yes, therapy helps!
Psychotherapy through video games: is it effective?

Psychotherapy through video games: is it effective?

May 10, 2021

The videogame is a sector in constant development and with almost infinite future possibilities . While in the beginning videogames consisted of simple codes that executed very simple commands, at present the level of recreation of reality is impressive and, nevertheless, it continues to evolve in leaps and bounds.

If we add to this factor the commercialization and the increasingly massive development of Virtual Reality products, we have a really interesting cocktail to start producing Videogames dedicated exclusively to a therapeutic practice or, at least, to use the existing means to perform some types of therapy under the supervision of a professional duly trained in the subject.


The therapeutic potential of the video game

In a previous article we talked about the educational use that could have a genre of video games, with great projection, called sandbox. This genus especially has great qualities to be used, also, as a tool to carry out therapies of different types, such as cognitive rehabilitation therapies.

The key element that this genre of videogames possesses is the freedom of action within a world that, in general, simulates the real world. This element is enhanced its action if we also add social game functionalities that, for the mere fact of promoting the social relationship, already assumes a therapeutic element, as we saw in a previous article in which we analyzed the therapeutic possibilities of Pokémon Go .


The power of virtual worlds in videogames

The human mind is capable of performing amazing feats, and among all of them, the ability to establish emotional and intellectual connections with virtual worlds opens the possibility of performing a myriad of therapeutic practices that would not be possible if the video game industry were not at the point where it is.

The capacity for empathy that we have as humans allows us to enter the virtual worlds that videogames offer at a very high level, especially if we add the new techniques of Virtual Reality that greatly enhance the player's immersion in the game, making the sensation to be inside him is amazing. This opens a new way of possibilities to perform psychotherapy, allowing the user to enter a world in which we establish the desired parameters so that their experience is enriching and therapeutic according to the contexts.


As an example of this, there are more and more experiments carried out with this theme, and the results in the vast majority of studies show great potential from videogames in the methodology of therapy .

Some examples of video games with therapeutic potential

A good example of this type of studies is the one carried out by Llorens et al. (2015), in which they performed group therapy based on video games in individuals suffering from some type of traumatic brain injury. One hour per week for six months, this group carried out a type of therapy designed by the authors, and the results showed that it was a very effective and motivating experience, since they substantially improved self-awareness , social skills and their behaviors, taking into account that they were patients with traumatic brain injuries.

Another interesting study is carried out by Fernandez-Aranda et al. (2015) in which videogames were tested as a tool to perform cognitive-behavioral therapy in patients with bulimia nervosa. In this study it was proved how cognitive-behavioral therapy, together with the so-called serious games, could be of great help in the emotional deregulation of patients. Making use of both, they observed that patients with bulimia nervosa suffered less abandonment and greater remission of symptoms, both partial and total, in comparison to the control group that only performed cognitive behavioral therapy without the support of the video game.

On the other hand, studies like those of Krzywinska (2015), Younbo et al. (2015), Servais (2015) or Smethhurst (2015), show us that videogames can be used by therapists to enhance the insight of patients and get more in-depth information about their person, especially in videogames survival horror, first person shooters Y role playing games, since they deal with topics that in many cases are taboo, such as funerals, death and even trauma. Under a therapeutic context, the immersion of the patient within these virtual worlds where these issues are treated can provide valuable information that could otherwise be much more difficult to achieve.

Finally, a study carried out by Sevick et al. (2016) in which they performed a type of movement therapy in the upper extremities in patients with cerebral palsy, using video games and the Microsoft Kinect movement sensor. In this studio observed that the levels of motivation in performing the exercises were considerably higher when they made use of this platform that integrates video games and movement, thus obtaining greater performance and the possibility of transferring the intervention to the patients' home, due to the high performance compared to the exercises performed in the clinical center or laboratory.

Concluding

As we see, the results of these studies show the great utility that videogames can have in psychotherapy and counseling, thus increasing the range of tools that the therapist can use, since, like the technique of the chair empty or of the exhibition, They offer new possibilities that should not be overlooked despite the skepticism that exists in this new paradigm . All these studies discover a new world in the application of video games to perform therapies and treatments of all kinds, as long as the use is supervised by professionals trained in the field.

Emphasizing the importance in the early stages of life development, video games are a tool with great expectations for the future, especially if we take into account the speed at which the videogame sector evolves and the new platforms that develop in parallel, such as Reality Virtual or motion sensors, which open even more a range of possibilities, which in itself is very interesting and which should be taken into account much more given its characteristics.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fernandez-Aranda, F., Jimenez-Murcia, S., Santamaria, J.J., Giner-Bartolomé, C., Mestre-Bach, G., Barn, R., etal. (2015). The use of videogames as a complementary therapeutic tool for cognitive behavioral therapy in bulimia nervosa patients. Cyberpsychol Behav. Soc. Netw. 18, pp. 744-751.
  • Krzywinska, T. (2015). Gaming horror's horror: representation, regulation, and affect in survival horror videogames. J. Vis. Cult. 14, pp. 293-297.
  • Llorens, R., Noé, E., Ferri, J., and Alcañiz, M. (2015). Videogame-based group therapy to improve self-awareness and social skills after traumatic brain injury. J. Neuroengineering Rehabil. 12, pp. 1 - 8.
  • Servais, O. (2015). Funerals in the 'World of Warcraft's: religion, polemic, and styles of play in a videogame universe. Soc. Compass 62, pp. 362-378.
  • Sevick, M., Eklund, E., Mensch, A., Foreman, M., Standeven, J., & Engsberg, J. (2016). Using Free Internet Videogames in Upper Extremity Motor Training for Children with Cerebral Palsy. Behavioral Sciences, 6 (2), 10.
  • Smethhurst, T. (2015). Playing dead in videogames: traumain limbo. J. Pop. Cult. 48, pp. 817-835.
  • Younbo, J., Hyun Jee, O., Sng, J., Joung Huem, K., and Detenber, B. H. (2015). Revisiting gender preference for a first-person shooter videogame: effects of non-verbal sensitivity and gender on enjoyment. Interact. Comput. 27, pp. 697 - 705.

Psychotherapy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La psychothérapie par le jeu vidéo: est-ce efficace?

La psychothérapie par le jeu vidéo: est-ce efficace?

Juillet 9, 2020

Le jeu vidéo est un secteur en constante évolution et avec des possibilités d’avenir presque infinies . Alors qu'au début, les jeux vidéo consistaient en des codes simples exécutant des commandes très simples, le niveau de reproduction de la réalité est impressionnant et continue néanmoins d'évoluer à pas de géant.

Si nous ajoutons à ce facteur la commercialisation et le développement de plus en plus massif des produits de réalité virtuelle, nous avons un cocktail vraiment intéressant pour commencer à produire Jeux vidéo dédiés exclusivement à une pratique thérapeutique ou, au moins, utiliser les moyens existants pour effectuer certains types de thérapie sous la supervision d'un professionnel dûment formé à ce sujet.


Le potentiel thérapeutique du jeu vidéo

Dans un article précédent, nous avons parlé de l'utilisation éducative qui pourrait avoir un genre de jeux vidéo, avec une grande projection, appelé bac à sable. Ce genre en particulier a de grandes qualités à utiliser, également, comme outil pour effectuer des thérapies de différents types, telles que les thérapies de réadaptation cognitive.

L'élément clé de ce genre de jeux vidéo est la liberté d'action dans un monde qui, en général, simule le monde réel. Cet élément est renforcé son action si nous ajoutons également des fonctionnalités de jeu social qui, pour le seul fait de promouvoir le lien social, suppose déjà un élément thérapeutique, comme nous l'avons vu dans un article précédent dans lequel nous avons analysé les possibilités thérapeutiques. de Pokémon Go .


La puissance des mondes virtuels dans les jeux vidéo

L'esprit humain est capable d'exécuter des exploits incroyables et, parmi tous, la capacité d'établir des connexions émotionnelles et intellectuelles avec des mondes virtuels ouvre la possibilité d'effectuer une multitude de pratiques thérapeutiques qui ne seraient pas possibles si l'industrie du jeu vidéo n'était pas au point où il est.

La capacité d'empathie que nous avons en tant qu'humain nous permet d'entrer dans les mondes virtuels proposés par les jeux vidéo à un très haut niveau, en particulier si nous ajoutons les nouvelles techniques de réalité virtuelle qui améliorent grandement l'immersion du joueur dans le jeu, ce qui fait sensation être en lui est incroyable. Cela ouvre une nouvelle voie aux possibilités de réaliser une psychothérapie, permettant à l'utilisateur d'entrer dans un monde dans lequel nous établissons les paramètres souhaités pour que son expérience soit enrichissante et thérapeutique en fonction des contextes.


À titre d’exemple, de plus en plus d’expériences sont menées sur ce thème, et les résultats dans la grande majorité des études montrent un grand potentiel des jeux vidéo dans la méthodologie de la thérapie .

Quelques exemples de jeux vidéo à potentiel thérapeutique

Un bon exemple de ce type d'études est celui mené par Llorens et al. (2015), dans le cadre desquels ils ont réalisé une thérapie de groupe basée sur les jeux vidéo chez des individus souffrant d'un type de lésion cérébrale traumatique. Une heure par semaine pendant six mois, ce groupe a mis au point un type de thérapie conçu par les auteurs, et les résultats ont montré qu'il s'agissait d'une expérience très efficace et très motivante, dans la mesure où ils ont considérablement amélioré la conscience de soi , compétences sociales et leurs comportements, en tenant compte du fait qu’il s’agissait de patients atteints de lésions cérébrales traumatiques.

Une autre étude intéressante est réalisée par Fernandez-Aranda et al. (2015) dans lesquels des jeux vidéo ont été testés en tant qu'outil pour effectuer une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale chez des patients atteints de boulimie mentale. Dans cette étude, il a été prouvé que la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, associée aux jeux sérieux, pouvait être d'une grande aide dans la dérégulation émotionnelle des patients. En utilisant les deux, ils ont observé que les patients atteints de boulimie nerveuse subissaient moins d'abandons et une plus grande rémission des symptômes, partiels et totaux, par rapport au groupe témoin qui n'effectuait qu'une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale sans l'aide du jeu vidéo.

Par contre, des études comme celles de Krzywinska (2015), Younbo et al. (2015), Servais (2015) ou Smethhurst (2015), nous montrent que les thérapeutes peuvent utiliser les jeux vidéo pour améliorer la compréhension des patients et obtenir des informations plus détaillées sur leur personne, en particulier dans les jeux vidéo. horreur de survie, tir à la première personne et jeux de rôle, car ils traitent de sujets qui sont souvent tabous, comme les funérailles, la mort et même les traumatismes. Dans un contexte thérapeutique, l'immersion du patient dans ces mondes virtuels où ces problèmes sont traités peut fournir des informations précieuses qui pourraient autrement être beaucoup plus difficiles à obtenir.

Enfin, une étude réalisée par Sevick et al. (2016) dans lesquels ils ont effectué une thérapie de mouvement dans les membres supérieurs chez des patients atteints de paralysie cérébrale, à l'aide de jeux vidéo et du capteur de mouvement Microsoft Kinect. Dans cette étude observé que les niveaux de motivation à effectuer les exercices étaient considérablement plus élevés lorsqu’ils ont utilisé cette plate-forme qui intègre les jeux vidéo et le mouvement, obtenant ainsi de meilleures performances et la possibilité de transférer l’intervention chez le patient, en raison de sa haute performance par rapport aux exercices réalisés en centre clinique ou en laboratoire.

En conclusion

Comme nous le voyons, les résultats de ces études montrent la grande utilité que les jeux vidéo peuvent avoir pour la psychothérapie et le conseil, augmentant ainsi la gamme d’outils pouvant être utilisés par le thérapeute, puisque, comme la technique de la chaise vide ou de l'exposition, Ils offrent de nouvelles possibilités à ne pas négliger malgré le scepticisme qui règne dans ce nouveau paradigme. . Toutes ces études découvrent un nouveau monde dans l'application des jeux vidéo pour réaliser des thérapies et des traitements de toutes sortes, pour autant que leur utilisation soit supervisée par des professionnels formés sur le terrain.

Soulignant l’importance des débuts de la vie, les jeux vidéo sont un outil qui a de grandes attentes pour l’avenir, surtout si l’on prend en compte la vitesse à laquelle évolue le secteur du jeu vidéo et les nouvelles plateformes qui se développent en parallèle, telles que Reality. Les capteurs virtuels ou de mouvement, qui ouvrent encore plus un éventail de possibilités, ce qui en soi est très intéressant et qu’il faudrait prendre en compte beaucoup plus compte tenu de ses caractéristiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fernandez-Aranda, F., S. Jiménez-Murcia, J. J. Santamaria, C., Giner-Bartolomé, G. Mestre-Bach, R. Barn et al. (2015). Utilisation des jeux vidéo comme outil thérapeutique complémentaire pour la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale chez les patients atteints de boulimie nerveuse. Cyberpsychol Comportement Soc. 18, pp. 744-751.
  • Krzywinska, T. (2015). L'horreur des jeux d'horreur: représentation, réglementation et influence dans les jeux vidéo d'horreur de survie. J. Vis. Cult. 14, pp. 293-297.
  • Llorens, R., Noé, E., Ferri, J. et Alcañiz, M. (2015). Thérapie de groupe basée sur le jeu vidéo pour améliorer la conscience de soi et les compétences sociales après une lésion cérébrale traumatique. J. Neuroengineering Rehabil. 12, pp. 1 - 8.
  • Servais, O. (2015). Funérailles dans World of Warcraft: religion, polémique et styles de jeu dans un univers de jeu vidéo. Soc Compass 62, pp. 362-378.
  • Sevick, M., E. Eklund, A. Mensch, M. Foreman, M., J. Standeven et J. Engsberg (2016). Utilisation des jeux vidéo Internet gratuits dans la formation motrice des membres supérieurs pour les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale. Sciences du comportement, 6 (2), 10.
  • Smethhurst, T. (2015). Jouer à mort dans les jeux vidéo: traumain limbo. J. Pop. Cult. 48, pp. 817-835.
  • Younbo, J., Hyun Jee, O., Sng, J., Joung Huem, K. et Detenber, B.H. (2015). Revisiter la préférence de genre pour un jeu vidéo de tir à la première personne: effets de la sensibilité non-verbale et du genre sur le plaisir. Interact. Comput. 27, pp. 697 - 705.

La psychothérapie par le jeu chez l'enfant (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes