yes, therapy helps!
Sapiosexual: feeling attraction for intelligence

Sapiosexual: feeling attraction for intelligence

May 27, 2022

Several decades ago scientists began to look for the answers to falling in love and attraction, something that affects the lives of all of us. In our article "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug" we review what is known so far about this phenomenon, making a review of the biological and hormonal factors that act in our brain.

However, we must bear in mind that, when talking about different sexual orientations, we are moving in a swampy terrain; In the end, all of this is very subjective and, therefore, difficult to investigate. Maybe that's why the concept of sapiosexuality and sapiosexual are so fascinating .


  • Maybe you're interested: "We raffled 5 copies of the book" Psychologically Speaking "!"

Sapiosexual: attraction for intelligence

After knowing the importance of neurochemicals such as dopamine, noradrenaline or serotonin, one asks: "What is it that makes us look at one person and not another? "The answer to this question is difficult," explains anthropologist Helen Fisher, "no one knows the answer exactly, we know that a very important cultural component is involved, and the moment is also crucial: we must be willing to fall in love. to fall in love with someone who has around, next, we fall in love with people who are mysterious, who do not know each other well ".


We are attracted, then, by complex people , those that our mind is not able to cover with a single conversation and that have a very variable repertoire of behaviors. In short, one of the criteria we look for in a potential partner is that can be adapted to many contexts: that is, that is intelligent . This is where the concepts of sapiosexuality and sapiosexual person come into play

  • You may be interested in reading: "10 ways to be more scientifically proven attractive"

What is a Sapiosexual?

The truth is that people are attracted, repelled or ignored for reasons that are not always defined correctly. For clinical psychologist Mila Cahue, "there is a strong mental component, there are no fixed rules that indicate why we want someone, they come into play from the genetic factor to sentimental learning."


Therefore, we can say that there are many causes that define our tastes at the time of being attracted to someone. The cultural element, the educational model or our own experiences, among other factors, will create our mental map that will be decisive in triggering the chemical cascade of attraction or falling in love.

For example, there will be individuals who will look at the physical attractiveness, money, or fun that the other person can provide. But far from a perfect body, an enviable economic position, or a very desirable social life, there are people who are attracted to the "coconut", that is, intelligence. Whoever is attracted to that quality in the opposite sex, is a "sapiosexual".

Those who admit be attracted to "the inside" , and more specifically, by the intellectual capacity , they usually start their preliminaries with interesting conversations (about politics, philosophy, etc.) and get excited due to the "insight" of another person. The sapiosexual feels stimulated or challenged by the other's way of thinking . Basically, he finds the intellect of his sexual partner as his most attractive trait.

More women than men

What is the profile of sapiosexual people? Although the term sapiosexual applies to both men and women, it seems that it predominates more in the female sex . According to sexologist Miren Larrazabal, president of the Spanish Federation of Sexology Societies (FESS), "apparently we, when they ask us what values ​​we look for in attraction, apart from the physical, we value intelligence very much. This does not mean that men value it less, but they respond before with other variables that are a priority for them ".

In addition, Larrazabal thinks that the decision to opt for an intelligent man is not due to a good conversation, but "a woman presupposes that an intelligent man will have more economic resources, or can have a better career". This would then be a way of saying that what attracts is not intelligence per se, but the greater facility of intelligent men to provide a healthier and materially viable life. Goodbye romance?

However, sapiosexuals are a group very rarely studied and very little known in general, less even than asexuals.Is the ability to appreciate intelligence and originality uncommon, or is it that more research is needed for these people to come to light?

Sapiosexuals, technosexuales, metrosexuals ...

On the other hand, we can also speak of the sapiosexual as that person who considers that the attractiveness of someone is in their intelligence and does not focus too much on more aesthetic criteria, as well as we talk about the technosexuales or metrosexuals, who show their attractiveness through the technological gadgets or the exaggerated care of the body, respectively.

Now ... are sapiosexual people members of an alternative sexual orientation? It is complicated to argue in favor of this idea; after all, a feature of this type is comparable to any of the preferences that people may have for psychological or physical characteristics and that no one considers that they can constitute another sexual orientation. By definition, the latter depend on the sex of those who generate desire or attraction, and it would not be justified to change this criterion for any other that escapes the man-woman dichotomy.

In short, sapiosexuality is one more piece of repertoire of criteria that we use when choosing who we would like to be with. At the end of the day, if we have to spend time with a person, it is better that this person offers us, at least, a good conversation.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cover, R. (2018). Emergent Identities New Sexualities, Genders and Relationships in a Digital Era. London: Routledge.
  • Fernández, Graciela (2011). «Is Humanism sustainable?». Ethics notebooks Retrieved on November 19, 2012.
  • Fisher, Hellen (2004). Why we love: the nature and chemistry of romantic love.



What Do You Call A Person Who Is Attracted To Intelligence (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sapiosexuel: une attirance pour l'intelligence

Sapiosexuel: une attirance pour l'intelligence

Avril 15, 2021

Il y a plusieurs décennies, les scientifiques ont commencé à chercher des solutions pour chuter dans l'amour et l'attraction, ce qui affecte notre vie à tous. Dans notre article "La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant", nous passons en revue les connaissances actuelles sur ce phénomène, en passant en revue les facteurs biologiques et hormonaux qui agissent dans notre cerveau.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que, lorsque nous parlons d'orientations sexuelles différentes, nous évoluons sur un terrain marécageux; En fin de compte, tout cela est très subjectif et, par conséquent, difficile à étudier. C’est peut-être pour cette raison que le concept de sapiosexualité et de sapiosexuel est si fascinant .


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Nous avons tiré au sort 5 exemplaires du livre" Psychological Speaking "!"

Sapiosexuel: attrait pour l'intelligence

Après avoir compris l’importance de substances neurochimiques telles que la dopamine, la noradrénaline ou la sérotonine, on se demande: "Qu'est-ce qui nous fait regarder une personne et non une autre? "La réponse à cette question est difficile", explique l'anthropologue Helen Fisher, "personne ne la connaît exactement, nous savons qu'une composante culturelle très importante est en jeu, et le moment est également crucial: nous devons être prêts à tomber amoureux. tomber amoureux de quelqu'un qui a autour, ensuite, on tombe amoureux de gens mystérieux qui ne se connaissent pas bien ".


Nous sommes donc attirés par des personnes complexes , ceux que notre esprit ne peut couvrir avec une seule conversation et qui ont un répertoire de comportements très variable. En bref, l’un des critères que nous recherchons chez un partenaire potentiel est qui peut être adapté à de nombreux contextes: c'est-à-dire intelligent . C’est là que les concepts de sapiosexualité et de personne sapiosexuelle entrent en jeu

  • Vous voudrez peut-être lire: "10 façons d'être plus attrayantes sur le plan scientifique"

Qu'est-ce qu'un Sapiosexuel?

La vérité est que les gens sont attirés, repoussés ou ignorés pour des raisons qui ne sont pas toujours définies correctement. Pour la psychologue clinicienne Mila Cahue, "il y a une composante mentale forte, il n'y a pas de règles fixes qui indiquent pourquoi nous voulons quelqu'un, elles entrent en jeu du facteur génétique à l'apprentissage sentimental".


Par conséquent, nous pouvons dire que il y a beaucoup de causes qui définissent nos goûts au moment d'être attiré par quelqu'un. L'élément culturel, le modèle éducatif ou nos propres expériences, entre autres facteurs, créeront notre carte mentale qui sera décisive pour déclencher la cascade chimique d'attraction ou de tomber amoureux.

Par exemple, certaines personnes examineront l'attractivité physique, l'argent ou le divertissement que l'autre personne peut offrir. Mais loin d’un corps parfait, d’une situation économique enviable ou d’une vie sociale très désirable, il ya des gens qui sont attirés par la "noix de coco", c’est-à-dire l’intelligence. Quiconque est attiré par cette qualité du sexe opposé est un "sapiosexuel".

Ceux qui admettent être attiré par "l'intérieur" et plus particulièrement par capacité intellectuelle , ils commencent généralement leurs préliminaires par des discussions intéressantes (sur la politique, la philosophie, etc.) et sont excités par la "perspicacité" d’une autre personne. Le sapiosexuel se sent stimulé ou défié par la façon de penser de l'autre . Fondamentalement, il trouve l'intellect de son partenaire sexuel comme son trait le plus attrayant.

Plus de femmes que d'hommes

Quel est le profil des personnes sapiosexuelles? Bien que le terme sapiosexuel s’applique à la fois aux hommes et aux femmes, il semble que il prédomine davantage dans le sexe féminin . Selon la sexologue Miren Larrazabal, présidente de la Fédération espagnole des sociétés de sexologie (FESS), "apparemment nous, quand ils nous demandent quelles sont les valeurs que nous recherchons dans l’attraction, mis à part le physique, nous valorisons beaucoup l’intelligence. Cela ne veut pas dire que les hommes l’apprécient moins, mais ils réagissent avant avec d’autres variables qui sont une priorité pour eux ".

En outre, Larrazabal pense que la décision d'opter pour un homme intelligent n'est pas due à une bonne conversation, mais "une femme présuppose qu'un homme intelligent disposera de plus de ressources économiques ou d'une meilleure carrière". Ce serait alors une façon de dire que ce qui attire n’est pas l’intelligence en soi, mais la plus grande facilité dont disposent les hommes intelligents pour mener une vie plus saine et matériellement viable. Adieu la romance?

Cependant, les sapiosexuels sont un groupe très rarement étudié et très peu connu en général, moins encore que les asexués.La capacité d’apprécier l’intelligence et l’originalité est-elle inhabituelle ou faut-il davantage de recherche pour que ces personnes puissent se faire connaître?

Sapiosexuels, technosexuels, métrosexuels ...

D'autre part, on peut aussi parler de sapiosexuel en tant que personne qui considère que l'attrait de quelqu'un est dans son intelligence et ne se concentre pas trop sur des critères plus esthétiques, ainsi que les technosexuels ou métrosexuels, qui montrent leur attrait par les gadgets technologiques ou les soins exagérés du corps, respectivement.

Maintenant ... les personnes sapiosexuelles sont-elles membres d'une orientation sexuelle alternative? Il est compliqué d'argumenter en faveur de cette idée. après tout, une caractéristique de ce type est comparable à l’une des préférences que les gens peuvent avoir pour les caractéristiques psychologiques ou physiques et personne ne considère qu’elles peuvent constituer une autre orientation sexuelle. Par définition, ces derniers dépendent du sexe de ceux qui génèrent du désir ou de l'attirance, et il ne serait pas justifié de changer ce critère pour un autre qui échappe à la dichotomie homme-femme.

En bref, la sapiosexualité est une pièce de plus répertoire de critères que nous utilisons pour choisir avec qui nous aimerions être. En fin de compte, si nous devons passer du temps avec une personne, il est préférable que cette personne nous offre, au moins, une bonne conversation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cover, R. (2018). Identités émergentes Nouvelles sexualités, genres et relations à l'ère du numérique. Londres: Routledge.
  • Fernández, Graciela (2011). «L’humanisme est-il durable?». Cahiers d'éthique Récupéré le 19 novembre 2012.
  • Fisher, Hellen (2004). Pourquoi nous aimons: la nature et la chimie de l'amour romantique.



Sapiosexualité : quand l’intelligence mène à l’attirance sexuelle (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes