yes, therapy helps!
Purkinje neurons: their functions and characteristics

Purkinje neurons: their functions and characteristics

June 24, 2024

It is estimated that, at the time of our birth, we have approximately 80 million neurons or brain cells. Thanks to the activity of these, our nervous system is able to operate at full power.

One of the types of neurons that inhabit our brain are neurons or Purkinje cells . Throughout this article we will explain what these neurons consist of, how they work and what they are for, as well as the pathologies associated with them.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

What are Purkinje neurons?

Purkinje cells or neurons are named after the anatomist, physiologist and botanist of Czech origin Jan Evangelista Purkyne, discoverer of these elements. These large cells are found in all invertebrate animals , are a type of GABAergic neuron and constitute the functional units of the cerebellum.


After its discovery, there have been many researchers who have tried to decipher the enigmas of this neuron. The well-known scientists Camillo Golgi and Santiago Ramón y Cajal, spent years of their lives studying these cells . Thanks to these investigations, we currently have practically absolute knowledge about the anatomy and structure of Purkinje neurons, as well as the details and specific functions of these.

Although they are mainly found in the cerebellar cortex, forming the Purkinje layer between the molecular layer and the granular layer, They can also be found in the myocardium, that is, in the muscular part of the heart .


The connections of the Purkinje cells

Only about 30 million are found in the cerebellum of neurons of this type, each of which is linked to around one million nerve endings of another type of different cell. These cells to which the Purkinje neurons are attached are classified into two types:

Mossy cells

They come from the brainstem and the spinal cord. As they are closer to the Purkinje neurons, they branch off into fibers that lie parallel to each other.

Climbing cells

They ascend from the medulla oblongata and the brainstem . However, this type of climbing cells only bind to a single Purkinje neuron.

What is the structure of these nerve cells?

As discussed above, Purkinje neurons are one of the largest cells found in our brain. Its dendritic axis is extremely complex and it is distinguished by presenting a large number of entangled dendritic spines.


These cells are placed facing each other, as if they were the dominoes, forming layers between which the parallel fibers that come from the deeper layers transit.

Through the synapses, the parallel fibers transmit excitatory impulses of weak potential to the dendritic spines of Purkinje neurons . However, the impulses of those ascending fibers that come from the inferior olivary nucleus of the marrow emit excitatory impulses of great intensity. In addition, these parallel fibers circulate at right angles through the dendritic axis of the Purkinje cell. These fibers, which can be counted in hundreds of thousands, form synapses with a single neuron of this type.

Finally, Purkinje neurons transmit projections of inhibitory fibers to the deep cerebellar nuclei, constituting the only way of escape from the cerebellar cortex with effects on motor coordination.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What functions do they have?

Purkinje neurons they exert their effects through the use of electrophysiological activity . This type of activity can occur in two different ways, depending on whether the spikes of the neuron are simple or complex.

1. Activity in simple spikes

The electrophysiological activity rate of simple spikes oscillates between 17 and 150 Hz . This activity may appear spontaneously or at times when Purkinje neurons are activated by parallel fibers.

2. Activity in complex spikes

In the case of complex spikes, the intensity slows considerably, oscillating between 1 and 3 Hz of power.

The complex spikes are distinguished by having a long initial spike of high amplitude, which follows a high frequency shot but with a lower amplitude. These bursts of electrical activity are caused by the activation of the climbing fibers , named above.

What is known about them through investigations

Sodium and calcium play a fundamental role in the electrophysiological activity of Purkinje neurons and, therefore, in the correct function of the cerebellum.In addition, in recent years it has been revealed that the stimulation of climbing fibers triggers an alteration in the activity of the cell, going from a state of rest to an active one and vice versa) as if it were a kind of button or button.

However, the results of these investigations have been widely debated. The reason is that the data obtained in other studies point to the idea that these alterations in activity only occur when the person or animal is anesthetized; whereas if they are awake, Purkinje neurons always function in a state of complete activity.

Finally, the results extracted from recent research suggest that Purkinje neurons have the ability to discharge endocannabinoid substances that can reduce the potential of synapses, both excitatory and inhibitory.

Pathologies and associated diseases

Since Purkinje neurons are found in both animals and humans, there are a variety of factors that can cause specific and specific anomalies for each species.

In the case of people, there are a large number of causes that can cause the deterioration or injury of Purkinje neurons. Genetic alterations, autoimmune or neurodegenerative diseases and toxic elements present in certain substances such as lithium, can cause serious damage to this type of cells.

In addition, in Alzheimer's disease, a decrease in the dendritic branches of these neurons has been described.

On the other hand, in the animal world there is a strange condition that causes atrophy and malfunction of these neurons after birth. This disease known as cerebellar abiotrophy is distinguished by a large number of symptoms, among which are:

  • Hyperactivity
  • Lack of reflexes .
  • Lack of ability to perceive space and distances.
  • Ataxia.
  • Shudder.

In the case of cerebellar hypoplasia , Purkinje neurons have not finished developing or die when the small one is still in the maternal womb.


The Cerebellum (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones de Purkinje: leurs fonctions et caractéristiques

Neurones de Purkinje: leurs fonctions et caractéristiques

Novembre 17, 2019

On estime qu'au moment de notre naissance, nous avons environ 80 millions de neurones ou cellules cérébrales. Grâce à leur activité, notre système nerveux est capable de fonctionner à pleine puissance.

Un des types de neurones qui habitent notre cerveau sont neurones ou cellules de Purkinje . Tout au long de cet article, nous expliquerons en quoi consistent ces neurones, comment ils fonctionnent et à quoi ils servent, ainsi que les pathologies qui leur sont associées.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Que sont les neurones de Purkinje?

Les cellules ou neurones de Purkinje sont nommés d'après l'anatomiste, physiologiste et botaniste d'origine tchèque Jan Evangelista Purkyne, découvreur de ces éléments. Ces grandes cellules se retrouvent chez tous les animaux invertébrés , sont un type de neurone GABAergique et constituent les unités fonctionnelles du cervelet.


Après sa découverte, de nombreux chercheurs ont tenté de déchiffrer les énigmes de ce neurone. Les scientifiques réputés Camillo Golgi et Santiago Ramón y Cajal ont passé des années à étudier ces cellules . Grâce à ces recherches, nous disposons actuellement de connaissances pratiquement absolues sur l'anatomie et la structure des neurones de Purkinje, ainsi que sur les détails et les fonctions spécifiques de ceux-ci.

Bien qu'ils se trouvent principalement dans le cortex cérébelleux, ils forment la couche de Purkinje entre la couche moléculaire et la couche granulaire, On les trouve également dans le myocarde, c’est-à-dire dans la partie musculaire du cœur. .


Les connexions des cellules de Purkinje

Environ 30 millions seulement se trouvent dans le cervelet de neurones de ce type, chacun d'entre eux étant lié à environ un million de terminaisons nerveuses d'un autre type de cellule différente. Ces cellules auxquelles les neurones de Purkinje sont attachés sont classées en deux types:

Cellules moussues

Ils viennent du tronc cérébral et de la moelle épinière. Plus ils sont proches des neurones de Purkinje, plus ils se ramifient en fibres parallèles.

Cellules d'escalade

Ils montent de la moelle oblongate et du tronc cérébral . Cependant, ce type de cellules grimpantes ne se lie qu’à un seul neurone de Purkinje.

Quelle est la structure de ces cellules nerveuses?

Comme discuté ci-dessus, les neurones de Purkinje sont l'une des plus grandes cellules présentes dans notre cerveau. Son axe dendritique est extrêmement complexe et il se distingue en présentant un grand nombre d'épines dendritiques enchevêtrées.


Ces cellules sont placées face à face, comme si elles étaient des dominos, formant des couches entre lesquelles transitent les fibres parallèles provenant des couches les plus profondes.

À travers les synapses, les fibres parallèles transmettre des impulsions excitatrices de faible potentiel aux épines dendritiques des neurones de Purkinje . Cependant, les impulsions de ces fibres ascendantes provenant du noyau olivaire inférieur de la moelle osseuse émettent des impulsions excitatrices de grande intensité. De plus, ces fibres parallèles circulent à angle droit dans l'axe dendritique de la cellule de Purkinje. Ces fibres, qui se comptent par centaines de milliers, forment des synapses avec un seul neurone de ce type.

Enfin, les neurones de Purkinje transmettent des projections de fibres inhibitrices aux noyaux cérébelleux profonds, constituant le seul moyen d’échapper au cortex cérébelleux et ayant des effets sur la coordination motrice.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quelles sont leurs fonctions?

Neurones de Purkinje ils exercent leurs effets par l'utilisation de l'activité électrophysiologique . Ce type d'activité peut se produire de deux manières différentes, selon que les pics du neurone sont simples ou complexes.

1. Activité en pointes simples

Le taux d'activité électrophysiologique de pointes simples oscille entre 17 et 150 Hz . Cette activité peut apparaître spontanément ou à certains moments lorsque les neurones de Purkinje sont activés par des fibres parallèles.

2. Activité en pics complexes

Dans le cas de pointes complexes, l'intensité ralentit considérablement, oscillant entre 1 et 3 Hz de puissance.

Les pointes complexes se distinguent par une longue pointe initiale de grande amplitude, qui suit un tir à haute fréquence mais avec une amplitude inférieure. Ces sursauts d’activité électrique sont causés par l’activation des fibres grimpantes , nommé ci-dessus.

Que sait-on d'eux à travers des enquêtes

Le sodium et le calcium jouent un rôle fondamental dans l'activité électrophysiologique des neurones de Purkinje et, par conséquent, dans le fonctionnement correct du cervelet.De plus, il a été révélé ces dernières années que la stimulation des fibres grimpantes déclenche une altération de l'activité de la cellule, passant d'un état de repos à un état actif et inversement) comme s'il s'agissait d'une sorte de bouton ou de bouton.

Cependant, les résultats de ces enquêtes ont été largement débattus. La raison en est que les données obtenues dans d'autres études suggèrent que ces altérations de l'activité ne se produisent que lorsque la personne ou l'animal est anesthésié; alors que s'ils sont éveillés, les neurones de Purkinje fonctionnent toujours dans un état d'activité complète.

Enfin, les résultats extraits de recherches récentes suggèrent que les neurones de Purkinje avoir la capacité de décharger des substances endocannabinoïdes qui peut réduire le potentiel de synapses, à la fois excitateur et inhibiteur.

Pathologies et maladies associées

Étant donné que les neurones de Purkinje se trouvent chez l’animal et chez l’homme, de nombreux facteurs peuvent provoquer des anomalies spécifiques et spécifiques pour chaque espèce.

Dans le cas des personnes, un grand nombre de causes peuvent causer la détérioration ou la lésion des neurones de Purkinje. Altérations génétiques, maladies auto-immunes ou neurodégénératives et les éléments toxiques présents dans certaines substances, telles que le lithium, peuvent causer de graves dommages à ce type de cellules.

De plus, dans la maladie d'Alzheimer, une diminution des branches dendritiques de ces neurones a été décrite.

D'autre part, dans le monde animal, il existe une condition étrange qui provoque une atrophie et un dysfonctionnement de ces neurones après la naissance. Cette maladie appelée abiotrophie cérébelleuse se distingue par un grand nombre de symptômes, parmi lesquels:

  • Hyperactivité
  • Manque de réflexes .
  • Manque de capacité à percevoir l'espace et les distances.
  • Ataxie
  • Frissonnant

En cas d'hypoplasie cérébelleuse Les neurones de Purkinje n’ont pas fini de se développer ou meurent quand le petit est encore dans le ventre maternel.


Histologie : Tissu Nerveux partie 1 (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes