yes, therapy helps!

"Runnorexia": the modern addiction to running

November 27, 2021

The practice of physical exercise It produces psychological and physical benefits. The running , specifically: it reduces stress, improves cardiovascular capacity, reduces the risk of suffering diseases, etcetera. Therefore, to have a healthy life, it is advisable that running or practicing physical exercise is part of our lives, as it is an important component of well-being.

But anything taken to the extreme can be harmful , and running is no exception. Currently, the fashion of running leads many people to become obsessed with this practice. Richard Benyo, in an article published in Road Runners Club of America, affirms that "there is a negative side in the practice of physical exercise that, little by little, in an insidious way, can substitute the positive effect".


Running addiction is not the same as overtraining

The runnorexia It is not the same as overtraining . The obsession with running can lead an individual to train too much, which can cause overtraining. The symptoms of overtraining are short-term, and have to do with the period of recovery and rest. In this sense, it can be said that the runnorexia is linked to the Overtraining Syndrome.

Runenorexia or running addiction, on the other hand, is a loss of perspective of the role of physical exercise in the person's life . While a person may suffer a period of overtraining because a major competition is approaching and has improperly planned their set-up, a person with runnorexia suffers from a more serious problem. In this case, there are important psychological aspects: irrational beliefs, low self-esteem, etc.


In addition to these aspects, the social factors they are a causative source of this disorder, because culture and social pressure for aesthetics and image play an important role in the development of this pathology. On the other hand, some experts also claim that there are biological factors that cause this addiction, because there seems to be a connection between the pleasurable chemical substances that the brain releases when practicing physical activity (endorphins, dopamine, etc.) and this disorder, just as it happens with drug addiction. That is, the brain area of ​​the reinforcement is involved in the addictive and obsessive behaviors it is also involved in the runnorexia.

The psychologist Eduardo Carreño, in an interview for the newspaper Asturias 24, explains: "There are two types of addictions: addictions to substances (drugs) and behaviors (addiction to work, shopping, sports, etc.)." As we can see, the case of the addiction to running is a addiction to an activity and the pleasure generated by the practice in question.


Symptoms that the person with runnorexia presents

The person with runnorexia overestimates running, making it the most important element of his life even above family, friends, work, etc.

Is able to cancel appointments or not attend the workplace to go running. Fatigue or injuries do not prevent you from doing your training sessions, since the discomfort you feel if you do not perform these sessions is superior to him. Your free time is meant to run, and his life moves with a single idea in his head : running

The symptoms that it presents are identical to those of the addict to any type of physical exercise (for example, fitness). These symptoms appear when the person can not perform physical activity, and may be: anxiety, depression or irritability.


La fiebre del running | Sinfiltros.com (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Runnorexia": l'addiction moderne à la course

Septembre 21, 2021

La pratique de exercice physique Il produit des avantages psychologiques et physiques. Le courir en particulier: il réduit le stress, améliore la capacité cardiovasculaire, réduit le risque de souffrir de maladies, etc. Par conséquent, pour mener une vie saine, il est conseillé de faire de l’exercice physique ou de faire de l’exercice physique dans nos vies, car c’est un élément important du bien-être.

Mais tout ce qui est pris à l'extrême peut être nocif , et courir ne fait pas exception. Actuellement, la mode de course à pied conduit de nombreuses personnes à devenir obsédées par cette pratique. Richard Benyo, dans un article publié dans Road Runners Club of America, affirme qu '"il existe un côté négatif dans la pratique de l'exercice physique qui, peu à peu, de manière insidieuse, peut remplacer l'effet positif".


Courir la dépendance n'est pas la même chose que le surentraînement

La runnorexia Ce n'est pas la même chose que surentraînement . L'obsession de la course à pied peut amener un individu à trop s'entraîner, ce qui peut entraîner un surentraînement. Les symptômes du surentraînement sont de courte durée et ont trait à la période de récupération et de repos. En ce sens, on peut dire que la runnorexie est liée au syndrome de surentraînement.

Runenorexia ou la dépendance à la course, d'autre part, est une perte de perspective du rôle de l'exercice physique dans la vie de la personne . Tandis qu'une personne peut subir une période de surentraînement parce qu'une compétition majeure approche et a mal planifié son organisation, une personne souffrant de runnorexia souffre d'un problème plus grave. Dans ce cas, il y a des aspects psychologiques importants: croyances irrationnelles, faible estime de soi, etc.


En plus de ces aspects, le facteurs sociaux ils sont une source causative de ce trouble, car la culture et la pression sociale pour l'esthétique et l'image jouent un rôle important dans le développement de cette pathologie. D'autre part, certains experts affirment également qu'il existe des facteurs biologiques qui causent cette dépendance, car il semble exister un lien entre les substances chimiques agréables que le cerveau libère lorsqu’il pratique une activité physique (endorphines, dopamine, etc.) et ce trouble, tout comme dans le cas de la toxicomanie. C'est-à-dire que la zone du cerveau du renforcement est impliquée dans les comportements de dépendance et obsessionnels, elle est également impliquée dans la runnorexie.

Le psychologue Eduardo Carreño, dans une interview pour le journal Asturies 24explique: "Il existe deux types de dépendance: les dépendances à des substances (drogues) et les comportements (dépendance au travail, achats, sports, etc.)." Comme nous pouvons le voir, le cas de la dépendance à la course à la dépendance à une activité et au plaisir généré par la pratique en question.


Symptômes présentés par la personne atteinte de runnorexie

La personne atteinte de runnorexia surestime la course, ce qui en fait l'élément le plus important de sa vie, au-delà de la famille, des amis, du travail, etc.

Est capable d'annuler des rendez-vous ou de ne pas aller au travail pour aller courir. La fatigue ou les blessures ne vous empêchent pas de participer à vos séances d’entraînement, car le malaise que vous ressentez si vous n’effectuez pas ces séances lui est supérieur. Votre temps libre est censé courir, et sa vie bouge avec une seule idée en tête : en cours d'exécution

Les symptômes qu’il présente sont identiques à ceux du toxicomane pour tout type d’exercice physique (par exemple, la forme physique). Ces symptômes apparaissent lorsque la personne ne peut pas effectuer d'activité physique et peuvent être: anxiété, dépression ou irritabilité.


La fiebre del running | Sinfiltros.com (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes