yes, therapy helps!
Rectal prolapse: symptoms, causes and treatment

Rectal prolapse: symptoms, causes and treatment

January 8, 2023

The digestive system is one of the most important parts of our body , because through food we can obtain energy and nutrients from the external environment we need to keep our body functioning and survive.

But the digestive system has not only an entry point but also an exit point: the rectum and the anus. These elements, which in addition to the digestive system are part of the excretory system, are fundamental in order to eliminate organic waste produced by the functioning of our body and the remains of food that our body is not able to use.

However, sometimes diseases, disorders or alterations may appear that cause the excretion of feces to be complicated or annoying, or even that a part of our organism protrudes. It's what happens with rectal prolapse , which we are going to talk about next.


  • Related article: "This is the chemical dialogue between your brain and your stomach"

What is a rectal prolapse?

Rectal prolapse is the medical condition in which the rectum protrudes outside the anus, that is, it slides outward. This protrusion can be partial or complete, reaching out of the anus. The final part of the intestine loses the natural anchors that cause it to remain inside the body, which causes the sliding. The rectum is reversed, with the mucous lining of the rectum visible from the outside in the form of a red extension, shaped like a finger.

This problem can be quite uncomfortable for those who suffer it, as it is common for irritations, pain or defecatory problems to appear. It can also generate symptoms such as diarrhea or constipation, secretions or even fecal incontinence (losing the ability to control excretion). Likewise, the prolapsed rectum may become perforated or ulcerated, generating hemorrhages that may even require urgent intervention. This problem can appear at any age and in any of the sexes . It is especially frequent in children under 6 years old, being another type of population in which it is highly known in adults over 50 years of age. It tends to be more frequent in women.


It is common that this condition progressively worse, initially only the mucosa that protrudes and only in situations of anal exertion such as defecation, returning to its original place shortly after. However, little by little the rectum is being left out of the body more frequently and in more and more situations if it is not treated. In the case of women, it is possible that the protrusion of the rectum is directed towards the posterior wall of the vagina, being able to generate the condition known as rectocele .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Appendicitis: symptoms, causes, treatment and psychological attention"

Different types or grades

Rectal prolapse may appear in different degrees depending on which parts of the lower third of the intestine protrude . In this sense we can find different variants.

1. Partial / mucosal rectal prolapse

Rectal prolapse in which only a part of the lower rectal mucosa protrudes, not affecting other parts of the rectum or bowel. It is the most common in minors.


2. Complete first-degree rectal prolapse

Type of prolapse in which the entire wall of the anal canal protrudes, making the outer layer of the prolapse without containing peritoneum .

3. Full second degree rectal prolapse

The most common. The anus remains in its usual position, protruding only the rectal mucosa as the outer wall and the deep part of the peritoneum. In this case the prolapse contains part of the small intestine inside , having a cavity in the form of a sac.

4. Complete prolapse of third degree or occult

The superior rectus and the distal sigmoid invaginate or a sliding of one part of the colon or rectum is generated within another, making the prolapse something hidden and not visible from the outside. It is the least frequent of this type of problem.

Causes of this problem

The causes of a rectal prolapse can be very diverse, being the direct cause the loss of the subjection of the lower part of the digestive system . The origin of this loss of subjection is not always completely clear, but it has been observed that it tends to appear in people who meet certain conditions or perform situations of considerable effort.

Among the possible reasons for this loss of support may be malformations, hyperplasia of the colon or pelvic problems that allow the appearance of a hernia. It can also appear in situations of continued exertion of the anus or abdomen as in diarrhea or constipation, and even in chronic coughs.

On the other hand, it has been observed its emergence in women after childbirth . Also, muscular or nervous problems, infections by earthworms or cystic fibrosis have been considered also possible causes of this condition.

Treatment

Rectal prolapse is a problem that can become serious, but whose treatment can vary greatly depending on the severity with which it reaches consultation or the degree and tissues that protrude. It should always be a procedure carried out by doctors.

When we are facing a partial and mild prolapse, the treatment can only be to reintroduce the rectum gently into the anus, usually with the help of a compress to push the mass inwards .

Sometimes the treatment of the causes can solve the problem, at least in children. For example, in cases of constipation, laxatives may be applied.

In adults or in serious cases Surgical intervention may be necessary to reposition and fix the matter of the digestive system and the muscles that hold them in place. This surgery can be abdominal or perineal, there are different types of intervention. However, this type of intervention has its risks.

Bibliographic references:

  • Avendaño, E.O. (1968). Rectal prolapse. Proctology 1st Edition. Editorial Impresiones Modernas S.A. Mexico, D. F., pp. 138-45.
  • Charúa, L. (2016). Rectal prolapse. [On-line]. Available at: //someal.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/PROLAPSO-RECTAL-DR.-CHARUA.pdf
  • Kliegman, R.M., Stanton, B.F., St.Geme, J.W. & Schor, N.F. (2016). Surgical conditions of the anus and rectum. In: Kliegman RM, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.

Rectal Prolapse - Best Treatment and Symptoms (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Prolapsus rectal: symptômes, causes et traitement

Prolapsus rectal: symptômes, causes et traitement

Février 24, 2020

Le système digestif est l'une des parties les plus importantes de notre corps , parce que grâce à la nourriture, nous pouvons obtenir de l’énergie et des nutriments de l’environnement extérieur, nous avons besoin pour que notre corps continue de fonctionner et pour survivre.

Mais le système digestif a non seulement un point d'entrée, mais également un point de sortie: le rectum et l'anus. Ces éléments, qui en plus du système digestif font partie du système excréteur, sont fondamentaux pour éliminer les déchets organiques produits par le fonctionnement de notre corps et les restes de nourriture que notre corps n'est pas en mesure d'utiliser.

Cependant, des maladies, des troubles ou des altérations peuvent parfois apparaître, qui compliquent ou gênent l'excrétion des matières fécales, ou même une partie de notre organisme qui fait saillie. C'est ce qui se passe avec le prolapsus rectal , dont nous allons parler ensuite.


  • Article connexe: "Ceci est le dialogue chimique entre votre cerveau et votre estomac"

Qu'est-ce qu'un prolapsus rectal?

Le prolapsus rectal est la condition médicale dans laquelle le rectum fait saillie à l'extérieur de l'anus, c'est-à-dire qu'il glisse vers l'extérieur. Cette saillie peut être partielle ou complète et s’étendre hors de l’anus. La dernière partie de l'intestin perd les ancres naturelles qui le font rester à l'intérieur du corps, ce qui provoque le glissement. Le rectum est inversé, la muqueuse du rectum est visible de l'extérieur sous la forme d'une extension rouge, en forme de doigt.

Ce problème peut être assez inconfortable pour ceux qui le souffrent, car il est fréquent que des irritations, des douleurs ou des problèmes défécatoires apparaissent. Il peut également générer des symptômes tels que diarrhée ou constipation, sécrétions ou même incontinence fécale (perte de la capacité de contrôler l'excrétion). De même, le rectum prolabé peut devenir perforé ou ulcéré, générant des hémorragies pouvant même nécessiter une intervention urgente. Ce problème peut apparaître à tout âge et dans n'importe quel sexe . Il est particulièrement fréquent chez les enfants de moins de 6 ans, étant un autre type de population dans lequel il est très connu chez les adultes de plus de 50 ans. Il a tendance à être plus fréquent chez les femmes.


Il est fréquent que cette affection s'aggrave progressivement, initialement uniquement la muqueuse faisant saillie et uniquement dans des situations d'effort anal, telle que la défécation, pour revenir à sa place initiale peu de temps après. Cependant, petit à petit, le rectum est laissé hors du corps plus souvent et de plus en plus souvent s'il n'est pas traité. Dans le cas des femmes, il est possible que la saillie du rectum soit dirigée vers la paroi postérieure du vagin, être capable de générer l'état connu sous le nom de rectocèle .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Appendicite: symptômes, causes, traitement et attention psychologique"

Différents types ou grades

Le prolapsus rectal peut apparaître à différents degrés en fonction des parties du tiers inférieur de l'intestin qui font saillie . En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver différentes variantes.

1. Prolapsus rectal partiel / muqueux

Prolapsus rectal dans lequel seule une partie de la muqueuse rectale inférieure fait saillie, n'affectant pas les autres parties du rectum ou de l'intestin. C'est le plus fréquent chez les mineurs.


2. Prolapsus rectal complet au premier degré

Type de prolapsus dans lequel toute la paroi du canal anal fait saillie, faire la couche externe du prolapsus sans contenir le péritoine .

3. Prolapsus rectal complet au deuxième degré

Le plus commun L'anus reste dans sa position habituelle, ne dépassant que la muqueuse rectale comme le mur extérieur et la partie profonde du péritoine. Dans ce cas le prolapsus contient une partie de l'intestin grêle à l'intérieur , ayant une cavité en forme de sac.

4. Prolapsus complet du troisième degré ou occulte

Le rectus supérieur et le sigmoïde distal invaginants ou le glissement d'une partie du côlon ou du rectum sont générés à l'intérieur d'une autre, rendant le prolapsus caché et invisible de l'extérieur. C'est le moins fréquent de ce type de problème.

Causes de ce problème

Les causes d'un prolapsus rectal peuvent être très diverses, étant la cause directe de la perte de la sujétion de la partie inférieure du système digestif . L'origine de cette perte de sujétion n'est pas toujours parfaitement claire, mais il a été observé qu'elle tend à apparaître chez les personnes qui remplissent certaines conditions ou réalisent des situations d'effort considérable.

Parmi les raisons possibles de cette perte de soutien, on peut citer des malformations, une hyperplasie du côlon ou des problèmes pelviens qui permettent l’apparition d’une hernie. Il peut également apparaître dans les situations d'effort continu de l'anus ou de l'abdomen, comme dans les cas de diarrhée ou de constipation, et même dans les cas de toux chronique.

D'un autre côté, il a été observé son émergence chez les femmes après l'accouchement . En outre, les problèmes musculaires ou nerveux, les infections par les vers de terre ou la fibrose kystique ont également été considérés comme des causes possibles de cette affection.

Traitement

Le prolapsus rectal est un problème qui peut devenir grave, mais dont le traitement peut varier considérablement en fonction de la sévérité avec laquelle il atteint la consultation ou du degré et des tissus qui dépassent. Ce devrait toujours être une procédure effectuée par des médecins.

Lorsque nous sommes confrontés à un prolapsus partiel et léger, le traitement ne peut être que de réintroduire doucement le rectum dans l'anus, généralement à l'aide d'une compresse pour pousser la masse vers l'intérieur .

Parfois, le traitement des causes peut résoudre le problème, du moins chez les enfants. Par exemple, en cas de constipation, des laxatifs peuvent être appliqués.

Chez les adultes ou dans les cas graves Une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire repositionner et réparer la matière du système digestif et des muscles qui les maintiennent en place. Cette chirurgie peut être abdominale ou périnéale, il existe différents types d’interventions. Cependant, ce type d'intervention comporte des risques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Avendaño, E.O. (1968). Prolapsus rectal La proctologie 1ère édition. Editorial Impresiones Modernas S.A. Mexico, D. F., pp. 138-45.
  • Charúa, L. (2016). Prolapsus rectal [En ligne] Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //someal.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/PROLAPSO-RECTAL-DR.-CHARUA.pdf
  • Kliegman, R.M., Stanton, B.F., St.Geme, J.W. & Schor, N.F. (2016). Conditions chirurgicales de l'anus et du rectum. Dans: RM Kliegman, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, éds. Nelson Manuel de pédiatrie. 20ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier.

Un remède puissant pour se débarrasser de vos hémorroïdes à la (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes