yes, therapy helps!
Rolando's Cisura: characteristics and areas that surround it

Rolando's Cisura: characteristics and areas that surround it

January 17, 2022

The brain is the most relevant set of organs that we possess, since it governs the functioning of the whole organism in such a way that we can keep ourselves alive. If we observe it from the outside, the first thing we can see is the cerebral cortex, a compact region full of wrinkles and creases . These folds form convolutions or turns, as well as grooves and grooves. Among the last, there are two that stand out especially and that allow us to differentiate different lobes: the Sylvian fissure and the Rolando fissure.

In this article let's focus on the fissure of Rolando to analyze what it is and its importance, as well as what regions surround it and some disorders that may arise or that generate relevant effects in it.


  • Related article: "Cisura de Silvio: parts of the brain through which it passes"

Rolando's fissure: what are we?

The fissure of Rolando is, together with that of Silvio, one of the most relevant and visible fissures, grooves or crevices of the cerebral cortex. Also called central groove This fissure runs vertically separating the frontal and parietal lobes and with it, at functional level, the motor cortex (area of ​​Brodmann 4) and primary somatosensory cortex (areas 1, 2 and 3 of Brodmann).

This cleavage it is also surrounded by the precentral and postcentral turns and it is found bilaterally, that is, that this furrow appears in both cerebral hemispheres. It appears in the central part of the brain and almost reaches the Sylvian fissure, being separated from it by one of the opercula


In addition to making such a separation, it has been speculated that in the brain matter that forms the Rolando fissure there might be some association between motor and sensory information, in such a way that it would act as a bridge and help integrate both types of information.

Developing

This fissure, similar to that of Silvio, is formed early throughout fetal development . Specifically begins to be seen through magnetic resonances from the twenty-eighth week of gestation (although from the twenty-sixth can already be guessed in some cases), appearing from the parietal areas and becoming increasingly visible and deep as the encephalon develops.

Disorders and problems linked to Rolando's fissure

The Rolando or central sulcus is one of the most visible of all the human brain and allows us to make a separation between the frontal and parietal lobes, two of the most relevant brain regions. But the fissure of Rolando sometimes does not appear or can be involved or affected by various problems. Some of them are the following.


1. Lissencephaly

Lissencephaly, which can occur completely or incompletely, is a disorder in which throughout fetal development few folds, convolutions and grooves in the brain are formed or formed . It is a problem that can generate repercussions of various kinds, being able to suppose the death of the fetus or the baby in a few years and generating alterations such as cardiorespiratory difficulties or convulsions. Occasionally, children with this condition may not have symptoms, but it is not usual.

  • You may be interested: "Lissencephaly: symptoms, causes and treatment"

2. Cerebrovascular accidents

The rupture of blood vessels or the suffering of an ischemia can affect the areas surrounding Rolando's fissure and even flood it. This would generate various problems that could end up affecting the realization of movements and / or the capture of tactile sensations.

3. Rolandic epilepsy

Epilepsy is a disorder in which one or several groups of neurons become hyperexcitable to stimulation and end up generating seizures. Rolandic epilepsy is one of the types of epilepsy that exist , being one of the most frequent and typical of childhood.

The crisis does not generate loss of consciousness, and stands out for starting with a tingling that ends up transforming into an inability to control face and limbs, suffering uncontrollable shaking in these areas and incapacitating him to speak. It is a type of epilepsy usually benign that appears during sleep or in the morning, and is generated by the hyperexcitability of neurons located in the fissure of Rolando .

  • Related article: "Types of epilepsies: causes, symptoms and characteristics"

4. Tumors

The existence of different types of brain tumors can cause alterations in the physiognomy of the brain , including the displacement of fissures like Rolando's and the destruction of neurons present in their depths or in the surrounding areas.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cohen-Sacher, B .; Lerman-Sagie, T .; Lev, D .; Malinger, G.(2006). Sonographic developmental milestones of the fetal cerebral cortex: a longitudinal study. Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology, 27: 494-502.
  • Toi, A .; Lister, W.S. & Fong, K.W. (2004), How early are fetal cerebral sulci visible at prenatal ultrasound and what is the normal pattern of early fetal sulcal development ?. Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology, 24: 706-715.

Calling All Cars: The 25th Stamp / The Incorrigible Youth / The Big Shot (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rolando's Cisura: caractéristiques et zones environnantes

Rolando's Cisura: caractéristiques et zones environnantes

Février 3, 2023

Le cerveau est l’ensemble d’organes le plus important que nous possédions, car il régit le fonctionnement de tout l’organisme de manière à pouvoir rester en vie. Si nous l'observons de l'extérieur, la première chose que nous pouvons voir est le cortex cérébral, une région compacte pleine de rides et de plis . Ces plis forment des convolutions ou des tours, ainsi que des rainures et des rainures. Parmi les derniers, il en existe deux particulièrement qui permettent de différencier différents lobes: la fissure de Sylvian et la fissure de Rolando.

Dans cet article concentrons-nous sur la fissure de Rolando analyser ce que c'est et son importance, ainsi que les régions qui l'entourent et certains désordres qui peuvent survenir ou qui génèrent des effets pertinents.


  • Article connexe: "Cisura de Silvio: parties du cerveau par lesquelles il passe"

La fissure de Rolando: que sommes nous?

La fissure de Rolando est, avec celle de Silvio, l’une des fissures, rainures ou crevasses les plus importantes et les plus visibles du cortex cérébral. Aussi appelé rainure centrale Cette fissure s'étend verticalement séparant les lobes frontaux et pariétaux et avec elle, au niveau fonctionnel, le cortex moteur (zone de Brodmann 4) et le cortex somatosensoriel primaire (zones 1, 2 et 3 de Brodmann).

Ce clivage il est également entouré par les virages précentral et post-central et on trouve bilatéralement, c'est-à-dire que ce sillon apparaît dans les deux hémisphères cérébraux. Il apparaît dans la partie centrale du cerveau et atteint presque la fissure sylvienne, en étant séparé par l'un des opercules.


En plus de faire une telle séparation, il a été supposé que dans la matière cérébrale qui forme la fissure de Rolando, il pourrait exister une association entre les informations motrices et sensorielles, de telle sorte que cela puisse servir de pont et aider à intégrer les deux types d'informations.

Développement

Cette fissure, semblable à celle de Silvio, se forme tôt au cours du développement fœtal . Commence spécifiquement à être vu à travers les résonances magnétiques à partir de la vingt-huitième semaine de gestation (bien que l'on puisse déjà deviner à partir de la vingt-sixième), apparaissant à partir des régions pariétales et devenant de plus en plus visible profond comme se développe l'encéphale.

Troubles et problèmes liés à la fissure de Rolando

Le Rolando ou sulcus central est l’un des cerveaux humains les plus visibles et nous permet de séparer les lobes frontal et pariétal, deux des régions les plus importantes du cerveau. Mais la fissure de Rolando n'apparaît parfois pas ou peut être impliquée ou affectée par divers problèmes. Certains d'entre eux sont les suivants.


1. Lissencéphalie

La lissencéphalie, qui peut survenir complètement ou incomplètement, est un trouble dans lequel tout au long du développement fœtal peu de plis, de convolutions et de rainures dans le cerveau sont formés ou formés . C’est un problème qui peut avoir diverses répercussions, pouvant supposer la mort du fœtus ou du bébé au bout de quelques années et engendrant des altérations telles que des difficultés cardiorespiratoires ou des convulsions. Parfois, les enfants atteints de cette maladie ne présentent pas de symptômes, mais ce n'est pas habituel.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Lissencéphalie: symptômes, causes et traitement"

2. Accidents cérébrovasculaires

La rupture des vaisseaux sanguins ou la souffrance d'une ischémie peuvent affecter les zones entourant la fissure de Rolando et même l'inonder. Cela générerait divers problèmes qui pourraient en fin de compte affecter la réalisation des mouvements et / ou la capture des sensations tactiles.

3. épilepsie rolandique

L'épilepsie est un trouble dans lequel un ou plusieurs groupes de neurones deviennent hyperexcitables à la stimulation et finissent par provoquer des convulsions. L'épilepsie rolandique est l'un des types d'épilepsie existants , étant l’un des plus fréquents et typiques de l’enfance.

La crise ne génère pas de perte de conscience et se démarque par un picotement qui finit par se transformer en une incapacité à contrôler le visage et les membres, à subir des tremblements incontrôlables dans ces zones et à le rendre incapable de parler. C'est un type d'épilepsie généralement bénigne qui apparaît pendant le sommeil ou le matin et qui est générée par le hyperexcitabilité des neurones situés dans la fissure de Rolando .

  • Article connexe: "Types d'épilepsies: causes, symptômes et caractéristiques"

4. Tumeurs

L'existence de différents types de tumeurs cérébrales peuvent provoquer des altérations de la physionomie du cerveau , y compris le déplacement de fissures comme celle de Rolando et la destruction de neurones présents dans leurs profondeurs ou dans les zones environnantes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cohen-Sacher, B.; Lerman-Sagie, T .; Lev, D; Malinger, G.(2006). Jalons échographiques du développement du cortex cérébral foetal: une étude longitudinale. Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology, 27: 494-502.
  • Toi, A .; Lister, W.S. & Fong, K.W. (2004), Quel est le stade précoce de la visibilité des sulci cérébraux fœtaux lors d'une échographie prénatale et quel est le schéma normal du développement sulcal fœtal précoce? Ultrasound in Obstetrics & Gynecology, 24: 706-715.

The Great Gildersleeve: Community Chest Football / Bullard for Mayor / Weight Problems (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes