yes, therapy helps!
Rosenberg's scale of self-esteem: what does it consist of?

Rosenberg's scale of self-esteem: what does it consist of?

July 19, 2024

Self-esteem is a construct that refers to the subjective assessment that people make of themselves . It differs from the self-concept in which an emotional, non-cognitive dimension is treated. Low self-esteem is related to depression and risk behaviors, while high self-esteem usually leads to greater psychological well-being.

Rosenberg's self-esteem scale , a brief test with good psychometric properties, is the most used instrument for the evaluation of self-esteem in clinical practice and scientific research.

  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

Morris Rosenberg, the creator of the scale

Dr. Morris Rosenberg received his Ph.D. in Sociology from Columbia University in 1953. He then worked at Cornell University and the National Institute of Mental Health in the United States.


In 1965 he published the book Society and the adolescent's self-image (The society and the self-esteem of the adolescent "), through which presented his self-esteem scale .

He was Professor of Sociology at the University of Maryland between 1975 and 1992, the year of his death. His work on self-esteem and self-concept has survived him and today remains an important reference in these fields.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

Rosenberg's self-esteem scale

Rosenberg's self-esteem scale consists of ten items; each of them is an affirmation about personal worth and satisfaction with oneself . Half of the sentences are formulated in a positive way, while the other five refer to negative opinions.


Each item is scored from 0 to 3 depending on the degree to which the person who answers is identified with the statement that constitutes it. Thus, 0 corresponds to strongly disagree and 3 to agree completely.

The items that make up the Rosenberg scale are the following:

  • 1. I feel that I am a person worthy of appreciation, at least as much as others.
  • 2. I feel that I have positive qualities.
  • 3. In general, I tend to think that I am a failure.
  • 4. I am able to do things as well as most others.
  • 5. I feel like I do not have much to be proud of.
  • 6. I adopt a positive attitude towards myself.
  • 7. Overall, I feel satisfied with myself.
  • 8. I would like to have more respect for myself.
  • 9. Sometimes I feel certainly useless.
  • 10. Sometimes I think I'm not good for anything.

The positive items (1, 2, 4, 6 and 7) are scored from 0 to 3, while items 3, 5, 8, 9 and 10 are valued in the opposite direction. A score below 15 indicates low self-esteem , placing normal self-esteem between 15 and 25 points. 30 is the highest score possible.


What is it for?

Rosenberg's self-esteem scale is the psychological instrument most used to measure self-esteem. This is because it is administered very quickly , with only 10 items, and its reliability and validity are high.

Adolescents were the initial objective of the self-esteem scale, although it has been generalized to the study of adults. It is used to assess both general and clinical populations, including people with substance abuse problems.

The Rosenberg scale has been validated in men and women of all ages in a large number of countries and has been used in cross-cultural studies of more than 50 countries.

On the other hand, we must bear in mind that knowing the level of self-esteem of people is a way of approaching your most internalized beliefs about yourself . People with some mental disorders or social, emotional and assertiveness problems tend to have low self-esteem, which makes it more difficult for them to undertake ambitious initiatives to improve their situation.

For example, a person with low self-esteem will tend to attribute their success to the fate or participation of external persons or entities, such as the help of a family member; this means that they do not experience these "good times" as a reward they want to access again in the future (or, at least, to the same extent that they would be seen as a reward by someone with good self-esteem) .

Findings of the Rosenberg scale

Cross-cultural studies conducted with the Rosenberg self-esteem scale have found that people tend to self-evaluate in a positive way , regardless of the culture to which we belong.

However, the components of self-esteem yes they vary depending on the culture . In this way, people from more individualistic societies (such as the United States) tend to feel more competent but less satisfied with themselves than those of collectivist cultures, for example that of Japan.

The scale has confirmed the relationship of self-esteem with two of the 5 major personality factors: Extraversion and Neuroticism. The more extroverted people with a lower level of neuroticism (as opposed to emotional stability) tend to have a higher self-esteem. In fact, it is hypothesized that self-esteem Can protect from anxiety symptoms .

Psychometric properties: reliability and validity

The original sample contained 5024 participants, all of them high school students from New York; as we have said, Rosenberg developed the scale initially to be used in adolescents . A large number of subsequent studies have confirmed the reliability and validity of the Rosenberg self-esteem scale.

In psychometrics, the term "reliability" refers to the absence of errors in measurement, while validity defines the degree to which the instrument measures what it intends to measure.

The test-retest reliability is between 0.82 and 0.88, and the Cronbach's alpha coefficient, which measures internal consistency, is between 0.76 and 0.88. The criterion validity is 0.55. further the scale correlates inversely with anxiety and depression (-0.64 and -0.54, respectively). These values ​​confirm the good psychometric properties of the Rosenberg self-esteem scale.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rosenberg Self-Esteem Scale. callhelpline.org.uk, The Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board. Retrieved on March 11, 2017.
  • Rosenberg, M. (1965). Society and the adolescent self-image. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.
  • Schmitt, D. P. & Allik, J. (2005). Simultaneous administration of the Rosenberg Self-Esteem Scale in 53 nations: Exploring the universal and culture-specific features of global self-esteem. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 89, 623-42.

Emotional Pictures: Understanding the Self-Esteem Scale (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg: en quoi consiste-t-elle?

L'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg: en quoi consiste-t-elle?

Août 9, 2022

L’estime de soi est une construction qui fait référence à la évaluation subjective que les gens font d'eux-mêmes . Cela diffère du concept de soi dans lequel une dimension émotionnelle non cognitive est traitée. Une faible estime de soi est liée à la dépression et aux comportements à risque, tandis qu'une haute estime de soi conduit généralement à un plus grand bien-être psychologique.

Échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg , un bref test avec de bonnes propriétés psychométriques, est l’instrument le plus utilisé pour évaluer l’estime de soi en pratique clinique et en recherche scientifique.

  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

Morris Rosenberg, le créateur de la balance

Le Dr Morris Rosenberg a obtenu son doctorat en sociologie de la Columbia University en 1953. Il a ensuite travaillé à la Cornell University et au National Institute of Mental Health des États-Unis.


En 1965, il publie le livre La société et l'image de soi de l'adolescent (La société et l’estime de soi de l’adolescent "), à travers laquelle a présenté son échelle d'estime de soi .

Il a été professeur de sociologie à l'Université du Maryland entre 1975 et 1992, année de son décès. Son travail sur l'estime de soi et la conception de soi lui a survécu et reste aujourd'hui une référence importante dans ces domaines.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de tests psychologiques: leurs fonctions et leurs caractéristiques"

Échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg

L’échelle d’estime de soi de Rosenberg comprend dix items; chacun d'eux est une affirmation sur la valeur personnelle et la satisfaction avec soi-même . La moitié des phrases sont formulées de manière positive, tandis que les cinq autres font référence à des opinions négatives.


Chaque élément est noté de 0 à 3 en fonction du degré auquel la personne qui répond est identifiée à la déclaration qui la constitue. Ainsi, 0 correspond à fortement en désaccord et 3 à être totalement d'accord.

Les éléments qui composent l’échelle de Rosenberg sont les suivants:

  • 1. Je sens que je suis une personne digne d'appréciation, au moins autant que les autres.
  • 2. Je sens que j'ai des qualités positives.
  • 3. En général, j'ai tendance à penser que je suis un échec.
  • 4. Je suis capable de faire les choses aussi bien que la plupart des autres.
  • 5. J'ai l'impression de ne pas être fier de beaucoup.
  • 6. J'adopte une attitude positive envers moi-même.
  • 7. Dans l'ensemble, je suis satisfait de moi-même.
  • 8. J'aimerais avoir plus de respect pour moi-même.
  • 9. Parfois, je me sens certainement inutile.
  • 10. Parfois, je pense que je ne suis bon à rien.

Les éléments positifs (1, 2, 4, 6 et 7) sont notés de 0 à 3, tandis que les éléments 3, 5, 8, 9 et 10 sont évalués dans la direction opposée. Un score inférieur à 15 indique une faible estime de soi , plaçant l'estime de soi normale entre 15 et 25 points. 30 est le meilleur score possible.


À quoi sert-il?

L'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg est l'instrument psychologique le plus utilisé pour mesurer l'estime de soi. C'est parce que il est administré très rapidement , avec seulement 10 éléments, et sa fiabilité et sa validité sont élevées.

Les adolescents étaient l'objectif initial de l'échelle d'estime de soi, bien qu'elle ait été généralisée à l'étude des adultes. Il est utilisé pour évaluer à la fois les populations générale et clinique, y compris les personnes ayant des problèmes de toxicomanie.

L'échelle de Rosenberg a été validée chez les hommes et les femmes de tous âges dans un grand nombre de pays et a été utilisé dans des études interculturelles de plus de 50 pays.

D'autre part, nous devons garder à l'esprit que connaître le niveau d'estime de soi des gens est une façon d'aborder vos croyances les plus intériorisées sur vous-même . Les personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux ou de problèmes sociaux, émotionnels et d'affirmation de soi tendent à avoir une faible estime de soi, ce qui les empêche de prendre des initiatives ambitieuses pour améliorer leur situation.

Par exemple, une personne ayant une faible estime de soi aura tendance à attribuer son succès au destin ou à la participation de personnes ou d'entités externes, telles que l'aide d'un membre de la famille; cela signifie qu'ils ne vivent pas ces «bons moments» comme une récompense à laquelle ils souhaitent avoir accès à l'avenir (ou au moins dans la même mesure qu'ils seraient perçus comme une récompense par une personne ayant une bonne estime de soi) .

Résultats de l'échelle de Rosenberg

Des études interculturelles menées avec l'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg ont révélé que les gens ont tendance à s'auto-évaluer de manière positive , peu importe la culture à laquelle nous appartenons.

Cependant, les composantes de l'estime de soi oui, ils varient en fonction de la culture . De cette manière, les membres de sociétés plus individualistes (comme les États-Unis) ont tendance à se sentir plus compétents mais moins satisfaits d'eux-mêmes que ceux des cultures collectivistes, comme celle du Japon.

L'échelle a confirmé la relation d'estime de soi avec deux des cinq principaux facteurs de la personnalité: l'extraversion et le névrotisme. Les personnes les plus extraverties présentant un niveau de névrose plus faible (par opposition à la stabilité émotionnelle) ont tendance à avoir une plus grande estime de soi. En fait, il est supposé que l'estime de soi Peut protéger des symptômes d'anxiété .

Propriétés psychométriques: fiabilité et validité

L'échantillon initial comprenait 5024 participants, tous des lycéens de New York; comme nous l'avons dit, Rosenberg a développé initialement l'échelle être utilisé chez les adolescents . Un grand nombre d'études ultérieures ont confirmé la fiabilité et la validité de l'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg.

En psychométrie, le terme «fiabilité» fait référence à l’absence d’erreurs de mesure, tandis que la validité définit dans quelle mesure l’instrument mesure ce qu’il entend mesurer.

La fiabilité test-retest est comprise entre 0,82 et 0,88 et le coefficient alpha de Cronbach, qui mesure la cohérence interne, se situe entre 0,76 et 0,88. La validité du critère est de 0,55. En outre l'échelle est inversement corrélée à l'anxiété et à la dépression (-0,64 et -0,54, respectivement). Ces valeurs confirment les bonnes propriétés psychométriques de l'échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Échelle d'estime de soi de Rosenberg. callhelpline.org.uk, Conseil de la santé de l’Université Betsi Cadwaladr. Récupéré le 11 mars 2017.
  • Rosenberg, M. (1965). La société et l'image de soi de l'adolescent. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.
  • Schmitt, D.P. & Allik, J. (2005). Administration simultanée de l'échelle de l'estime de soi de Rosenberg dans 53 pays: exploration des caractéristiques universelles et spécifiques à la culture de l'estime de soi globale. Journal de la personnalité et de la psychologie sociale, 89, 623-42.

Zeitgeist - Le film (2007) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes