yes, therapy helps!
Self-destructive people share these 15 traits

Self-destructive people share these 15 traits

May 10, 2021

Do you know any person with a tendency towards self-destruction?

From clinical psychology, individuals with a self-destructive personality share a series of characteristics in their behavior. They are behaviors that go against their interests, are counterproductive to their well-being and cause physical and psychological harm to themselves.

Who suffers this type of self-destructive personality?

Personality traits of self-destructive people they usually appear in the adult stage, and may be the effect of a wide variety of contextual, psychological and biological factors .

These people tend to shy away from all the positive and pleasurable experiences that life offers them. This leads them to generate chaotic situations and interpersonal relationships and in which there is often suffering. In addition, they are usually closed and do not accept the help of their relatives.


Diagnosis (warning signs and symptoms)

Several diagnostic manuals indicate the main characteristics shared by people who tend towards self-destructive behaviors and habits.

If the person presents at least the five diagnostic criteria , we can talk about a person with a tendency towards self-destruction.

  • Tends to relate to people and develop in contexts in which disappointments are likely to occur and disappointments. You may even have a tendency to suffer abuse from other people, even choosing to interact in healthier environments.
  • Do not let other people help or advise you .
  • If they achieve some important improvement in their life (for example a good job or any other positive achievement) they react with depression, guilt or self-injurious behavior.
  • Causes others until they get angry with him and then he feels humiliated and offended.
  • Does not accept to engage in pleasant activities , or if he does not like to acknowledge that he has a good time (even if he has enough social skills).
  • It fails to carry out the tasks and commitments necessary to achieve its academic or professional objectives , although it has the capacity to do it. It can help other people to improve, but they are unable to apply the necessary knowledge and attitude to their own lives.
  • Does not accept that others are interested in their welfare .
  • He is too prone to self-sacrifice to help to other people.
  • He endures and does not rebel against the psychological, physical or sexual abuse that other people inflict on him.
  • The behaviors described do not only take place when the individual is depressed or in especially harsh circumstances.

Understanding the behavior of these people

It is difficult to understand why self-destructive people do not let other people help them out of their situation. How do you explain that they have very bad habits that will sooner or later cause them problems?


In general, we all seek that our life improves. We seek to feel comfortable and loved, we are motivated to seek greater welfare and positive experiences for our lives. But nevertheless, self-destructive behavior breaks with this general trend, and this is something that worries mental health professionals .

The genesis: low self-esteem

Self-destructive behaviors are often manifestations of various emotional conflicts and underlying disorders. Mainly, low self-esteem is the most cited cause, in addition to resentment towards oneself.

The community of mental health professionals often agree that This type of self-injurious behavior can be adaptive mechanisms before situations and contexts of great cognitive and emotional demand . For example, stress, anxiety, work pressure and other factors may be the necessary (but not sufficient) basis for a person to react in a self-destructive way.


However, other professionals point out that people with this type of behavior could be imprisoned in their comfort zone, due to their low self-esteem, stigmata of indignity or poor self-confidence.

Habits and typical behaviors in self-destructive people

The self-destructive behavior can acquire different manifestations, some more severe, and others less worrisome.

In total, we can list up to 15 frequent behaviors and habits .

1. Negative thoughts

Recurring negative thoughts can be the foundation of self-destructive behavior. When these people focus on the bad that could happen, they end up obsessing and it is much more likely that these fatalities materialize in reality. Examples of these thoughts are: "I'm sure I'm going to fail", "This one will not go well", and so on.

2. Inability to face the problem

This is a passive manifestation, but it is one of the keys to understanding a self-destructive person.Psychologically balanced people are able to take action when they are living in a negative situation. Instead, individuals with this problem do nothing to avoid pain , with which each time they feel more useless and immersed in a spiral of inaction.

3. Eating disorders

Eating too much can be a self-destructive behavior with terrible effects in the medium and long term . It can also be the opposite: feeding very little, which is also associated with poor self-image.

4. Constant problems with other people

They often have frequent conflicts with other people . As expected, these conflicts end up turning against him. This can cause them to be rejected, isolated, and suffer humiliations and other problems related to the absence of social relationships.

5. Little confidence in their abilities

These people are perceived as unintelligent and do not believe in their chances of achieving important things . This low perception of one's own abilities can be the prelude to inactivity, and can bury any work or academic project.

6. Self-injury

Inflicting physical harm is a sign that the person has significant problems and is a clearly self-destructive behavior. It is one of the most dangerous and its ultimate and irreversible expression is suicide.

7. Self-indulgence: "everything goes wrong"

Another characteristic feature is self-pity . It gives them a certain unconscious comfort because the self-pitying thoughts help them to remain motionless, recreating themselves in their misfortunes. This prevents them from taking the reins of their lives and leaving the negative spiral.

8. Drug addiction

Another classic feature is the abuse of toxic substances, such as alcohol or other drugs. It is a behavior that not only affects the physical and mental health of the affected, but also breaks down the relationship with family and friends.

9. Isolation (deliberate)

Deliberately (although sometimes not at all conscious), self-destructive people move away from their friends and peers . This is achieved with a series of annoying and antisocial behaviors that irritate their relatives, to the point that they are excluded from social groups.

10. They do not express their emotions

They usually hide their feelings . This tendency to repress negative and even positive emotions can lead to different manifestations of mental and emotional problems, as well as psychosomatic disorders.

11. They refuse to be helped

They are people who do not let themselves be helped by family members , neither by friends, nor by mental health professionals.

12. Exaggerated sacrifices

Have you heard of Wendy's syndrome? It is a set of common symptoms among people who focus too much on meeting the needs of other individuals, neglecting their own well-being. It is a self-destructive behavior because, under the label of altruistic behavior, they are able to deny their own freedom and lose the way to happiness.

13. Uncontrolled expenses

Slot machines, addiction to shopping or gambling can involve uncontrolled expenses that indicate that a person does not enjoy emotional or psychological balance. It is a very frequent self-destructive behavior.

14. Lack of physical and mental care

They can be long seasons abandoning themselves physically and mentally : they sleep little, they feed negligently, they do not practice physical activity, they almost do not take a shower ... they are very typical signs among people with a tendency to self-destruction. They also do not pay attention to certain psychological problems they may be suffering.

15. Jealous, possessive ...

They are not able to take proper care of their romantic relationships . They exhibit jealous behavior, possessiveness, emotional blackmail, and even violence. Obviously, couples end up leaving.

Concluding

Self-destructive people express different behaviors that, consciously or unconsciously, destroy their physical and emotional health. Your path to happiness and success is truncated by this type of attitude.

Luckily, this type of psychological pictures can be treated by mental health professionals , that can promote therapies and actions aimed at improving their quality of life and solve this type of internal conflicts.



5 Of The Most Self-Destructive Behaviors, And Why We Do Them (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les personnes autodestructrices partagent ces 15 traits

Les personnes autodestructrices partagent ces 15 traits

Février 18, 2019

Connaissez-vous une personne ayant tendance à s'autodétruire?

De la psychologie clinique, les individus avec une personnalité autodestructrice partagent une série de caractéristiques dans leur comportement. Ce sont des comportements qui vont à l’encontre de leurs intérêts, qui nuisent à leur bien-être et qui leur causent un préjudice physique et psychologique.

Qui souffre de ce type de personnalité auto-destructrice?

Traits de personnalité des personnes autodestructrices ils apparaissent généralement au stade adulte et peuvent être le résultat d'une grande variété de facteurs contextuels, psychologiques et biologiques .

Ces personnes ont tendance à fuir toutes les expériences positives et agréables que leur offre la vie. Cela les conduit à générer des situations chaotiques et des relations interpersonnelles dans lesquelles il y a souvent des souffrances. En outre, ils sont généralement fermés et n'acceptent pas l'aide de leurs proches.


Diagnostic (signes avant-coureurs et symptômes)

Plusieurs manuels de diagnostic indiquent les principales caractéristiques communes aux personnes qui tendent à adopter des comportements et des habitudes autodestructeurs.

Si la personne présente au moins le cinq critères de diagnostic , on peut parler d’une personne qui a tendance à se détruire elle-même.

  • A tendance à avoir des relations avec les gens et à se développer dans des contextes susceptibles de provoquer des déceptions et des déceptions. Vous pouvez même avoir tendance à subir des abus de la part d’autres personnes, même en choisissant d’interagir dans des environnements plus sains.
  • Ne laissez pas d'autres personnes vous aider ou vous conseiller .
  • S'ils parviennent à une amélioration importante de leur vie (par exemple, un bon travail ou toute autre réalisation positive), ils réagissent par la dépression, la culpabilité ou un comportement d'automutilation.
  • Cause les autres jusqu'à ce qu'ils se fâchent contre lui et puis il se sent humilié et offensé.
  • N'accepte pas de se livrer à des activités agréables , ou s’il n’aime pas reconnaître qu’il passe du bon temps (même s’il a suffisamment de compétences sociales).
  • Il ne s'acquitte pas des tâches et des engagements nécessaires pour atteindre ses objectifs académiques ou professionnels , bien qu’il ait la capacité de le faire. Cela peut aider d'autres personnes à s'améliorer, mais elles sont incapables d'appliquer les connaissances et l'attitude nécessaires à leur propre vie.
  • N'accepte pas que d'autres soient intéressés par leur bien-être .
  • Il est trop enclin au sacrifice de soi pour aider à d'autres personnes.
  • Il persiste et ne se rebelle pas contre les abus psychologiques, physiques ou sexuels que d'autres personnes lui infligent.
  • Les comportements décrits ne se produisent pas uniquement lorsque la personne est déprimée ou dans des conditions particulièrement difficiles.

Comprendre le comportement de ces personnes

Il est difficile de comprendre pourquoi les personnes autodestructrices ne laissent pas les autres les aider à sortir de leur situation. Comment expliquez-vous qu'ils ont de très mauvaises habitudes qui leur causeront tôt ou tard des problèmes?


En général, nous cherchons tous à améliorer notre vie. Nous cherchons à nous sentir à l'aise et aimés, nous sommes motivés à rechercher un plus grand bien-être et des expériences positives pour nos vies. Cependant, un comportement autodestructeur rompt avec cette tendance générale, ce qui inquiète les professionnels de la santé mentale .

La genèse: faible estime de soi

Les comportements autodestructeurs sont souvent des manifestations de divers conflits émotionnels et de troubles sous-jacents. Principalement, la faible estime de soi est la cause la plus citée, en plus du ressentiment envers soi-même.

La communauté des professionnels de la santé mentale s'accorde souvent pour dire que Ce type de comportement autodestructeur peut être un mécanisme d’adaptation avant les situations et les contextes de forte demande cognitive et émotionnelle. . Par exemple, le stress, l'anxiété, la pression au travail et d'autres facteurs peuvent être la base nécessaire (mais pas suffisante) pour qu'une personne réagisse de manière autodestructrice.


Cependant, d'autres professionnels soulignent que les personnes ayant ce type de comportement pourraient être emprisonnées dans leur zone de confort en raison de leur faible estime de soi, de leur stigmate d'indignité ou de leur manque de confiance en soi.

Habitudes et comportements typiques chez les personnes autodestructrices

Le comportement autodestructeur peut acquérir différentes manifestations, certaines plus graves et d'autres moins inquiétantes.

Au total, on peut lister jusqu'à 15 comportements et habitudes fréquents .

1. pensées négatives

Des pensées négatives récurrentes peuvent constituer le fondement d'un comportement autodestructeur. Quand ces personnes se concentrent sur le mal qui pourrait arriver, elles finissent par devenir obsédées et il est beaucoup plus probable que ces fatalités se matérialisent dans la réalité. Des exemples de ces pensées sont: "Je suis sûr que je vais échouer", "Celui-ci n'ira pas bien", etc.

2. Incapacité de faire face au problème

C'est une manifestation passive, mais c'est une des clés pour comprendre une personne autodestructrice.Les personnes psychologiquement équilibrées peuvent agir lorsqu'elles vivent dans une situation négative. En échange, les personnes atteintes de ce problème ne font rien pour éviter la douleur , avec lequel chaque fois ils se sentent plus inutiles et plongés dans une spirale d'inaction.

3. Troubles de l'alimentation

Manger trop peut être un comportement autodestructeur avec des effets terribles à moyen et long terme . Cela peut aussi être le contraire: manger très peu, ce qui est également associé à une mauvaise image de soi.

4. Problèmes constants avec d'autres personnes

Ils ont souvent des conflits fréquents avec d'autres personnes . Comme prévu, ces conflits finissent par se retourner contre lui. Cela peut les amener à être rejetés, isolés et à subir des humiliations et d'autres problèmes liés à l'absence de relations sociales.

5. Peu de confiance en leurs capacités

Ces personnes sont perçues comme étant peu intelligentes et ne croient pas en leurs chances d’atteindre des objectifs importants. . Cette faible perception de ses propres capacités peut être le prélude à l'inactivité et enterrer tout travail ou projet académique.

6. automutilation

Infliger des dommages physiques est un signe que la personne a des problèmes importants et est clairement un comportement autodestructeur. C'est l'une des plus dangereuses et son expression ultime et irréversible est le suicide.

7. Self-indulgence: "tout va mal"

Une autre caractéristique est l'apitoiement sur soi . Cela leur procure un certain réconfort inconscient, car leurs pensées apeurées les aident à rester immobiles, à se recréer dans leurs malheurs. Cela les empêche de prendre les rênes de leur vie et de sortir de la spirale négative.

8. Toxicomanie

Une autre caractéristique classique est l’abus de substances toxiques, telles que l’alcool ou d’autres drogues. C’est un comportement qui affecte non seulement la santé physique et mentale des personnes touchées, mais qui brise également les relations avec la famille et les amis.

9. Isolement (délibéré)

Délibérément (bien que parfois pas du tout conscient), les personnes autodestructrices s'éloignent de leurs amis et de leurs pairs . Ceci est réalisé avec une série de comportements agaçants et antisociaux qui irritent leurs proches, au point qu'ils sont exclus des groupes sociaux.

10. Ils n'expriment pas leurs émotions

Ils cachent généralement leurs sentiments . Cette tendance à réprimer les émotions négatives et même positives peut conduire à différentes manifestations de problèmes mentaux et émotionnels, ainsi que de troubles psychosomatiques.

11. Ils refusent d'être aidés

Ce sont des gens qui ne se laissent pas aider par les membres de la famille , ni par des amis, ni par des professionnels de la santé mentale.

12. sacrifices exagérés

Avez-vous entendu parler du syndrome de Wendy's? Il s’agit d’un ensemble de symptômes communs chez les personnes qui se concentrent trop sur la satisfaction des besoins d’autres personnes, négligeant ainsi leur propre bien-être. C'est un comportement autodestructeur car, sous l'étiquette de comportement altruiste, ils sont capables de nier leur propre liberté et de perdre le chemin du bonheur.

13. Dépenses non contrôlées

Les machines à sous, la dépendance au shopping ou aux jeux d'argent peuvent entraîner des dépenses incontrôlées qui indiquent qu'une personne ne bénéficie pas d'un équilibre émotionnel ou psychologique. C'est un comportement auto-destructeur très fréquent.

14. Manque de soins physiques et mentaux

Ils peuvent être de longues saisons s’abandonnant physiquement et mentalement : ils dorment peu, ils mangent avec négligence, ils ne pratiquent pas d’activité physique, ils ne prennent presque pas de douche ... ce sont des signes très typiques chez les personnes qui ont tendance à s’autodétruire. Ils ne font pas non plus attention à certains problèmes psychologiques dont ils pourraient souffrir.

15. Jaloux, possessif ...

Ils ne peuvent pas prendre soin de leurs relations amoureuses . Ils font preuve de comportement jaloux, de possessivité, de chantage émotionnel et même de violence. Évidemment, les couples finissent par partir.

En conclusion

Les personnes autodestructrices expriment différents comportements qui, consciemment ou inconsciemment, détruisent leur santé physique et émotionnelle. Votre chemin vers le bonheur et le succès est tronqué par ce type d'attitude.

Heureusement, ce type d'images psychologiques peut être traité par des professionnels de la santé mentale , pouvant promouvoir des thérapies et des actions visant à améliorer leur qualité de vie et à résoudre ce type de conflits internes.



Homosexuality: It's about survival - not sex | James O'Keefe | TEDxTallaght (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes