yes, therapy helps!
Retrograde amnesia: definition, symptoms, causes and types

Retrograde amnesia: definition, symptoms, causes and types

November 12, 2022

Retrograde amnesia consists of the loss of memories prior to a brain injury or, according to some perspectives, related to experiences of intense anxiety and stress.

In this article we will analyze what is retrograde amnesia and what are its causes more frequent, and we will describe the four most representative types.

  • Related article: "The different types of amnesia (and its characteristics)"

What is retrograde amnesia and what causes it?

The term "amnesia" refers to a neurocognitive syndrome whose defining characteristic is the selective involvement of memory. When the person has an inability to acquire new information we say that he has anterograde amnesia; yes Memory problems affect memories prior to the disease , amnesia is retrograde.


The two types of amnesia can occur jointly or not. The amnestic syndrome, caused by lesions in the medial region of the temporal lobes of the brain such as those that occur in the Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, is diagnosed based on the presence of antegrade amnesia; in these cases there is not always a relevant degree of retrograde amnesia.

In general, retrograde amnesia affects mainly declarative or explicit memory, which includes semantic, episodic, autobiographical and spatial memory . In contrast, procedural or implicit memory is usually preserved in people with this disorder, so do not forget the skills they had learned before the injury.


In any case, memories are complex phenomena composed of different types of information; that is why, even in cases where there is a dissociation between the involvement of the components of declarative memory, it is difficult to differentiate one function from the rest, and therefore compare the deficits in each of them.

The main cause of retrograde amnesia are lesions in the hippocampus and in other related structures, both cortical and subcortical, especially the temporal lobe. These damages can be due to traumatic brain injuries, vitamin B1 deficiency due to malnutrition or abusive consumption of toxic substances such as alcohol, among others.

Cases have also been described retrograde amnesia of psychogenic origin , associated mainly with experiences of intense stress and characteristic of dissociative disorders. Despite the criticisms that conceptualizations about this type of amnesia have received, their biological bases are currently being investigated with promising results.


  • You may be interested: "What is anterograde amnesia and what are the symptoms?"

Types of retrograde amnesia

As we have said, the brain lesions that cause the most cases of retrograde amnesia are frequently associated with the presence of anterograde amnesia. This criterion is one of the most relevant in the classification of retrograde amnesias, together with the causes of the alteration and the specific characteristics of the deficits.

1. With a temporary gradient

Frequently retrograde amnesia has a clear time gradient: memories of the remote past tend to be preserved to a greater extent than the most recent This has been attributed to the fact that the nervous system requires a long period of time to consolidate a memory definitively through the formation of cortical connections.

This temporary gradient is not always observed and its intensity is influenced by very different factors, among which stand out the location and extent of brain damage . In many cases, Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, a prototypical example of amnestic syndrome, retrograde amnesia can extend up to 20 years before the onset of the disease.

2. Pure retrograde amnesia

Some authors use the term "pure retrograde amnesia" when this alteration occurs in the absence of antegrade amnesia, regardless of its cause; on the other hand, others consider that it should be used to refer to cases of functional retrograde amnesia, that is, those in which there is no brain injury.

If we stick to the first conceptualization Pure retrograde amnesia is associated with lesions in the thalamus , a nucleus of gray matter (composed mainly of neuronal bodies and glial cells) that has a key role in the recovery of memories through its connections with the hippocampus, in addition to serving as a synaptic relay point.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Thalamus: anatomy, structures and functions"

3. Generalized or global amnesia

Lesions that affect areas of the brain involved in memory tend to cause both retrograde and anterograde amnesia; When this happens we speak of generalized amnesia. A special case is transient global amnesia, in which there are passenger mnemonic deficits due to mild ischemic accidents, intense stress or other causes.

4. Psychogenic amnesia

The concept of "psychogenic amnesia" includes alterations of retrograde memory caused by psychological factors . From different theoretical orientations these cases have been attributed to traumatic and / or intensely stressful experiences; Anxiety can alter the coding of information, although the repression of memories is not so accepted.

In this regard, the relationship between psychogenic retrograde amnesia and dissociative disorders, which include dissociative fugue and dissociative identity disorder, should be highlighted. Psychogenic amnesia is considered the core of this diagnostic category, questioned by many members of the scientific community for its relationship with suggestion.


Amnesia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Amnésie rétrograde: définition, symptômes, causes et types

Amnésie rétrograde: définition, symptômes, causes et types

Novembre 11, 2022

L'amnésie rétrograde consiste en la perte de mémoire avant une lésion cérébrale ou, selon certaines perspectives, en relation avec des expériences d'anxiété intense et de stress.

Dans cet article nous analyserons ce qui est l'amnésie rétrograde et quelles sont ses causes plus fréquents, et nous décrirons les quatre types les plus représentatifs.

  • Article connexe: "Les différents types d'amnésie (et ses caractéristiques)"

Qu'est-ce que l'amnésie rétrograde et quelle en est la cause?

Le terme "amnésie" désigne un syndrome neurocognitif dont la caractéristique est l'implication sélective de la mémoire. Lorsque la personne est incapable d’acquérir de nouvelles informations, nous disons qu’elle souffre d’amnésie antérograde; oui Les problèmes de mémoire affectent les souvenirs antérieurs à la maladie , l'amnésie est rétrograde.


Les deux types d'amnésie peuvent se produire conjointement ou non. Le syndrome amnésique, causé par des lésions de la région médiale des lobes temporaux du cerveau, comme celles du syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, est diagnostiqué sur la base d'une amnésie antérograde; dans ces cas, il n’ya pas toujours un degré pertinent d’amnésie rétrograde.

En général, l’amnésie rétrograde affecte principalement la mémoire déclarative ou explicite, qui comprend mémoire sémantique, épisodique, autobiographique et spatiale . En revanche, la mémoire procédurale ou implicite est généralement préservée chez les personnes atteintes de ce trouble. N'oubliez donc pas les compétences acquises avant la blessure.


Dans tous les cas, les mémoires sont des phénomènes complexes composés de différents types d’informations; C'est pourquoi, même dans les cas où il existe une dissociation entre l'implication des composants de la mémoire déclarative, il est difficile de différencier une fonction du reste et donc de comparer les déficits de chacune d'entre elles.

Les lésions de l'hippocampe sont la principale cause d'amnésie rétrograde. et dans d'autres structures apparentées, corticales et sous-corticales, en particulier le lobe temporal. Ces dommages peuvent être dus à des lésions cérébrales traumatiques, à une carence en vitamine B1 due à la malnutrition ou à la consommation abusive de substances toxiques telles que l'alcool, entre autres.

Des cas ont également été décrits amnésie rétrograde d'origine psychogène , associé principalement à des expériences de stress intense et caractéristique de troubles dissociatifs. En dépit des critiques adressées aux conceptualisations sur ce type d'amnésie, leurs bases biologiques sont actuellement à l'étude avec des résultats prometteurs.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que l'amnésie antérograde et quels sont les symptômes?"

Types d'amnésie rétrograde

Comme nous l'avons dit, les lésions cérébrales à l'origine de la plupart des cas d'amnésie rétrograde sont fréquemment associées à la présence d'amnésie antérograde. Ce critère est l’un des plus pertinents dans la classification des amnésies rétrogrades, ainsi que les causes de la modification et les caractéristiques spécifiques des déficits.

1. Avec un dégradé temporaire

L’amnésie fréquemment rétrograde a un gradient de temps clair: les souvenirs du passé lointain tendent à être davantage préservés que le plus récent Cela a été attribué au fait que le système nerveux a besoin d'une longue période de temps pour consolider définitivement un souvenir grâce à la formation de connexions corticales.

Ce gradient temporaire n'est pas toujours observé et son intensité est influencée par des facteurs très différents, parmi lesquels se distinguent l'emplacement et l'étendue des lésions cérébrales . Dans de nombreux cas, le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, exemple typique du syndrome amnésique, l'amnésie rétrograde peut durer jusqu'à 20 ans avant le début de la maladie.

2. Amnésie rétrograde pure

Certains auteurs utilisent le terme "amnésie rétrograde pure" lorsque cette altération se produit en l'absence d'amnésie antérograde, quelle qu'en soit la cause; d’autre part, d’autres considèrent qu’il devrait être utilisé pour désigner les cas d’amnésie rétrograde fonctionnelle, c’est-à-dire ceux dans lesquels il n’ya pas de lésion cérébrale.

Si on s'en tient à la première conceptualisation L'amnésie rétrograde pure est associée à des lésions du thalamus , un noyau de matière grise (composé principalement de corps neuronaux et de cellules gliales) qui joue un rôle clé dans la récupération des souvenirs grâce à ses connexions avec l'hippocampe, en plus de servir de point relais synaptique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Thalamus: anatomie, structures et fonctions"

3. Amnésie généralisée ou globale

Les lésions qui affectent les zones du cerveau impliquées dans la mémoire ont tendance à provoquer une amnésie rétrograde et antérograde. Quand cela se produit, on parle d'amnésie généralisée. L'amnésie globale transitoire est un cas particulier, caractérisée par des déficits mnémoniques passagers dus à de légers accidents ischémiques, à un stress intense ou à d'autres causes.

4. Amnésie psychogène

Le concept d '"amnésie psychogène" comprend altérations de la mémoire rétrograde causées par des facteurs psychologiques . A partir de différentes orientations théoriques, ces cas ont été attribués à des expériences traumatisantes et / ou extrêmement stressantes. L’anxiété peut modifier le codage de l’information, bien que la répression des souvenirs ne soit pas acceptée.

À cet égard, il convient de souligner la relation entre l'amnésie rétrograde psychogène et les troubles dissociatifs, qui incluent la fugue dissociative et le trouble de l'identité dissociative. L'amnésie psychogène est considérée comme le noyau de cette catégorie de diagnostics, mise en doute par de nombreux membres de la communauté scientifique pour son lien avec la suggestion.


Amnesia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes