yes, therapy helps!
Reactive attachment disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

Reactive attachment disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

December 31, 2022

A kiss, a hug, a caress ... All this has something in common: in most cases they are carried out with affection , and most of us are awaken feelings of warmth and affection. Imagine for a moment that we have never received any in childhood. Or that we have done it, but without showing any affection or emotion in it. Imagine also that we have always felt secondary, unimportant for our near beings. How would we feel? How would we relate to others?

It would not be strange that this would cause us severe limitations, which would mark and hinder our development as people and our social relationships. This is what happens to those with reactive attachment disorder . Let's see what it consists of.


  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Reactive attachment disorder: main symptoms

Reactive attachment disorder is one of the disorders related to traumas and stress factors . It is also a new disorder included in the latest version of the reference manual of clinical psychology and psychiatry, the DSM 5.

Reactive attachment disorder is characterized by the presence in children over nine months of age of a pattern of behavior in which there is a high emotional and affective inhibition towards their caregivers , not seeking and even avoiding contact and comfort in them even when there is some stimulus or situation that scares them or causes them pain or restlessness. In general, the subject feels unimportant and valued, and does not have a strong emotional bond with them.


This pattern of inhibition is maintained not only with their caregivers but also at the social level, expressing difficulties to react emotionally to the social environment and manifesting with certain frequency irritability, sadness or fear of the caregivers even in situations that do not pose a threat. They often express few positive feelings or emotions in social interaction .

The symptoms described above can be observed before the age of five, and it is important to bear in mind that it can only be diagnosed if the diagnostic criteria for autism are not met. In this sense, it is easy observe a certain similarity between some aspects of the symptomatology of both disorders , but there are big differences. One of them is its cause, which in the case of reactive attachment disorder has been identified and in fact forms part of its diagnostic criteria.


  • Related article: "The Theory of Attachment and the bond between parents and children"

Causes

The causes of reactive attachment disorder, a fact requirement for it to be diagnosed, are mainly found in insufficient care during the first years of life. The subject has not received enough affection or supplied his emotional needs and care, love and protection and / or basic physiological.

It is more common in families where parents have poor parental skills, or where they tend not to express feelings. It is common to be in broken families, which do not offer or supplement the basic needs of the child.

It is also possible that there has been intrafamily violence, whether physical or not or whether the child in question is addressed or not, or sexual abuse. However, this does not mean that it can not occur in families without great difficulties at a socioeconomic level, the defining being the fact that they have not met or have not sufficiently met the needs of affection, or have resulted overly ambivalent in the expression of affectivity towards the subject in question.

They may also have this minor disorder that has gone through various changes of primary caregivers (for custody issues), or those who have been educated in institutions and contexts such as orphanages or auspices in which they have not been given enough time or enough attention to your affective needs. You have to bear in mind that the experience of these circumstances does not have to cause a disorder .

  • Related article: "6 keys to overcome a difficult childhood"

Treatments

The treatment of reactive attachment disorder is complex and requires a multidisciplinary approach in which professionals from psychology, medicine, social assistance, education and the field can converge.

It is necessary that the subject can establish a solid link with a referral caregiver who provides emotional support . For this reason, the subjects with this type of disorder will often benefit from the use of family therapy, not only to treat the subject but also to establish appropriate educational guidelines in cases where there is a deficit of parental abilities.

It is essential to work the affective component with the child.In this sense, it will be very useful the use of therapies dedicated to strengthening the self-esteem of the subject , as well as training in social skills. The cognitive restructuring will allow to change the dysfunctional cognitions that the subject may have regarding social bonding.

We must also bear in mind that some cases occur in a context of severe neglect of the needs of the child, with circumstances that even entail a danger to the life of the subject. as the existence of dependence on drugs by parents. In this aspect the removal of guardianship or custody by a judge may be necessary either temporarily or permanently.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.

Reactive Attachment Disorder ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble d'attachement réactif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble d'attachement réactif: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 26, 2022

Un baiser, un câlin, une caresse ... Tout cela a quelque chose en commun: dans la plupart des cas, ils sont réalisés avec affection et la plupart d’entre nous ont des sentiments de chaleur et d’affection. Imaginez un instant que nous n’en avons jamais reçu dans l’enfance. Ou que nous l'ayons fait, mais sans y manifester aucune affection ni émotion. Imaginez aussi que nous nous sommes toujours sentis secondaires, sans importance pour nos êtres proches. Comment nous sentirions-nous? Comment pourrions-nous nous rapporter aux autres?

Il ne serait pas étonnant que cela nous impose des limitations sévères, qui marqueraient et entraveraient notre développement en tant que personnes et nos relations sociales. C'est ce qui arrive aux personnes ayant un trouble d'attachement réactif . Voyons en quoi cela consiste.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Trouble d'attachement réactif: principaux symptômes

Trouble d'attachement réactif est un des troubles liés aux traumatismes et aux facteurs de stress . Il s’agit également d’un nouveau trouble inclus dans la dernière version du manuel de référence de psychologie clinique et de psychiatrie, le DSM 5.

Le trouble d’attachement réactif se caractérise par la présence chez les enfants de plus de neuf mois d’un type de comportement dans lequel il y a une forte inhibition émotionnelle et affective envers leurs soignants , ne pas chercher et même éviter le contact et le réconfort en eux, même s’il existe un stimulus ou une situation qui leur fait peur ou leur fait souffrir ou s’agiter. En général, le sujet se sent insignifiant et valorisé et n'a pas de lien émotionnel fort avec eux.


Cette tendance à l'inhibition est maintenue non seulement chez leurs aidants mais aussi au niveau social, exprimant des difficultés à réagir émotionnellement à l'environnement social et se manifestant avec une certaine fréquence irritabilité, tristesse ou peur des aidants même dans des situations ne constituant pas une menace. Ils expriment souvent peu de sentiments positifs ou d'émotions lors d'interactions sociales .

Les symptômes décrits ci-dessus peuvent être observés avant l'âge de cinq ans et il est important de garder à l'esprit qu'il ne peut être diagnostiqué que si les critères de diagnostic de l'autisme ne sont pas remplis. En ce sens, c'est facile observer une certaine similitude entre certains aspects de la symptomatologie des deux troubles , mais il y a de grandes différences. L'une d'elles est sa cause, qui dans le cas du trouble de l'attachement réactif a été identifiée et fait en fait partie de ses critères de diagnostic.


  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'attachement et le lien entre parents et enfants"

Les causes

Les causes du trouble de l'attachement réactif, qui est indispensable au diagnostic, se trouvent principalement dans le manque de soins au cours des premières années de la vie. Le sujet n'a pas reçu assez d'affection ou fourni ses besoins émotionnels et soin, amour et protection et / ou physiologique de base.

Il est plus fréquent dans les familles où les parents ont de faibles compétences parentales ou dans lesquels ils ont tendance à ne pas exprimer leurs sentiments. Il est courant de vivre dans des familles brisées qui n'offrent ni ne complètent les besoins essentiels de l'enfant.

Il est également possible qu'il y ait eu des violences au sein de la famille, qu'elles soient physiques ou non, que l'enfant en question soit pris en compte ou non, ou des abus sexuels. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que cela ne peut pas se produire dans les familles sans grandes difficultés sur le plan socio-économique, la définition étant le fait qu'elles n'ont pas satisfait ou n'ont pas suffisamment répondu aux besoins de l'affection, ou ont entraîné trop ambivalent dans l'expression de l'affectivité vers le sujet en question.

Ils peuvent également souffrir de ce trouble mineur ayant subi divers changements de dispensateurs de soins (problèmes de garde), ou de ceux qui ont été éduqués dans des institutions et des contextes tels que des orphelinats ou des auspices dans lesquels on ne leur a pas accordé suffisamment de temps ou d'attention vos besoins affectifs. Vous devez garder à l'esprit que l'expérience de ces circonstances ne doit pas causer de désordre .

  • Article connexe: "6 clés pour surmonter une enfance difficile"

Traitements

Le traitement du trouble d’attachement réactif est complexe et nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire dans lequel des professionnels de la psychologie, de la médecine, de l'assistance sociale, de l'éducation et du domaine peuvent converger.

Il est nécessaire que le sujet puisse établir un lien solide avec un soignant de référence qui fournit un soutien émotionnel . Pour cette raison, les sujets atteints de ce type de trouble bénéficieront souvent de l’utilisation de la thérapie familiale, non seulement pour traiter le sujet, mais également pour établir des directives pédagogiques appropriées en cas de déficit d’aptitudes parentales.

Il est essentiel de travailler la composante affective avec l'enfant.En ce sens, il sera très utile l'utilisation de thérapies dédiées au renforcement de l'estime de soi du sujet , ainsi que la formation aux compétences sociales. La restructuration cognitive permettra de modifier les cognitions dysfonctionnelles que le sujet peut avoir concernant le lien social.

Nous devons également garder à l'esprit que certains cas surviennent dans un contexte de grave négligence des besoins de l'enfant, dans des circonstances pouvant même constituer un danger pour la vie du sujet. comme l'existence d'une dépendance à la drogue par les parents. Dans cet aspect la suppression de la tutelle ou de la garde par un juge peut être nécessaire soit temporairement ou définitivement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.

Trouble de l'attachement, Caractéristiques et dépistage (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes