yes, therapy helps!
Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (TREC) by Albert Ellis

Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (TREC) by Albert Ellis

September 5, 2022

Albert Ellis (1913 - 2007) was one of the most influential psychologists of the 20th century and one of the most outstanding figures in the field of psychology after his break with the psychodynamic school.

He was the creator in one of the theories that have revolutionized the foundations and the methodology in the treatment of emotional and psychological problems, he has earned a place of honor among the greatest psychologists. We speak today of Albert Ellis and the TREC .

Albert Ellis and Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (TREC)

Your theory (the Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy ) is well known and although many psychologists do not share its principles, others are instead incorporated into this line, finding in it a good basis to continue developing their profession and the appropriate treatment for each disorder, according to the current requirements in the field of clinical psychology.


Albert Ellis was born in Pittsburg in 1913 and studied at the University of Columbia (New York), specializing in training professionals in Psychoanalysis. There he obtained his doctorate in 1947. Ellis soon realized the limitations of Sigmund Freud's theory and, disappointed by the few results he obtained with his patients, he gradually abandoned psychoanalytic theory to start working on his own theory. .

Already by the year 1953 he breaks completely with psychoanalysis and begins to develop a type of psychotherapy that he would call Rational Emotive Therapy, a type of counseling psychotherapy cognitive-behavioral .

The TREC: what is it?

But, What is Emotional Rational Therapy? It is known that Ellis received training in the field of letters. Among his studies had much to do with philosophy, which would serve as a primordial basis for the further development of his theory. Ellis considered that his theory could be summed up in the phrase of the famous Stoic Greek philosopher Epíteto, which affirmed that "People are not disturbed by the facts, but by what they think about the facts"


Ellis developed his theory by exemplifying it as shown in this graphic :

Albert Ellis considered that behavioral and emotional problems they could have their genesis from their three sources: thought, emotional and behavioral . He emphasized how thoughts affect psychological alterations.

Ellis (1995) stated that people are largely responsible for their disturbed feelings, which are generated either consciously or unconsciously. Therefore, those same people have all the resources to be able to modify their thoughts and bring to their lives lasting and stable states.

The link between thought and emotion

According to Ellis, this shows how thought and emotion are related. Ellis said that what causes the alteration or emotional difficulty is not what happens at point A, but that people create a belief structure at point B and reinforce these beliefs in a negative and often harmful way, which is manifests in behavioral or emotional reactions: point C, according to Ellis (1962).


This theoretical body and the therapy that emerged from it motivated many criticisms by some professionals in the field of psychiatry and psychology itself, by claiming that it sinned from an excess of "rationalism" that caused the theory to be perceived as not very viable and unscientific, however, the time led to numerous studies and investigations on cases where has applied the TREC, obtaining a high reliability and excellent results.That is why the TREC, since it was created by Albert Ellis to the present is at the forefront of psychotherapies.

The studies that Ellis developed throughout his life had their fruits. Currently, at his institute located in the city of New York is still working in the training of psychotherapists, through talks, care for people with family problems, personal, and with studies that make day after day the science of psychology develop new tools for a century as demanding as the one we live.

Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy has a clear purpose, as stated by Saranson (2006) in his book Abnormal psychopathology, the problem of maladaptive behavior , where it refers to Ellis and Dryden (1977): people have to question their fundamental beliefs (in most cases, irrational), and then replace them with more constructive (rational) ones.

The REBT has not only been applied in the clinical field but there are several writings on the intervention in the labor and educational fields.A psychotherapy that provides many opportunities in the study of the human being, emotions, thought and mental health.

Bibliographic references:

  • Caballo, V. (2010), Technique manual and behavior modification
  • Ellis, A. (2003), Manual of Rational Emotive Therapy, Editorial Desclee
  • Saranson, B. and Saranson, I. (2006), Abnormal Psychopathology, the problem of inadverted behavior, Editorial Pearson

Terapia Racional Emotivo Conductual de Albert Ellis (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie du comportement émotif rationnel (TREC) par Albert Ellis

Thérapie du comportement émotif rationnel (TREC) par Albert Ellis

Juillet 23, 2019

Albert Ellis (1913 - 2007) était l’un des psychologues les plus influents du XXe siècle et l’une des figures les plus remarquables du domaine de la psychologie après sa rupture avec l’école psychodynamique.

Créateur d'une des théories qui ont révolutionné les fondements et la méthodologie de traitement des problèmes émotionnels et psychologiques, il s'est taillé une place d'honneur parmi les plus grands psychologues. On parle aujourd'hui de Albert Ellis et le TREC .

Albert Ellis et la thérapie comportementale émotive rationnelle (TREC)

Votre théorie (la Thérapie comportementale émotive rationnelle ) est bien connu et bien que de nombreux psychologues ne partagent pas ses principes, d’autres sont plutôt incorporés dans cette ligne, y trouvant une bonne base pour continuer à développer leur profession et le traitement approprié à chaque trouble, selon les exigences actuelles de la loi. domaine de la psychologie clinique.


Albert Ellis est né à Pittsburg en 1913 et a étudié à l'Université de Columbia (New York), se spécialisant dans la formation de professionnels en psychanalyse. Il obtint son doctorat en 1947. Bientôt, Ellis réalisa les limites de la théorie de Sigmund Freud et, déçu par les quelques résultats obtenus avec ses patients, il abandonna progressivement la théorie psychanalytique pour commencer à travailler sur sa propre théorie. .

Dès 1953, il rompt complètement avec la psychanalyse et commence à développer un type de psychothérapie qu'il appellerait Thérapie émotionnelle rationnelle, un type de psychothérapie de conseil cognitivo-comportemental .

Le TREC: c'est quoi?

Mais Qu'est-ce que la thérapie rationnelle émotionnelle? On sait que Ellis a reçu une formation dans le domaine des lettres. Parmi ses études ont beaucoup à voir avec la philosophie, qui servirait de base primordiale pour le développement ultérieur de sa théorie. Ellis considérait que sa théorie pouvait se résumer dans la phrase du célèbre philosophe grec stoïcien Epíteto, qui affirmait que "les gens ne sont pas troublés par les faits, mais par ce qu'ils pensent des faits"


Ellis a développé sa théorie en l’illustrant de la manière illustrée dans ce graphique :

Albert Ellis considérait que les problèmes de comportement et émotionnels ils pourraient avoir leur genèse de leurs trois sources: la pensée, émotionnelle et comportementale . Il a souligné comment les pensées affectent les altérations psychologiques.

Ellis (1995) a déclaré que les gens sont en grande partie responsables de leurs sentiments perturbés, générés soit consciemment, soit inconsciemment. Par conséquent, ces mêmes personnes ont toutes les ressources pour pouvoir modifier leurs pensées et apporter à leurs vies des états durables et stables.

Le lien entre pensée et émotion

Selon Ellis, cela montre à quel point la pensée et l’émotion sont liées. Ellis a déclaré que ce qui cause l'altération ou les difficultés émotionnelles n'est pas ce qui se passe au point A, mais que les gens créent une structure de croyance au point B et renforcent ces croyances de manière négative et souvent nuisible, ce qui est: se manifeste par des réactions comportementales ou émotionnelles: point C, selon Ellis (1962).


Ce corps théorique et la thérapie qui en a émergé motivé de nombreuses critiques par certains professionnels dans le domaine de la psychiatrie et la psychologie elle-même, en affirmant qu'elle tirait parti d'un excès de "rationalisme" qui faisait que la théorie était perçue comme peu viable et peu scientifique, cependant, le temps a conduit à de nombreuses études et enquêtes sur des cas où a appliqué le TREC, obtenant une fiabilité élevée et d’excellents résultats. C’est pourquoi le TREC, depuis sa création par Albert Ellis, est à l’avant-garde des psychothérapies.

Les études développées par Ellis tout au long de sa vie portèrent leurs fruits. Actuellement, dans son institut situé à New York, il travaille toujours dans la formation de psychothérapeutes, par le biais de discussions, de soins pour les personnes ayant des problèmes familiaux, personnels et avec des études qui font jour après jour que la science de la psychologie développe de nouveaux outils pour un siècle aussi exigeant que celui que nous vivons.

La thérapie comportementale émotionnelle rationnelle a un objectif clair, comme le dit Saranson (2006) dans son livre Psychopathologie anormale, le problème du comportement mésadapté , où il fait référence à Ellis et Dryden (1977): les gens doivent remettre en question leurs convictions fondamentales (dans la plupart des cas, irrationnelles), puis les remplacer par des croyances plus constructives (rationnelles).

Le REBT a non seulement été appliqué dans le domaine clinique, mais il existe plusieurs écrits sur l'intervention dans les domaines du travail et de l'éducation.Une psychothérapie qui offre de nombreuses opportunités dans l’étude de l’être humain, des émotions, de la pensée et de la santé mentale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Caballo, V. (2010), Manuel technique et modification du comportement
  • Ellis, A. (2003), Manuel de thérapie rationnelle émotive, Desclee de rédaction
  • Saranson, B. et Saranson, I. (2006), Psychopathologie anormale, le problème du comportement par inadvertance, Editorial Pearson

The Choice is Ours (2016) Official Full Version (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes