yes, therapy helps!
Religious people tend to be less intelligent but happier

Religious people tend to be less intelligent but happier

January 25, 2022

Faith and religion have been constant elements in the history of humanity from its first moments. Where did the sea come from, day and night or even life? What are we and why are we like this? What meaning does our life have? Through different explanations it was sought to give a sense to the existing reality, forging beliefs that would end up being fixed and transmitted throughout the generations.

Many of these beliefs have been structured in the form of different religions that although on the one hand they have served for a long time to give hope and a sense to what surrounds us, they have also been used to manipulate and control the behavior of our peers.


However, beyond the social effect of religions, you are also associated with personal psychological characteristics. For example, there is evidence that religious people, statistically, are less intelligent and happier than average.

  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

The psychological effects of faith

Religion has traditionally been based on faith, but explanations of the reality that it usually adopts tend not to be verifiable through experience.

Many of the precepts that have defended the different religions have shown to have an explanation different from that proposed by science. The perception that on many occasions Faith has been used as a method of control and manipulation , has generated that with the passage of time the number of believers and the role of religiosity has been reduced more and more in recent times, as more people can find information that puts into question religious dogmas.


The act of believing or not doing it tends to generate some differences in the way of conceptualizing the world and reality. Next we will see a series of differences between religious and non-religious people .

Differential characteristics between believers and non-believers

A great deal of research has been done regarding the differences between religious and non-religious with different purposes and from different perspectives. Some of the results reflected by these investigations are the following.

1. Relationship between intelligence level and religiosity

Various studies and meta-analyzes carried out with different sectors of the population establish that there is an inverse relationship between intellectual performance and religiosity . While these data reflect that people with higher IQ tend to be less religious, these data should be analyzed with caution. In fact, the studies carried out do not reflect that this relationship is causal (that is, it is not established that it is more intelligent because it is not religious or vice versa), being able to obey the relationship found to different variables.


There are several hypotheses about these results, indicating for example that the presence of a higher intellectual level makes it more possible to discuss and not accept ideas imposed externally, which can reject orthodox or inflexible positions and adopt nonconformist positions more easily. Likewise, many people with a higher intellectual level tend to need a more logical and analytical explanation of the events. Another hypothesis proposes that a high intelligence can also allow tolerate uncertainty and provide a framework for action in cases of need, which makes it less necessary to seek an explanation of a spiritual nature.

2. Level of anxiety

Other studies show that religious people have a more defined framework of behavior and an explanation of reality than it facilitates that they have a lower level of vital uncertainty . They also manifest a lower level of concern about making mistakes. These aspects are linked to a lower activation of the anterior cingulate, part of the brain related to the response to stress and anxiety, in believers compared to non-believers.

3. Survival and well-being in diseases

Religiosity seems to contribute to prolong survival in cases of serious diseases, as well as to improve the quality of life of people whose disorders are chronic. The least uncertainty and the faith of people with religious and spiritual beliefs cause them to have greater resilience to be able to rely on these beliefs in difficult times.

  • Related article: "Resilience: definition and 10 habits to enhance it"

4. Tendency to tolerance

Non-believers tend to tend to be more tolerant with other ways of seeing life different from one's own than those who profess a high level of religiosity.Professing a faith implies circumscribing a concrete framework of thought and action that differs from that of others, which in some cases facilitates the birth of fanaticism and discrimination against others.

5. Subjective well-being

Believers tend to manifest a higher level of well-being in various studies, partly because of the feeling of belonging which means sharing something with others, like faith. However, it must be borne in mind that this data may depend to a large extent on the place where the survey is conducted and how the religion in question of the aforementioned religion is viewed socially.

Bibliographic references:

  • Zuckerman, M .; Silberman, J. & Hall, J.A. (2013). The relationship between intelligence and religiosity: A meta-analysis and some proposed explanations. Personality and Social Psychology Review, 14 (4).
  • Lim, C. & Putnam, R.D. (2010). Religion, Social Networks and Life Satisfaction. American Sociological Review, 75 (6).

Does Believing in God Make You Dumb? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les personnes religieuses ont tendance à être moins intelligentes mais plus heureuses

Les personnes religieuses ont tendance à être moins intelligentes mais plus heureuses

Juillet 20, 2022

La foi et la religion ont été des éléments constants dans l'histoire de l'humanité dès ses premiers instants. D'où vient la mer, jour et nuit ou même la vie? Que sommes-nous et pourquoi sommes-nous comme ça? Quel sens a notre vie? À travers différentes explications, on a cherché à donner un sens à la réalité existante, en forgeant des croyances qui seraient finalement fixées et transmises à travers les générations.

Beaucoup de ces croyances ont été structurées sous la forme de religions différentes qui, bien qu’elles servent depuis longtemps à donner de l’espoir et un sens à ce qui nous entoure, ont également été utilisées pour manipuler et contrôler le comportement de nos pairs.


Cependant, au-delà de l'effet social des religions, vous êtes également associé à des caractéristiques psychologiques personnelles. Par exemple, il existe des preuves que les personnes religieuses, statistiquement, sont moins intelligentes et plus heureux que la moyenne.

  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Les effets psychologiques de la foi

La religion était traditionnellement basée sur la foi, mais les explications de la réalité qu’elle adopte habituellement ne sont généralement pas vérifiables par l’expérience.

Beaucoup des préceptes qui ont défendu les différentes religions ont montré une explication différente de celle proposée par la science. La perception qu'en de nombreuses occasions La foi a été utilisée comme méthode de contrôle et de manipulation , a généré qu'avec le temps, le nombre de croyants et le rôle de la religiosité ont été réduits de plus en plus ces derniers temps, de plus en plus de personnes pouvant trouver des informations mettant en cause les dogmes religieux.


Le fait de le croire ou de ne pas le faire a tendance à générer des différences dans la manière de conceptualiser le monde et la réalité. Ensuite, nous verrons une série de différences entre les personnes religieuses et non religieuses .

Caractéristiques différentielles entre croyants et non-croyants

De nombreuses recherches ont été menées sur les différences entre religieux et non religieux, avec des objectifs et des perspectives différentes. Certains des résultats reflétés par ces enquêtes sont les suivants.

1. Relation entre niveau d'intelligence et religiosité

Diverses études et méta-analyses réalisées auprès de différents secteurs de la population établissent que il existe une relation inverse entre la performance intellectuelle et la religiosité . Bien que ces données reflètent le fait que les personnes ayant un QI élevé tendent à être moins religieuses, ces données doivent être analysées avec prudence. En fait, les études effectuées ne montrent pas que cette relation est causale (c’est-à-dire qu’il n’est pas établi qu’elle est plus intelligente parce qu’elle n’est pas religieuse ou inversement), permettant d’obéir à la relation trouvée avec différentes variables.


Il existe plusieurs hypothèses sur ces résultats, indiquant par exemple que la présence de un niveau intellectuel supérieur permet plus de discuter et de ne pas accepter les idées imposées extérieurement, ce qui peut rejeter les positions orthodoxes ou inflexibles et adopter plus facilement des positions non conformistes. De même, de nombreuses personnes ayant un niveau intellectuel supérieur ont besoin d'une explication plus logique et analytique des événements. Une autre hypothèse suggère qu'une intelligence élevée peut également permettre de tolérer l'incertitude et fournir un cadre d'action en cas de besoin, ce qui rend moins nécessaire de rechercher une explication de nature spirituelle.

2. Niveau d'anxiété

D’autres études montrent que les personnes religieuses ont un cadre de comportement plus défini et une explication de la réalité que cela facilite qu'ils aient un niveau d'incertitude vital plus bas . Ils manifestent également une moindre inquiétude à propos des erreurs. Ces aspects sont liés à une activation plus faible du cingulaire antérieur, partie du cerveau liée à la réponse au stress et à l'anxiété, chez les croyants par rapport aux non-croyants.

3. Survie et bien-être dans les maladies

La religiosité semble contribuer à prolonger la survie en cas de maladie grave, ainsi qu’à améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de troubles chroniques. La moindre incertitude et la foi des personnes ayant des croyances religieuses et spirituelles leur donner une plus grande résilience pour pouvoir compter sur ces croyances dans les moments difficiles.

  • Article connexe: "Résilience: définition et 10 habitudes pour l'améliorer"

4. Tendance à la tolérance

Les non-croyants ont tendance à être plus tolérants avec d'autres façons de voir la vie différente de la sienne que celles qui professent un niveau élevé de religiosité.Le fait de professer une foi implique de circonscrire un cadre concret de pensée et d’action qui diffère de celui des autres, ce qui, dans certains cas, facilite la naissance du fanatisme et de la discrimination à l’égard des autres.

5. Bien-être subjectif

Les croyants ont tendance à manifester un niveau de bien-être supérieur dans diverses études, en partie à cause du sentiment d'appartenance ce qui signifie partager quelque chose avec les autres, comme la foi. Toutefois, il convient de garder à l’esprit que ces données peuvent dépendre dans une large mesure du lieu où l’enquête est menée et de la manière dont la religion en question de ladite religion est vue socialement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Zuckerman, M .; Silberman, J. & Hall, J.A. (2013). La relation entre intelligence et religiosité: une méta-analyse et quelques explications proposées. Revue de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 14 (4).
  • Lim, C. & Putnam, R.D. (2010). Religion, réseaux sociaux et satisfaction de la vie. American Sociological Review, 75 (6).

3 secrets de la sagesse ancienne pour être heureux-se (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes