yes, therapy helps!
Rational people: these are its 5 characteristics

Rational people: these are its 5 characteristics

June 24, 2021

Rational people are not very common , because in the end what we understand today as rationality is a recent invention. And it is that normally the existence of these individuals depends on where they were born and where education has been received during childhood and youth. Even today, adults on a large part of planet Earth continue to be guided by totally irrational beliefs and superstitions.

However, despite its rarity, when we are before a rational person is recognized immediately ... if we pay attention to the right signals.

  • Related article: "Herbert Simon's Theory of Limited Rationality

So are rational people in their day to day

Below you can see a list of features that define rational people in their way of thinking and relating to others. Keep in mind, however, that in spite of the stereotypes that run about people with an analytical mindset, it's not about robots . Someone rational can also be very emotional in certain occasions; the difference is in the way in which emotions are regulated.


1. They wait for the best time to make important decisions

It is very common that, in practice, the first moment in which we must make a choice or make a decision coincides with a time when we are very emotionally activated.

Think, for example, that we are being told that we have been accepted at a prestigious university located outside our country: if we let ourselves be carried away by the euphoria, we may accept the seat and begin to make expenditures for the transfer before considering whether we have enough savings to opt for that route, or if there are other responsibilities to attend in our city of residence.

That's why rational people do not rush when making relevant decisions , at least if they believe that there is an emotional state that is biasing the interpretation of the facts.


2. They know that emotion and rationality are unbreakable

Even the most rational people are aware that human beings can not pretend to be robots, purely objective entities that analyze the facts coldly and distancing themselves from the facts. To believe otherwise would mean having no defenses to prevent cognitive biases and fall into a dogmatism according to which nothing is debatable.

So, taking into account that emotions influence both the place where our attention is focused and the conclusions reached when analyzing that selected information, rational people have the opportunity to retrace their steps and ask themselves if they made any mistake in their way of reasoning.

  • Related article: "Are we rational or emotional beings?

3. Believe in the power of consensus

However objective and rational we pretend to be, we do not have an immediate access to the truth. That is why consensus helps us to better understand what is happening. Why? Why By combining ideas and points of view, new explanations appear and solutions to questions.


Thus, rationality implies, by force, exchange of points of view and debate. It is not a linear thinking process carried out by a single person, for a very simple reason: being human means having access to a very limited amount of information and not having time to learn everything about reality . There will always be someone who knows more than we do about a particular topic, and the most reasonable thing is to listen to what you have to say.

4. They experience their social relationships in a constructive way

Tender towards rationality means that, faced with the possibility of fighting with a friend or relative, do not act from spite and the desire for revenge .

Thus, the way in which these disputes are managed is based on the fact that the objective is not to make our actions correspond to what we are feeling, but to what it should be. It is an important nuance that, although it does not imply that one is not going to make the other suffer (assuming that an exemplary punishment will make a similar situation) avoids many unnecessary dramas, since an emotional reaction increases the chances that an emotional response appears on the part of the other.

  • Maybe you're interested: "8 characteristics of immature people emotionally

5. They try to foresee the risks

Another defining characteristic of rational people is that they do not easily give in to their impulses , because before taking actions that can compromise someone's well-being, consider the risks and benefits.

Of course, this is a relative characteristic, since there is no human being capable of stopping to think constantly about what the consequences of their actions may be in the medium and long term.However, rational people do it much more frequently than the rest, and they are especially good at detecting those moments in which it is worthwhile to stop and think and not give in to the most immediate desires.


What Your Blood Type Says About Your Personality (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les gens rationnels: ce sont ses 5 caractéristiques

Les gens rationnels: ce sont ses 5 caractéristiques

Février 21, 2019

Les personnes rationnelles ne sont pas très communes , parce que finalement, ce que nous comprenons aujourd'hui comme rationalité est une invention récente. Et c’est que l’existence de ces personnes dépend normalement de leur lieu de naissance et du lieu où l’éducation a été reçue pendant l’enfance et la jeunesse. Même de nos jours, les adultes d'une grande partie de la planète Terre continuent d'être guidés par des croyances et des superstitions totalement irrationnelles.

Cependant, malgré sa rareté, quand nous sommes devant nous, une personne rationnelle est immédiatement reconnue… si nous sommes attentifs aux bons signaux.

  • Article connexe: "Théorie de Herbert Simon sur la rationalité limitée

Ainsi sont les gens rationnels dans leur quotidien

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de caractéristiques qui définissent les personnes rationnelles dans leur façon de penser et leurs relations avec les autres. Cependant, gardez à l’esprit que malgré les stéréotypes qui règnent chez les personnes ayant un esprit analytique, il ne s'agit pas de robots . Quelqu'un de rationnel peut aussi être très émotif à certaines occasions; la différence réside dans la manière dont les émotions sont régulées.


1. Ils attendent le meilleur moment pour prendre des décisions importantes

Il est très courant que, dans la pratique, le premier moment où nous devons faire un choix ou prendre une décision coïncide avec un moment où nous sommes très activés émotionnellement.

Pensez, par exemple, que l’on nous dit que nous avons été acceptés dans une université prestigieuse située en dehors de notre pays: si nous nous laissons emporter par l’euphorie, nous pouvons accepter le siège et commencer à engager des dépenses pour le transfert avant de décider si nous avons suffisamment d'économies pour opter pour cet itinéraire ou s'il y a d'autres responsabilités à assumer dans notre ville de résidence.

Voilà pourquoi les gens rationnels ne vous précipitez pas pour prendre des décisions pertinentes du moins s’ils pensent qu’il existe un état émotionnel qui biaise l’interprétation des faits.


2. Ils savent que l'émotion et la rationalité sont indissociables

Même les personnes les plus rationnelles sont conscientes que les êtres humains ne peuvent pas prétendre être des robots, des entités purement objectives qui analysent les faits avec froideur et se distancient des faits. Croire le contraire signifierait ne pas avoir de défense contre prévenir les biais cognitifs et tomber dans un dogmatisme selon lequel rien n'est discutable.

Ainsi, tenant compte du fait que les émotions influencent à la fois le lieu où notre attention est concentrée et les conclusions tirées lors de l'analyse des informations sélectionnées, les personnes rationnelles ont la possibilité de revenir sur leurs pas et de se poser des questions. s'ils commettaient une erreur de raisonnement.

  • Article connexe: "Sommes-nous des êtres rationnels ou émotionnels?

3. Croire au pouvoir du consensus

Aussi objectifs et rationnels que nous prétendions être, nous n’avons pas un accès immédiat à la vérité. C'est pourquoi le consensus nous aide à mieux comprendre ce qui se passe. Parce que? Parce que En combinant idées et points de vue, de nouvelles explications apparaissent et des solutions aux questions.


Ainsi, la rationalité implique, par la force, un échange de points de vue et un débat. Ce n'est pas un processus de pensée linéaire mené par une seule personne, pour une raison très simple: être humain, c'est avoir accès à une quantité très limitée d'informations et ne pas avoir le temps de tout apprendre sur la réalité . Il y aura toujours quelqu'un qui en sait plus que nous sur un sujet particulier, et le plus raisonnable est d'écouter ce que vous avez à dire.

4. Ils expérimentent leurs relations sociales de manière constructive

Tendre vers la rationalité signifie que, face à la possibilité de se battre avec un ami ou un parent, ne pas agir par dépit et le désir de vengeance .

Ainsi, la manière dont ces différends sont gérés repose sur le fait que l'objectif n'est pas de faire en sorte que nos actions correspondent à ce que nous ressentons, mais à ce qu'il devrait être. Bien que cela n'implique pas que l'un ne va pas faire souffrir l'autre (en supposant qu'une punition exemplaire produira une situation similaire), c'est une nuance importante qui permet d'éviter de nombreux drames inutiles, car une réaction émotionnelle augmente une réponse émotionnelle apparaît de la part de l'autre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "8 caractéristiques des personnes immatures émotionnellement

5. Ils essaient de prévoir les risques

Une autre caractéristique des gens rationnels est que ils ne cèdent pas facilement à leurs pulsions , car avant de prendre des mesures pouvant compromettre le bien-être de quelqu'un, prenez en compte les risques et les avantages.

Bien entendu, il s’agit d’une caractéristique relative, puisqu’il n’ya pas d’être humain capable de s’arrêter pour penser constamment aux conséquences de leurs actes à moyen et long terme.Cependant, les personnes rationnelles le font beaucoup plus souvent que les autres et sont particulièrement douées pour détecter les moments où il vaut la peine de s’arrêter et de réfléchir sans céder aux désirs les plus immédiats.


10 Choses Sur le Corps Féminin Que Très Peu de Gens Savent (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes