yes, therapy helps!
Rose hip neurons: a new type of nerve cell

Rose hip neurons: a new type of nerve cell

September 30, 2022

The brain is one of the most important organs for most living beings , since it is responsible for allowing the operation of different systems and coordinate them with each other in order to achieve survival and adaptation to the environment. This organ has been studied for a long time, having explored and analyzed countless times each of its nooks and crannies.

But although some might think that being something so analyzed little can be discovered already, the truth is that there is still much we do not know about him. In fact, even today we are still making surprising discoveries about the king organ that allow us to explore and understand to a greater extent how the brain works and how it is capable of generating so much variability of behaviors and abilities.


An example of this has occurred this year, in which A new type of nerve cell has been discovered: rose hip neurons , of which we will talk briefly throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

What are rose hip neurons?

They are called hip-hop neurons, rose hip neurons or rosehip neurons (their original name in English) a new type of neurons that has recently been found by an international team made up of experts from the University of Szeged and the Allen Institute for Brain Science .

The discovery was reported and published this August, and was done accidentally while analyzing the brain tissues of two deceased subjects who had donated their bodies to science. Both centers discovered the presence of this type of neurons, collaborating later to study it: while the Hungarians analyzed their form and properties the Americans did the same with their genetics.


The hip-hop neurons are a type of neuron that has been found in the first layer of the neocortex, in its most superficial area, and whose name comes mainly from its morphology (as it reminds the plant). They are characterized by being relatively small and possessing a large number of highly branched dendrites, although said branches are compacted. They also have axonal buttons shaped like a bulb of rose hip. For the moment they have been found in the sensory cortex and they are relatively little prevalent, assuming only about 10% of layer I of the neocortex ..

They are interneurons that have very specific connections with neurons located in the third layer of the cortex, and concretely it has been seen that they make a connection with the pyramidal cells. In addition, its connection is very precise, connecting only in specific parts of the pyramidal neurons. It has also been seen that they have an inhibitory behavior, being GABAergic neurons that probably control the transmission of information in a very specific way. At the genetic level it has been observed that they have a genetic profile that for the moment has only been found in humans and that allow the activation of a series of very specific genes.


  • Maybe you're interested: "GABA (neurotransmitter): what it is and what role it plays in the brain"

Its duties?

The discovery of rosehip or rosehip neurons is extremely recent, not yet known what is its exact function. However, in the absence of further research, because of the areas in which they have been found and because of the connections they make with other neurons, it is possible to speculate on hypothesize about some possible functions .

For example, the fact that their actions are inhibitory and that they are GABAergic may suggest that they have the mission to control the information in a very precise way, being able to generate a greater control over the transmission of information in such a way that the unnecessary signals. The fact that they appear in the most external and phylogenetically novel part of the brain may be linked to elements such as consciousness, higher cognitive functions or the precise processing of sensory information.

Only in humans?

One of the aspects that has surprised most of this type of neuron is the fact that its discovery has only occurred in humans, not possessing for example the samples of mice that have been studied. This could be indicating the existence of a distinctive type of nerve cell in humans, something that according to experts could help explain the existence of cognitive differences between us and other animal species.

However, we must bear in mind that the fact that its existence is not documented in other beings does not imply that it does not exist , may be because it has not yet been analyzed or discovered in them.At the end of the day the neurons of dogrose have just been discovered in people: it would not be unreasonable that they had not been observed or had been overlooked in other species. It would be useful to assess, for example, if animals with intelligent behaviors such as apes or dolphins possess them.

Future research paths

The discovery of these neurons has implications of great relevance for the human being, and can help us explain aspects of our psyche that we still do not know .

For example, the study of the brains of people with different neurological and psychiatric diseases is proposed in order to assess whether the hip-hop neurons are present in them or could have some type of alteration. Other possible avenues of investigation would be to explore if there is some kind of relationship between the hip-hop neurons and self-consciousness, metacognition or higher mental capacities.

Bibliographic references:

  • Boldog, E., Bakken, T.E., Hodge, R.D., Novotny, M., Aevermann, B.D., Baka, J., Bordé, S., Close, J.L. Diez-Fuertes, F., Ding, SL, Faragó, N., Kocsis, AK, Kovács, B., Malter, Z., McCorrison, JM, Miller, JA, Molnár, G., Oláh, G., Ozsvár, A., Rózsa, M., Shehata, SI, Smith, KA, Sunkin, SM, Tran, DN, Venepally, P., Wall, A., Puskás, LG, Barzó, P., Steemers, FJ, Schork, NJ , Scheuermann, RH, Lasken, RS, Lein, ES & Tamás, G. (2018). Transcriptomic and morphophysiological evidence for a specialized human cortical GABAergic cell type. Nature Neuroscience, 21: 1185-1195.

How Scientists Found a New Neuron Hiding in Our Brains (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones de la hanche: un nouveau type de cellule nerveuse

Neurones de la hanche: un nouveau type de cellule nerveuse

Novembre 27, 2022

Le cerveau est l'un des organes les plus importants pour la plupart des êtres vivants , car il est chargé de permettre le fonctionnement de différents systèmes et de les coordonner les uns avec les autres afin d’assurer la survie et l’adaptation à l’environnement. Cet organe a été étudié pendant longtemps, après avoir exploré et analysé d'innombrables fois chacun de ses coins et recoins.

Mais même si certains pourraient penser que l'on peut déjà découvrir qu'il est si peu analysé, on ignore encore beaucoup de choses sur lui. En fait, même aujourd’hui, nous continuons à faire des découvertes surprenantes au sujet de l’organe roi, ce qui nous permet d’explorer et de comprendre davantage le fonctionnement du cerveau et sa capacité à générer autant de variabilité dans les comportements et les capacités.


Un exemple de cela s'est produit cette année, dans laquelle Un nouveau type de cellule nerveuse a été découvert: les neurones de la hanche , dont nous parlerons brièvement tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Quels sont les neurones de la hanche rose?

On les appelle neurones hip-hop, neurones de la rose hip ou neurones de la rose musquée (leur nom original en anglais), un nouveau type de neurones récemment découvert par une équipe internationale composée de experts de l'Université de Szeged et de l'Institut Allen pour la science du cerveau .

La découverte a été rapportée et publiée en août, et a été faite accidentellement lors de l'analyse des tissus cérébraux de deux sujets décédés qui avaient fait don de leur corps à la science. Les deux centres ont découvert la présence de ce type de neurones et ont par la suite collaboré pour l’étudier: alors que les Hongrois analysaient leur forme et leurs propriétés, les Américains faisaient de même avec leur génétique.


Les neurones hip-hop sont un type de neurone qui a été trouvé dans la première couche du néocortex, dans sa région la plus superficielle, et dont le nom provient principalement de sa morphologie (comme il le rappelle à la plante). Elles se caractérisent par leur relativement petite taille et leur possession d'un grand nombre de dendrites fortement ramifiées, bien que lesdites branches soient compactées. Ils ont également des boutons axonaux en forme de bulbe de cynorrhodon. Pour le moment, ils ont été trouvés dans le cortex sensoriel et ils sont relativement peu répandus, en supposant seulement environ 10% de la couche I du néocortex.

Ce sont des interneurones qui ont des connexions très spécifiques avec des neurones situés dans la troisième couche du cortex, et concrètement il a été constaté qu’ils établissent une connexion avec les cellules pyramidales. De plus, sa connexion est très précise, ne connectant que dans des parties spécifiques des neurones pyramidaux. On a également constaté qu’ils avaient un comportement inhibiteur, c’est-à-dire des neurones GABAergiques qui contrôlent probablement la transmission de l’information de manière très spécifique. Au niveau génétique, il a été observé qu’ils ont un profil génétique qui, pour le moment, n’a été trouvé que chez l’homme et qui permet l’activation d’une série de gènes très spécifiques.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "GABA (neurotransmetteur): de quoi s'agit-il et quel rôle joue-t-il dans le cerveau"

Quelles sont ses fonctions?

La découverte des neurones de rose musquée ou de rose musquée est extrêmement récente, on ne sait pas encore quelle est sa fonction exacte. Cependant, en l’absence d’autres recherches, en raison des domaines dans lesquels ils ont été découverts et des connexions qu’ils établissent avec d’autres neurones, il est possible de spéculer sur émettre des hypothèses sur certaines fonctions possibles .

Par exemple, le fait que leurs actions soient inhibitrices et qu'ils soient GABAergic peut suggérer qu'ils ont pour mission de contrôler les informations de manière très précise, en permettant de mieux contrôler la transmission des informations de manière à ce que signaux inutiles. Le fait qu’ils apparaissent dans la partie la plus externe et phylogénétiquement nouvelle du cerveau peut être liés à des éléments tels que la conscience, les fonctions cognitives supérieures ou le traitement précis des informations sensorielles.

Seulement chez l'homme?

Un des aspects qui a surpris la plupart de ce type de neurone est le fait que sa découverte n’a eu lieu que chez l’homme, ne possédant par exemple pas les échantillons de souris qui ont été étudiés. Cela pourrait indiquer l'existence d'un type distinct de cellule nerveuse chez l'homme, ce qui, selon les experts, pourrait aider à expliquer l'existence de différences cognitives entre nous et d'autres espèces animales.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que le fait que son existence ne soit pas documentée chez d'autres êtres n'implique pas qu'il n'existe pas , peut-être parce qu’il n’a pas encore été analysé ou découvert.En fin de journée, les neurones de la dogrose viennent d'être découverts chez l'homme: il ne serait pas déraisonnable de ne pas les avoir observés ou de les avoir négligés chez d'autres espèces. Il serait utile, par exemple, d’évaluer si des animaux dotés de comportements intelligents tels que les grands singes ou les dauphins les possèdent.

Parcours de recherche futurs

La découverte de ces neurones a des implications d'une grande pertinence pour l'être humain, et peut nous aider à expliquer certains aspects de notre psychisme que nous ne connaissons toujours pas .

Par exemple, l'étude du cerveau de personnes atteintes de différentes maladies neurologiques et psychiatriques est proposée afin de déterminer si les neurones du hip-hop y sont présents ou pourraient présenter un type d'altération. Une autre piste d’investigation serait d’examiner s’il existe une relation quelconque entre les neurones hip-hop et la conscience de soi, la métacognition ou des capacités mentales supérieures.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Boldog, E., Bakken, T. E., Hodge, R. D., Novotny, M., Aevermann, B. D., Baka, J., Bordé, S., Close, J. L.. Diez-Fuertes, F., Ding, SL, Faragó, N., Kocsis, AK, Kovács, B., Malter, Z., McCorrison, JM, Miller, JA, Molnár, G., Oláh, G., Ozsvár, A., Rózsa, M., Shehata, SI, Smith, KA, Sunkin, SM, Tran, DN, Venepally, P., Mur, A., Puskás, LG, Barzó, P., Steemers, FJ, Schork, NJ , Scheuermann, RH, Lasken, RS, Lein, ES & Tamás, G. (2018). Données transcriptomiques et morphophysiologiques concernant un type de cellules GABAergiques corticales humaines spécialisées. Nature Neuroscience, 21: 1185-1195.

musique de guérison super puissante (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes