yes, therapy helps!
Schizophreniform disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

Schizophreniform disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

November 29, 2022

Schizophrenia is a widely known mental disorder, considered to be the most representative of all psychotic disorders.

However, within these we find other disorders that resemble to a lesser or greater extent, such as schizoaffective disorder, chronic delusional disorder or the disorder that occupies us in this article: the schizophreniform disorder.

What is schizophreniform disorder?

The diagnosis of schizophreniform disorders is made in all those cases in which there are at least hallucinations, delusions and / or altered speech and disorganized for more than a month but less than six. However, in some cases it is not clear if it is a schizophreniform disorder or any other type of mental disorder of the psychotic spectrum. The dividing lines between these concepts are diffuse, and can provoke debate; mainly, these definitions serve as a reference to guide in the clinical field.


symptom

It is not uncommon for them to show an increase in activity and impulsivity, acting in a chaotic way, and a variable level of disconnection with reality. There may also be catatonia or negative symptoms such as abulia or bradypsychia. The onset of these symptoms tends to be sudden and acute, as well as their subsequent disappearance.

Differences with schizophrenia

This brief definition can remind us of schizophrenia, which is mainly differentiated by the time window in which it appears (from one to six months, requiring a diagnosis of schizophrenia at least six and acute psychotic disorder less than a month) and by the fact that it does not usually leave sequels or produce deterioration (unless it ends up leading to another disorder). That is why it tends to have a much better prognosis than this one.


Frequently, when the diagnosis is made, if the problem has not already subsided, the schizophreniform disorder is considered as a provisional diagnosis until it is determined whether it ceases before six months or it can be considered schizophrenia. In fact, at the time some authors proposed that this diagnostic label could actually be encompassing those subjects with resolved and successfully treated schizophrenia.

One third of patients achieve a complete recovery, without presenting more symptoms and sequelae . However, in the remaining two thirds the schizophreniform disorder may end up evolving towards schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder, especially when it is not treated (although it must be borne in mind that the phenomenon explained in the previous paragraph also influences this). It can also turn to a schizotypal personality disorder.


Causes of this disorder

The etiology (the causes) of this disorder is not completely known, considering different hypotheses in this respect that coincide to a large extent with those of other psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia.

It has been observed the existence of correlations that suggest that at least part of the subjects with this disorder have inherited genetic alterations, being frequent that some family member present alterations of mood or schizophrenia. The experience of traumatic situations on the part of someone with genetic vulnerability can trigger the beginning of the disorder, as well as the consumption of substances.

At the brain level, it is observed, as in schizophrenia, that alterations in the dopaminergic pathways may arise, specifically in mesolimbic and mesocortical . In the first one there would be a dopaminergic hyperexcitation that would cause positive symptoms such as hallucinations, and in the mesocortical a hypoactivation due to the lack of sufficient levels of that hormone that would generate apathy and other negative symptoms. However, although schizophrenia has a generally chronic course in schizophreniform disorder, the symptoms end up remitting with treatment or even in some cases by themselves, so that the alteration in these systems could be temporary.

Good prognosis factors

The various studies carried out with respect to schizophreniform disorder highlight the existence of some factors that tend to be linked to a good prognosis .

Among them, they emphasize that there was a good premorbid adjustment (that is, that the subject did not present difficulties prior to the outbreak and was well integrated socio-labor), that feelings of confusion or strangeness appear among the symptoms, that the positive psychotic symptoms begin within the four first weeks after the first changes appear and no affective dullness or other negative symptoms are present.

This does not mean that those who do not have these characteristics necessarily have a worse future, but that those who have them will have a harder time as the disorder evolves.

Treatment

The treatment to be applied in cases of schizophreniform disorder is practically identical to that of schizophrenia. What has been shown to be most effective in combating this disorder is the combined use of pharmacological and psychological therapy, the prognosis being better the earlier the mixed treatment starts.

Below we review some of the most common and scientifically endorsed ways to treat schizophreniform disorder.

1. Pharmacological

A pharmacological level is prescribed the administration of neuroleptics in order to combat the positive symptoms , usually recommending the use of atypical due to its lower side effects.

This treatment is performed both to initially stabilize the patient in the acute phase and subsequently to it. A maintenance dose is usually required less than in schizophrenia, as well as less time of it. In cases of risk of causing damage or self-injury, hospitalization may be necessary until the patient stabilizes.

However, administering drugs (always under medical indication) and trusting that they work is not a good idea; you have to monitor its effects constantly and assess their side effects in patients .

2. Psychological

On a psychological level, the treatment will be carried out once the patient has stabilized. Problems such as problem solving and training in coping skills, as well as psychosocial support, are useful. The presence of hallucinations and delusions can be treated by focusing therapy (if you hear voices) and techniques such as cognitive restructuring.

Keep in mind that after experiencing a psychotic outbreak excessive stimulation can be harmful initially , with which it is advised that the reincorporation to the daily life be gradual. In any case, social and community reinforcement is very useful for the improvement of the patient's condition, being fundamental to perform psychoeducation both with the affected person and with their environment.

Finally, it is necessary to take into account that a periodic follow-up of each case must be carried out in order to prevent the possible evolution towards another psychological or psychiatric disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Gutiérrez, M.I .; Sánchez, M .; Trujillo, A .; Sánchez, L. (2012). Cognitive-behavioral therapy in acute psychoses. Rev.Asoc.Esp.Neuropsi. 31 (114); 225-245.
  • Pérez-Egea, R .; Escartí, J.A .; Ramos-Quirga, I .; Corripio-Collado, J .; Pérez-Blanco, V .; Pérez-Sola, V. & Álvarez-Martínez, E. (2006). Schizophreniform disorder. Prospective study of 5 years of follow-up. Psiq. Biol. 13 (1); 1-7.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

What is the Difference Between Schizophreniform Disorder and Schizophrenia? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble schizophréniforme: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble schizophréniforme: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juillet 21, 2022

La schizophrénie est un trouble mental largement connu, considéré comme le plus représentatif de tous les troubles psychotiques.

Cependant, au sein de ceux-ci, nous trouvons d’autres troubles qui ressemblent dans une moindre mesure ou plus, tels que le trouble schizoaffectif, le trouble délirant chronique ou le trouble qui nous occupe dans cet article: le trouble schizophréniforme.

Quel est le trouble schizophréniforme?

Le diagnostic des troubles schizophréniformes est établi dans tous les cas où il existe au moins des hallucinations, des délires et / ou une altération de la parole. et désorganisé depuis plus d'un mois mais moins de six. Cependant, dans certains cas, il n'est pas clair s'il s'agit d'un trouble schizophréniforme ou de tout autre type de trouble mental du spectre psychotique. Les lignes de démarcation entre ces concepts sont diffuses et peuvent provoquer des débats; principalement, ces définitions servent de référence à guider dans le domaine clinique.


Les symptômes

Il n’est pas rare qu’ils manifestent une augmentation de l’activité et de l’impulsivité, agissant de manière chaotique, et un niveau variable de déconnexion avec la réalité. Il peut également y avoir une catatonie ou des symptômes négatifs tels que l’abulia ou la bradypsychie. L'apparition de ces symptômes a tendance à être soudaine et aiguë, ainsi que leur disparition ultérieure.

Différences avec la schizophrénie

Cette brève définition peut rappeler la schizophrénie, qui se différencie principalement par la fenêtre temporelle dans laquelle elle apparaît (de un à six mois, nécessitant un diagnostic de schizophrénie au moins six ans et un trouble psychotique aigu de moins d'un mois). et par le fait qu’il ne laisse généralement pas de séquelles ou ne produit pas de détérioration (sauf s’il aboutit à un autre désordre). C'est pourquoi le pronostic est généralement bien meilleur que celui-ci.


Fréquemment, lorsque le diagnostic est posé, si le problème n’est pas déjà réglé, le trouble schizophréniforme est considéré comme un diagnostic provisoire jusqu’à ce qu’il soit déterminé s’il cesse avant six mois ou s’il peut être considéré comme une schizophrénie. En fait, à l'époque, certains auteurs ont proposé que cette étiquette de diagnostic englobe les sujets atteints de schizophrénie résolue et traitée avec succès.

Un tiers des patients se rétablissent complètement sans présenter plus de symptômes ni de séquelles . Cependant, dans les deux tiers restants, le trouble schizophréniforme peut finir par évoluer vers la schizophrénie ou le trouble schizoaffectif, surtout s’il n’est pas traité (il faut toutefois garder à l’esprit que le phénomène expliqué au paragraphe précédent l’influence également). Il peut également s'agir d'un trouble de la personnalité schizotypique.


Causes de ce trouble

L'étiologie (les causes) de ce trouble n'est pas complètement connue, si l'on considère différentes hypothèses à cet égard qui coïncident dans une large mesure avec celles d'autres troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie.

Il a été observé l’existence de corrélations suggérant qu’au moins une partie des sujets atteints de cette maladie avaient hérité d’altérations génétiques, et qu’un membre de la famille présentait fréquemment des altérations de l’humeur ou de la schizophrénie. L'expérience de situations traumatisantes chez une personne présentant une vulnérabilité génétique peut déclencher le début de la maladie, ainsi que la consommation de substances.

Au niveau du cerveau, on observe, comme dans la schizophrénie, que des altérations des voies dopaminergiques peuvent survenir, en particulier dans les cas mésolimbiques et mésocorticaux . Dans le premier cas, il y aurait une hyperexcitation dopaminergique qui provoquerait des symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations, et dans le mésocortical une hypoactivation due au manque de niveaux suffisants de cette hormone qui générerait de l'apathie et d'autres symptômes négatifs. Cependant, bien que la schizophrénie ait une évolution généralement chronique dans le trouble schizophréniforme, les symptômes finissent par disparaître avec le traitement ou même parfois par eux-mêmes, de sorte que la modification de ces systèmes peut être temporaire.

Bons facteurs de pronostic

Les différentes études réalisées sur les troubles schizophréniformes mettent en évidence l’existence de certains facteurs qui tendent à être liés à un bon pronostic .

Parmi eux, ils soulignent qu’il existait un bon ajustement prémorbide (c’est-à-dire que le sujet ne présentait pas de difficultés avant l’épidémie et était bien intégré dans le travail social), que des sentiments de confusion ou d’étrangeté apparaissent parmi les symptômes, quatre premières semaines après l'apparition des premiers changements et en l'absence de matité affective ou d'autres symptômes négatifs.

Cela ne signifie pas que ceux qui ne possèdent pas ces caractéristiques ont nécessairement un avenir pire, mais que ceux qui en ont auront davantage de difficultés à mesure que le trouble évoluera.

Traitement

Le traitement à appliquer en cas de trouble schizophréniforme est pratiquement identique à celui de la schizophrénie. L’utilisation combinée d’un traitement pharmacologique et d’un traitement psychologique s’est révélée être la solution la plus efficace pour lutter contre ce trouble;

Ci-dessous, nous passons en revue certaines des manières les plus courantes et scientifiquement approuvées de traiter les troubles schizophréniformes.

1. pharmacologique

Un niveau pharmacologique est prescrit l’administration de neuroleptiques afin de combattre les symptômes positifs , recommandant généralement l’utilisation d’atypique en raison de ses effets secondaires moins importants

Ce traitement est effectué à la fois pour stabiliser le patient dans la phase aiguë et ensuite pour la stabiliser. Une dose d'entretien est généralement requise moins que dans la schizophrénie, ainsi que moins de temps. En cas de risque de blessure ou d’automutilation, une hospitalisation peut être nécessaire jusqu’à stabilisation du patient.

Cependant, administrer des médicaments (toujours sous indication médicale) et avoir confiance en leur efficacité n’est pas une bonne idée; vous devez surveiller ses effets en permanence et évaluer leurs effets secondaires chez les patients .

2. psychologique

Sur le plan psychologique, le traitement sera effectué une fois le patient stabilisé. Des problèmes tels que la résolution de problèmes et la formation aux habiletés d'adaptation, ainsi que le soutien psychosocial, sont utiles. La présence d'hallucinations et de délires peut être traitée en centrant le traitement (si vous entendez des voix) et des techniques telles que la restructuration cognitive.

N'oubliez pas qu'après une poussée psychotique, une stimulation excessive peut être nocive au départ. , avec lequel il est conseillé que la réincorporation à la vie quotidienne soit progressive. Dans tous les cas, le renforcement social et communautaire est très utile pour améliorer l'état du patient, car il est fondamental pour effectuer une psychoéducation à la fois avec la personne affectée et avec son environnement.

Enfin, il est nécessaire de tenir compte du fait qu’un suivi périodique de chaque cas doit être effectué afin de prévenir l’évolution possible vers un autre trouble psychologique ou psychiatrique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Gutiérrez, M.I .; Sánchez, M.; Trujillo, A .; Sánchez, L. (2012). Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale dans les psychoses aiguës. Rev.Asoc.Esp.Neuropsi. 31 (114); 225-245.
  • Pérez-Egea, R .; Escartí, J.A .; Ramos-Quirga, I .; Corripio-Collado, J .; Pérez-Blanco, V .; Pérez-Sola, V. & Álvarez-Martínez, E. (2006). Trouble schizophréniforme. Etude prospective sur 5 ans de suivi. Psiq. Biol. 13 (1); 1-7.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
Articles Connexes