yes, therapy helps!
Purslane: 12 properties and benefits of this medicinal plant

Purslane: 12 properties and benefits of this medicinal plant

January 9, 2023

Our organism is a highly complex system, formed by different interconnected subsystems. This system is not closed, being able to be affected by external elements that can damage us. Although we also have certain natural defenses that fight external (or internal) harmful elements, it is not uncommon that at different times of our lives we get some kind of disease with which the body will have to fight.

Fortunately, the progressive knowledge of the environment that surrounds us has caused that throughout its history the human being knew the existence in nature different plants with medicinal properties, whose consumption can help (albeit usually slightly) to strengthen our defenses and even help us combat difficulties such as nausea or fever (a knowledge that was fundamental especially in the days when medicine was barely developed).


One of these medicinal plants is the portulaca oleracea or purslane , known and applied since the Ancient Age, of which throughout this article we will see a total of 12 properties and benefits.

  • Related article: "Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant"

Properties and benefits of purslane

The purslane or Portulaca oleracea It is a plant of small size but of great resistance and adaptability that is extremely easy to find in nature. Although often considered part of the undergrowth, the truth is that it has various uses and some people consider it a superfood due to its composition. Further, since ancient times it was used in the kitchen and some of its medicinal properties were known.


However, we must also take into account that people with ulcers and certain gastric problems should avoid it (since it increases intestinal motility), and it is also not recommended in pregnant women or during breastfeeding .

Next we will see in some of the multiple advantages and properties that it has, specifically a dozen.

1. Helps improve circulation and cardiovascular function

This plant is undoubtedly one of the vegetables with the highest level of omega-3, favoring the proper functioning of the cardiovascular system , helping to fight cholesterol and helping to prevent possible problems in that system.

2. It is diuretic

One of the advantages of purslane is the fact that its consumption has diuretic effects, facilitating the emission of urine and renal function in general . Thanks to it also allows to expel harmful elements and waste of our body. It can be useful in urinary infections or in people with edema or fluid retention.


3. It favors the excretion

In addition to diuresis, purslane also contributes to the proper functioning of the digestive tract thanks to its high level of fiber, facilitating excretion. In fact, it has laxative effects . Likewise, it also benefits the secretion of enzymes by the liver.

  • Maybe you are interested: "Dandelion: 9 uses and properties of this medicinal plant"

4. It has anti-inflammatory properties

The composition of this plant, rich in mucilage, causes it to also have anti-inflammatory effects, with which contributes to reduce inflammations both generated by infections and other problems.

5. It has been used as an analgesic

Since antiquity, purslane has been used as a medicinal plant when it comes to treating some types of pain (for example, head or tooth), having an analgesic effect.

6. Antiseptic and antifungal

This plant also helps to prevent the growth of some bacteria, contributing to the proper functioning of the immune system. As well It is useful with fungi and even with some parasites .

7. Beneficial for diabetes

It has been observed that the consumption of purslane contributes to reduce the blood glucose levels, being able to contribute to regulate the glycemic state of patients with diabetes as well as their resistance to insulin.

8. Help against anemia

This plant has as we are seeing a lot of important properties derived from its components. With a high level of vitamins, minerals, betacarborenos and amino acids and being considered a possible superfood, if it is introduced into the diet it can contribute to the improvement of anemic states and the lack of certain essential nutrients.

9. Reduce fever

Due to the aforementioned properties, it helps reduce fever caused by various infections.

10. Help control gynecological disorders

Some studies seem to claim that the seeds of this plant help stabilize the menstrual cycle in women who have irregular bleeding . However, it has also been observed that it could facilitate the appearance of contractions which, as we have said, makes it undesirable in pregnancies.

11. Antioxidant

It has also been observed that it contains components such as betalains, which are relevant and known antioxidant properties. Contributes to reduce cell damage by oxidation and helps stabilize free radicals.

12. Improves the health of hair and skin

Another property of purslane, due to its high percentage of nutrients and its antioxidant effects , is that it contributes to maintain and strengthen the health of hair and skin and allows to treat problems of pigmentation, burns or other dermatoses.

Bibliographic references:

  • García, A. (2015). Phytochemical evaluation and nutraceutical properties of Portulaca oleracea and Achillea millefolium. National Polytechnic Institute. Interdisciplinary Professional Unit of Biotechnology. Mexico.
  • Moscow, N. (2016). Verdolaga: a healthy alternative. REDI- Digital Repository of the FASTA University [Online]. Available at: //redi.ufasta.edu.ar:8080/xmlui/handle/123456789/1271.
  • Pérez-Santana, D .; Martínez-Pérez, D. and Rodríguez-Sánchez, J.L (2015). Evaluation of the antioxidant properties of the Averrhoa Carambola and Portulaca Oleracea L. Journal of Pharmaceutical and Food Sciences, 1 (2). Havana Cuba.

5 Edible Backyard Weeds With Extraordinary Health Benefits (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Purslane: 12 propriétés et bienfaits de cette plante médicinale

Purslane: 12 propriétés et bienfaits de cette plante médicinale

Juillet 24, 2022

Notre organisme est un système extrêmement complexe, formé de différents sous-systèmes interconnectés. Ce système n'est pas fermé, pouvant être affecté par des éléments externes pouvant nous endommager. Bien que nous ayons également certaines défenses naturelles qui combattent les éléments nocifs externes (ou internes), il n’est pas rare qu’à différentes périodes de notre vie, nous contractions une maladie contre laquelle le corps devra se battre.

Heureusement, la connaissance progressive de l'environnement qui nous entoure a fait que, tout au long de son histoire, l'être humain a connu l'existence dans la nature de différentes plantes aux propriétés médicinales, dont la consommation peut aider (bien que généralement légèrement) à renforcer nos défenses. et même nous aider à lutter contre des difficultés telles que la nausée ou la fièvre (une connaissance fondamentale, en particulier à l’époque où la médecine était à peine développée).


Une de ces plantes médicinales est le portulaca oleracea ou pourpier , connu et appliqué depuis l’Antiquité, dont nous allons voir 12 propriétés et avantages tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Camomille: 7 propriétés et avantages de cette plante"

Propriétés et avantages du pourpier

Le pourvoi ou Portulaca oleracea C'est une plante de petite taille mais d'une grande résistance et d'une adaptabilité extrêmement facile à trouver dans la nature. Bien que souvent considéré comme faisant partie du sous-bois, la vérité est qu’il a divers usages et que certains le considèrent comme un super-aliment en raison de sa composition. En outre, depuis l'Antiquité, il était utilisé dans la cuisine et certaines de ses propriétés médicinales étaient connues.


Cependant, nous devons également prendre en compte le fait que les personnes souffrant d'ulcères et de certains problèmes gastriques doivent l'éviter (car cela augmente la motilité intestinale), et il n'est également pas recommandé chez les femmes enceintes ou pendant l'allaitement .

Nous verrons ensuite quelques-uns des nombreux avantages et propriétés qu’il possède, en particulier une douzaine.

1. Aide à améliorer la circulation et la fonction cardiovasculaire

Cette plante est sans aucun doute l’un des légumes avec le plus haut niveau d’oméga-3, favorisant le bon fonctionnement du système cardiovasculaire , aidant à lutter contre le cholestérol et à prévenir d'éventuels problèmes dans ce système.

2. C'est diurétique

Un des avantages de pourpane est le fait que sa consommation a des effets diurétiques, facilitant l'émission d'urine et la fonction rénale en général . Merci à elle permet également d'expulser les éléments nocifs et les déchets de notre corps. Il peut être utile dans les infections urinaires ou chez les personnes présentant un œdème ou une rétention hydrique.


3. il favorise l'excrétion

En plus de la diurèse, le pourpier contribue également au bon fonctionnement du tube digestif grâce à son taux élevé de fibres facilitant l'excrétion. En fait, il a des effets laxatifs . De même, il favorise également la sécrétion d'enzymes par le foie.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Pissenlit: 9 utilisations et propriétés de cette plante médicinale"

4. Il a des propriétés anti-inflammatoires

La composition de cette plante, riche en mucilage, lui confère également des effets anti-inflammatoires, avec lesquels contribue à réduire les inflammations à la fois générés par des infections et d'autres problèmes.

5. Il a été utilisé comme analgésique

Depuis l'Antiquité, le pourpier est utilisé comme plante médicinale quand il s'agit de traiter certains types de douleur (par exemple, tête ou dent), ayant un effet analgésique.

6. antiseptique et antifongique

Cette plante aide également à prévenir la croissance de certaines bactéries, contribuant ainsi au bon fonctionnement du système immunitaire. Aussi Il est utile avec les champignons et même avec certains parasites .

7. Bénéfique pour le diabète

Il a été observé que la consommation de pourpier contribue à réduire les niveaux de glucose dans le sang, tout en contribuant à réguler l'état glycémique des patients diabétiques ainsi que leur résistance à l'insuline.

8. Aide contre l'anémie

Nous voyons beaucoup de propriétés importantes dérivées de ses composants. Avec un niveau élevé de vitamines, de minéraux, de bêtacarborenos et d’acides aminés et pouvant être considéré comme un super aliment, s'il est introduit dans l'alimentation, il peut contribuer à l'amélioration des états anémiques et le manque de certains nutriments essentiels.

9. Réduire la fièvre

En raison des propriétés susmentionnées, il aide à réduire la fièvre causée par diverses infections.

10. Aide à contrôler les troubles gynécologiques

Certaines études semblent prétendre que les graines de cette plante aider à stabiliser le cycle menstruel chez les femmes qui ont des saignements irréguliers . Cependant, il a également été observé que cela pourrait faciliter l'apparition de contractions qui, comme nous l'avons dit, le rendent indésirable pendant la grossesse.

11. Antioxydant

Il a également été observé qu'il contient des composants tels que les bétalaïnes, qui sont des propriétés antioxydantes pertinentes et connues. Contribue à réduire les dommages cellulaires par oxydation et aide à stabiliser les radicaux libres.

12. améliore la santé des cheveux et de la peau

Une autre propriété du pourpane, en raison de son pourcentage élevé d’éléments nutritifs et ses effets antioxydants , c’est qu’elle contribue à maintenir et à renforcer la santé des cheveux et de la peau et permet de traiter les problèmes de pigmentation, de brûlures ou d’autres dermatoses.

Références bibliographiques:

  • García, A. (2015). Évaluation phytochimique et propriétés nutraceutiques de Portulaca oleracea et d’Achillea millefolium. Institut polytechnique national. Unité professionnelle interdisciplinaire de biotechnologie. Mexique
  • Moscou, N. (2016). Verdolaga: une alternative saine. REDI - Référentiel numérique de l'Université FASTA [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //redi.ufasta.edu.ar:8080/xmlui/handle/123456789/1271.
  • Pérez-Santana, D .; Martínez-Pérez, D. et Rodríguez-Sánchez, J.L (2015). Évaluation des propriétés antioxydantes de l'Averrhoa Carambola et du Portulaca Oleracea L. Journal of Pharmaceutical and Food Sciences, 1 (2). La Havane, Cuba
Articles Connexes