yes, therapy helps!
Quetiapine: operation and side effects of this drug

Quetiapine: operation and side effects of this drug

November 27, 2021

Haloperidol, chlorpromazine, clozapine, risperidone, olanzapine, ziprasidone or quetiapine are the names some of the most well-known and used antipsychotics or neuroleptics . These are substances that allow to keep under control the symptoms of various mental disorders, especially schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders.

In this article We are going to talk about the last of the aforementioned, quetiapine , to see what type of substance is, in what cases it is used and its possible side effects.

  • Related article: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

Quetiapine: what it is and mechanisms of action

As indicated in the introduction, quetiapine is a drug with psychoactive effects that is included in the atypical antipsychotics . It is a substance of the dibenzothiazepine type, being structurally closely related to olanzapine and especially to clozapine.


Its mechanism of action is based on its effects on dopamine and serotonergic receptors , acting by blocking the dopamine D2 receptors in the brain and in the serotonin receptors (which also reduces, which generates a general level of dopamine in most cortical structures is maintained to be this inhibitor of dopamine ).

This is a great advantage, since It is frequent that in schizophrenia there is an excess of dopamine at the mesolimbic level and a deficit of this in the mesocortical pathway, generating respectively positive symptoms (hallucinations, delusions, aggressiveness, impulsivity and disorganization) and negative (praise and apathy, among others). If we only try to reduce dopamine, as do the typical antipsychotics in a non-specific way in the area to be treated, we would not be working and could even worsen the existence of the negatives, in addition to which alterations would be generated in other areas with levels normative


In addition to its effect on dopamine and serotonin, it also has histaminergic and cholinergic effects , affecting and reducing the levels of both. This last factor causes certain somnolence and weight gain to occur, as well as hypotension and some physiological and memory alterations.

Quetiapine has a great advantage over other antipsychotics, and is that it usually does not generate any type of motor side effect. It is because of that subjects with psychotic problems who also suffer from Parkinson's can get to take it (as long as there is no dementia), and that is usually given as a drug to replace the treatment with clozapine or olanzapine when they give extrapyramidal side effects. Nor are there usually sexual effects, not altering prolactin levels. This indicates that their performance at the nigrostriatal and tuberoinfundibular level is minimal, generally not causing effects on the dopamine levels of these pathways.


Main indications and uses

Quetiapine is a psychotropic drug of great use for a large number of people, being used in clinical practice in different disorders and problems. The most common are the following.

1. Schizophrenia

The main and best-known indication for quetiapine is schizophrenia . In this sense, quetiapine shows a great effect at the level of treatment of both positive symptoms (understanding as such those that add characteristics and / or generate an increase in activation, such as hallucinations and delusions) and negative ones (the opposite, as it happens in the poverty of thought and / or speech).

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

2. Other psychotic disorders

Although schizophrenia is the main goal of most antipsychotics, it is not the only psychotic disorder that exists. People with disorders such as brief psychotic disorder, schizophreniform, schizoaffective and chronic delusional disorder can also benefit from the action of quetiapine.

3. Bipolar disorder

Some second-generation antipsychotics, including quetiapine, have been used in the treatment of manic episodes occurred in subjects with bipolar disorder . And not only in the treatment of crises, but also sometimes prophylactically to prevent them from happening. In addition, it also reduces the symptomatology of the depressive episodes that occur in this same disorder.

  • Related article: "Bipolar disorder: 10 features and curiosities you did not know"

4. Major depressive disorder

Since 2010, in some countries the use of quetiapine for the treatment of major depressive disorder has been approved . Although it is not the most recommended treatment, it is an alternative that has shown efficacy in those cases of depressed subjects who are not affected by conventional antidepressants.

  • You may be interested: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Side effects and contraindications

As with all other drugs, The consumption of quetiapine can lead to a series of undesirable side effects . Therefore, among other things, its use must always be indicated and supervised by specialized doctors.

The most common side effect common to all antipsychotics is possible sedation or drowsiness of the subject, together with weight gain . It is also common for hypotension and possibly tachycardia to occur, which should be taken with special caution in patients with heart problems. Also hyperglycemia, and sometimes can contribute to the onset of diabetes (you have to be especially careful and see the doctor if thirst or extreme hunger, exaggerated increase in the urge to urinate or weakness, fruity breath or metallic taste as it could be symptom of a ketoacidosis that could become a danger to life, due to an excess of blood sugar).

Problems such as constipation, dry mouth and blurred vision , along with dizziness and hyperthermia, are also relatively frequent. Due to its anticholinergic action it can also generate memory alterations. Although it occurs in very few cases, it can lead to jaundice, endocrine problems and epileptic seizures. Asthenia, nervousness, akathisia, dryness and liver disorders may also occur.

In severe cases may occur fever, bleeding, falls, seizures, priapism , tachycardias or breathing difficulties. Also allergies and inflammation of the liver. Finally, the possibility of the neuroleptic malignant syndrome arising should be taken into account (reason why the doctor greatly regulates the dose and tends to increase it very little by little until reaching the intended levels).

Contraindications

Regarding the contraindications, quetiapine is contraindicated in all patients with heart problems or vulnerability to suffer them. It is also contraindicated in diabetic subjects, due to the weight gain and the glycemic level as well as the metabolic alterations that it can produce.

Neither should quetiapine users who require the use of other drugs (especially inhibitors of cytochrome P450 3A4 present in some medications for HIV or erythromycin, for example), being necessary to consult with your doctor.

By last, should be very careful pregnant and lactating . Do not drive or operate heavy machinery under its effects, especially due to the sedation it can cause.

Bibliographic references:

  • Navarro, B .; Montejo, A. & Martín, M. (2003). Utility of quetiapine in tardive dyskinesia. Actas Esp. Psiquiatr; 31 (6): 347-352.
  • Rodríguez, J .; Fernández, R .; Iglesias, J. Carnero, M.A .; Quintero, P. & Pascual, F. (s.f.). Quetiapine Pharmacotherapeutic Information Bulletin. 3 (5). Xerencia de Atención Primaria de Ourense.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Srisurapanont, M .; Disayavanish, C. & Taimkaew, K. (2001). Quetiapine for schizophrenia (Cochrane Review). In: The Cochrane Library, 2. Oxford: Update Software.

Quetiapine (Seroquel): What You Need To Know (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quétiapine: fonctionnement et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Quétiapine: fonctionnement et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Septembre 19, 2022

L'halopéridol, la chlorpromazine, la clozapine, la rispéridone, l'olanzapine, la ziprasidone ou la quétiapine sont les noms certains des antipsychotiques ou des neuroleptiques les plus connus et les plus utilisés . Ce sont des substances qui permettent de contrôler les symptômes de divers troubles mentaux, notamment la schizophrénie et d’autres troubles psychotiques.

Dans cet article Nous allons parler du dernier de ceux-ci, la quétiapine , pour voir quel type de substance est, dans quels cas il est utilisé et ses effets secondaires possibles.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

La quétiapine: qu'est-ce que c'est et ses mécanismes d'action

Comme indiqué dans l'introduction, la quétiapine est un médicament avec des effets psychoactifs qui est inclus dans les antipsychotiques atypiques . Il s’agit d’une substance du type dibenzothiazépine, dont la structure est étroitement liée à l’olanzapine et en particulier à la clozapine.


Son mécanisme d'action est basé sur ses effets sur les récepteurs dopaminergiques et sérotoninergiques , agissant en bloquant les récepteurs D2 de la dopamine dans le cerveau et dans les récepteurs de la sérotonine (ce qui réduit également, ce qui génère un niveau général de dopamine dans la plupart des structures corticales est maintenu comme étant cet inhibiteur de la dopamine ).

C’est un grand avantage car Il est fréquent que dans la schizophrénie, il existe un excès de dopamine au niveau mésolimbique et un déficit de cette voie dans la voie mésocorticale, générant respectivement des symptômes positifs (hallucinations, délires, agressivité, impulsivité et désorganisation) et négatifs (louanges et apathie, entre autres). Si nous essayions seulement de réduire la dopamine, comme le font les antipsychotiques classiques de manière non spécifique dans la zone à traiter, nous ne fonctionnerions pas et nous pourrions même aggraver l’existence des négatifs, en plus des modifications seraient générées dans d’autres zones avec des niveaux normatif


Outre ses effets sur la dopamine et la sérotonine, il a également des effets histaminergiques et cholinergiques , affectant et réduisant les niveaux des deux. Ce dernier facteur provoque une somnolence et une prise de poids, ainsi que de l'hypotension et certaines altérations physiologiques et de la mémoire.

La quétiapine présente un avantage considérable par rapport aux autres antipsychotiques. En outre, elle ne génère généralement aucun effet secondaire moteur. C'est pourquoi les sujets avec des problèmes psychotiques qui souffrent aussi de la maladie de Parkinson peuvent arriver à le prendre (tant qu’il n’ya pas de démence) et qui est généralement administré sous forme de médicament pour remplacer le traitement par la clozapine ou l’olanzapine lorsqu’ils provoquent des effets secondaires extrapyramidaux. Il n’ya pas non plus d’effet sexuel, ne modifiant pas les niveaux de prolactine. Cela indique que leurs performances aux niveaux nigrostriatal et tuberoinfundibular sont minimes et n'ont généralement pas d'effet sur les taux de dopamine de ces voies.


Principales indications et utilisations

La quétiapine est un médicament psychotrope très utile pour un grand nombre de personnes et qui est utilisée en pratique clinique dans différents troubles et problèmes. Les plus courants sont les suivants.

1. Schizophrénie

La schizophrénie est l’indication principale et la plus connue de la quétiapine. . En ce sens, la quétiapine a un effet important au niveau du traitement des symptômes positifs (comprenant ceux qui ajoutent des caractéristiques et / ou génèrent une augmentation de l'activation, comme des hallucinations et des délires), ainsi que des symptômes négatifs (au contraire, comme cela se passe dans la pauvreté de la pensée et / ou de la parole).

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

2. Autres troubles psychotiques

Bien que la schizophrénie soit l'objectif principal de la plupart des antipsychotiques, ce n'est pas le seul trouble psychotique qui existe. Les personnes atteintes de troubles tels que le trouble psychotique bref, le trouble schizophréniforme, schizo-affectif et délirant chronique peuvent également bénéficier de l'action de la quétiapine.

3. trouble bipolaire

Certains antipsychotiques de seconde génération, notamment la quétiapine, ont été utilisés dans le traitement des épisodes maniaques est survenu chez des sujets atteints de trouble bipolaire . Et non seulement dans le traitement des crises, mais aussi parfois à titre prophylactique pour les prévenir. En outre, il réduit également la symptomatologie des épisodes dépressifs qui se produisent dans ce même trouble.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

4. Trouble dépressif majeur

Depuis 2010, dans certains pays, l'utilisation de la quétiapine pour le traitement du trouble dépressif majeur a été approuvée . Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas du traitement le plus recommandé, c’est une alternative qui a fait ses preuves dans les cas de sujets déprimés qui ne sont pas affectés par les antidépresseurs classiques.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Effets secondaires et contre-indications

Comme avec tous les autres médicaments, La consommation de quétiapine peut entraîner une série d’effets secondaires indésirables . Par conséquent, entre autres choses, son utilisation doit toujours être indiquée et supervisée par des médecins spécialisés.

L'effet indésirable le plus couramment observé chez tous les antipsychotiques est possible sédation ou somnolence du sujet, avec prise de poids . Une hypotension et peut-être une tachycardie sont également courantes, et doivent être prises avec une prudence particulière chez les patients souffrant de problèmes cardiaques. Aussi l'hyperglycémie, et peut parfois contribuer à l'apparition du diabète (vous devez être particulièrement prudent et consulter le médecin si soif ou extrême faim, augmentation exagérée de l'envie d'uriner ou de faiblesse, souffle fruité ou goût symptôme d’une acidocétose pouvant mettre en danger la vie du fait d’un excès de sucre dans le sang).

Des problèmes tels que la constipation, la bouche sèche et une vision floue ainsi que les vertiges et l'hyperthermie sont également relativement fréquents. En raison de son action anticholinergique, il peut également générer des altérations de la mémoire. Bien que cela se produise dans très peu de cas, il peut provoquer une jaunisse, des problèmes endocriniens et des convulsions épileptiques. Une asthénie, une nervosité, une acathisie, une sécheresse et des troubles du foie peuvent également survenir.

Fièvre, saignements, chutes, convulsions, priapisme , tachycardies ou difficultés respiratoires. Aussi les allergies et l'inflammation du foie. Enfin, il faut tenir compte de la possibilité de survenue d'un syndrome malin des neuroleptiques (raison pour laquelle le médecin régule considérablement la dose et a tendance à l'augmenter très progressivement jusqu'à atteindre les niveaux souhaités).

Contre-indications

En ce qui concerne les contre-indications, la quétiapine est contre-indiquée chez tous les patients souffrant de problèmes cardiaques ou la vulnérabilité de les subir. Il est également contre-indiqué chez les sujets diabétiques en raison de la prise de poids et du niveau glycémique ainsi que des altérations métaboliques qu’il peut produire.

Les utilisateurs de quétiapine nécessitant l'utilisation d'autres médicaments (en particulier les inhibiteurs du cytochrome P450 3A4 présents dans certains médicaments contre le VIH ou l'érythromycine, par exemple) ne devraient pas non plus être consultés.

Finalement, devrait être très prudent enceinte et allaitant . Ne conduisez pas et n’utilisez pas de machinerie lourde, surtout en raison de la sédation qu’elle peut causer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Navarro, B .; Montejo, A. et Martín, M. (2003). Utilité de la quétiapine dans la dyskinésie tardive. Actas Esp. Psiquiatr; 31 (6): 347-352.
  • Rodríguez, J .; Fernández, R .; Iglesias, J. Carnero, M.A; Quintero, P. & Pascual, F. (s.f.). La quétiapine Bulletin d'information pharmacothérapeutique. 3 (5). Xerencia de Atención Primaria de Ourense.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Srisurapanont, M.; Disayavanish, C. et Taimkaew, K. (2001). Quétiapine pour la schizophrénie (Revue Cochrane). Dans: La bibliothèque Cochrane, 2. Oxford: Update Software.

Antidépresseurs : attention danger ! (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes