yes, therapy helps!
Pyromania: causes, symptoms and effects of this disorder

Pyromania: causes, symptoms and effects of this disorder

September 22, 2022

Pyrós. This Greek word refers to one of the four primordial elements of nature for the Greeks, fire. This element has presented an interesting dichotomy throughout history, being able to symbolize energy, dynamism, warmth, affection and passion, but also hatred, destruction and madness.

The fire has been since antiquity an element that has caused great fascination and respect. But nevertheless, some people have an excessive fixation on it , needing to provoke it in order to reassure its tension and anxiety, calming its impulses independently of the serious effects it may cause in the environment or other people or animals. These people suffer from the disorder known as pyromania.


Pyromania: a disorder of impulse control

Pyromania is a disorder of impulse control , which are characterized by the presence of an uncontrollable need to carry out a harmful or illegal act, without taking into account the repercussions of this. In these types of disorders a high level of tension suddenly appears that they need to alleviate by committing the act in question, after which they feel a high level of well-being. This process is largely reminiscent of that observed in anxiety disorders, dependency and other substance use disorders or obsessive-compulsive disorder.

In the case of pyromania, the diagnosis is carried out before individuals who have deliberately set fires on more than one occasion, feeling tension before provoking it and producing a high sense of well-being after the start of the fire or after seeing its consequences . The provocation of the fire is not due to the pursuit of an economic, personal or social benefit. These individuals present at all times a high fascination by observing the flames .


What is it and what is not pyromania

The fact that a human being causes a fire can be due to a large number of causes. For example, unintentional fires can occur and often occur due to uncooperative actions or carelessness such as leaving flammable materials, cigarette butts or bottles in areas with vegetation. In this case we would not be faced with a case of pyromania, since its diagnosis requires that the fire is intentional .

One of the labels that produce the most confusion and that is often confused with the pyromania is that of incendiary. Arsonists are those subjects who, like arsonists, deliberately cause a fire, but unlike the latter do so with a clear objective, pursuing a specific benefit or causing harm to another person or institution.

The production of fire due to other mental disorders such as schizophrenia, mania, dementia or substance poisoning is not considered pyromania either, nor are the fires provoked by subjects with antisocial personality disorder (or disocial in children).


Profile of the arsonist

While all people are different from each other, with large individual differences that mark one's identity, common patterns can often be observed among different subjects. This happens both at the non-clinical population level and at the clinical level.

In the case of individuals suffering from pyromania or pyromaniacs, it is possible to consider the existence of a typical profile. About 90% of individuals who have pyromania are young men , which tend to suffer emotional problems and usually have a history full of frustrations on a personal level, often with a certain level of resentment due to it.

In this disorder the presence of an unsociable personality prevails, as well as a lower than average IQ (although this is not true in all cases). These are subjects with a high level of frustration, a sense of existential emptiness, a high sense of inferiority that present feelings of little control, power or value, which try to replace with the sense empowerment in causing the fire.

It is also frequent that these subjects come from broken families , in those who have suffered abuse and / or sexual abuse in childhood. In the same way, the complete absence of a father figure is observed in many cases.

At the occupational level, its great attraction for fire encourages arsonists to try to link to related works or from which they have access to their object of stimulation, fire. In this way it is common that they try to enter firefighting bodies, or even participate as volunteers in firefighting tasks. It is common that many of them end up helping to extinguish the fires that they provoke, as a way to be able to observe the effects of flames first hand.

Pyromaniac behaviors are, along with the mistreatment and mutilation of animals and extremely violent actions and lack of empathy possible indicators of psychopathy.

Etiology (causes) of the disorder

There are multiple possible causes of this disorder.

On a psychological level, the presence of a high level of sensation seeking is considered , together with the need for power and attention derived from a lack of social contact and skills to create or maintain links with others can be the cause of pyromania. It has also been considered the provocation of fires as a way to manifest deep feelings such as anger at the feeling of inferiority. Finally, parental models that abound in violence, abuse and neglect of the child, or traumatic experiences such as sexual abuse in childhood, can also lead to this type of disorder.

At the neurobiological level, it has been correlated, as well as the rest of impulse disorders, with the presence of low levels of serotonin in the brain, as well as a dysregulation in dopamine and noradrenaline. The presence of hypoglycaemia has also been observed in many pyromaniacs.

Also the temporal lobe and the limbic system have some participation in this disorder, due to the management of impulses and emotions. The frontal lobe and the orbitofrontal cortex are also involved, failing in the process of inhibiting behavior.

Possible treatments

Pyromania is a less prevalent disorder. Its treatment has focused predominantly on cognitive-behavioral therapy, although treatments have been carried out from other theoretical aspects, such as psychodynamics.

The treatment in question is based on the promotion of impulse control and self-control through techniques of behavior modification, conflict resolution techniques, self-detection of the level of tension and the application of relaxation techniques such as those of breathing. These techniques promote that the individual is more capable of dealing with the problems, but for the treatment to be efficient, the patient's empowerment must also be worked on, helping to work on self-image and self-esteem, as well as personal interactions. Working empathy can also be useful.

It must be borne in mind that the arsonist does not usually go to consultation, usually being taken by the patient's relatives or by court order, since most of them do not usually show remorse for their actions, despite being aware of the danger they involve. Likewise, it is very important to carry out prevention tasks since childhood.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychatric Association. (2002). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Revised text DSM-IV-TR. Masson Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of psychopathology. Madrid. MacGraw-Hill (vol 1 and 2). Revised edition
  • Grant, J.E. & Won, K.S. (2007). Clinical characteristics and psychiatric comorbidity of pyromania. J Clin Psychiatry. 68 (11): 1717-22
  • Santos, J.L; García, L.I .; Calderón, M.A .; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Impulse Control Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pyromanie: causes, symptômes et effets de ce trouble

Pyromanie: causes, symptômes et effets de ce trouble

Juin 25, 2019

Pyrós. Ce mot grec fait référence à l'un des quatre éléments primordiaux de la nature pour les Grecs, le feu. Cet élément a présenté une dichotomie intéressante à travers l’histoire, pouvant symboliser l’énergie, le dynamisme, la chaleur, l’affection et la passion, mais aussi la haine, la destruction et la folie.

Depuis l’antiquité, le feu est un élément qui a suscité une grande fascination et du respect. Cependant, certaines personnes ont une fixation excessive sur elle , ayant besoin de la provoquer pour rassurer sa tension et son anxiété, en apaisant ses pulsions indépendamment des effets graves qu'elle pourrait avoir sur l'environnement ou sur d'autres personnes ou animaux. Ces personnes souffrent du désordre connu sous le nom de pyromanie.


Pyromanie: un trouble du contrôle des impulsions

La pyromanie est un trouble du contrôle des impulsions , qui se caractérisent par la présence d'un besoin incontrôlable d'accomplir un acte préjudiciable ou illégal, sans en prendre en compte les répercussions. Dans ces types de troubles, un niveau de tension élevé apparaît soudainement, il faut les soulager en commettant l'acte en question, après quoi ils ressentent un niveau élevé de bien-être. Ce processus rappelle en grande partie celui observé dans les troubles anxieux, la dépendance et d’autres troubles liés à la toxicomanie ou le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Dans le cas de la pyromanie, le diagnostic est posé avant les individus qui ont délibérément allumé un feu, ont ressenti une tension avant de la provoquer et ont procuré un sentiment élevé de bien-être après le début de l'incendie ou après en avoir constaté les conséquences. . La provocation de l'incendie n'est pas due à la poursuite d'un avantage économique, personnel ou social. Ces individus présentent à tout moment une grande fascination en observant les flammes .


Qu'est-ce que c'est et qu'est ce qui n'est pas pyromanie

Le fait qu'un être humain provoque un incendie peut être dû à un grand nombre de causes. Par exemple, des incendies non intentionnels peuvent se produire et sont souvent dus à des actions non coopératives ou à des manœuvres négligentes, telles que la présence de matériaux inflammables, de mégots de cigarettes ou de bouteilles dans des zones couvertes de végétation. Dans ce cas, nous ne serions pas confrontés à un cas de pyromanie, car son diagnostic nécessite que l'incendie soit intentionnel. .

Une des étiquettes qui produit le plus de confusion et qui est souvent confondue avec la pyromanie est celle d’incendiaire. Les incendiaires sont des sujets qui, comme les incendiaires, provoquent délibérément un incendie, mais qui, contrairement à ces derniers, le font avec un objectif clair, recherchant un avantage spécifique ou causant un préjudice à une autre personne ou à une autre institution.

La production de feu due à d'autres troubles mentaux tels que la schizophrénie, la manie, la démence ou l'intoxication par une substance n'est pas considérée non plus comme une pyromanie, pas plus que les incendies provoqués par des sujets présentant un trouble de la personnalité antisociale (ou désociale chez les enfants).


Profil du pyromane

Bien que toutes les personnes soient différentes les unes des autres, avec de grandes différences individuelles qui marquent l'identité, des modèles communs peuvent souvent être observés entre différents sujets. Cela se produit à la fois au niveau de la population non clinique et au niveau clinique.

Dans le cas de personnes souffrant de pyromanie ou de pyromanes, il est possible de considérer l’existence d’un profil typique. Environ 90% des personnes atteintes de pyromanie sont des hommes jeunes , qui ont tendance à souffrir de problèmes émotionnels et ont généralement une histoire pleine de frustrations sur le plan personnel, souvent avec un certain niveau de ressentiment à cause de cela.

Dans ce trouble, la présence d'une personnalité insociable prévaut, ainsi qu'un QI inférieur à la moyenne (bien que ce ne soit pas le cas dans tous les cas). Ce sont des sujets avec un haut niveau de frustration, un sentiment de vide existentiel, un fort sentiment d'infériorité qui présente des sentiments de peu de contrôle, de pouvoir ou de valeur, qui tentent de remplacer par la responsabilisation des sens en provoquant le feu.

Il est également fréquent que ces sujets proviennent de familles brisées , chez ceux qui ont subi des abus et / ou des abus sexuels dans leur enfance. De la même manière, l'absence complète d'une figure paternelle est observée dans de nombreux cas.

Sur le plan professionnel, son grand attrait pour le feu incite les incendiaires à tenter de se lier à des œuvres connexes ou à partir desquelles ils ont accès à leur objet de stimulation, le feu. De cette façon, il est courant qu’ils tentent de pénétrer dans des corps de pompiers ou même de participer, en tant que volontaires, à des tâches de pompiers. Il est courant que beaucoup d’entre eux finissent par aider à éteindre les incendies qu’ils provoquent, afin de pouvoir observer les effets des flammes.

Les comportements pyromanes sont, avec la maltraitance et la mutilation des animaux et des actions extrêmement violentes et le manque d'empathie des indicateurs possibles de la psychopathie.

Étiologie (causes) de la maladie

Les causes possibles de ce trouble sont multiples.

Sur le plan psychologique, la présence d’un niveau élevé de recherche de sensations est considérée , ainsi que le besoin de pouvoir et d’attention découlant d’un manque de contacts sociaux et de compétences pour créer ou maintenir des liens avec d’autres peuvent être la cause de la pyromanie. La provocation des incendies a également été considérée comme un moyen de manifester des sentiments profonds tels que la colère face au sentiment d'infériorité. Enfin, les modèles parentaux qui abondent en violence, en abus et en négligence envers l'enfant, ou en des expériences traumatisantes telles que des abus sexuels dans l'enfance, peuvent également conduire à ce type de trouble.

Au niveau neurobiologique, il a été mis en corrélation, ainsi que le reste des troubles impulsifs, avec la présence de faibles niveaux de sérotonine dans le cerveau, ainsi qu’une dysrégulation en dopamine et en noradrénaline. Une hypoglycémie a également été observée chez de nombreux pyromanes.

De plus, le lobe temporal et le système limbique participent à ce désordre en raison de la gestion des impulsions et des émotions. Le lobe frontal et le cortex orbitofrontal sont également impliqués, échouant dans le processus de comportement inhibiteur.

Traitements possibles

La pyromanie est un trouble moins répandu. Son traitement a principalement porté sur la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, bien que des traitements aient été effectués à partir d'autres aspects théoriques, tels que la psychodynamique.

Le traitement en question est basé sur la promotion du contrôle des impulsions et de la maîtrise de soi par le biais de techniques de modification du comportement, de techniques de résolution de conflits, de détection automatique du niveau de tension et d’application de techniques de relaxation telles que la respiration. Ces techniques font en sorte que l'individu soit davantage capable de gérer les problèmes, mais pour que le traitement soit efficace, il faut également travailler sur l'autonomisation du patient, en aidant à travailler sur l'image et l'estime de soi, ainsi que sur les interactions personnelles. Travailler avec l’empathie peut aussi être utile.

Il faut garder à l'esprit que le pyromane ne va généralement pas en consultation, il est généralement pris par les proches du patient ou sur ordonnance du tribunal, car la plupart d'entre eux ne manifestent généralement pas de remords pour leurs actes, bien qu'ils soient au courant des danger qu'ils impliquent. De même, il est très important d’effectuer des tâches de prévention depuis l’enfance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychatric Association. (2002). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Texte révisé DSM-IV-TR. Masson Barcelone
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Madrid MacGraw-Hill (vol 1 et 2). Édition révisée
  • Grant, J.E. & Won, K.S. (2007). Caractéristiques cliniques et comorbidité psychiatrique de la pyromanie. J Clin Psychiatry. 68 (11): 1717-22
  • Santos, J.L; García, L.I .; Calderón, M.A .; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

What is Pyromania? (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes