yes, therapy helps!
Ranvier nodules: what they are and how they serve neurons

Ranvier nodules: what they are and how they serve neurons

December 4, 2020

Ranvier nodes are cellular substructures that are part of the neuronal system. Among other things are responsible for regulating the electrical signals between neurons, that is, they are a very important part to maintain the activity of the nervous system.

In this article we will see what are the nodules of Ranvier , what are its main functions and what pathologies of the nervous system have been associated with these.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

What are Ranvier nodules?

Ranvier nodules, or Ranvier nodes, are small openings that are interspersed between the myelin sheaths that cover neuronal axons .


To explain it better, let's go in parts: among other things, the nervous system of vertebrates is composed of long propagations of neurons that connect with each other. These propagations are called "axons", arise from the soma (the body) of the neuron and have the shape of a cone that stretches as it extends through the neural network.

In turn, the axons are covered by a thick layer of fatty substances and proteins called "myelin". This thick layer has the shape of a sheath whose function is stimulate the transmission of nerve impulses between neurons . What myelin does is protect the neural network; It serves as an insulator that accelerates nerve transmission between axons.


These pods or layers of myelin are not uniform or completely smooth, but are composed of small subsidence or grooves interspersed along the axon, which we call nodules or nodes. The first to describe both the myelin and its nodes was the French physician and histologist Louis-Antoine Ranvier in the year 1878. That is why until today, these subsidence are known as nodes or nodes of Ranvier.

  • You may be interested: "What are axons of neurons?"

Its duties?

Ranvier nodes are fundamental to maintain the function of myelinated axons. They are plots of a very small length that allow the contact between the axon with the extracellular space , and with this, they make possible the entrance of electrolytes of sodium, potassium, and other chemical elements.

Very broadly, the Ranvier nodes facilitate the expansion of electrical impulses which we call "action potential" and allow the electrical activity that passes through the axons to be maintained at an adequate speed until reaching the body of the neuron.


Being a kind of grooves that are interspersed in the axon, the nodes of Ranvier allow the electrical activity to transit as small jumps between node and node until reaching the neuronal nucleus. This last one accelerates the speed of the communication between neurons, that is to say, the synapse, with which, it is possible that all the activity associated to the encephalon takes place.

Other characteristics of the nodes

It is now known that small changes in the functioning of Ranvier nodules can cause large changes in the action potentials, and with this, in the activity of the nervous system. The latter has been related especially to the elements that make up the nodes.

The nodes of Ranvier are composed of channels that allow the passage of the necessary substances to maintain the electrical activity, especially of potassium and sodium. In these channels, the total voltage change in the action potentials in the membrane is experienced. This is why the Ranvier nodes are highly populated areas of protein material .

It is a necessary condition that there is a sufficient number of channels to avoid faults in the propagation of the electric current. That is to say that a significant amount of channels is necessary to ensure the rapid activation of the channels, and with this, the action potentials.

Diseases and related medical conditions

For these nodes to be formed and function correctly, a series of quite complex interactions between the axon and the cells that cover it must occur.

The complexity of these interactions between the nodes and the regions that surround them makes it possible to develop pathologies of the nervous system associated with the functioning of the nodes and more specifically, related to the functioning of the channels that allow the entry of substances and electrical communication.

Among other things, these pathologies have the common characteristic that a process of demyelination occurs (the damage that occurs in the layers of myelin that line the axons). The demyelination causes the electrical activity to be modified in an important way , reducing the speed of the impulse and the response, and in some cases it causes them to even get lost. The consequence is a disorganization of the nervous system.

The conditions to which the functioning of the Ranvier nodules has been associated are very diverse and are still under study. They have been related from Autism Spectrum Disorder, different Epilepsy Syndromes and fibromyalgia, to autoimmune disorders such as Guillain-Barré Syndrome.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arancibia-Carcamo, L. and Attwell, D. (2014). The node of Ranvier in CNS pathology. Acta Neuropathologica, 128 (2): 161-175.

Animação - Neurônio COM Bainha, x SEM Bainha [Descontração e Ensino] (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les nodules de Ranvier: ce qu'ils sont et comment ils servent les neurones

Les nodules de Ranvier: ce qu'ils sont et comment ils servent les neurones

Juillet 24, 2022

Les nœuds Ranvier sont des sous-structures cellulaires faisant partie du système neuronal. Entre autres choses sont responsables de la régulation des signaux électriques entre les neurones, c’est-à-dire qu’ils jouent un rôle très important dans le maintien de l’activité du système nerveux.

Dans cet article nous verrons quels sont les nodules de Ranvier , quelles sont ses fonctions principales et quelles pathologies du système nerveux ont été associées à celles-ci.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Quels sont les nodules de Ranvier?

Les nodules de Ranvier, ou nœuds de Ranvier, sont de petites ouvertures disséminées entre les gaines de myéline qui couvrir les axones neuronaux .


Pour mieux l'expliquer, allons-y par parties: entre autres, le système nerveux des vertébrés est composé de longues propagations de neurones qui se connectent les uns aux autres. Ces propagations sont appelées "axones", proviennent du soma (le corps) du neurone et ont la forme d'un cône qui s'étend à travers le réseau de neurones.

À leur tour, les axones sont recouverts d'une épaisse couche de corps gras et de protéines appelées "myéline". Cette couche épaisse a la forme d’une gaine dont la fonction est stimuler la transmission de l'influx nerveux entre les neurones . La myéline protège le réseau de neurones. Il sert d'isolant qui accélère la transmission nerveuse entre les axones.


Ces cosses ou couches de myéline ne sont ni uniformes ni complètement lisses, mais sont composées de petites affaissements ou rainures entrecoupées le long de l'axone, que nous appelons nodules ou nœuds. Le médecin et l'histologue français Louis-Antoine Ranvier fut le premier à décrire à la fois la myéline et ses nœuds en 1878. C'est pourquoi jusqu'à aujourd'hui, ces affaissements sont connus sous le nom de nœuds ou nœuds de Ranvier.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Quels sont les axones des neurones?"

Quelles sont ses fonctions?

Les nœuds Ranvier sont fondamentaux pour maintenir la fonction des axones myélinisés. Ce sont des parcelles d'une très petite longueur qui permettre le contact entre l'axone et l'espace extracellulaire et permettent ainsi l’entrée d’électrolytes de sodium, de potassium et d’autres éléments chimiques.

De manière très large, les nœuds de Ranvier facilitent l'expansion des impulsions électriques que nous appelons "potentiel d'action" et permettent de maintenir l'activité électrique qui passe à travers les axones à une vitesse adéquate jusqu'à atteindre le corps de la neurone


Etant une sorte de rainures entrecoupées dans l’axone, les nœuds de Ranvier permettre à l'activité électrique de passer sous forme de petits sauts entre nœud et nœud jusqu'à atteindre le noyau neuronal. Ce dernier accélère la vitesse de la communication entre neurones, c'est-à-dire la synapse, avec laquelle, il est possible que toute l'activité associée à l'encéphale se produise.

Autres caractéristiques des nœuds

On sait maintenant que de petits changements dans le fonctionnement des nodules de Ranvier peuvent causer de grands changements dans les potentiels d’action et, par là même, dans l’activité du système nerveux. Ce dernier a été lié en particulier aux éléments qui composent les nœuds.

Les nœuds de Ranvier sont composés de canaux permettant le passage des substances nécessaires au maintien de l’activité électrique, notamment du potassium et du sodium. Dans ces canaux, la variation totale de la tension dans les potentiels d'action dans la membrane est expérimentée. C’est pourquoi les nœuds Ranvier sont zones fortement peuplées de matière protéique .

C'est une condition nécessaire qu'il y ait un nombre suffisant de canaux pour éviter les erreurs dans la propagation du courant électrique. C'est-à-dire qu'une quantité importante de canaux est nécessaire pour assurer l'activation rapide des canaux et, par conséquent, les potentiels d'action.

Maladies et affections médicales connexes

Pour que ces nœuds soient formés et fonctionnent correctement, une série d'interactions assez complexes entre l'axone et les cellules qui le recouvrent doit avoir lieu.

La complexité de ces interactions entre les noeuds et les régions qui les entourent permet de développer des pathologies du système nerveux associées au fonctionnement des noeuds et plus spécifiquement liées au fonctionnement des canaux permettant l'entrée de substances. et communication électrique.

Entre autres choses, ces pathologies ont la caractéristique commune qu’un processus de démyélinisation se produit (les dommages qui se produisent dans les couches de myéline qui tapissent les axones). La démyélinisation provoque une modification importante de l'activité électrique , réduisant la vitesse de l'impulsion et de la réponse, et dans certains cas, cela les fait même se perdre. La conséquence est une désorganisation du système nerveux.

Les conditions auxquelles le fonctionnement des nodules de Ranvier a été associé sont très diverses et sont encore à l’étude. Ils ont été liés à des troubles du spectre autistique, à différents syndromes d'épilepsie et à la fibromyalgie, à des troubles auto-immuns tels que le syndrome de Guillain-Barré.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arancibia-Carcamo, L. et Attwell, D. (2014). Le noeud de Ranvier dans la pathologie du SNC. Acta Neuropathologica, 128 (2): 161-175.

UltraMAB Antibody: How to Test Antibody Specificity (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes