen as an "all-system". According to this, its objective would be to restore health and create a new way of conceptualizing the relationship with the environment .


On the other hand, the mediational approach addresses the voluntary conflict management procedure , in which the parties request the intervention of a mediator, which must be professional, impartial, objective and neutral. He works with groups of people without the capacity to freely make decisions about how to relate to the rest of the group, and intervenes with all or some members of the family, depending on the type of conflict.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Group therapy: history, types and phases"

The differences

What aspects mark the difference between therapy and mediation? Let's see them

1. Different objectives

The therapy has as a specific objective the improvement of health, favoring psychological well-being and contributing to the improvement of relationships. Mediation seeks to improve communication , favoring the resolution of differences generating solutions to the same, and reaching an agreement between the parties in conflict. And in turn, without being considered among its objectives, mediation has a "therapeutic effect", from the moment in which emotional expression and management is facilitated.


In the process of mediation, the mediator intervenes by managing the emotions, so that they do not interfere with communication, thus favoring the search for alternatives and solutions that may culminate in an agreement reached by the parties in conflict. From the moment in the mediation process we favor emotional relief , we are facilitating a "therapeutic effect" in people. But this is not the ultimate goal of this type of intervention.

On the other hand, mediation is a structured process, a priori focused on a task: find the solution to a series of aspects in dispute, agree on an agreement in the form of a written document. This document can reach a "legal" or "quasi-legal" nature, resolving and reaching legal and emotional agreements.

In mediation we work with people, with their relationship, with their problem . This leads us to consider an open and fluid intervention structure, in which flexibility is the sustaining axis of the process, thus facilitating the work of emotions and feelings, its aeration, and identification, allowing the definition of the problem and a more adequate understanding of the psychological conflict .

2. The information with which you work

Another differentiating aspect between both interventions is the amount of information to be collected. In therapy, it is essential to gather information about the patient's current and past data and / or the relationship (clinical or family history). In mediation only the information referred to the conflict is collected. Excess information is considered to affect impartiality and objectivity of the mediation professional.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 types of conflicts and how to solve them"

3. The importance of impartiality

The role of the psychologist-mediator is based on carrying out his know-how, achieving balance between the conflicting parties , and for this, it is crucial that they perceive it as objective, neutral and impartial, leading the mediation process, facilitating communication between them and favoring communication channels.

The role of psychologist-therapist is based on the analysis of behavior, offering guidelines and alternatives, seeking to restore health and psychological well-being. Normally you do not need to take so many precautions to not seem biased towards one of the "sides".

Family mediation is an opportunity to face family conflicts, in which the parties voluntarily pursue the search for solutions to their conflict, resolving it through dialogue and communication; and assuming the responsibility of resolving their differences by reaching an agreement that they agree to comply with.

The mediator task facilitates a helping relationship that encourages the expression of emotions and feelings . In addition, it helps to clarify the needs of the parties in conflict, helping them to distance themselves from the problem and focusing them towards the solution. Mediation offers you the opportunity to experience and nurture the healthy components of the relationship.

Mediating psychologists

The figure of the psychologist-mediator, is configured with a training that allows him to act in both areas , marking in each case the need to intervene in one context or another according to the need of the case.

Thus, it will manage the referral to therapy taking into account the interest of the parties or the objectives they intend to achieve in the process. It will focus the "rules of the game" to be followed in the intervention, refraining from inducing any result not contemplated in the feeling or will of the parties.

Luisa Pérez, Psychology and Mediation


Guided Meditation for Releasing Subconscious Blockages (Sleep Meditation for Clearing Negativity) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychothérapie et médiation: similitudes et différences

Psychothérapie et médiation: similitudes et différences

Septembre 14, 2022

On ne sait pas si la médiation est thérapeutique, bien que les deux aient des points communs. Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons exactement ce qu'ils sont les similitudes et les différences entre la psychothérapie de groupe et la médiation et la manière dont ces deux disciplines nous aident à faire face aux problèmes quotidiens.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Les similitudes entre médiation et psychothérapie

Pour mieux comprendre les aspects qui différencient les deux disciplines, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte leurs aspects communs. Ainsi, en prenant comme référence le traitement des conflits familiaux, il y aurait deux niveaux d’intervention: thérapie familiale et médiation familiale . Dans chacun d’eux, le rôle du professionnel (psychothérapeute et médiateur) est de faciliter la communication. Chacun de ces contextes développe son processus d’intervention particulier.


À première vue, que nous intervenions en thérapie familiale ou en médiation familiale, nous travaillons avec une partie ou la totalité des membres du groupe familial, avec lequel a priori semble partager le même objectif: promouvoir le bien-être de ses membres . Chacune de ces interventions est réalisée dans un cadre de confidentialité et utilise un ensemble de techniques et d’outils pour atteindre ses objectifs.

En ajustant un peu plus le look, l'approche thérapeutique (thérapie ou psychothérapie familiale) répond à deux questions fondamentales: le traitement des troubles émotionnels . Il travaille avec un groupe naturel primaire, la famille, et dans ce domaine d'intervention, la famille est considérée comme un "système global". Selon cet objectif, son objectif serait de rétablir la santé et la créer une nouvelle façon de conceptualiser la relation avec l'environnement .


Pour sa part, l'approche médiatique aborde la procédure de gestion volontaire des conflits , dans lequel les parties sollicitent l’intervention d’un médiateur, qui doit être professionnel, impartial, objectif et neutre. Il travaille avec des groupes de personnes incapables de décider librement de leurs relations avec le reste du groupe et intervient auprès de tout ou partie des membres de la famille, en fonction du type de conflit.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Thérapie de groupe: histoire, types et phases"

Les différences

Quels aspects marquent la différence entre thérapie et médiation? Voyons les

1. Objectifs différents

La thérapie a pour objectif spécifique d'améliorer la santé, de favoriser le bien-être psychologique et de contribuer à l'amélioration des relations. La médiation cherche à améliorer la communication , en favorisant la résolution des différends générant des solutions, et en parvenant à un accord entre les parties en conflit. Et à son tour, sans être considérée parmi ses objectifs, la médiation a un "effet thérapeutique", à partir du moment où l’expression et la gestion émotionnelles sont facilitées.


Dans le processus de médiation, le médiateur intervient en gérant les émotions afin qu'elles ne nuisent pas à la communication, favorisant ainsi la recherche d'alternatives et de solutions pouvant aboutir à un accord entre les parties en conflit. A partir du moment de la médiation nous privilégions le soulagement émotionnel , nous facilitons un "effet thérapeutique" chez les personnes. Mais ce n'est pas le but ultime de ce type d'intervention.

En revanche, la médiation est un processus structuré, axé a priori sur une tâche: trouver la solution à une série d’aspects en litige, convenir d’un accord sous la forme d'un document écrit. Ce document peut revêtir un caractère «juridique» ou «quasi juridique», résolvant et concluant des accords juridiques et émotionnels.

En médiation, nous travaillons avec des personnes, avec leurs relations, avec leur problème . Cela nous conduit à envisager une structure d’intervention ouverte et fluide, dans laquelle la flexibilité est l’axe de soutien du processus, facilitant ainsi le travail des émotions et des sentiments, son aération et son identification, permettant ainsi de définir le problème et de mieux comprendre le conflit psychologique .

2. Les informations avec lesquelles vous travaillez

Un autre aspect différenciant les deux interventions est la quantité d'informations à collecter. En thérapie, il est essentiel de recueillir des informations sur les données actuelles et passées du patient et / ou sur la relation (antécédents cliniques ou familiaux). En médiation, seules les informations relatives au conflit sont collectées. L'excès d'informations est considéré comme affectant l'impartialité et l'objectivité du professionnel de la médiation.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 11 types de conflits et comment les résoudre"

3. L'importance de l'impartialité

Le rôle du psychologue-médiateur est basé sur la réalisation de son savoir-faire, parvenir à un équilibre entre les parties en conflit et pour cela, il est crucial qu'ils le perçoivent comme objectif, neutre et impartial, menant le processus de médiation, facilitant la communication entre eux et favorisant les canaux de communication.

Le rôle du psychologue-thérapeute est basé sur l'analyse du comportement, offrant des lignes directrices et des alternatives, visant à restaurer la santé et le bien-être psychologique. Normalement, vous n'avez pas besoin de prendre autant de précautions pour ne pas paraître biaisé vers l'un des "côtés".

La médiation familiale est une occasion de faire face aux conflits familiaux, dans lesquels les parties poursuivent volontairement la recherche de solutions à leur conflit, en le résolvant par le dialogue et la communication; et assumer la responsabilité de résoudre leurs différends en parvenant à un accord qu’ils s’engagent à respecter.

La tâche du médiateur facilite une relation d'aide qui encourage l'expression d'émotions et de sentiments . En outre, cela aide à clarifier les besoins des parties en conflit, en les aidant à se distancer du problème et en les orientant vers la solution. La médiation vous offre la possibilité d’expérimenter et de développer les composantes saines de la relation.

Psychologues médiateurs

La figure du psychologue-médiateur, est configurée avec une formation qui lui permet d’agir dans les deux domaines , marquant dans chaque cas la nécessité d’intervenir dans tel ou tel contexte en fonction des besoins de l’affaire.

Ainsi, il gérera l’aiguillage vers une thérapie en tenant compte de l’intérêt des parties ou des objectifs qu’elles entendent atteindre au cours du processus. Il se concentrera sur les "règles du jeu" à suivre dans l'intervention, en s'abstenant de tout résultat non prévu dans le sentiment ou la volonté des parties.

Luisa Pérez, psychologie et médiation


DMT La molécule de l'esprit - VOSTFR (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes