yes, therapy helps!
Self-centered personality: 15 characteristic features

Self-centered personality: 15 characteristic features

May 28, 2024

The egocentric personality and the set of egocentric behaviors are usually linked to certain behavioral patterns, such as ambition, arrogance or exhibitionism.

Being able to recognize the personality traits and behavioral manifestations of the egocentric personality will equip you with resources to identify this type of people .

Self-centered personality: 15 traits to detect egocentricity

Habitually, egocentric people use this characteristic as a psychological barrier that prevents them from acting taking into account the consequences of their actions on others. Frequently, the origin of this trait can be found in their family experience, generally in an environment composed of parents of little affectivity, who project their child desires for greatness and omnipotence .


But, what exactly is the egocentric personality? The following 15 traits are characteristic of self-centered people.

Distorted self-image

1. False self-confidence

Although the external image of the egocentric can appear as a great self-confidence, the reality is different. Self-centered people are, in reality, insecure. According to the German psychologist Erich Fromm, this is due to a defense mechanism (1991). They project artificial self-confidence and seem convinced of everything they say, that's why they can be persuasive and be able to act as if they have great self-esteem .

2. Excess of self-esteem

It is observed that they value themselves excessively. However, the researcher D.M. Svarkic argues that this attitude may indicate just the opposite: a fragile self-esteem that they try to compensate through efforts to be respected, recognized and admired for other people.


3. The feelings of greatness

The self-centered person believes to be a possessor of great talents and special skills , and thinks that their problems and needs can only be met by people with great capacity and prestige. The environment of the egocentric person usually uses some expressions to refer to this attitude, such as "a person believes".

4. Ambition and excessive expectations

As a result of their feelings of greatness, self-centered people they can be constantly focused on their fantasies of power , success, love, sex, etcetera. It is not uncommon for them to think that at any moment their professional life will hatch and they will become millionaires.

5. Distortion of reality

The egocentric just accept the reality that fits with your grandiose reveries . He tends not to give credit or simply rejects those aspects of his life that call into question his prestige and his image as a perfect and admirable person.


Little empathy

6. Is not able to recognize the feelings of others

The poor manifestation of feelings and affective gestures towards the people around him (being sensitive would make him feel inferior) contrasts with the egocentric need to be admired, flattered and respected. It shows little sensitive to others .

7. Difficulty assessing the personal characteristics of the people in their environment

This point generates a total lack of commitment, empathy and affectivity between the egocentric person and his close associates.

Hypersensitivity to the evaluation of others

8. Reacts excessively to criticism received

Although I may not express it directly, the individual with egocentric personality is very prone to feeling offended by any criticism (Kohut, 1972). He considers that others do not have sufficient level or authority to judge him, and that the criticism is probably due to the envy he arouses. They tend to show excessively susceptible .

9. He compares himself to others and feels envious

He worries about feeling valued as better than others . Indirectly, the self-centered person expresses feelings of envy , since it is not capable of accepting the success of others. Neither are they able to accept the help of another person. This last point is paradoxical, since although they need to receive praise and respect from others, they are unable to accept any kind of help.

Difficulties in interpersonal relationships

10. Exhibitionism

The egocentric personality also manifests itself in certain attitudes such as motivation for the pleasure of being flattered and admired . This is usually observed in the excessive desire to expect to be rewarded with compliments by others, and also a permanent need to monopolize attention. For this reason they tend to show a tendency to occupy positions of public repercussion, from which they can be the object of attention and admiration (Akhtar and Thompson, 1982).

11. Feeling of having rights over other people

This implies that the self-centered person believes himself entitled to receive preferential treatment and certain privileges with respect to others. This is manifested in the signs of pride, vanity and the moments when requires that you be granted certain privileges and prebends .

12. Machiavellianism

The Machiavellianism it is defined as the tendency to use other people for their own benefit. This behavior reinforces in the strong egocentric person feelings of envy , and only interested in other people to the extent that you can use them to get something in return.

13. Control over the others (manipulation)

The egocentric personality requires a high share of power in order to compensate for the feeling of background insecurity. The egocentric individual tries to force other people to offer them their unconditional admiration through control over their ideas, actions or behaviors; through manipulation or emotional blackmail.

14. Distortion in verbal expression

It is usual to refer to this characteristic as "egocentrism of language". The fundamental objective of language based on I is to try to impress and increase your own self-esteem. The communicative function of the language takes a back seat. The communicative style it is characterized by a constant focus on oneself , and for being unable to listen to the interlocutor.

15. Solitary and pessimistic

The egocentric person, finally, is characterized by suffering feelings of existential emptiness and sadness . Loneliness is one of the tolls of the egocentric personality, since little by little they are rejected by the next people (friends, relatives, companions).


10 features to detect egocentrism (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité égocentrique: 15 traits caractéristiques

Personnalité égocentrique: 15 traits caractéristiques

Juin 13, 2021

Le personnalité égocentrique et l'ensemble des comportements égocentriques est généralement lié à certains comportements, tels que l'ambition, l'arrogance ou l'exhibitionnisme.

Être capable de reconnaître les traits de personnalité et les manifestations comportementales de la personnalité égocentrique vous dotera de ressources pour identifier ce type de personnes .

Personnalité égocentrique: 15 traits pour détecter l'égocentrisme

Habituellement, les personnes égocentriques utilisent cette caractéristique comme barrière psychologique qui les empêche d'agir en tenant compte des conséquences de leurs actes sur les autres. Souvent, l'origine de ce trait se trouve dans l'expérience familiale, généralement dans un environnement composé de parents peu affectifs, qui projettent leur enfant. désirs de grandeur et de toute-puissance .


Mais, quelle est exactement la personnalité égocentrique? Les 15 traits suivants sont caractéristiques des personnes égocentriques.

Image de soi déformée

1. Fausse confiance en soi

Bien que l'image externe de l'égocentrique puisse apparaître comme une grande confiance en soi, la réalité est différente. Les personnes égocentriques sont, en réalité, peu sûres. Selon le psychologue allemand Erich Fromm, cela est dû à un mécanisme de défense (1991). Ils projettent une confiance en soi artificielle et semblent convaincus de tout ce qu'ils disent, voilà pourquoi ils peuvent être persuasifs et pouvoir agir comme s'ils avaient une grande estime de soi .

2. Excès d'estime de soi

On observe qu'ils se valorisent excessivement. Cependant, le chercheur D.M. Svarkic soutient que cette attitude peut indiquer exactement le contraire: une estime de soi fragile qui ils essaient de compenser par des efforts pour être respectés, reconnus et admirés pour d'autres personnes.


3. Les sentiments de grandeur

La personne égocentrique croit être possesseur de grands talents et compétences spéciales et pense que leurs problèmes et leurs besoins ne peuvent être satisfaits que par des personnes dotées de capacités et d’un prestige élevés. L'environnement de la personne égocentrique utilise généralement certaines expressions pour faire référence à cette attitude, comme "une personne croit".

4. Ambition et attentes excessives

En raison de leurs sentiments de grandeur, les personnes égocentriques ils peuvent être constamment concentrés sur leurs fantasmes de pouvoir , succès, amour, sexe, etc. Il n’est pas rare qu’ils pensent qu’à tout moment leur vie professionnelle éclatera et qu’ils deviendront millionnaires.

5. Distorsion de la réalité

L'égocentrique acceptez simplement la réalité qui correspond à vos rêveries grandioses . Il a tendance à ne pas donner crédit ou simplement à rejeter les aspects de sa vie qui remettent en question son prestige et son image de personne parfaite et admirable.


Peu d'empathie

6. n'est pas capable de reconnaître les sentiments des autres

La faible manifestation de sentiments et de gestes affectifs envers les personnes qui l'entourent (sa sensibilité lui donnerait le sentiment d'être inférieur) contraste avec le besoin égocentrique d'être admiré, flatté et respecté. Se montre peu sensible aux autres .

7. Difficulté à évaluer les caractéristiques personnelles des personnes dans leur environnement

Ce point génère un manque total d'engagement, d'empathie et d'affectivité entre la personne égocentrique et ses proches collaborateurs.

Hypersensibilité à l'évaluation des autres

8. Réagit excessivement aux critiques reçues

Bien que je ne puisse pas l’exprimer directement, la personne à la personnalité égocentrique est très enclin à se sentir offensé par toute critique (Kohut, 1972). Il considère que les autres n’ont pas le niveau ni l’autorité suffisants pour le juger et que la critique est probablement due à l’envie qu’il suscite. Ils ont tendance à montrer excessivement susceptible .

9. Il se compare aux autres et se sent envieux

Il s'inquiète de se sentir valorisé en tant que mieux que d'autres . Indirectement, la personne égocentrique exprime des sentiments de l'envie , puisqu'il n'est pas capable d'accepter le succès des autres. Ils ne peuvent pas non plus accepter l'aide d'une autre personne. Ce dernier point est paradoxal, car bien qu’ils aient besoin de recevoir les éloges et le respect des autres, ils ne peuvent accepter aucune forme d’aide.

Difficultés dans les relations interpersonnelles

10. Exhibitionnisme

La personnalité égocentrique se manifeste aussi dans certaines attitudes telles que la motivation pour le plaisir d'être flatté et admiré . Ceci est généralement observé dans le désir excessif de s'attendre à être récompensé par des compliments par d'autres, ainsi que par le besoin permanent de monopoliser l'attention. Pour cette raison, ils ont tendance à montrer une tendance à occuper des positions de répercussion publique, d'où ils peuvent être l'objet d'attention et d'admiration (Akhtar et Thompson, 1982).

11. Sentiment d'avoir des droits sur d'autres personnes

Cela implique que la personne égocentrique croit avoir le droit de bénéficier d'un traitement préférentiel et de certains privilèges par rapport aux autres. Cela se manifeste dans les signes d'orgueil, de vanité et les moments où exige que l'on vous accorde certains privilèges et prébendes .

12. machiavélisme

Le Machiavélisme il est défini comme la tendance à utiliser d'autres personnes à leur avantage. Ce comportement renforce chez la forte personne égocentrique des sentiments d'envie et ne vous intéressez qu'aux autres personnes dans la mesure où vous pouvez les utiliser pour obtenir quelque chose en retour.

13. Contrôle sur les autres (manipulation)

La personnalité égocentrique nécessite une grande part de pouvoir afin de compenser le sentiment d'insécurité de l'arrière-plan. L’individu égocentrique essaie d’obliger les autres à lui offrir son admiration inconditionnelle en contrôlant leurs idées, leurs actions ou leurs comportements; par manipulation ou chantage émotionnel.

14. Distorsion de l'expression verbale

Il est habituel de parler de "l'égocentrisme du langage". L’objectif fondamental du langage basé sur Je est d'essayer d'impressionner et d'augmenter votre propre estime de soi. La fonction communicative de la langue passe au second plan. Le style communicatif il se caractérise par un souci constant de soi et d’être incapable d’écouter l’interlocuteur.

15. solitaire et pessimiste

La personne égocentrique, enfin, est caractérisée par la souffrance sentiments de vide existentiel et de tristesse . La solitude est l’un des péages de la personnalité égocentrique, puisqu’elle est peu à peu rejetée par les prochaines personnes (amis, parents, compagnons).


Comment reconnaitre une personne hypocrite ? (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes