yes, therapy helps!
Pyramidal neurons: functions and location in the brain

Pyramidal neurons: functions and location in the brain

January 28, 2023

Neurons are the main type of cells that make up each of the elements of the nervous system. These structures are well known to most people today.

But although in the collective imagination we have a typical image or representation of what a neuron is, and many people imagine that all or almost all have the same structure and shape, the truth is that not all neurons are the same: there are very different types depending on their shape, where they send the information from, or even their relationship with other neurons. In this article we will focus on pyramidal neurons and in their functions .

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions

The pyramidal neurons

Pyramidal neurons are one of the different types of neurons present in our nervous system . It is one of the most common types of multipolar neurons, accounting for about 80% of the neurons in the cortex (not in vain, two of the layers of the cortex are called internal and external pyramids) and are found between some of the most relevant of the organism. They are usually considered projection neurons. That is, they act by sending the message to cells that are far away and separated from the area where they are born.


Discovered by Santiago Ramón y Cajal , the name of this type of neuron refers to the shape of its soma, with a triangular or pyramidal appearance. They are mostly glutamatergic neurons, with glutamate being the neurotransmitter that activates them, and they usually act as excitatory type neurons. They can have different sizes, the largest being the giant pyramidal or Betz cells.

Like other neurons, the structure of this type of neurons consists of soma, which, as we have said, has a pyramidal shape, an axon and dendrites. However, they have a particularity: in regard to the dendrites, they have a fairly long compared to the rest, called apical dendrite , and numerous basal and shorter dendrites that are going to branch off.


  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Location of these nerve cells

Pyramidal neurons can be found at different points in the nervous system, but they are much more prevalent in some specific areas. Among them, the following stand out.

1. Brain cortex

The pyramidal neurons are found largely in the cerebral cortex, forming part of most of this and found in five of the six layers that make up this brain region. Specifically, they can be observed in the granular and pyramidal layers, both external and internal.

They stand out especially in the third and fifth layers (which are what are in fact called external pyramidal and internal pyramidal), being larger as the deeper in the crust are. Within the crust, likewise, there are areas where its existence has been detected more often.


2. Motor cortex

In the motor cortex we can find a large number of pyramidal neurons, being especially linked to motor control. In this area of ​​the cortex there are many known as Betz cells , giant pyramidal neurons that carry the motor information from the brain to the areas of the spinal cord where they synaptan with the motor neurons that activate the movement.

3. Prefrontal cortex

Pyramidal neurons can also be found in the prefrontal cortex, influencing higher mental processes. It is considered that these cells they are the main primary excitation neurons of the prefrontal , participating in numerous functions and considering themselves primordial for the existence of behavior control.

4. Corticospinal tract

The pyramidal neurons are especially visible along the corticospinal tract, which sends the motor information from the different brain nuclei in charge of motility to motoneurons that will generate muscle contraction, passing through the spinal cord.

4. Hippocampus

Not only in the cortex can we find pyramidal neurons, but also the we can find in subcortical structures . One of them is the hippocampus, linked to aspects such as memory and orientation.

  • Related article: "Hippocampus: functions and structure of the organ of memory"

5. Amygdala

Another of the structures in which these neurons are found is in the cerebral amygdala, an area of ​​the limbic system linked to emotional memory.

Functions of pyramidal neurons

Like the rest of the neurons, the pyramidal ones are structures that transmit information in the form of electrochemical pulses that will be captured by other neurons until they reach their final destination.Being a type of neuron so prevalent in the cortex, pyramidal neurons are activated and are linked to a large part of the functions and processes carried out by the human being. Examples of such functions are the following.

1. Movement

Motor control is one of the functions that has traditionally been associated with pyramidal neurons. Specifically, these neurons are deeply associated with the voluntary motor control of the muscles.

2. Cognition and executive functions

The excitatory role of pyramidal neurons in the prefrontal cortex means that their activation can be linked to cognitive processes of great relevance, like executive functions or cognition .

3. Emotion

The activity of pyramidal neurons in the prefrontal cortex is linked to the connection of these areas with different subcortical regions, among them the limbic . In this sense, the amygdala and the hippocampus have a fundamental role.

4. Memory and orientation

Memory and special orientation are other functions in which a great activation occurs in pyramidal neurons, in this case those of the hippocampus.

Bibliographic references

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.
  • McDonald, A.J. (1992). Cell types and intrinsic connections of amygdala. Prog. Neurobiol. 55: 257-332.

Neurology - Motor Pathways (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones pyramidaux: fonctions et localisation dans le cerveau

Neurones pyramidaux: fonctions et localisation dans le cerveau

Juillet 26, 2022

Les neurones sont le type principal de cellules qui composent chacun des éléments du système nerveux. Ces structures sont bien connues de la plupart des gens aujourd'hui.

Mais bien que dans l'imaginaire collectif nous ayons une image ou représentation typique de ce qu'est un neurone et que beaucoup de gens s'imaginent que tous ou presque ont la même structure et la même forme, la vérité est que tous les neurones ne sont pas identiques: en fonction de leur forme, d'où ils envoient les informations, ou même de leur relation avec d'autres neurones. Dans cet article, nous allons nous concentrer sur neurones pyramidaux et dans leurs fonctions .

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions

Les neurones pyramidaux

Les neurones pyramidaux sont l'un des différents types de neurones présents dans notre système nerveux . C'est l'un des types les plus courants de neurones multipolaires, représentant environ 80% des neurones du cortex (pas en vain, deux des couches du cortex sont appelées pyramides internes et externes) et se trouvent entre parmi les plus pertinents de l'organisme. Ils sont généralement considérés comme des neurones de projection. C'est-à-dire qu'ils agissent en envoyant le message à des cellules éloignées et séparées de la région où elles sont nées.


Découvert par Santiago Ramón y Cajal , le nom de ce type de neurone fait référence à la forme de son soma, d’apparence triangulaire ou pyramidale. Ce sont principalement des neurones glutamatergiques, le glutamate étant le neurotransmetteur qui les active et ils agissent généralement comme des neurones de type excitateur. Ils peuvent avoir différentes tailles, la plus grande étant les cellules pyramidales géantes ou de Betz.

Comme d’autres neurones, la structure de ce type de neurones est constituée de soma, qui, comme nous l’avons dit, a une forme pyramidale, un axone et des dendrites. Cependant, ils ont une particularité: en ce qui concerne les dendrites, ils ont une assez longue par rapport aux autres, appelé dendrite apicale et de nombreux dendrites basaux et plus courts qui vont se ramifier.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Localisation de ces cellules nerveuses

Les neurones pyramidaux peuvent être trouvés à différents endroits du système nerveux, mais ils sont beaucoup plus répandus dans certains domaines spécifiques. Parmi eux, les suivants se démarquent.

1. cortex cérébral

Les neurones pyramidaux se trouvent en grande partie dans le cortex cérébral, en constituent la majeure partie et se trouvent dans cinq des six couches qui composent cette région du cerveau. Spécifiquement, ils peuvent être observés dans les couches granulaires et pyramidales, à la fois externes et internes.

Ils se distinguent surtout dans les troisième et cinquième couches (appelées en réalité pyramidales externes et pyramidales internes), étant plus larges que le fond de la croûte. De même, dans la croûte, il existe des zones où son existence a été détectée plus souvent.


2. cortex moteur

Dans le cortex moteur, nous pouvons trouver un grand nombre de neurones pyramidaux, en particulier liés au contrôle moteur. Dans cette zone du cortex il y a beaucoup de cellules appelées cellules de Betz , neurones pyramidaux géants qui transportent les informations motrices du cerveau vers les zones de la moelle épinière où ils se synchronisent avec les motoneurones activant le mouvement

3. cortex préfrontal

Des neurones pyramidaux peuvent également être trouvés dans le cortex préfrontal, influençant les processus mentaux supérieurs. On considère que ces cellules ils sont les principaux neurones d'excitation primaire du préfrontal , participant à de nombreuses fonctions et se considérant primordiaux pour la maîtrise du comportement.

4. Voie corticospinale

Les neurones pyramidaux sont particulièrement visibles le long du tractus cortico-spinal, qui envoie les informations motrices des différents noyaux cérébraux. responsable de la motilité aux motoneurones cela va générer une contraction musculaire, en passant par la moelle épinière.

4. Hippocampe

Dans le cortex, pouvons-nous trouver des neurones pyramidaux, mais aussi on peut trouver dans les structures sous-corticales . L'un d'eux est l'hippocampe, lié à des aspects tels que la mémoire et l'orientation.

  • Article connexe: "Hippocampe: fonctions et structure de l'organe de la mémoire"

5. Amygdala

Une autre des structures dans lesquelles se trouvent ces neurones est l'amygdale cérébrale, une zone du système limbique liée à la mémoire émotionnelle.

Fonctions des neurones pyramidaux

Comme le reste des neurones, les pyramidaux sont des structures qui transmettre des informations sous forme d'impulsions électrochimiques qui seront capturés par d’autres neurones jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent leur destination finale.Étant un type de neurone si répandu dans le cortex, les neurones pyramidaux sont activés et sont liés à une grande partie des fonctions et des processus réalisés par l'être humain. Des exemples de telles fonctions sont les suivantes.

1. mouvement

Le contrôle moteur est l’une des fonctions traditionnellement associées aux neurones pyramidaux. Plus précisément, ces neurones sont profondément associés au contrôle moteur volontaire des muscles.

2. Cognition et fonctions exécutives

Le rôle excitateur des neurones pyramidaux dans le cortex préfrontal signifie que leur activation peut être liée à des processus cognitifs d’une grande pertinence, comme les fonctions exécutives ou la cognition .

3. émotion

L’activité des neurones pyramidaux dans le cortex préfrontal est liée à la connexion de ces zones avec différentes régions sous-corticales, parmi eux le limbique . En ce sens, l'amygdale et l'hippocampe ont un rôle fondamental.

4. Mémoire et orientation

La mémoire et l'orientation spéciale sont d'autres fonctions dans lesquelles une grande activation se produit dans les neurones pyramidaux, en l'occurrence ceux de l'hippocampe.

Références bibliographiques

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid
  • McDonald, A.J. (1992). Types de cellules et connexions intrinsèques de l'amygdale. Prog. Neurobiol. 55: 257-332.

Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes