yes, therapy helps!
Reticular formation: characteristics, functions and associated diseases

Reticular formation: characteristics, functions and associated diseases

November 28, 2022

Many of the structures of the brain can be easily located and separated from the rest. However, there are others that, being more distributed by several parts of the brain, cost more to detect.

The reticular formation is one of these although the fact that it is more discreet does not mean that it is less important. In fact, we need it to live and be aware of what happens to us.

Next we will see the characteristics of the reticular formation, its functions and the problems that can appear if something interferes in its state due to illness or injury.

What is reticular formation?

The reticular formation is a network of neurons that lies between the trunk of the brain and the diencephalon specifically the thalamus. That is, it is located in one of the lower parts of the brain, and therefore has a fundamental role in everything that happens in the higher areas.


Since the reticular formation is a network of neurons, its boundaries and borders are diffuse, and it is not easy to know where it begins and where it ends. For example, the naked eye is practically impossible to locate, and in any case it is possible to see in an approximate way the structures by which it is distributed.

It is considered that the "starting point" of the reticular formation is a part of the brainstem called an annular protuberance, between the medulla oblongata and the mesencephalon, and from there it rises until it reaches the thalamus, opening more and more like a fan. This formation is constituted by a hundred of groups of neurons scattered in an irregular way by the nervous tissue of these zones.


Functions

The reticular formation has a fundamental role when it comes to regulating the level of consciousness that we have , a process in which also intervenes especially the thalamus. This means that his work has to do with the circadian rhythm and the appearance and disappearance of sleep, among other things.

On the other hand, another of the functions of this network of neurons is the regulation of the state of excitation, or state of alertness, a process parallel to that of the regulation of the conscious state.

As the reticular formation is at the entrance to the brain through its areas closest to the spinal cord, it also acts by filtering the information that is arriving from the senses, selecting pieces of data and discarding irrelevant parts, which do not reach the conscience In the same way, its relation with attentional and consciousness processes causes it to intervene in the perception of physical pain and in the processes of habituation to repetitive stimuli.


Further, reticular formation influences involuntary and automatic movements , as those that serve to maintain vital signs (heartbeats, for example). In that sense, it is one of the components of the nervous system without which we could not live.

His parts

The reticular formation can be divided into the following parts.

1. Core group of cores

A region of the reticular formation that in turn divides into posterolateral nuclei and medial nuclei.

2. Side group of cores

Divided into the reticular nucleus of the pontic tegmentum, lateral nucleus and paramedian.

3. Medium group of cores

Also known as raphe nuclei, located in the medial area of ​​the brainstem. It is divided into the dark nucleus of the raphe and the great nucleus of the raphe.

Diseases associated with reticular formation

The diseases that affect the reticular formation are usually very serious, since the interference with this brain region produces coma or death.

For example, advanced Parkinson's disease can damage this network of neurons, since it expands throughout the nervous system. In the same way, narcolepsy, directly involved in the altered states of consciousness, produces harmful effects in the reticular formation.

Another disease related to this neural network is cataplexy , whose main symptom is the loss of muscle tone; In some way, in the waking state, the body begins to behave as if it were in a REM sleep phase, which means that the brain is disconnected from the muscles.

Beyond the diseases linked to processes of deterioration of unknown causes or the action of viruses, the lesions can also seriously alter the functioning of the reticular formation, leading to coma or brain death in a large number of cases.

This is one of the most vulnerable areas of the nervous system , not only because it intervenes directly in the state of consciousness, but because it participates in the maintenance of basic vital functions without which there is a sudden death due to hypoxia in the brain. That is why the functioning of this region is considered an indicator of the presence of life more reliable even than the recording of electrical activity by means of techniques such as the EEG in more superficial areas of the cerebral cortex.


Tissues, Part 2 - Epithelial Tissue: Crash Course A&P #3 (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Formation réticulaire: caractéristiques, fonctions et maladies associées

Formation réticulaire: caractéristiques, fonctions et maladies associées

Mai 23, 2022

De nombreuses structures du cerveau peuvent être facilement localisées et séparées du reste. Cependant, il y en a d'autres qui, étant plus distribués par plusieurs parties du cerveau, coûtent plus cher à détecter.

La formation réticulaire est l’une de ces bien que ce soit plus discret, cela ne veut pas dire que c'est moins important. En fait, nous en avons besoin pour vivre et être conscients de ce qui nous arrive.

Nous verrons ensuite les caractéristiques de la formation réticulaire, ses fonctions et les problèmes qui peuvent survenir si quelque chose interfère dans son état en raison d'une maladie ou d'une blessure.

Quelle est la formation réticulaire?

La formation réticulaire est un réseau de neurones situé entre le tronc du cerveau et le diencephale spécifiquement le thalamus. Autrement dit, il est situé dans l'une des parties inférieures du cerveau et joue donc un rôle fondamental dans tout ce qui se passe dans les zones les plus hautes.


La formation réticulaire étant un réseau de neurones, ses frontières et ses frontières sont diffuses et il n’est pas facile de savoir où elle commence et où elle se termine. Par exemple, l'œil nu est pratiquement impossible à localiser et, dans tous les cas, il est possible de voir de manière approximative les structures par lesquelles il est distribué.

On considère que le "point de départ" de la formation réticulaire est une partie du tronc cérébral appelée protubérance annulaire, située entre le bulbe rachidien et le mésencéphale, et à partir de là, elle monte jusqu'au thalamus et s'ouvre de plus en plus à la manière d'un éventail. Cette formation est constituée d'une centaine de groupes de neurones dispersés de manière irrégulière par le tissu nerveux de ces zones.


Fonctions

La formation réticulaire joue un rôle fondamental dans la régulation du niveau de conscience que nous avons. , un processus dans lequel intervient également en particulier le thalamus. Cela signifie que son travail porte entre autres sur le rythme circadien et l'apparition et la disparition du sommeil.

D'autre part, une autre fonction de ce réseau de neurones est la régulation de l'état d'excitation, ou état de vigilance, processus parallèle à celui de la régulation de l'état conscient.

Comme la formation réticulaire se trouve à l’entrée du cerveau par ses zones les plus proches de la moelle épinière, elle filtre également les informations qui proviennent des sens, sélectionne des données et élimine les parties non pertinentes qui n’atteignent pas le champ de vision. conscience De la même manière, sa relation avec les processus d'attention et de conscience l'amène à intervenir dans la perception de la douleur physique et dans les processus d'accoutumance aux stimuli répétitifs.


En outre, la formation réticulaire influence les mouvements involontaires et automatiques , comme ceux qui servent à maintenir les signes vitaux (battements de coeur, par exemple). En ce sens, il est l’un des composants du système nerveux sans lequel nous ne pourrions pas vivre.

Ses parties

La formation réticulaire peut être divisée en les parties suivantes.

1. Groupe de noyaux

Une région de la formation réticulaire qui se divise à son tour en noyaux postérolatéraux et en noyaux médians.

2. Groupe latéral de noyaux

Divisé en noyau réticulaire du tegmentum pontique, noyau latéral et paramédian.

3. Groupe de noyaux moyen

Aussi connu sous le nom de noyaux de raphé, situés dans la zone médiale du tronc cérébral. Il est divisé entre le noyau noir du raphé et le grand noyau du raphé.

Maladies associées à la formation réticulaire

Les maladies qui affectent la formation réticulaire sont généralement très graves car l’interférence avec cette région du cerveau provoque le coma ou la mort.

Par exemple, la maladie de Parkinson avancée peut endommager ce réseau de neurones, car elle se développe dans tout le système nerveux. De même, la narcolepsie, directement impliquée dans les états de conscience altérés, produit des effets néfastes sur la formation réticulaire.

Une autre maladie liée à ce réseau de neurones est la cataplexie. , dont le symptôme principal est la perte de tonus musculaire; D'une certaine manière, à l'état de veille, le corps commence à se comporter comme s'il se trouvait dans une phase de sommeil paradoxal, ce qui signifie que le cerveau est déconnecté des muscles.

Au-delà des maladies liées à des processus de détérioration de causes inconnues ou à l'action de virus, les lésions peuvent également altérer sérieusement le fonctionnement de la formation réticulaire, entraînant dans de nombreux cas un coma ou une mort cérébrale.

C'est l'un des secteurs les plus vulnérables du système nerveux non seulement parce qu’il intervient directement dans l’état de conscience, mais aussi parce qu’il participe au maintien des fonctions vitales fondamentales sans lesquelles il y a une mort subite due à une hypoxie dans le cerveau. C'est pourquoi le fonctionnement de cette région est considéré comme un indicateur de la présence de la vie plus fiable que l'enregistrement de l'activité électrique au moyen de techniques telles que l'EEG dans des zones plus superficielles du cortex cérébral.


Les Tissus Conjonctifs (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes