yes, therapy helps!
René Spitz: biography of this psychoanalyst

René Spitz: biography of this psychoanalyst

August 9, 2022

When we talk about a person with depression, we usually imagine a man or woman suffering an episode of depressed mood and little ability to perceive pleasure and joy in what they do, hopelessness and probably some passivity and lack of desire to do nothing The image that has come to our mind will probably be that of an adult or a teenager. But the truth is that there are also various types of depression in childhood.

One of the first authors to investigate them, and creator of diverse concepts, was René Spitz. The life and work of this author is of great interest, which is why throughout this article let's see a little biography of René Spitz .


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Brief biography of René Spitz

René Spitz, whose full name was René Árpád Spitz, came to the world on January 29, 1887. His birth occurred in the city of Vienna , being the oldest of two brothers children of Árpád Spitz and Ernestine Antoinette Spitz. He was part of an important and economically influential family from Hungary and of Jewish origin. He also had a younger sister, Desirée Spitz (later Bródy).

Despite being born in Vienna, the family moved to Budapest, where the young Spitz would grow up and begin to develop and train at an academic level.


Training

Spitz would enter the University of that city, conducting studies in Medicine. Besides in Budapest, he studied in other cities such as Lausanne and Berlin. During these years he worked with professionals like Sandor Ferenczi and began to become familiar with the work of Sigmund Freud He concluded his studies in medicine during the year 1910. All this made something that appeared in Spitz a great interest with respect to the human psyche and psychoanalytic theory.

A year later (in 1911) and under recommendation of Ferenczi, Spitz would begin to analyze for him in order to learn, and ended up training in psychoanalytic psychology. He became a member of the Viennese Psychoanalytic Society in 1926, a society from which he participated in several investigations. Later in 1930 he did the same in the German Psychoanalytic Society.

However two years later during 1932 He moved to the city of Paris, where he would act as professor of psychoanalysis at the École Normale Supérieure . Also little by little his interest would be focused on the infantile neurosis, beginning to focus his research on the development of minors from 1935.


But there came a time when Nazism took power and a large number of people had to emigrate in order to avoid the war, including Spitz.

Transfer to America and working life in the continent

In 1939, during the Second World War, this important professional left Paris and went into exile in the United States because of the risk to his life when he had Hebrew descent. There he would work as a professor at the City College of the City University of New York. He also produced a film with his research that would see the light in 1952 and will also maintain a job as a professor of psychiatry at Lenox Hill Hospital.

Later he moved to Denver, Colorado, where he would be hired as a professor at the University of Colorado. Beyond your tasks as a teacher, in this period of his life he would begin to focus more and more on the relationships of mother-child dyads and it would be during this vital period that I would start working with orphaned children.

And it would be with them that they would discover one of their most well-known concepts: anaclitic depression. It would also analyze the effects of abandonment and affective deprivation, as well as child development analyzing object relations. During this period he would make numerous studies regarding infantile neurosis and development from a psychoanalytic perspective and from genetic psychology (seeking the veracity of the data within his model). He also made numerous graphic reports, such as the one produced in 1952: "Psychogenic Illness in Early Childhood".

In 1945 he would begin publishing in the magazine "The Psychoanalytic Study of the Child", and one year later he published one of his great works in which he explained the concept of anaclitic depression: the book Anaclitic Depression, The Psychoanalytic Study of the Child . Over the years he made a large number of publications and works, in addition to continuing to teach at the university. Finally was named president of the Psychoanalytic Society of Denver in 1962 , position in which it remained until a year later.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

Some of his best known contributions

Among the most representative works and concepts of the author highlights the conception of analytical depression , which is defined by the presence of irritability, asthenia, dependence, anguish, sleep and feeding problems, isolation and little attachment and problems at the intellectual, communicative and motor level. This symptomatology arises from the existence of a partial deprivation of affect during early childhood, and specifically in the first eighteen months, in which the child has not been able to have a close relationship with the mother. His studies he carried out with children up to two years.

Within this concept and elaborating more his theory established the existence of three stages along this type of depression: the pre-objectal phase, in which the appearance of the smile as an organizational mechanism and there is no possibility of distinction between objects or separate from the rest, the phase of the precursor object in which it begins to be able to recognize the known and finally the real object phase in which a differentiation between mother and child begins to be understood and the anguish when it is gone , and in which distress and the ability to say no also appear.

We must also take into account the concept of hospitalism, which mainly refers to separation between mother and child for a prolonged period, in situations such as hospital admission.

His observations made him consider that the relationship with the mother is the origin and marks the set of social relations . He also worked on aspects such as identity acquisition. Another concept known to this author is that of marasmus, which refers to the emergence of pathology in children with deprivation of affection, and can generate a state of great weight loss and appetite and in many cases can lead to the death of the child.

Death and legacy

The death of this author occurred on September 11, 1974, in the city of Denver, at 88 years of age.

Although he is not an author especially known by the majority of the population, his legacy still endures: was the first to assess the existence of psychiatric alterations of psychiatric type in children , and specifically in showing interest, analyzing and assessing the existence of depressive symptoms in minors. His works and those of Bowlby are complementary, helping to understand elements such as the attachment of minors. And the idea of ​​anaclitic depression and reactions like hospitalism and marasmus are an important contribution to science. In this sense, it also incorporates a certain rigor in the handling of information, obtained through processes more based on observation and less abstract than other psychoanalysts.

Bibliographic references:

  • Emde, R. N. (1992). Individual meaning and increasing complexity: contributions of Sigmund Freud and Rene Spitz to developmental psychology. Developmental Psychology, 22 (3), 347-359.
  • Spitz, R.A. (1946). Hospitalism; A follow-up report on research described in Volume I, 1945. The Psychoanalytic Study of the Child, 2, 113-117.

Emotional Deprivation in Infancy :: Study by Rene A. Spitz 1952 (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
René Spitz: biographie de ce psychanalyste

René Spitz: biographie de ce psychanalyste

Décembre 9, 2021

Quand nous parlons d'une personne déprimée, nous imaginons généralement un homme ou une femme souffrant d'un épisode d'humeur dépressive et peu capable de percevoir le plaisir et la joie de ce qu'ils font, le désespoir et probablement une certaine passivité et un manque de désir ne rien faire L'image qui nous est venue à l'esprit sera probablement celle d'un adulte ou d'un adolescent. Mais la vérité est qu'il existe également différents types de dépression dans l'enfance.

René Spitz fut l'un des premiers auteurs à les étudier et à l'origine de divers concepts. La vie et le travail de cet auteur sont d'un grand intérêt, c'est pourquoi tout au long de cet article Voyons une petite biographie de René Spitz .


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Brève biographie de René Spitz

René Spitz, qui s'appelait René Árpád Spitz, est venu au monde le 29 janvier 1887. Sa naissance a eu lieu à Vienne , étant l'aîné des deux frères enfants d'Árpád Spitz et d'Ernestine Antoinette Spitz. Il faisait partie d'une famille importante et économiquement influente originaire de Hongrie et d'origine juive. Il avait également une soeur plus jeune, Désirée Spitz (plus tard Bródy).

Bien qu'elle soit née à Vienne, la famille a déménagé à Budapest, où le jeune Spitz allait grandir et commencer à se développer et à se former au niveau universitaire.


La formation

Spitz entrerait à l'université de cette ville et mènerait des études en médecine. Outre à Budapest, il a étudié dans d'autres villes telles que Lausanne et Berlin. Pendant ces années il a travaillé avec des professionnels comme Sandor Ferenczi et a commencé à se familiariser avec le travail de Sigmund Freud Il termina ses études de médecine au cours de l'année 1910. Tout cela donna à Spitz un vif intérêt pour la psyché humaine et la théorie psychanalytique.

Un an plus tard (en 1911) et sur recommandation de Ferenczi, Spitz commença à analyser pour lui afin d'apprendre, et finit par se former à la psychologie psychanalytique. Il est devenu membre de la Société psychanalytique viennoise en 1926, une société à partir de laquelle il a participé à plusieurs enquêtes. Plus tard, en 1930, il fit de même dans la Société psychanalytique allemande.

Cependant, deux ans plus tard, en 1932 Il s'installe à Paris où il sera professeur de psychanalyse à l'École Normale Supérieure. . De plus, son intérêt s’intéresserait peu à peu à la névrose infantile, commençant ses recherches sur le développement des mineurs à partir de 1935.


Mais il est arrivé un moment où le nazisme a pris le pouvoir et un grand nombre de personnes ont dû émigrer pour éviter la guerre, y compris Spitz.

Transfert en Amérique et vie active sur le continent

En 1939, pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, cet important professionnel quitta Paris pour s’exiler aux États-Unis à cause du risque de sa vie lorsqu’il avait la descendance hébraïque. Là, il travaillait comme professeur au City College de la City University de New York. Il a également produit un film avec ses recherches qui verrait la lumière en 1952 et conservera également un poste de professeur de psychiatrie à l'hôpital Lenox Hill.

Plus tard, il s'installe à Denver, au Colorado, où il sera engagé comme professeur à l'Université du Colorado. Au-delà de vos tâches d'enseignant, dans cette période de sa vie, il commencerait à s'intéresser de plus en plus aux relations des dyades mère-enfant et c’est pendant cette période cruciale que je commencerais à travailler avec des enfants orphelins.

Et ce serait avec eux qu'ils découvriraient l'un de leurs concepts les plus connus: la dépression anaclitique. Il analyserait également les effets de l'abandon et de la privation affective, ainsi que celui du développement de l'enfant en analysant les relations d'objet. Durant cette période, il fera de nombreuses études sur la névrose infantile et le développement du point de vue psychanalytique et de la psychologie génétique (recherche de la véracité des données dans son modèle). Il a également réalisé de nombreux reportages graphiques, comme celui de 1952 intitulé "Les maladies psychogènes de la petite enfance".

En 1945, il commence à paraître dans le magazine "L'étude psychanalytique de l'enfant" et publie un an plus tard un de ses grands ouvrages dans lequel il explique le concept de dépression anaclitique: le livre Dépression anaclitique, L'étude psychanalytique de l'enfant. . Au fil des ans, il a réalisé un grand nombre de publications et d'œuvres, en plus de continuer à enseigner à l'université. Finalement a été nommé président de la Société psychanalytique de Denver en 1962 , position dans laquelle il est resté jusqu'à un an plus tard.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

Quelques unes de ses contributions les plus connues

Parmi les œuvres et les concepts les plus représentatifs de l'auteur met en évidence la conception de la dépression analytique , qui se définit par la présence d’irritabilité, d’asthénie, de dépendance, d’angoisse, de problèmes d’alimentation et de sommeil, d’isolement et de peu d’attachement ainsi que de problèmes aux niveaux intellectuel, communicatif et moteur. Cette symptomatologie découle de l'existence d'une privation partielle d'affect pendant la petite enfance, et plus particulièrement au cours des dix-huit premiers mois, au cours desquels l'enfant n'a pas pu entretenir de relations étroites avec la mère. Il a effectué ses études avec des enfants jusqu'à deux ans.

Au sein de ce concept et développant davantage sa théorie a établi l'existence de trois étapes le long de ce type de dépression: la phase préobjectale, dans laquelle l'apparition du sourire en tant que mécanisme d'organisation et il n'y a aucune possibilité de distinction entre objets ou séparée du reste, la phase de l’objet précurseur dans laquelle il commence à pouvoir reconnaître le connu et enfin la phase réelle d'objet dans laquelle commence à se comprendre une différenciation entre mère et enfant et l'angoisse qui s'en va et dans lesquels apparaissent également la détresse et la capacité de dire non.

Nous devons également prendre en compte le concept d'hospitalalisme, qui fait principalement référence à la séparation de la mère et de l'enfant pendant une période prolongée, dans des situations telles que l'admission à l'hôpital.

Ses observations lui ont fait considérer que la relation avec la mère est à l'origine et marque l'ensemble des relations sociales . Il a également travaillé sur des aspects tels que l'acquisition d'identité. Un autre concept connu de cet auteur est celui du marasme, qui fait référence à l’émergence d’une pathologie chez les enfants souffrant de privation d’affection, pouvant générer un état de perte de poids et d’appétit importants et pouvant dans de nombreux cas entraîner la mort de l’enfant.

La mort et l'héritage

La mort de cet auteur est survenue le 11 septembre 1974 à Denver, à l'âge de 88 ans.

Bien qu'il ne soit pas un auteur connu de la majorité de la population, son héritage perdure encore: a été le premier à évaluer l'existence d'altérations psychiatriques de type psychiatrique chez l'enfant , et plus particulièrement en manifestant de l’intérêt, en analysant et en évaluant l’existence de symptômes dépressifs chez les mineurs. Ses travaux et ceux de Bowlby sont complémentaires et permettent de comprendre des éléments tels que l’attachement des mineurs. Et l’idée de dépression anaclitique et de réactions telles que l’hospitalalisme et le marasme constituent une contribution importante à la science. En ce sens, il intègre également une certaine rigueur dans le traitement de l'information, obtenue grâce à des processus plus basés sur l'observation et moins abstraits que d'autres psychanalystes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Emde, R. N. (1992). Sens individuel et complexité croissante: contributions de Sigmund Freud et de René Spitz à la psychologie du développement. Psychologie du développement, 22 (3), 347-359.
  • Spitz, R.A. (1946). Hospitalisation; Rapport de suivi sur les recherches décrites dans le volume I, 1945. L'étude psychanalytique de l'enfant, 2, 113-117.

LEMAY Michel : Forces et souffrances psychiques de l'enfant (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes