yes, therapy helps!
Scientific racism: what it is and how it transforms science to legitimize itself

Scientific racism: what it is and how it transforms science to legitimize itself

May 10, 2021

Racism is a multidimensional phenomenon which results in exclusion and restriction in access to different spheres of public life of a person or a group of people, for reasons based on color or national or ethnic origin.

José Martín (2003) tells us that, although races biogenetically do not exist, racism as an ideology does. And for this, a long process has had to take place where history and the production of scientific knowledge have mixed and impacted the different forms of social organization. That is why racism has also been installed as a way to know the world and relate to each other.

In this article we will do a brief review of the concept of scientific racism , understood as a process that has to do, on the one hand, with how science has participated in the production and reproduction of racism, and on the other, it has to do with scientific practices that are crossed by racial biases. In other words, we refer both to how science has generated racism, and to the process by which racism has generated science.


  • Related article: "Stereotypes, prejudice and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?"

Where is racism?

When we talk about racism we tend to fall into a racist bias, and we immediately think that it is a problem whose existence and definition take place in North America or South Africa, and we forget or even deny racial processes from other places, for example, in Latin America , in some places in Europe or in us and ourselves. Not only are these processes denied, but the historical and sociocultural elements that have made them emerge are also hidden .

Consequently, the causes that have really produced the phenomena associated with inequality (such as economic, political or social), for the benefit of an interpretation made directly or indirectly by the ruling classes are annulled or misinterpreted.


If we take a historical look, that puts in relation the different social, political and economic transformations , we can think that racism is a structural and historical phenomenon. That is to say, it is a system of elements that are distributed in a determined way to delimit the function and the parts of a whole; and that has been established based on specific trajectories.

In the social structure and interpersonal relationships

Being a structural phenomenon, racism is translated into forms of social and cultural relations, mediated by discrimination and subordination of one over another, based on a supposedly fixed difference of possibilities and opportunities for biological or sociocultural reasons of the group itself subordinate. Differences that also articulate and reproduce stereotypes, not only of race, but of class and gender .


That is, they allow us to evoke certain images in connection with certain words, and not with others, in relation to who we have been taught to be "inferior", "primitive", "weak", or who are "strong", "civilized" "," Superiors ". In other words, we associate certain acts with certain persons or groups of persons, and not with others; which also offers us a framework of identification and determined relationships.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Language as a marker of power"

Where does it come from? Alterization and colonialism

Racialized groups are often used for the benefit of those who defend differences from the supposed inferiority-superiority, and in this sense, are stripped of their status as "person" and understood in terms of distance.

At the base of all this there is a fundamental belief and practice: the existence of a unit (in short, the adult-white-western man) from which values ​​of life are valued and even "channeled" others ".

This process is known as "alteration" and consists of naming in terms of antagonistic differentiation to some people from a hegemonic point of view, based on a certain idea of ​​"us".

The problem is that when presented in terms of antagonistic difference from the hegemonic group, the "other" groups are also easily "reified", and their ways of life easily dismissed or replaced by those that are considered "better". For that reason, racism is directly related to violence. Violence that has also been one of the constants in the historical process of expansion of Western ways of life and their determined modes of production.

So, in the background of racism is the expansion of the worldview and the "Western ways of life" , where fundamentally racist forms of contact are established and legitimized. That being the case, racism is something that has been part, not only of the history of our societies, but also of their forms of economic production and also of knowledge creation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Orientalism: what it is, and how it helped to dominate a continent"

Scientific racism: between knowledge and ideology

Since the scientific discourse was positioned as the one that offers us the true and valid answers about the world, and about ourselves, their knowledge has been gradually located in the background of many theories, as well as in the background of different forms of identification and relationship.

Specifically in the reproduction of racism, science has participated directly and indirectly through supposed findings that legitimized visions marked by invisible racial biases. Segos that were made invisible, among other things, because people who have been recognized as competent subjects to do science, they have been precisely white and western adult men .

In this context, the research that emerged in the 19th century and which marked the scientific production in biology and history as scientific disciplines was especially important. The latter from the rise of evolutionary theories, where it was argued that the human species has changed after a complex genetic and biological process, where it is possible that some people have evolved "more" or "less" than others. Which also validates the principle of natural selection applied to human beings, along with the idea that between each other there is a permanent competition for survival .

A series of supposed demonstrations about the existence of racial hierarchies within the human species is then displayed; demonstrations that soon settle in the social imaginary, both at the micro and macro-political levels. That is to say that it not only impacts how we think of ourselves on a daily basis, how we see "others" and what ways of life are "desirable"; but that they have also become visible in the wars of colonial expansion , where the extermination of the lowest links of said hierarchy is justified.

Not only that, but the scientific confirmation of inferiority by race ended up having a direct impact on the ways to build and impart formal education, to politically and legally organize social participation, economic management and opportunities for each group, and so on.

Biological determinism and Intellectual Coefficient

The biological determinism was positioned in this way as a social philosophy. And one of the most contemporary processes where this becomes visible, is in the research on the innate intellectual characteristics, based on the construct of the Intellectual Quotient, understood as a number capable of linearly classifying people, whose base is mainly genetic and immutable.

Among other things, this affected the reduction of possibilities of social participation and inequality of opportunities for those who are located outside the average. Question in which the class and gender biases were also made invisible.

It was like that because the western white subject was taken as a model under arguments of heritability. Many studies showed that, for example, the black population had an IQ supposedly lower than those of the white population.

In these studies and under the arguments of biological determinism, issues such as the difference of opportunities that exist for each population in a concrete sociopolitical context were omitted, and for that reason, the differences are not treated as a problem that is structural, but as if it was a characteristic and immutable characteristic of a certain group of people.

Science: a practice of knowledge and power

Menéndez (1972) speaks of scientific racism in terms of distorted relations between science and racist ideology, where, in addition, if we follow Foucault, we can see that scientific practice has not only been a practice of "knowing", but of " power ", which means that has direct effects on what it studies and validates .

This becomes even more complex if we add the following paradox: although its effects are concrete and visible, science has traditionally been divided between the production of knowledge in laboratories and specialized journals, and what happens on a day-to-day basis , in the social reality.

From recognizing this paradox, racial biases in the production of knowledge, and their consequences, have been especially assumed and criticized after the Second World War. It was specifically when the extermination occurred from a geopolitically European group to another geopolitically European group, based on biological superiority-inferiority justifications .

However, even though many scientists made it known that the theories were strongly marked by racial biases, in many cases there was no possibility of curbing the relations of violence that were being legitimized. It's like that because everyday life escapes many times from science , and the political value of the results of the investigations that question the racist postulates has fallen short.

In short, racism as a system, ideology and form of relationship offers a coherent vision for the mode of production (both economic and knowledge) in which our social system is based on a global level. It is part of the conception of the world where a rationality of violence is incorporated, and as such, it offers a series of planning and techniques where scientific activity has not had a minor participation.

Bibliographic references

  • Grosfoguel, R. (2013). Racism / epistemic sexism, westernized universities and the four genocides / epistemicides of the sixteenth century.
  • Sánchez-Arteaga, J.M., Sepúlveda, C. and El-Hani, C. (2013). Scientific racism, processes of alteration and teaching of sciences. International Journal of Research in Education. 6 (12): 55-67. Tabula Rasa. 19: 31-58.
  • Sánchez-Arteaga, J.M (2007). The delirious rationality: scientific racism in the second half of the nineteenth century. Journal of the Spanish Association of Neuropsychiatry. 27: 112-126.
  • Martín, J. (2003). The "races" biogenetically do not exist, but racism does, as an ideology. Educational Dialogue Magazine, 4 (9): 1-7.
  • Jay, S. (1984). The fake measure of man. Grijalbo: Barcelona.
  • Menéndez, E. (1972). Racism, colonialism and scientific violence. Retrieved June 25, 2018. Available in //s3.amazonaws.com/academia.edu.documents/46912407/Menendez__Eduardo_-_Racismo__colonialismo_y_violencia_cientifica.pdf.pdf?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAIWOWYYGZ2Y53UL3A&Expires=1529925569&Signature=9NcK78LRRa0IhpfNNgRnC%2FPnXQ4%3D&response-content-disposition=inline % 3B% 20filename% 3DRacismo_colonialismo_y_violencia_cientif.pdf.

What is Race? | ContraPoints (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le racisme scientifique: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment il transforme la science pour se légitimer

Le racisme scientifique: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment il transforme la science pour se légitimer

Février 27, 2021

Le racisme est un phénomène multidimensionnel ce qui entraîne l'exclusion et la restriction de l'accès aux différentes sphères de la vie publique d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes, pour des raisons de couleur ou d'origine nationale ou ethnique.

José Martín (2003) nous dit que, bien que les races n'existent pas biogénétiquement, le racisme en tant qu'idéologie existe. Et pour cela, il a fallu un long processus où l'histoire et la production de connaissances scientifiques ont mélangé et affecté les différentes formes d'organisation sociale. C’est la raison pour laquelle le racisme a également été installé comme moyen de connaître le monde et d’être en relation les uns avec les autres.

Dans cet article nous ferons un bref aperçu de la notion de racisme scientifique , compris comme un processus qui concerne d’une part la manière dont la science a participé à la production et à la reproduction du racisme, et d’autre part les pratiques scientifiques traversées par des préjugés raciaux. En d'autres termes, nous faisons référence à la fois à la manière dont la science a généré le racisme et au processus par lequel le racisme a généré la science.


  • Article connexe: "Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?"

Où est le racisme?

Lorsque nous parlons de racisme, nous avons tendance à tomber dans un préjugé raciste, et nous pensons immédiatement que c’est un problème dont l’existence et la définition se posent en Amérique du Nord ou en Afrique du Sud, et nous oublions ou même nions les processus raciaux d’autres endroits, par exemple en Amérique latine. , à certains endroits en Europe ou en nous et nous-mêmes. Non seulement ces processus sont refusés, mais les éléments historiques et socioculturels qui les ont fait émerger sont également cachés .

En conséquence, les causes qui ont réellement produit les phénomènes associés aux inégalités (économiques, politiques ou sociales, par exemple) au profit d’une interprétation faite directement ou indirectement par les classes dirigeantes sont annulées ou mal interprétées.


Si nous prenons un regard historique, cela met en relation les différentes transformations sociales, politiques et économiques , on peut penser que le racisme est un phénomène structurel et historique. C’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit d’un système d’éléments répartis de manière déterminée pour délimiter la fonction et les parties d’un tout; et cela a été établi en fonction de trajectoires spécifiques.

Dans la structure sociale et les relations interpersonnelles

En tant que phénomène structurel, le racisme se traduit par des formes de relations sociales et culturelles, médiées par la discrimination et la subordination des unes sur les autres, sur la base d'une différence supposée fixe de possibilités et d'opportunités pour des raisons biologiques ou socioculturelles du groupe lui-même. subordonné Des différences qui articulent et reproduisent également des stéréotypes, non seulement de race, mais de classe et de genre .


En d’autres termes, ils nous permettent d’évoquer certaines images en relation avec certains mots, et non avec d’autres, en ce qui concerne les personnes qui nous ont été enseignées comme "inférieures", "primitives", "faibles" ou qui sont "fortes", "civilisées". "," Supérieurs ". En d’autres termes, nous associons certains actes à certaines personnes ou groupes de personnes et non à d’autres; ce qui nous offre également un cadre d’identification et de relations déterminées.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La langue comme marqueur du pouvoir"

D'où il vient? Altération et colonialisme

Les groupes racialisés sont souvent utilisés au profit de ceux qui défendent les différences par rapport à la prétendue infériorité-supériorité. Dans ce sens, ils sont dépouillés de leur statut de "personne" et compris en termes de distance.

À la base de tout cela, il y a une croyance et une pratique fondamentales: l'existence d'une unité (en bref, l'homme adulte-occidental-blanc occidental) à partir de laquelle les valeurs de la vie sont valorisées et même "canalisées". autres ".

Ce processus s'appelle "altération" et consiste à nommer en termes de différenciation antagoniste à certaines personnes d'un point de vue hégémonique, basé sur une certaine idée du "nous".

Le problème est que, lorsqu'ils sont présentés en termes de différence antagoniste par rapport au groupe hégémonique, les "autres" groupes sont également facilement "réifiés" et leurs modes de vie facilement écartés ou remplacés par ceux qui sont considérés comme "meilleurs". Pour cette raison, le racisme est directement lié à la violence. La violence a également été l'une des constantes du processus historique d'expansion des modes de vie occidentaux et de leurs modes de production déterminés.

Ainsi, dans le contexte du racisme est l'expansion de la vision du monde et des "modes de vie occidentaux" , où des formes de contact fondamentalement racistes sont établies et légitimées. Cela étant, le racisme fait partie non seulement de l'histoire de nos sociétés, mais aussi de leurs formes de production économique et de la création de connaissances.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'orientalisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment il a aidé à dominer un continent"

Racisme scientifique: entre connaissance et idéologie

Depuis que le discours scientifique a été positionné comme celui qui nous offre des réponses vraies et valables sur le monde et sur nous-mêmes, leurs connaissances se sont progressivement placées dans l’arrière-plan de nombreuses théories, ainsi que dans celui de différents formes d'identification et relation.

Plus précisément, dans la reproduction du racisme, la science a participé directement et indirectement à travers de supposées découvertes qui légitimaient des visions marquées par des préjugés raciaux invisibles. Des segos qui ont été rendus invisibles, entre autres, parce que des personnes reconnues comme des personnes compétentes pour faire de la science, ils ont été précisément les hommes adultes blancs et occidentaux .

Dans ce contexte, les recherches apparues au XIXe siècle et qui ont marqué la production scientifique en biologie et en histoire en tant que disciplines scientifiques étaient particulièrement importantes. Ces dernières proviennent de la montée des théories évolutionnistes, selon lesquelles l’espèce humaine a changé après un processus génétique et biologique complexe, où il est possible que certaines personnes aient évolué "plus" ou "moins" que d’autres. Ce qui valide également le principe de sélection naturelle appliqué à l’être humain, ainsi que l’idée qu’entre eux il y a un concours permanent pour la survie .

Une série de supposées démonstrations sur l'existence de hiérarchies raciales au sein de l'espèce humaine est ensuite présentée; manifestations qui s’installent bientôt dans l’imaginaire social, tant au niveau micro que macro-politique. Autrement dit, cela n’affecte pas seulement la façon dont nous nous voyons tous les jours, comment nous voyons les «autres» et quels modes de vie sont «souhaitables»; mais ça ils sont également devenus visibles dans les guerres de l'expansion coloniale , où l'extermination des liens les plus bas de ladite hiérarchie est justifiée.

De plus, la confirmation scientifique de l'infériorité raciale a eu un impact direct sur les moyens de construire et de dispenser une éducation formelle, d'organiser politiquement et juridiquement la participation sociale, la gestion économique et les opportunités offertes à chaque groupe, etc.

Déterminisme biologique et coefficient intellectuel

Le déterminisme biologique se positionnait ainsi en tant que philosophie sociale. Et l'un des processus les plus contemporains où cela devient visible est la recherche sur les caractéristiques intellectuelles innées, basée sur la construction du quotient intellectuel, entendue comme un nombre capable de classer de manière linéaire les personnes, dont la base est principalement génétique et immuable.

Cela a notamment affecté la réduction des possibilités de participation sociale et l’inégalité des chances pour ceux qui sont situés en dehors de la moyenne. Question dans laquelle les préjugés de classe et de genre ont également été rendus invisibles.

C'était comme ça parce que le sujet blanc occidental a été pris comme modèle sous des arguments d'héritabilité. De nombreuses études ont montré que, par exemple, la population noire avait un QI supposé inférieur à celui de la population blanche.

Dans ces études et sous les arguments du déterminisme biologique, des questions telles que la différence d'opportunités existant pour chaque population dans un contexte sociopolitique concret ont été omises; pour cette raison, les différences ne sont pas traitées comme un problème structurel, mais comme si c'était une caractéristique caractéristique immuable d'un certain groupe de personnes.

Science: une pratique du savoir et du pouvoir

Menéndez (1972) parle de racisme scientifique en termes de relations faussées entre science et idéologie raciste, où, de plus, si nous suivons Foucault, nous pouvons voir que la pratique scientifique a non seulement été une pratique du "savoir", pouvoir ", ce qui signifie que a des effets directs sur ce qu'il étudie et valide .

Cela devient encore plus complexe si nous ajoutons le paradoxe suivant: bien que ses effets soient concrets et visibles, la science a toujours été divisée entre la production de connaissances dans des laboratoires et des revues spécialisées et ce qui se passe au quotidien. , dans la réalité sociale.

En reconnaissant ce paradoxe, les préjugés raciaux dans la production de connaissances et leurs conséquences ont été particulièrement assumés et critiqués après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. C’est précisément lorsque l’extermination a eu lieu d’un groupe géopolitiquement européen à un autre groupe géopolitiquement européen, sur la base de justifications de supériorité et d'infériorité biologiques .

Cependant, même si de nombreux scientifiques ont fait savoir que les théories étaient fortement marquées par des préjugés raciaux, il n’existait souvent pas la possibilité de mettre un terme aux relations de violence légitimées. C'est comme ça parce que la vie quotidienne échappe plusieurs fois à la science et la valeur politique des résultats des enquêtes qui remettent en question les postulats racistes a été insuffisante.

En bref, le racisme en tant que système, idéologie et forme de relation offre une vision cohérente du mode de production (à la fois économique et du savoir) dans lequel notre système social est basé à un niveau mondial. Cela fait partie de la conception du monde où une rationalité de la violence est incorporée et, en tant que tel, offre une série de techniques et de planification dans lesquelles l'activité scientifique n'a pas eu une participation mineure.

Références bibliographiques

  • Grosfoguel, R. (2013). Sexisme raciste / épistémique, universités occidentalisées et les quatre génocides / épistémicides du seizième siècle.
  • Sánchez-Arteaga, J.M., Sepúlveda, C. et El-Hani, C. (2013). Racisme scientifique, processus d'altération et enseignement des sciences. Revue internationale de recherche en éducation. 6 (12): 55-67. Tabula Rasa. 19: 31-58.
  • Sánchez-Arteaga, J.M (2007). La rationalité délirante: le racisme scientifique dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. Journal de l'Association espagnole de neuropsychiatrie. 27: 112-126.
  • Martín, J. (2003). Les "races" biogénétiquement n'existent pas, mais le racisme en tant qu'idéologie. Educational Dialogue Magazine, 4 (9): 1-7.
  • Jay, S. (1984). La fausse mesure de l'homme. Grijalbo: Barcelone.
  • Menéndez, E. (1972). Racisme, colonialisme et violence scientifique. Récupéré le 25 Juin 2018. Disponible en //s3.amazonaws.com/academia.edu.documents/46912407/Menendez__Eduardo_-_Racismo__colonialismo_y_violencia_cientifica.pdf.pdf?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAIWOWYYGZ2Y53UL3A&Expires=1529925569&Signature=9NcK78LRRa0IhpfNNgRnC%2FPnXQ4%3D&response-content-disposition=inline % 3B% 20filename% 3DRacismo_colonialismo_y_violencia_cientif.pdf.

Psywar : Guerre Psychologique - Le film (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes