yes, therapy helps!
Rotter's theory of social learning

Rotter's theory of social learning

June 11, 2024

Most of the behaviors that we carry out they are not innate, but socially acquired .

We have learned to eat in a concrete way, move in a certain way or interact with our peers according to the situation and the context. In this way, our behavior is strongly influenced by what the social environment and the culture to which we belong shows us throughout our lives, how we perceive others and the feedback we receive from them regarding our actions.

There are a variety of theories that focus on this fact from very different perspectives, such as social learning theories. Although the best known is that of Albert Bandura, there have been previous attempts to explain our behavior from the social. One of them is the social learning theory of Julian Rotter , on which this article focuses.


  • Maybe you are interested: "The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky"

The theory of social learning by Julian B. Rotter

The theory of Julian B. Rotter establishes that the behavior that the human being exhibits in his daily life is acquired through social experience. Our behavior patterns depend on the interaction that we maintain with the medium, which is carried out to a great extent through the connection with similar ones. So to achieve our goals we need the participation of other people.

This theory would be called by the author himself as a theory of social learning , also known as cognitive learning theory. In it, Rotter believes that the human being seeks to meet their needs from the search for positive reinforcements and the avoidance of punishment. For this purpose, he will carry out certain behaviors or not, based on the learning he has done throughout his life and whether or not they involve reinforcement that leads him to repeat them.


In addition, we also learn through the consequences of the behaviors of others, Obtaining learning by visualization and affecting this knowledge to the own behavior in order that the results obtained by others can be replicated by ourselves, or avoided.

It is a theory realized at a moment in history when the predominant current was behaviorism, something visible in the terms and structures of thoughts used. However, Rotter goes further, considering the opposite that behaviorism that mental acts are objectively studyable and considers thought, imagination, evocation, intentionality and other aspects linked to cognition and emotion as covert behaviors. All behavior is socially mediated and society provides reinforcements or punishments based on these, whose consequences we learn.


  • Related article: "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

The psychological needs

For Rotter, the human being has a series of basic and general needs at the psychological level that he should try to replace if he wants to maintain a state of well-being.

Of all these, at the social level we can find several with an important emotional load and that influence the ability to reward and even to perceive the environment in a certain way. The following needs are highlighted.

1. Need for recognition

It is understood as such the need that the achievements or objectives achieved are valued in some way by the social environment . Assessment is in itself a reinforcer that can stimulate our behavior.

2. Need for domination or leadership

It is about knowing one's own power over others, establishing relationships of influence in which others react to our behaviors.

3. Need for independence

Closely linked to self-concept , it is about the need to have control over one's actions. Be able to modify the environment and have an impact on the situations in which we live.

  • Related article: "Self-concept: what is it and how is it formed?"

4. Need for affection

Feeling loved and positively valued by our fellows is one of the basic general needs of the human being as a gregarious being.

5. Need for protection

The possibility of being able to count on others and feel that we are protected and helped in case of need is another element that produces reinforcement in Rotter's theory of social learning .

6. Need for physical well-being

It is about the need to satisfy our basic needs and obtain pleasure and gratification through means such as food, sleep, social bonding or sexual intercourse . In the same way, the avoidance of displeasure also falls within this need.

The motivation to act

The possibility that a particular behavior occurs in a given situation or potential behavior will depend, whether directly observable or covert, on the situation in question and the preferences on a behavior from among the available repertoire.

These aspects have been learned throughout life history of the subject, and the concrete choice will take into account different considerations that the individual carries out based on their learning. Specifically, Rotter establishes three of them.

The role of expectation

Expectations about the outcome of our behavior are a fundamental element when it comes to carrying it out or not. When we find ourselves with a certain situation, the human being compares it with similar situations that he has experienced throughout his history , with what predicts a concrete result of the situation is carried out certain behavior and expects to occur that which has been predicted.

Thus, it is expected obtain a certain reinforcement or result due to the generalization partial of the previously lived situation, be it with regard to obtaining reinforcements or to the possibility of solving or controlling the situation. The main and most determining factor when explaining behavior is the expectation of having or not succeeding.

Evaluation of what is expected: the value of the reinforcement

Another of the main factors that lead us to behave in a certain way is linked to the evaluation and the level of desire that we are awakened by the consequences of said action.

The greater the desirability of the reinforcer for the subject, the greater the probability of trying to carry out a behavior to obtain it.

The psychological situation

Finally, the context in which the subject is situated at the moment of acting is also an essential part when it comes to select a specific behavior . Depending on the situation there will be certain consequences determined by one or another behavior.

The conditions of the context together with our assessment of the situation and our possibilities will vary the behavior of the subject.

The personality and the locus of control

One of the most relevant contributions of Rotter's theory of social learning is the idea of ​​the locus of control as fundamental element of personality .

For Rotter, personality is mainly understood as the use of behavior as a means to achieve goals based on what has been learned and the desire to achieve its goals. This is what causes us to tend to act in a certain way more or less steadily in time and through situations. Thus, personality is something learned for this author.

This consistent pattern of behavior depends to a large extent on the factors mentioned above as well as the perceived self-efficacy and the attributions made based on the locus of control .

  • Related article: "What is the control locus?"

The locus of control

The control locus is raised as the expectation of the individual regarding their degree of control in obtaining reinforcement. Specifically, subjective assessment is understood by the subject about what it is that makes our behavior obtain certain results or not.

Thus, some people will believe that their own behavior generates a gain or avoidance of loss, which will tend to act more, to be more independent and to be valued more positively . These are those individuals with locus of internal control.

On the other hand also there are people with locus of external control . These tend to think that the presence of reinforcement or concrete results are not linked to the behavior itself but to chance. Thus, they think that their action has no effect, which causes them to act less and not carry out the intended behaviors. Their self-esteem is lower and they depend on the environment to achieve their goals.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rotter, J. B. (1945). Social Learning and Clinical Psychology. Prentice-Hall.
  • Schunk, D.H. (1997). Theories of Learning 2nd Edition. Pearson Education. Mexico.

Julian Rotter (Grom) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie de Rotter sur l'apprentissage social

Théorie de Rotter sur l'apprentissage social

Mars 25, 2019

La plupart des comportements que nous adoptons ils ne sont pas innés, mais acquis socialement .

Nous avons appris à manger de manière concrète, à nous déplacer d'une certaine manière ou à interagir avec nos pairs en fonction de la situation et du contexte. De cette façon, notre comportement est fortement influencé par ce que l'environnement social et la culture à laquelle nous appartenons nous montre tout au long de notre vie, comment nous percevons les autres et les commentaires que nous recevons d’eux concernant nos actions.

Diverses théories se concentrent sur ce fait sous des perspectives très différentes, telles que les théories d'apprentissage social. Bien que le plus connu soit celui d'Albert Bandura, il y a eu des tentatives précédentes pour expliquer notre comportement du social. L'un d'eux est la théorie de l'apprentissage social de Julian Rotter , sur lequel cet article se concentre.


  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky"

La théorie de l'apprentissage social par Julian B. Rotter

La théorie de Julian B. Rotter établit que le comportement que l'être humain manifeste dans sa vie quotidienne est acquis grâce à l'expérience sociale. Nos comportements dépendent de l'interaction que nous maintenons avec le médium, ce qui se fait dans une large mesure par la connexion avec des similaires. Donc, pour atteindre nos objectifs, nous avons besoin de la participation d'autres personnes.

Cette théorie serait appelé par l'auteur lui-même comme une théorie de l'apprentissage social , également connue sous le nom de théorie de l'apprentissage cognitif. Rotter y croit que l’être humain cherche à satisfaire ses besoins en cherchant des renforts positifs et en évitant d’être punis. À cette fin, il adoptera ou non certains comportements, en fonction des apprentissages qu’il aura accomplis tout au long de sa vie et s’ils impliquent ou non un renforcement qui l’amène à les répéter.


En outre, nous apprenons également à travers les conséquences du comportement des autres, Obtenir un apprentissage par visualisation et affecter cette connaissance au propre comportement afin que les résultats obtenus par d'autres puissent être reproduits par nous-mêmes ou évités.

C'est une théorie réalisée à un moment de l'histoire où le courant prédominant était le comportementalisme, ce qui est visible dans les termes et les structures de pensées utilisés. Cependant, Rotter va plus loin, considérant au contraire que le behaviorisme que les actes mentaux sont objectivement étudiables et considère la pensée, l'imagination, l'évocation, l'intentionnalité et d'autres aspects liés à la cognition et à l'émotion comme des comportements dissimulés. Tout comportement est socialement médiatisé et la société fournit des renforcements ou des punitions basés sur ceux-ci, dont nous apprenons les conséquences.


  • Article connexe: "Théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

Les besoins psychologiques

Pour Rotter, l’être humain a une série de besoins fondamentaux et généraux sur le plan psychologique qu’il devrait essayer de remplacer s’il veut maintenir un état de bien-être.

De tous ceux-ci, au niveau social, on peut en trouver plusieurs avec une charge émotionnelle importante et qui influencer la capacité à récompenser et même de percevoir l'environnement d'une certaine manière. Les besoins suivants sont mis en évidence.

1. Besoin de reconnaissance

Il est entendu en tant que tel la nécessité que les réalisations ou les objectifs atteints sont valorisés d'une certaine manière par l'environnement social . L’évaluation est en soi un facteur de renforcement qui peut stimuler notre comportement.

2. Besoin de domination ou de leadership

Il s'agit de connaître son propre pouvoir sur les autres, d'établir des relations d'influence dans lesquelles les autres réagissent à nos comportements.

3. Besoin d'indépendance

Étroitement lié au concept de soi , il s'agit de la nécessité de contrôler ses actions. Pouvoir modifier l'environnement et avoir un impact sur les situations dans lesquelles nous vivons.

  • Article connexe: "Concept de soi: de quoi s'agit-il et comment se forme-t-il?"

4. Besoin d'affection

Se sentir aimé et valorisé par nos camarades est l'un des besoins généraux de base de l'être humain en tant qu'être grégaire.

5. Besoin de protection

La possibilité de pouvoir compter sur les autres et de sentir que nous sommes protégés et aidés en cas de besoin est un autre élément qui produit un renforcement de la théorie de l'apprentissage social de Rotter .

6. Besoin de bien-être physique

Il s’agit de la nécessité de satisfaire nos besoins fondamentaux et d’obtenir du plaisir et de la satisfaction par des moyens tels que la nourriture, le sommeil, liens sociaux ou rapports sexuels . De même, éviter le déplaisir répond également à ce besoin.

La motivation pour agir

La possibilité qu'un comportement particulier se produise dans une situation donnée ou un comportement potentiel dépendra, qu'elle soit directement observable ou dissimulée, de la situation en question et des préférences d'un comportement parmi le répertoire disponible.

Ces aspects ont été appris tout au long de la vie du sujet, et le choix concret tiendra compte des différentes considérations que l’individu prend en compte en fonction de son apprentissage. Plus précisément, Rotter en établit trois.

Le rôle de l'attente

Les attentes concernant les résultats de notre comportement sont un élément fondamental pour le mettre en œuvre ou non. Lorsque nous nous trouvons dans une certaine situation, l’être humain la compare à des situations similaires qu'il a connues tout au long de son histoire , avec ce qui prédit un résultat concret de la situation est réalisée certains comportements et attend de se produire ce qui a été prédit.

Ainsi, il est prévu obtenir un certain renforcement ou résultat dû à la généralisation partielle de la situation vécue précédemment, que ce soit en ce qui concerne l’obtention de renforts ou la possibilité de résoudre ou de contrôler la situation. Le facteur principal et le plus déterminant dans l'explication du comportement est l'attente d'avoir ou de ne pas réussir.

Evaluation de ce qui est attendu: la valeur du renforcement

Un autre des principaux facteurs qui nous amènent à nous comporter d’une certaine manière est lié à l’évaluation et à la le niveau de désir que nous sommes éveillés par les conséquences de ladite action.

Plus le renforcement est souhaitable pour le sujet, plus la probabilité d'essayer d'adopter un comportement pour l'obtenir est grande.

La situation psychologique

Enfin, le contexte dans lequel se situe le sujet au moment du jeu est également un élément essentiel pour la sélectionner un comportement spécifique . Selon la situation, certaines conséquences seront déterminées par l'un ou l'autre comportement.

Les conditions du contexte ainsi que notre évaluation de la situation et nos possibilités varieront le comportement du sujet.

La personnalité et le locus de contrôle

L’une des contributions les plus pertinentes de la théorie de l’apprentissage social de Rotter est l’idée du locus de contrôle comme élément fondamental de la personnalité .

Pour Rotter, la personnalité est principalement comprise comme l'utilisation du comportement comme moyen d'atteindre des objectifs basés sur ce qui a été appris et le désir d'atteindre ses objectifs. C’est ce qui nous pousse à agir d’une certaine manière plus ou moins régulièrement dans le temps et à travers les situations. Ainsi, la personnalité est une chose apprise pour cet auteur.

Ce comportement cohérent dépend dans une large mesure des facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus, ainsi que de l’auto-efficacité et de la perception de soi. les attributions faites en fonction du locus de contrôle .

  • Article connexe: "Quel est le locus de contrôle?"

Le lieu de contrôle

Le locus de contrôle est élevé comme l'attente de l'individu quant à son degré de contrôle pour obtenir un renforcement. En particulier, le sujet comprend l'évaluation subjective de ce qui fait que notre comportement obtient certains résultats ou non.

Ainsi, certaines personnes vont croire que leur propre comportement génère un gain ou un évitement de la perte, qui aura tendance à agir davantage, d'être plus indépendant et d'être valorisé de manière plus positive . Ce sont ces individus avec locus de contrôle interne.

D'autre part aussi il y a des gens avec locus de contrôle externe . Celles-ci ont tendance à penser que la présence de renforcement ou de résultats concrets n'est pas liée au comportement lui-même mais au hasard. Ainsi, ils pensent que leur action est sans effet, ce qui les amène à agir moins et à ne pas appliquer les comportements souhaités. Leur estime de soi est moindre et ils dépendent de l'environnement pour atteindre leurs objectifs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rotter, J. B. (1945). Apprentissage social et psychologie clinique. Prentice-Hall.
  • Schunk, D.H. (1997). Théories de l'apprentissage 2e édition. Pearson Education. Mexique

Expérience: l'apprentissage social de la violence (Mars 2019).


Articles Connexes