yes, therapy helps!
Resilience in the sporting context

Resilience in the sporting context

December 5, 2021

Resilience is a concept frequently used by clinical psychology to define that c the ability of individuals to recover from adversity .

However, there is no single way to build resilience and, for example, numerous studies suggest that the ability to manage stress is a factor that contributes to good sports performance.

Coping with adversity through sport

In sport it is very common to find stressful elements related to the conditions of the competition or the organization. Therefore, the concept of resilience acquires a nuance closely related to the quality of life of the athlete.


Those with a resilient profile experience greater knowledge in coping skills towards adversities. That mental strength contributes in the recovery of injuries . A good resilient profile, in addition to a good technique, commitment and high social support, are variables that are associated with high performance.

Studies on resilience have traditionally been centered on communities or families that have previously been subjected to stressful events. In the field of sports, there is still not as much research on resilience as there has been in the clinical area.

  • Related article: "What is Sports Psychology?"

The resilient profile

It must be taken into account that most of the pressures can be self-imposed by the demands of the athlete himself. Galli and Vealey (2008) conducted a study with elite players through interviews about the adverse events they had to overcome in sports.


They included injuries, setbacks related to performance, illness and transition to another category. They established a model and highlighted the qualities that would belong to a resilient profile; positive attitude, maturity, competitiveness, commitment and strong determination .

Various psychological variables related to optimism have been analyzed. These variables are focused on adversity management and sports performance. To do this, they studied the athlete's moods and mental strength, finding that optimistic people recover more quickly from stressful events. But it was also found that people who maintain an active physical practice, get higher levels of optimism about inactive people or sedentary (Kerr, Au and Lindner, 2005).

The case of athletes with disabilities

When talking about resilience and sports, athletes with disabilities should not be forgotten, these athletes have their own characteristics that impel them to face adversity.


However, they found differences in resilience scores according to type of disability they present. Those athletes with cerebral palsy presented worse results than spinal injuries.

The role of the Sports Psychologist

All these studies highlight the importance of protective factors without neglecting prevention. The use of positive strategies, social support that allows a constant feedback, the establishment of clear objectives and the evaluation of the applied strategies are fundamental to develop useful coping strategies and in the formation of a resilient profile.

This work is the responsibility of the Sports Psychologist, the coach and the athlete, being an integrative task on the part of all in which good planning must be prioritized. The knowledge of both the coaching staff and the Sports Psychologist will generate feelings of self-confidence and security in the athlete reducing the possibility that potentially stressful situations affect their performance.

The understanding and training about the concept of resilience on the part of professionals in the Sports Sciences will allow us to address the ability of athletes to adapt positively to adversity, thus achieving optimum sport performance.

With regard to the intervention on the resilient profile, programs to improve the resilient profile can produce important changes in psychosocial variables associated with the Injuries, illnesses and intrinsic motivation of the athlete

  • Related article: "10 reasons to put a sports psychologist in your life"

Extending resilience to other facets of life

On the other hand, it should not be forgotten that many skills that have been acquired through sport are extrapolated to other areas of life (school, family, work).

The practice of sports from its earliest stages is a school of values ‚Äč‚Äčthat promotes healthy habits. So the benefits in the acquisition of these strategies can be multiple, not only in sports performance if you intend to be an elite athlete but in the education and personal development in children and adolescents .


Hugh & A: What do you do when you're feeling down? (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Résilience dans le contexte sportif

Résilience dans le contexte sportif

Décembre 7, 2021

La résilience est un concept fréquemment utilisé par la psychologie clinique pour définir c la capacité des individus à se remettre de l'adversité .

Cependant, il n'existe pas de moyen unique de renforcer la résilience et, par exemple, de nombreuses études suggèrent que la capacité de gérer le stress est un facteur contribuant à de bonnes performances sportives.

Faire face à l'adversité par le sport

Dans le sport, il est très courant de trouver des éléments stressants liés aux conditions de la compétition ou de l'organisation. Par conséquent, le concept de résilience acquiert une nuance étroitement liée à la qualité de vie de l'athlète.


Ceux qui ont un profil résilient ont plus de connaissances en habiletés d'adaptation vers les adversités. Cette force mentale contribue au rétablissement des blessures . Un bon profil de résilience, ainsi qu'une bonne technique, un engagement et un soutien social élevé, sont des variables associées à une performance élevée.

Les études sur la résilience sont traditionnellement centrées sur les communautés ou les familles ayant déjà été soumises à des événements stressants. Dans le domaine du sport, il n’ya pas encore autant de recherche sur la résilience que dans le domaine clinique.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie du sport?"

Le profil résilient

Il faut tenir compte du fait que la plupart des pressions peuvent être imposées par les exigences de l'athlète lui-même. Galli et Vealey (2008) ont mené une étude avec des joueurs d'élite au moyen d'interviews sur les événements indésirables qu'ils ont dû surmonter dans le sport.


Ils comprenaient les blessures, les revers liés à la performance, la maladie et la transition vers une autre catégorie. Ils ont établi un modèle et mis en évidence les qualités qui appartiendraient à un profil résilient; attitude positive, maturité, compétitivité, engagement et détermination .

Diverses variables psychologiques liées à l'optimisme ont été analysées. Ces variables sont axées sur la gestion de l'adversité et la performance sportive. Pour ce faire, ils ont étudié l'humeur et la force mentale de l'athlète, en concluant que les personnes optimistes se remettaient plus rapidement des événements stressants. Mais il a également été constaté que les personnes qui pratiquent une activité physique active plus d'optimisme à l'égard des personnes inactives ou sédentaire (Kerr, Au et Lindner, 2005).

Le cas des athlètes handicapés

Quand on parle de résilience et de sport, il ne faut pas oublier les athlètes ayant un handicap, ces athlètes ont leurs propres caractéristiques qui les poussent à faire face à l'adversité.


Cependant, ils ont trouvé différences de scores de résilience selon le type d'invalidité qu'ils présentent. Les athlètes atteints de paralysie cérébrale ont présenté des résultats pires que les traumatismes médullaires.

Le rôle du psychologue du sport

Toutes ces études soulignent l’importance des facteurs de protection sans négliger la prévention. L'utilisation de stratégies positives, le soutien social permettant un retour constant, l'établissement d'objectifs clairs et l'évaluation des stratégies appliquées sont fondamentaux pour développer des stratégies d'adaptation utiles et créer un profil de résilience.

Ce travail incombe au psychologue du sport, à l’entraîneur et à l’athlète. Il s’agit d’une tâche intégrative de la part de tous dans laquelle une bonne planification doit être une priorité. La connaissance du personnel des entraîneurs et du psychologue du sport générera sentiment de confiance en soi et de sécurité chez l’athlète en réduisant la possibilité que des situations potentiellement stressantes affectent ses performances.

La compréhension et la formation au concept de résilience de la part des professionnels des sciences du sport nous permettront d’examiner la capacité des athlètes à s’adapter de manière positive à l’adversité afin d’atteindre une performance sportive optimale.

En ce qui concerne l’intervention sur le profil de résilience, les programmes visant à améliorer le profil de résilience peuvent entraîner des modifications importantes des variables psychosociales associées à la Blessures, maladies et motivation intrinsèque de l'athlète

  • Article connexe: "10 raisons de mettre un psychologue du sport dans votre vie"

Étendre la résilience à d'autres facettes de la vie

D'autre part, il ne faut pas oublier que de nombreuses compétences acquises par le sport sont extrapolées à d'autres domaines de la vie (école, famille, travail).

La pratique du sport depuis ses débuts est une école de valeurs qui promeut des habitudes saines. Ainsi, l’acquisition de ces stratégies peut avoir de multiples avantages, non seulement en matière de performance sportive, si vous avez l’intention de devenir un athlète d’élite, mais également de éducation et développement personnel chez les enfants et les adolescents .


MANAGEMENT ET PERFORMANCE DES ORGANISATIONS SPORTIVES - Emmanuel Bayle - 2016 - 17 Octobre (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes