yes, therapy helps!
Romantic networks

Romantic networks

May 6, 2021

Romantic networks begins by conjecturing, through the example of the movie You have an e-mail (1998), that cybernetic romances, by shedding "the limitations of bodily interactions (...), would allow a more complete expression of the authentic self".

But if such were the case that the Internet annulled the body, one might wonder what possibility there is to experience through the technological path some emotions (romantic or not) that are inseparable from the body. On this issue is that it is the third of the conferences that compose frozen Intimidades.

Romantic networks and dating websites

Starting from the constant increase of users of dating websites, we understand how economically profitable these online payment contents are. But What is the way in which you operate on these websites?


The dating websites ask users to create a profile through a questionnaire that aims to reveal the personality of each one in order to facilitate compatibilities. "Thus, in order to know another virtual, the self is required to go through a vast process of reflective self-observation, introspection, self-classification and articulation of tastes and opinions." Therefore, the participation in the webs of interpersonal compatibility implies at least three psychological assumptions:

  1. The construction of the self from a summation of categories related to taste , opinion, personality and temperament.
  2. The conversion of the private self into a public representation .
  3. The textualization of subjectivity by means of externalizing and objectifying the self from representation and language supports.

In turn, the consequences that derive from the transit through the cybernetic emotional compatibility devices are:


  1. The knowledge of oneself as precedes an awareness of the other.
  2. The knowledge of the personality of the other precedes the physical attraction that is on him.
  3. The meeting between people is made from the liberal paradigm of the "election".
  4. Each person is in competition with others in the open market that the dating website supposes.

Cybernetic disembodiment

The author argues that the body, absent in the rational logic of cybernetic relationships, is the largest depository of sexual attractiveness that a person possesses, because the tone of voice or its gestures will proceed a transmission of attraction unable to be recognized by means of the rational procedures that operate through the web in the exchange of disembodied textual information.

On the other hand, by expressing incompletely the reality of the beloved person, the body allows the idealization of the person who loves to unfold around it unconsciously . So we can hardly love in the absence of an existential context that involves us with the beloved.


This is why the Internet increases the gap between expectations and experience, because romantic love is mobilized when the person who loves, not having all the information of the loved one, but mainly of that information offered by his body ("knowledge contextual and practical "), idealizes the latter through the imagination.

On the contrary, since the dating websites have a file of the characteristics of the users, there is no longer that which the imagination is romantically responsible for making present.

Uniform management of abundance

Also, the descorporeización that demands internet is compensated by means of, on the one hand, a frozen image through the photographic support that shows our beauty "in a competitive market of similar photographs", and, on the other hand, a series of linguistic conventions that facilitate mediation between people who interact cybernetically.

With regard to this second point it can be said that, due to the large number of diverse contacts, the interaction is carried out through standardized rituals (presentations, questions, jokes, conversation topics, etc.) and reproduced "over and over again in the course of their meetings via the Internet".

This is how the linguistic elements that mediate between contacts are standardized in a limited repertoire. Thus, the self-representation of singularity that allows creating a profile tailored to oneself, paradoxically, is suspended by the uniformity that requires the use of attributes that, on the one hand, are conventionally considered positive, and that, on the other hand, , they facilitate the management of many different interactions.

The economizing management of abundance

Dating websites use psychological categories to maximize and sophisticate within the logic of consumerism the encounters between users, although romanticism fades in calculation, and everything that has the love of unexpected and ineffable becomes the product of a rational choice as a consequence of an accumulated knowledge about the attributes of the other.

It is in this sense that Illouz affirms that "the spirit that presides over the Internet is that of the economy of abundance, in which the self must choose and maximize its options and is forced to use cost-benefit and efficiency techniques". Consequently, the interaction loses its surprise aura and, with it, its charm and its magic. This is how "the internet literally structures the search for a couple as a market or (...) as an economic transaction: it transforms the self into a packaged product that competes with others in an open market regulated by the law of supply and demand".

It seems as if the rationality that operates in the psychological technologies of emotions divided the ego between a public sphere in which the representations of oneself and a private sphere imprisoned by fantasies subjected to the requirements of a market without corporal heat are commodified.

Bibliographic references:

Illouz, Eva. (2007). Frozen Intimacies. The emotions in capitalism. Katz Editores (p.161-237).


Dipika- Shoaib Romantic Dance Performance|| Batallion 609 Promotion|| Spy Networks (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Réseaux romantiques

Réseaux romantiques

Septembre 18, 2022

Réseaux romantiques commence par conjecturer, à travers l'exemple du film Vous avez un courrier électronique (1998), que les romances cybernétiques, en supprimant "les limitations des interactions corporelles (...), permettraient une expression plus complète du moi authentique".

Mais si Internet annulait le corps, on pourrait se demander quelle est la possibilité de faire l'expérience par le biais de la voie technologique d'émotions (romantiques ou non) inséparables du corps. Sur cette question, c’est la troisième des conférences qui composent Intimidades gelées.

Réseaux romantiques et sites de rencontres

En commençant par l’augmentation constante du nombre d’utilisateurs de sites de rencontres, nous comprenons à quel point ces contenus de paiement en ligne sont économiquement rentables. Mais Quelle est la façon dont vous opérez sur ces sites?


Les sites de rencontres demandent aux utilisateurs de créer un profil à travers un questionnaire qui vise à révéler la personnalité de chacun afin de faciliter les compatibilités. "Ainsi, pour connaître un autre virtuel, le soi doit passer par un vaste processus d'observation de soi réfléchie, d'introspection, d'auto-classification et d'articulation des goûts et des opinions." Par conséquent, la participation aux réseaux de compatibilité interpersonnelle implique au moins trois hypothèses psychologiques:

  1. La construction de soi à partir d'une sommation de catégories liées au goût , opinion, personnalité et tempérament.
  2. La conversion du moi privé en une représentation publique .
  3. La textualisation de la subjectivité par l'extériorisation et l'objectivation de soi de la représentation et des supports linguistiques.

Les conséquences du transit à travers les dispositifs de compatibilité émotionnelle cybernétique sont les suivantes:


  1. La connaissance de soi précède la conscience de l'autre.
  2. La connaissance de la personnalité de l'autre précède l'attirance physique qui est sur lui.
  3. La rencontre entre les gens est faite à partir du paradigme libéral de "l'élection".
  4. Chaque personne est en concurrence avec les autres sur le marché libre que suppose le site de rencontres.

Désincarnation cybernétique

L’auteur affirme que le corps, absent de la logique rationnelle des relations cybernétiques, est le plus grand dépositaire de l’attractivité sexuelle qu’une personne possède, car le ton de la voix ou ses gestes procèdent d’une transmission d’attractivité impossible à reconnaître au moyen de les procédures rationnelles mises en œuvre sur le Web pour l’échange d’informations textuelles désincarnées.

D'autre part, en exprimant incomplètement la réalité de la personne aimée, le corps permet l'idéalisation de la personne qui aime se déployer inconsciemment autour de lui . Nous pouvons donc difficilement aimer en l’absence d’un contexte existentiel qui nous lie à la personne aimée.


C’est la raison pour laquelle Internet creuse le fossé entre les attentes et les expériences, car l’amour romantique est mobilisé lorsque la personne qui aime n'a pas toutes les informations de la personne chère, mais principalement celle que son corps offre contextuel et pratique "), idéalise cette dernière à travers l’imagination.

Au contraire, puisque les sites de rencontre possèdent un fichier des caractéristiques des utilisateurs, il n’ya plus ce que l’imagination est romantiquement responsable de rendre présent.

Gestion uniforme de l'abondance

En outre, la descorporeización qui réclame Internet est compensée par, d’une part, une image figée par le biais du support photographique qui montre notre beauté "sur un marché concurrentiel de photographies similaires", et, d’autre part, une série de conventions linguistiques qui facilitent la médiation entre les personnes qui interagissent de manière cybernétique.

En ce qui concerne ce second point, on peut dire qu'en raison du grand nombre de contacts divers, l'interaction est réalisée à travers des rituels standardisés (présentations, questions, blagues, sujets de conversation, etc.) et reproduites "maintes et maintes fois au cours de leurs réunions via Internet".

C’est ainsi que les éléments linguistiques qui servent de médiateur entre les contacts sont normalisés dans un répertoire limité. Ainsi, la représentation de la singularité qui permet de créer un profil sur mesure, paradoxalement, est suspendue à l’uniformité qui requiert l’utilisation d’attributs considérés d’une manière conventionnelle comme positifs, et d’autre part, , ils facilitent la gestion de nombreuses interactions différentes.

La gestion d'économie d'abondance

Les sites de rencontre utilisent des catégories psychologiques pour maximiser et sophistiquer, dans la logique du consumérisme, les rencontres entre les utilisateurs, même si le romantisme s'estompe dans les calculs et que tout ce qui a l'amour des inattendus et des ineffables devient le produit. d’un choix rationnel à la suite d’une connaissance accumulée des attributs de l’autre.

C'est en ce sens qu'Illouz affirme que "l'esprit qui règne sur Internet est celui de l'économie de l'abondance, dans lequel le soi doit choisir et maximiser ses options et est contraint d'utiliser des techniques coût-bénéfice et d'efficacité". Par conséquent, l'interaction perd son aura surprise et, avec elle, son charme et sa magie. C’est ainsi que "Internet structure littéralement la recherche d’un couple en tant que marché ou (...) en tant que transaction économique: il se transforme en un produit emballé qui rivalise avec les autres sur un marché ouvert régi par la loi de l’offre et de la demande".

Il semble que la rationalité qui opère dans les technologies psychologiques des émotions divise le moi entre une sphère publique dans laquelle les représentations de soi et une sphère privée emprisonnées par des fantasmes soumis aux exigences d'un marché sans chaleur corporelle sont marchandisées.

Références bibliographiques:

Illouz, Eva. (2007). Intimités figées. Les émotions dans le capitalisme. Katz Editores (p.161-237).


NOTRE ROMANTIQUE VOYAGE À MONTRÉAL ! (Partie 1) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes