yes, therapy helps!
Sandifer syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatments

Sandifer syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatments

July 28, 2022

The human body is a complex organism, possessing different systems dedicated to diverse vital functions for our survival and that generally act in a coordinated and correct way.

One of these systems is the digestive, thanks to which we can incorporate necessary nutrients for survival. However, sometimes this and other bodily systems can present problems or alterations such as malformations or intolerances, or various diseases, injuries and disorders can enter into action.

Sandifer syndrome is one of these disorders, which occurs during childhood and causes different symptoms , although it is not considered dangerous for the child.


Sandifer syndrome: description and symptoms

Sandifer syndrome is a disorder that is often cataloged as a paroxysmal motor, in which Motor symptoms arising from alterations in the digestive system appear . It is a disease that appears in children and especially during the first years of life, although it can appear at any time between birth and adolescence, being frequent that the age of appearance is around eighteen months of age.

Children with Sandifer syndrome experience jerks and spasms lasting several minutes (usually between one and three) in areas such as the head, arms or legs with hyperextensions and various rotations. They often cause torticollis, stiff postures, and back bows. And in some cases there is also obstructive apnea. These motor alterations may appear at different times of the day, but tend to appear especially after ingestion and generally cease during sleep.


In this sense another one of main symptoms is the presence of esophagitis, or inflammation of the esophagus. Frequently they have anemia caused by lack of iron, lack of appetite and dysphagia, vomiting and abdominal pain . Hypotonia, weakness and fatigue may also appear.

Causes of this disease

It is considered that the etiology of Sandifer syndrome is found in the digestive tract. Generally, it is associated with the presence of reflux during digestion, partially regurgitating the food as it passes from the stomach to the esophagus.

Another possible cause is when the infant has a hiatus hernia , in which part of the digestive tract protrudes through the diaphragm and passes into the thorax instead of the abdomen. This can cause pain in the child, and in turn cause the aforementioned reflux.


It is speculated that in many cases the muscle spasms are the result of an attempt to reduce the level of pain caused by gastroesophageal reflux.

Although the symptoms appear to be neurological, as a general rule at the brain level the child presents a neurotypic neuronal activity, with no alterations observed at the electroencephalogram level. Thus, Sandifer syndrome would not be caused by a brain or nervous problem, not spasms of epileptic seizures (with which this disorder is often confused).

Behavioral alterations

Although the Sandifer syndrome does not imply the existence of behavioral alterations, it must be taken into account that depending on its duration and time of appearance, the pain derived from the problems that generate it can generate in the child a certain fear conditioned to the fact of feeding . This can cause problems such as limited food or refusal to eat, although in the long run this fear can be extinguished as food intake occurs without pain.

Also the presence of anemia can cause inactivity and lack of motivation in the child , and sleep disturbances that can range from insomnia to hypersomnia.

Treatments

Sandifer syndrome is a disorder whose prognosis is positive and has a good level of recovery , being rare that there are severe complications for the minor. However, it is important that there is an early diagnosis to prevent possible problems and seek a treatment that eliminates or reduces the problem of the digestive system that generates it.

In this sense, it seeks to treat the problem that generates the syndrome. A treatment for gastroesophageal reflux is usually established, in which pharmacologically the level of stomach acid is reduced. As well a surgical procedure may be required if it is due to a hiatus hernia or the treatment for reflux is not effective.

In addition, other possible symptoms such as anemia due to lack of iron should be treated, and inflammation reduced in cases of esophagitis.

Bibliographic references:

  • López, J.M. (1999). Motor paroxysmal disorders. Rev Neurol; 28 (161): 89-97.
  • Quintero, M.I .; López, K .; Belandria, K .; Navarro, D. (2012). Sandifer syndrome.About gastroesophageal reflux disease in children. Gen 66 (2). Caracas
  • Sherman, P. et al. (2009). A Global, Evidence-Based Consensus on the Definition of Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease in the Pediatric Population. Am. J. Gastroenterol., 104: 1278-1295.

Infant acid reflux: how do you know if your baby has GORD, and how is it treated? (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Sandifer: symptômes, causes et traitements

Syndrome de Sandifer: symptômes, causes et traitements

Juin 25, 2019

Le corps humain est un organisme complexe, possédant différents systèmes dédiés à diverses fonctions vitales pour notre survie et agissant généralement de manière coordonnée et correcte.

L'un de ces systèmes est le système digestif, grâce auquel nous pouvons incorporer les nutriments nécessaires à la survie. Cependant, ce système et d'autres systèmes corporels peuvent parfois présenter des problèmes ou des modifications telles que des malformations ou des intolérances, ou diverses maladies, blessures et troubles peuvent entrer en action.

Le syndrome de Sandifer est l’un de ces troubles qui survient pendant l’enfance et provoque différents symptômes. , bien que cela ne soit pas considéré comme dangereux pour l’enfant.


Syndrome de Sandifer: description et symptômes

Le syndrome de Sandifer est un trouble souvent catalogué comme moteur paroxystique, dans lequel Des symptômes moteurs résultant d'altérations du système digestif apparaissent . C'est une maladie qui apparaît chez les enfants, en particulier au cours des premières années de la vie, bien qu'elle puisse apparaître à tout moment entre la naissance et l'adolescence, étant donné que l'âge d'apparition se situe souvent autour de dix-huit mois.

Les enfants atteints du syndrome de Sandifer souffrent de secousses et de spasmes de plusieurs minutes (généralement entre une et trois minutes) dans des zones telles que la tête, les bras ou les jambes présentant des hyperextensions et des rotations variées. Ils provoquent souvent des torticolis, des postures raides et des arcs arrières. Et dans certains cas, il y a aussi l'apnée obstructive. Ces altérations motrices peuvent apparaître à différents moments de la journée, mais ont tendance à apparaître surtout après l'ingestion et cessent généralement pendant le sommeil.


En ce sens, l’un des principaux symptômes est la présence d’une oesophagite ou d’une inflammation de l’œsophage. Ils souffrent souvent d'anémie causée par un manque de fer, un manque d'appétit et une dysphagie, des vomissements et des douleurs abdominales . Une hypotonie, une faiblesse et une fatigue peuvent également apparaître.

Causes de cette maladie

On considère que l'étiologie du syndrome de Sandifer se retrouve dans le tube digestif. Généralement, il est associé à la présence de reflux lors de la digestion, en régurgitant partiellement la nourriture lorsqu'elle passe de l'estomac à l'œsophage.

Une autre cause possible est lorsque le nourrisson a une hernie hiatale , dans laquelle une partie du tube digestif fait saillie à travers le diaphragme et passe dans le thorax au lieu de l’abdomen. Cela peut provoquer des douleurs chez l'enfant et provoquer à son tour le reflux susmentionné.


On pense que, dans de nombreux cas, les spasmes musculaires résultent d'une tentative de réduire le niveau de douleur provoqué par le reflux gastro-oesophagien.

Bien que les symptômes semblent neurologiques, l'enfant présente en règle générale une activité neuronale neurotypique, sans aucune altération observée au niveau de l'électroencéphalogramme. Ainsi, le syndrome de Sandifer ne serait pas causé par un problème cérébral ou nerveux, ni par des spasmes de crises d'épilepsie (avec lesquelles ce trouble est souvent confondu).

Altérations comportementales

Bien que le syndrome de Sandifer n'implique pas l'existence d'altérations comportementales, il faut tenir compte du fait que, en fonction de sa durée et du moment de son apparition, la douleur provenant des problèmes qui en engendrent peut générer chez l'enfant une certaine peur conditionnée au fait de se nourrir. . Cela peut entraîner des problèmes tels que des aliments limités ou le refus de manger, même si cette peur peut être éteinte à la longue car la nourriture est consommée sans douleur.

De plus, la présence d'anémie peut entraîner une inactivité et un manque de motivation chez l'enfant. et des troubles du sommeil pouvant aller de l’insomnie à l’hypersomnie.

Traitements

Le syndrome de Sandifer est un trouble dont le pronostic est positif et présente un bon niveau de récupération. , étant rare qu'il existe des complications graves pour le mineur. Cependant, il est important qu'un diagnostic précoce soit mis en place afin de prévenir d'éventuels problèmes et de rechercher un traitement qui élimine ou réduit le problème du système digestif qui le génère.

En ce sens, il cherche à traiter le problème qui génère le syndrome. On établit généralement un traitement contre le reflux gastro-oesophagien, dans lequel on réduit pharmacologiquement le niveau d'acide gastrique. Aussi une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire si elle est due à une hernie hiatale ou si le traitement contre le reflux n’est pas efficace.

En outre, d'autres symptômes possibles, tels que l'anémie due au manque de fer, doivent être traités et l'inflammation réduite en cas d'œsophagite.

Références bibliographiques:

  • López, J.M. (1999). Troubles paroxystiques moteurs. Rev Neurol; 28 (161): 89-97.
  • Quintero, M.I .; López, K .; Belandria, K .; Navarro, D. (2012). Syndrome de Sandifer.À propos de la maladie de reflux gastro-oesophagien chez les enfants. Gen 66 (2). Caracas
  • Sherman, P. et al. (2009). Un consensus mondial, fondé sur des preuves, sur la définition de la maladie de reflux gastro-oesophagien dans la population pédiatrique Am. J. Gastroenterol., 104: 1278-1295.

Le reflux gastro-oesophagien du nourrisson - Maladies infantiles (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes