yes, therapy helps!
Self-medication with psychotropic drugs: their health risks

Self-medication with psychotropic drugs: their health risks

November 28, 2022

The taking of medicines without medical follow-up It is very widespread in our country. Probably, before self-medication we were prescribed this medication at some time, and although it is very important not to take medications without medical follow-up, some people decide to skip that step believing they have enough information about the effects of these products and their health status.

Now, there is a particularly relevant aspect from the point of view of clinical psychology and psychiatry: How does self-medication influence us in the case of psychotropic drugs?

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

Why do we self-medicate?

It would be difficult to answer that we did not take medication without previously being prescribed according to our problem, but this does not mean that we are doing it correctly. Self-medicating can pose a significant risk to our health because we may not be taking the correct medication to be able to treat our health problem either physically or mentally.


The human being tends to believe that he knows his body well, that he knows better than anyone what is happening to him. And it is true, we can get to know each other very well, but there are times when the person must also know their limits and know that they should seek help. On many occasions we must lose our fear of the results that can be thrown at us by the tests that we have done and have done to us.

It is true, there is always the uncertainty of whether it will be `` something good or something bad ''. But if we do not address it, we will not be able to give it a solution. And in most cases, the longer we wait to solve our physical and / or psychological problems, the more difficult it will be to be able to solve them effectively.


Health professionals, and more specifically, doctors and psychologists, can clarify the origins of the problem that affects you, address it and improve your situation.

Why do not you go to the doctor?

Surely you have asked us this question and we have answered that:

  • I do not have time to go to the doctor.
  • It does not hurt so much to go.
  • I do not think it's so serious.
  • This has already happened to me.
  • I still have medicine left from the last time.
  • With something that the pharmacist gives me, it will be enough.

It is possible that we do not have time at that moment, that it still does not hurt, that we want to minimize the importance of our problem, that we believe that we are "experts" in our ailment, that we "must" spend the medicine we have left , that we will try to heal ourselves alone with those who sell us in the pharmacy, but we could be running a risk and waiting for `` to see if it happens to me '' unnecessary.


It is important to mention the role of the psychologist for some problems that may arise. Many times their services are dispensed with and the drug is used directly , instead of looking for the correct orientation of the professional of psychology, as in cases, for example, of anxiety. We must know that the best treatment option is usually a medical and psychological treatment if required.

The psychopharmaceuticals and their misuse

Psychotropic drugs are drugs that have a depressant effect on the central nervous system with a sedation action. The depressant effect leads to a decrease in the activation of the brain, that is, it slows it down.

The most common depressant medications are: benzodiazepines, barbiturates and opioids . Although we also find alcohol.

Benzodiazepines are a group of drugs that are hypnotic-sedative. They began to occur in the 60s in order to treat problems such as insomnia, anxiety, epileptic seizures, panic attacks and other disorders. The benzodiazepinas in conjunction with the alcohol intake will enhance the effects of this.

On the other hand, barbiturates were prescribed more frequently than at present, due to the dangerous nature of their administration, while among opiates we find codeine, morphine and heroin.

  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Psychological and physiological effects and risks

These are several of the effects that psychotropic drugs can have:

  • Sleep / Sleepiness
  • Reduced anxiety
  • Disinhibition
  • Sedation
  • They can cause dependence

In cases of overdose or severe poisoning the level of consciousness decreases being able to cause even death . If it occurs the abstinence can appear other symptoms like the insomnia, attacks of panic, irritability, tremors ...

The responsible use of these drugs is important to avoid dependence and other problems.Consult your doctor and your psychologist so they can orient you better.


Psychiatric Drugs Are More Dangerous than You Ever Imagined (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Auto-médication avec des psychotropes: leurs risques pour la santé

Auto-médication avec des psychotropes: leurs risques pour la santé

Août 21, 2019

La prise de médicaments sans suivi médical C'est très répandu dans notre pays. Probablement, avant l’automédication, on nous a prescrit ce médicament à un moment donné, et bien qu’il soit très important de ne pas prendre de médicaments sans suivi médical, certaines personnes décident de sauter cette étape en pensant qu’elles ont suffisamment d’informations sur les effets de ces produits et leur état de santé.

Or, il existe un aspect particulièrement pertinent du point de vue de la psychologie clinique et de la psychiatrie: Comment l'automédication nous influence-t-elle dans le cas des médicaments psychotropes?

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Pourquoi avons-nous auto-médication?

Il serait difficile de répondre que nous ne prenions pas de médicaments sans avoir été prescrits au préalable, mais cela ne veut pas dire que nous le faisons correctement. L'automédication peut poser un risque important pour notre santé parce que nous ne prenons peut-être pas le bon médicament pour pouvoir traiter notre problème de santé, que ce soit physiquement ou mentalement.


L'être humain a tendance à croire qu'il connaît bien son corps, qu'il sait mieux que quiconque ce qui lui arrive. Et c’est vrai, nous pouvons très bien nous connaître, mais il est des moments où la personne doit aussi connaître ses limites et savoir qu’elle doit chercher de l’aide. À maintes reprises, nous devons perdre notre peur des résultats que peuvent nous donner les tests que nous avons effectués et que nous avons subis.

C'est vrai, il y a toujours une incertitude quant à savoir si ce sera «quelque chose de bon ou de mal». Mais si nous ne le traitons pas, nous ne pourrons pas lui donner de solution. Et dans la plupart des cas, plus nous attendons longtemps pour résoudre nos problèmes physiques et / ou psychologiques, plus il nous sera difficile de pouvoir les résoudre efficacement.


Les professionnels de la santé, et plus particulièrement les médecins et les psychologues, peuvent clarifier les origines du problème qui vous affecte, y remédier et améliorer votre situation.

Pourquoi ne vas-tu pas chez le médecin?

Vous nous avez sûrement posé cette question et nous avons répondu à cela:

  • Je n'ai pas le temps d'aller chez le médecin.
  • Ça ne fait pas si mal d'y aller.
  • Je ne pense pas que ce soit si grave.
  • Cela m'est déjà arrivé.
  • Il me reste des médicaments de la dernière fois.
  • Avec quelque chose que me donne le pharmacien, ce sera suffisant.

Il est possible que nous n’ayons pas le temps à ce moment-là, que cela ne fasse toujours pas mal, que nous voulions minimiser l’importance de notre problème, que nous croyions être des "experts" de notre maladie, que nous "devions" dépenser les médicaments qui nous restaient. , que nous allons essayer de nous soigner seuls avec ceux qui nous vendent dans la pharmacie, mais nous pourrions courir un risque et attendre «de voir si cela m'arrive» est inutile.


Il est important de mentionner le rôle du psychologue pour certains problèmes pouvant survenir. À plusieurs reprises leurs services sont dispensés et le médicament est utilisé directement , au lieu de rechercher l'orientation correcte du professionnel de la psychologie, comme dans les cas, par exemple, d'anxiété. Nous devons savoir que la meilleure option de traitement est généralement un traitement médical et psychologique, si nécessaire.

Les psychopharmaceutiques et leur mauvaise utilisation

Les médicaments psychotropes sont des médicaments qui ont un effet dépresseur sur le système nerveux central avec une action de sédation. L'effet dépresseur entraîne une diminution de l'activation du cerveau, c'est-à-dire qu'il le ralentit.

Les médicaments dépresseurs les plus courants sont: benzodiazépines, barbituriques et opioïdes . Bien que nous trouvions aussi de l'alcool.

Les benzodiazépines sont un groupe de médicaments hypnotiques-sédatifs. Ils ont commencé à se manifester dans les années 60 afin de traiter des problèmes tels que l'insomnie, l'anxiété, les crises d'épilepsie, les attaques de panique et d'autres troubles. Les benzodiazépines, associées à la consommation d'alcool, en augmenteront les effets.

En revanche, les barbituriques ont été prescrits plus fréquemment qu’à présent, en raison du caractère dangereux de leur administration, tandis que parmi les opiacés, on trouve la codéine, la morphine et l’héroïne.

  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Effets et risques psychologiques et physiologiques

Les psychotropes peuvent avoir plusieurs effets:

  • Sommeil / somnolence
  • Anxiété réduite
  • Désinhibition
  • Sédation
  • Ils peuvent provoquer une dépendance

En cas de surdosage ou d’empoisonnement grave, le niveau de conscience diminue. être capable de causer même la mort . Si cela se produit l'abstinence peut apparaître d'autres symptômes comme l'insomnie, les attaques de panique, l'irritabilité, les tremblements ...

L'utilisation responsable de ces médicaments est importante pour éviter la dépendance et d'autres problèmes.Consultez votre médecin et votre psychologue pour qu'ils puissent mieux vous orienter.


5 Choses insolites sur les MEDICAMENTS (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes