yes, therapy helps!
Radial nerve: what it is, where it passes, and functions

Radial nerve: what it is, where it passes, and functions

November 4, 2022

Greets. Fold the wrist. Extend your fingers. You probably could have done it easily. And that's because your brain has sent the relevant information to the arm, wrist and hand muscles for it. This transmission has been carried out thanks to a series of nerves, which connect the rest of the nervous system with the muscles. One of them, of great importance for the movement and sensitivity of the extremities, is the radial nerve . It is on this nerve that we are going to talk about next.

  • Related article: "Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures"

The radial nerve: description and location

Radial nerve is one of the most important bundles of nerve fibers in the control of the upper extremities. a peripheral nerve of the autonomic nervous system .


It is one of the three main nerves that innervate the upper extremities, together with the ulnar and middle nerves .

The radial nerve supplies muscles as relevant as the triceps or the anconeus, or the brachial and brachioradial muscles. Also, among others, the extensors of the fingers, including the index and the thumb. It is therefore a nerve of great relevance for the human being. But not only that, but it also has connections with the cutaneous nerves and allows sensitivity and tactile perception in the area it innervates.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Cranial nerves: the 12 nerves that come out of the brain"

Areas where it passes and its two main branches

The nerve in question born in the brachial plexus, just behind the axillary artery . After it proceeds to go through the armpit and then down the arm and forearm, hands and fingers. We must also bear in mind that there are two radial nerves, one in each of the halves of the body.


It passes through the anterior compartment of the arm, passing around the spiral groove of the humerus (whose rupture could affect the nerve) and after that it crosses the elbow and reaches the forearm, where it will be divided into a superficial and a deep branch.

The deep branch passes through the supinator muscle, entering the forearm and reaching the wrist through the back. This branch is linked to muscle perception and the capacity of tension and extension of innervated muscles.

The superficial branch of the radial nerve acts at the level of the skin, affecting the sensibility of the upper extremities . This is subdivided into three cutaneous nerves: posterior arm, posterior forearm and lateral arm. It also comes to hand. This branch allows the cutaneous perception of the back part of the forearm, the upper arm, the back of the hand and the first four fingers.


Functions of this nerve

Our arms and especially our hands are fundamental elements for the human being because thanks to them we can develop a great amount of activities, from defending ourselves or eating to elaborate complex instruments and technologies. Its control is therefore of great importance.

The functions of the radial nerve in this sense are very broad, and it highlights the interesting fact that it plays a role both in sensory perception and in motor control .

At the sensory level, it allows sensibility and perception of the back part of the arm and the forearm, including elbows and wrists, as well as part of the hand (specifically, allows sensitivity of the back of the hand) and a large part of the fingers (except little finger and part of the ring).

At motor level it allows the extension of the fingers, the wrist and the arm. Its action is especially relevant in the posterior forearm , by innervating the muscles of the posterior compartment (which allows extending the wrist and fingers) the upper arm (when innervating the triceps brachii).

Injuries in the radial

Seen in a general way the functions of this nerve, it can be easy to guess the effects that your injury can have: the loss of sensitivity in much of the posterior area of ​​the arm, on the back of the hand and even in the fingers and the loss of the city to make a lot of movements .

If this nerve is injured at the level of the axilla, the ability to extend the arm, wrist or fingers is lost, with the triceps and the rest of the muscles remaining paralyzed, as well as the non-tactile perception of a large part of the arm and the back of the hand.

In the case that the injury is at the level of the humerus, there will be a decrease in the strength of the triceps and the wrist and fingers will stop being able to spread and the perception of the back of the hand, wrist and back of the forearm will disappear. It also generates the so-called wrist fall, which results in loss of coordination and difficulties in closing the hand.

If the injury occurs at the level of the superficial branch, the movement capacity of the entire area will remain intact, but the sensitivity of the wrist, hand and fingers will be lost.

These alterations can occur due to a large number of factors, and can occur good for lacerations and injuries, pinching or myelination problems . Examples of elements that can cause them are neuropathies such as diabetic, fractures of the humerus or radius, dislocations, intoxication, pressure on the wrist, continued enchantment and lack of movement or inflammation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Brazis, P., Biller, J. & Masdeu, J. (Eds) (2007). Peripheral Nerves. In: Localization in Clinical Neurology: 27-72. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  • Ricci, F.P., Barbosa, R.I., Elui, V.M., Barbieri, C.H., Mazzer, N. & Fonseca, M.C. (2015). Radial nerve injury associated with humeral shaft fracture: a retrospective study. Acta Ortop Bras, 23 (1): 19-21.

Radial Nerve | 3D Anatomy Tutorial (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nerf radial: qu'est-ce que c'est, où il passe et qui fonctionne

Nerf radial: qu'est-ce que c'est, où il passe et qui fonctionne

Juin 13, 2021

Dis bonjour Pliez le poignet. Étends tes doigts. Vous auriez probablement pu le faire facilement. Et c’est parce que votre cerveau a envoyé les informations pertinentes aux muscles des bras, des poignets et des mains. Cette transmission a été réalisée grâce à une série de nerfs qui relient le reste du système nerveux aux muscles. L’un d’eux, d’une grande importance pour le mouvement et la sensibilité des extrémités, est le nerf radial . C'est sur ce nerf que nous allons parler ensuite.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques"

Le nerf radial: description et localisation

Le nerf radial est l’un des faisceaux les plus importants de fibres nerveuses dans le contrôle des extrémités supérieures. un nerf périphérique du système nerveux autonome .


C’est l’un des trois principaux nerfs qui innervent les membres supérieurs, avec les nerfs cubital et moyen .

Le nerf radial fournit des muscles aussi importants que le triceps ou l'anconeus, ou les muscles brachial et brachioradial. En outre, entre autres, les extenseurs des doigts, y compris l'index et le pouce. C'est donc un nerf d'une grande pertinence pour l'être humain. Non seulement cela, mais il a également des connexions avec les nerfs cutanés et permet la sensibilité et la perception tactile dans la zone qu'il innerve.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Nerfs crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui sortent du cerveau"

Zones de passage et ses deux branches principales

Le nerf en question né dans le plexus brachial, juste derrière l'artère axillaire . Ensuite, passez sous les aisselles puis sur le bras et l’avant-bras, les mains et les doigts. Nous devons également garder à l'esprit qu'il existe deux nerfs radiaux, un dans chacune des moitiés du corps.


Il traverse le compartiment antérieur du bras, passe autour du sillon spiral de l'humérus (dont la rupture pourrait toucher le nerf), puis traverse le coude et atteint l'avant-bras, où il sera divisé en une branche superficielle et une en profondeur.

La branche profonde traverse le muscle supinateur pour pénétrer dans l'avant-bras et atteindre le poignet par le dos. Cette branche est liée à la perception musculaire et à la capacité de tension et d'extension des muscles innervés.

La branche superficielle du nerf radial agit au niveau de la peau, affectant la sensibilité des membres supérieurs . Celui-ci est subdivisé en trois nerfs cutanés: le bras postérieur, l'avant-bras postérieur et le bras latéral. Il vient également à portée de main. Cette branche permet la perception cutanée de la partie arrière de l'avant-bras, du bras supérieur, du dos de la main et des quatre premiers doigts.


Fonctions de ce nerf

Nos bras et surtout nos mains sont des éléments fondamentaux pour l'être humain car ils permettent de développer une grande quantité d'activités, allant de la défense à l'alimentation en passant par l'élaboration d'instruments et de technologies complexes. Son contrôle est donc d'une grande importance.

Les fonctions du nerf radial dans ce sens sont très larges, et cela souligne le fait intéressant que il joue un rôle à la fois dans la perception sensorielle et dans le contrôle moteur .

Au niveau sensoriel, il permet la sensibilité et la perception de la partie postérieure du bras et de l’avant-bras, y compris les coudes et les poignets, ainsi que d’une partie de la main (permet en particulier la sensibilité du dos de la main) et d’une grande partie des doigts partie de la bague).

Au niveau moteur, il permet l’extension des doigts, du poignet et du bras. Son action est particulièrement pertinente dans l'avant-bras postérieur , en innervant les muscles du compartiment postérieur (ce qui permet d’allonger le poignet et les doigts) le haut du bras (en innervant le triceps brachial).

Blessures dans le radial

Vu d’une manière générale les fonctions de ce nerf, il est facile de deviner les effets que votre blessure peut avoir: la perte de sensibilité dans la majeure partie de la région postérieure du bras, sur le dos de la main et même dans les doigts; la perte de la ville pour faire beaucoup de mouvements .

Si ce nerf est blessé au niveau de l'aisselle, la capacité d'étendre le bras, le poignet ou les doigts est perdue, le triceps et le reste des muscles restent paralysés, ainsi que la perception non tactile d'une grande partie du bras et du dos de la main.

Dans le cas où la lésion se situe au niveau de l'humérus, la force du triceps diminuera et le poignet et les doigts cesseront de se propager et la perception du dos de la main, du poignet et du dos de l'avant-bras disparaîtra. Cela provoque également la chute du poignet, ce qui entraîne une perte de coordination et des difficultés pour fermer la main.

Si la blessure survient au niveau de la branche superficielle, la capacité de mouvement de toute la zone restera intacte, mais la sensibilité du poignet, de la main et des doigts sera perdue.

Ces altérations peuvent être dues à un grand nombre de facteurs et peuvent se produire bon pour les lacérations et les blessures, les problèmes de pincement ou de myélinisation . Des neuropathies telles que le diabète, des fractures de l'humérus ou du radius, des luxations, une intoxication, une pression sur le poignet, un enchantement continu et un manque de mouvement ou une inflammation sont des exemples d'éléments susceptibles de les provoquer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brazis, P., J. Biller et J. Masdeu (Eds) (2007). Nerfs périphériques. Dans: Localisation en neurologie clinique: 27-72. Philadelphie: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  • Ricci, F. P., Barbosa, R. I., Elui, V. M., Barbieri, C. H., Mazzer, N. et Fonseca, M. C. (2015). Lésion nerveuse radiale associée à une fracture de la tige humérale: une étude rétrospective. Acta Ortop Bras, 23 (1): 19-21.

Le rythme cardiaque, explications (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes