yes, therapy helps!
Rupofobia (or misophobia): fear of dirt and its causes

Rupofobia (or misophobia): fear of dirt and its causes

July 19, 2024

Human beings can become afraid of all kinds of stimuli, from inoffensive animals related to others that posed a threat to our ancestors, to modern means of transport and even to water or feces. We speak of phobia when the fear of any entity or situation is very intense and chronic.

Fear of dirt, which is known as "rupophobia" or "misophobia" , is one of the multiple phobias that have been identified. Although it is not one of the most frequent, it is interesting to analyze rupophobia because of its clinical characteristics, such as its relationship with obsessive-compulsive disorder and the high degree of involvement that it may involve.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Rupofobia or misophobia: fear of dirt

On a diagnostic level, rupophobia is part of the category "Specific Phobia" described in the DSM and CIE manuals. Phobias are intense and irrational fears that cause significant discomfort and / or interfere with the normal functioning of the sufferer, in many cases by actively avoiding what is feared.


Specific phobias are considered anxiety disorders, such as social phobia (or social anxiety disorder) and agoraphobia. People with these problems feel very afraid of the presence or anticipation of the phobic stimulus; in agoraphobia and in specific phobias, it is common for them to become distressed.

In the case of rupophobia, the phobic stimulus is the dirt understood in a broad way : while some people fear concrete types of "dirt", such as microbes (in this case we would speak of germophobia or bacilofobia), others feel afraid of the possibility of coming into contact with anything they perceive as potentially contaminating.


Relationship with obsessive-compulsive disorder

Obsessive-compulsive disorder, often abbreviated as "OCD" , is characterized by the presence of obsessions and / or compulsions. Obsessions are intrusive thoughts or images that provoke emotional tension, while compulsions are behavioral or cognitive rituals that are used to reduce this anxiety.

One of the most common types of obsessive-compulsive disorder is related to filth: obsessive ideas have to do with the possibility of becoming contaminated or contaminating others, while compulsive rituals are associated with cleanliness. A typical example of a cleansing ritual is to wash your hands a specific number of times in a row.

In cases where they coincide symptoms of OCD and dirt-specific phobia The diagnosis of obsessive-compulsive disorder is usually imposed, since rupophobia is usually a secondary symptom. However, if irrational fear is more significant than obsessions or compulsions, a primary diagnosis of a specific phobia would be justified.


  • Related article: "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?"

Common symptoms

Ruphophobic people experience intense feelings of anxiety and fear when they come into contact with the phobic stimulus. These lead them to want to "escape" from the dirt, mainly by moving away from it or eliminating it from their body, as well as trying to avoid it; for that reason they can get isolated in a practically unpolluted house.

Sometimes the anxiety becomes so intense that the episodes known as panic attacks or panic attacks . According to the DSM-IV, the symptoms of these crises, which include both physiological and cognitive manifestations, are the following:

  • Palpitations and increased heart rate
  • Sweating
  • Tremors
  • Difficulty breathing and choking sensation
  • Choking sensation
  • Discomfort in the chest, for example chest tightness
  • Nausea and abdominal discomfort
  • Lack of balance, dizziness and fainting
  • Derealization and depersonalization
  • Fear of losing control or sanity
  • Affraid to die
  • Numbness or tingling (paraesthesia)
  • Chills and hot flashes

Ruphophobia can pose significant difficulties since, unlike other phobic stimuli such as airplanes and big cats, dirt is omnipresent in everyday life. Therefore, in severe cases of misophobia, anxiety can be practically constant, depending also on the extent of the personal concept of dirtiness.

Causes of fear of dirt

Research on anxiety disorders suggests that the degree of physiological reactivity has an important hereditary component; This would explain the greater biological predisposition that some people have to develop this type of alterations. However, the way in which this anxiety manifests varies depending on the specific case.

Most irrational fears are acquired as consequence of one or more traumatic experiences . In the case of rupophobia this may be less common than in other specific phobias, although technically it is possible that contact with dirt causes problematic health alterations.

In the fear of dirt, vicarious learning and modeling can be very influential. A) Yes, people whose parents were very concerned about cleanliness They would have more chances of developing this type of phobia instead of other anxiety disorders. Similarly, cleaning OCD often occurs in people who have been educated in this way.

If we think of rupophobia from an evolutionary perspective, the most logical hypothesis is that the predisposition to feel fear of contamination, and therefore rejection of potentially pollutive objects, would have been adaptive to prevent infections and infections. Something similar happens with fear of wounds or animals like rats and worms.

Whatever the source of the fear of dirt, it is important to keep in mind that the avoidance of contact with the phobic stimulus It is usually the main maintenance factor in any kind of fear. This avoidance is usually supported by unrealistic expectations that should be refuted by non-anxiety approaches to the stimulus.


DIRT PHOBIA! (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rupofobia (ou misophobie): peur de la saleté et de ses causes

Rupofobia (ou misophobie): peur de la saleté et de ses causes

Février 9, 2024

Les êtres humains peuvent avoir peur de toutes sortes de stimuli, des animaux inoffensifs apparentés à d'autres qui représentent une menace pour nos ancêtres, aux moyens de transport modernes et même à l'eau ou aux excréments. On parle de phobie lorsque la peur de toute entité ou situation est très intense et chronique.

Peur de la saleté, connue sous le nom de "rupophobie" ou "misophobie" , est l’une des multiples phobies identifiées. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas l’une des plus fréquentes, il est intéressant d’analyser la rupophobie en raison de ses caractéristiques cliniques, telles que sa relation avec le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif et le degré élevé d’implication que cela peut impliquer.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Rupofobie ou misophobie: peur de la saleté

Au niveau diagnostique, la rupophobie fait partie de la catégorie "Phobie spécifique" décrits dans les manuels DSM et CIE. Les phobies sont des peurs intenses et irrationnelles qui génèrent un inconfort important et / ou entravent le fonctionnement normal du patient, souvent en évitant activement ce qui est craint.


Les phobies spécifiques sont considérées comme des troubles anxieux, tels que la phobie sociale (ou trouble d'anxiété sociale) et l'agoraphobie. Les personnes atteintes de ces problèmes ont très peur de la présence ou de l’anticipation du stimulus phobique; dans l'agoraphobie et dans certaines phobies, il est courant qu'ils soient en détresse.

Dans le cas de la rupophobie, le stimulus phobique est la saleté au sens large : alors que certaines personnes craignent des types concrets de "saleté", tels que les microbes (dans ce cas, on parle de germophobie ou de bacilofobie), d’autres craignent la possibilité d’entrer en contact avec tout ce qui est perçu comme potentiellement contaminant.


Relation avec le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Trouble obsessionnel compulsif, souvent abrégé en «TOC» , se caractérise par la présence d’obsessions et / ou de compulsions. Les obsessions sont des pensées intrusives ou des images provoquant des tensions émotionnelles, tandis que les compulsions sont des rituels comportementaux ou cognitifs utilisés pour réduire cette anxiété.

L'un des types les plus courants de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif est lié à la saleté: les idées obsessionnelles ont trait à la possibilité de contamination ou de contamination des autres, tandis que les rituels compulsifs sont associés à la propreté. Un exemple typique de rituel de nettoyage consiste à se laver les mains un nombre spécifique de fois de suite.

Dans les cas où ils coïncident symptômes de TOC et phobie spécifique à la saleté Le diagnostic de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif est généralement imposé, car la rupophobie est généralement un symptôme secondaire. Cependant, si la peur irrationnelle est plus importante que les obsessions ou les compulsions, un diagnostic primaire d'une phobie spécifique serait justifié.


  • Article connexe: "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Symptômes communs

Les personnes atteintes de rophophobie éprouvent des sentiments d'anxiété et de peur intenses lorsqu'elles entrent en contact avec le stimulus phobique. Cela les amène à vouloir "s'échapper" de la saleté, principalement en s'en éloignant ou en l'éliminant de leur corps, tout en essayant de l'éviter; pour cette raison, ils peuvent être isolés dans une maison pratiquement non polluée.

Parfois, l’anxiété devient si intense que le épisodes dits attaques de panique ou attaques de panique . Selon le DSM-IV, les symptômes de ces crises, qui incluent à la fois des manifestations physiologiques et cognitives, sont les suivants:

  • Palpitations et augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Transpiration
  • Tremblements
  • Difficulté à respirer et sensation d'étouffement
  • Sensation d'étouffement
  • Inconfort dans la poitrine, par exemple oppression thoracique
  • Nausée et gêne abdominale
  • Manque d'équilibre, vertiges et évanouissements
  • Déréalisation et dépersonnalisation
  • Peur de perdre le contrôle ou la raison
  • Peur de mourir
  • Engourdissement ou fourmillements (paresthésie)
  • Frissons et bouffées de chaleur

La ruphophobie peut poser des difficultés importantes puisque, contrairement à d'autres stimuli phobiques tels que les avions et les grands félins, la saleté est omniprésente dans la vie quotidienne. Par conséquent, dans les cas graves de misophobie, l’anxiété peut être pratiquement constante, en fonction également de l’ampleur du concept personnel de la saleté.

Causes de la peur de la saleté

Les recherches sur les troubles anxieux suggèrent que le degré de réactivité physiologique a une composante héréditaire importante; Cela expliquerait la plus grande prédisposition biologique que certaines personnes ont à développer ce type de modifications. Cependant, la manière dont cette anxiété se manifeste varie selon les cas.

La plupart des peurs irrationnelles sont acquises comme conséquence d'une ou plusieurs expériences traumatiques . Dans le cas de la rupophobie, cela peut être moins courant que dans d'autres phobies spécifiques, bien que techniquement, il soit possible que le contact avec la saleté provoque des problèmes de santé.

Dans la crainte de la poussière, l'apprentissage et la modélisation par procuration peuvent avoir une grande influence. Ainsi, personnes dont les parents étaient très préoccupés par la propreté Ils auraient plus de chances de développer ce type de phobie que d'autres troubles anxieux. De même, le nettoyage des TOC se produit souvent chez les personnes formées de cette manière.

Si nous pensons à la rupophobie du point de vue de l'évolution, l'hypothèse la plus logique est que la prédisposition à craindre la contamination, et donc le rejet d'objets potentiellement polluants, aurait été adaptée pour prévenir les infections et les infections. Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec la peur des blessures ou des animaux comme les rats et les vers.

Quelle que soit la source de la peur de la poussière, il est important de garder à l’esprit que éviter le contact avec le stimulus phobique C’est généralement le principal facteur de maintien de la peur. Cet évitement est généralement soutenu par des attentes irréalistes qui devraient être réfutées par des approches non anxieuses du stimulus.


DIRT PHOBIA! (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes