yes, therapy helps!
Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

April 29, 2024

Serotonin (5-HT) is a neurotransmitter produced by the body, and It is necessary for the proper functioning of the organism for various reasons since it is responsible for regulating certain physiological processes. But excess serotonin causes Serotonin syndrome , a set of symptoms of different severity that affects individuals who consume antidepressants.

Its most common cause is overdose or the interaction between drugs that have the ability to increase the release of serotonin.

In this article we explain extensively what functions are responsible for regulating serotonin:

"Serotonin: the 6 effects of this hormone in your body and mind"

The importance of serotonin for the organism

Serotonin is a chemical substance with which neurons communicate, that is, a neurotransmitter . This is synthesized from tryptophan, an essential amino acid provided by diet because it is not manufactured by the body. Some foods that contain tryptophan are: oats, wheat, almonds, eggs or blue fish.


But although many think that serotonin is only found in the brain (acting as a neurotransmitter), the Central Nervous System (CNS) only contains 5% of 5-HT, because the small intestine produces the rest , and serotonin never reaches the brain, but has other functions in the body (for example regulates the state of contraction of the smooth muscles of blood vessels).

Although serotonergic neurons occur in lesser amounts in the brain, their functions in the CNS are very varied, since these neurons are highly branched and carry out a large number of synapses. Some of the most relevant functions of serotonin are: regulate appetite, regulate positive and negative moods, intervene in the filter of sensations (as it relates to concentration), control the level of body temperature, etc.


Serotonin syndrome can be fatal

The excess stimulation of serotonin on postsynaptic receptors 5-HT1A and 5-HT2A at the central and peripheral levels has Negative effects for the organism that they can become very serious and even deadly . The set of symptoms attributed to excessive activity of serotonergic neurotransmission on these receptors is known as serotonin syndrome, and was originally described Oates in 1960.

In recent years the consumption of antidepressants has become very fashionable, and this is the main cause of the increase in cases of this syndrome. Antidepressants that inhibit the reuptake of serotonin are the treatment of choice for depression, anxiety disorders, generalized anxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress, premenstrual diaphoretic and bulimia nervosa.


The overdose or the combination of these drugs can lead an individual to suffer the serotonin syndrome, and since there are many medications that can cause this condition, the following are the most known pharmacological substances that are associated with serotonin syndrome:

Psychiatric Medications

  • Heterocyclic antidepressants : amitriptyline, imipramine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs)
  • Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors : citalopram, escitalopram, fluoxetine (prozac), paroxetine, sertraline
  • Selective dopamine and / or norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors : bupropion, duloxetine, venlafaxine
  • Mood stabilizers : carbamazepine, lithium

Neurological drugs

  • Parkinsonian agents : levodopa, amantadine, bromocriptine
  • Opioid agonists : meperidine, fentanyl, hydrocodone, pentazocin
  • Amphetamines : methylphenidate, amphetamines
  • Medications for headache : sumatriptan, eletriptan, rizatriptan
  • Antiemetics : ondansetron, granisetron, metoclopramide
  • Antitussives : dextromethorphan

Other medications

  • Antibiotics : linezolid
  • Drugs of abuse: cocaine, ecstasy, LSD
  • Natural substances : St John's wort, caffeine, l-tryptophan, ginseng
  • Other anesthetics : tramadol

Symptoms of Serotonin Syndrome

Symptoms of serotonin syndrome begin a few hours after overdose or the interaction between drugs that increase the presence of serotonin, and are characterized by what is known as triad: autonomic, neuromuscular and neurological dysfunction. If it is not diagnosed in time and the appropriate measures are taken, Serotoninergic toxicity is associated with high mortality .

The characteristic symptoms are varied and can be mild or severe.Below is the symptomatology that presents an individual with serotonin syndrome:

Treatment of serotonin syndrome

To treat serotonin syndrome properly, it is necessary to have a pharmacological history updated , that includes the medicines or substances of free sale and the fitofármacos.

Mild and moderate cases of serotonergic toxicity can be resolved 24 hours after stopping drug treatment, but much depends on the half-life of the substances involved. Severe cases require immediate hospitalization and intensive care, as the patient may suffer severe hyperthermia, rhabdomyolysis or respiratory failure.

For treatment, even in mild cases, it is usual to administer benzodiazepines to reduce agitation, pseudoconvulsive movements and muscular rigidity. The correct hydration, the control of autonomic instability or the control of fever is usual as a support measure.

Cyproheptadine (Periactin), an H1 antagonist drug with activity on 5-HT2A in smooth muscle and with anticholinergic and antiserotoninergic properties is beneficial, since it manages to reverse the antidepressant effects, and a single dose can block approximately 85 to 95% of the serotonergic receptors.

Bibliographic references:

  • González A. R. (2009). The Serotonin Syndrome Medical Journal of the University of Costa Rica, 3 (3): 16-30
  • Gillman P. Ken. (2006). A review of serotonin toxicity data: implications for the mechanisms of antidepressant drug action. Biol Psychiatry; 59: 1046-1051.

Serotonin Syndrome (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome sérotoninergique: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome sérotoninergique: causes, symptômes et traitement

Janvier 22, 2021

La sérotonine (5-HT) est un neurotransmetteur produit par l'organisme. Il est nécessaire au bon fonctionnement de l'organisme pour diverses raisons puisqu'il est responsable de la régulation de certains processus physiologiques. Mais l'excès de sérotonine provoque Syndrome de sérotonine , un ensemble de symptômes de gravité différente qui affecte les personnes qui consomment des antidépresseurs.

La cause la plus courante est le surdosage ou l’interaction de médicaments pouvant augmenter la libération de sérotonine.

Dans cet article, nous expliquons en détail quelles fonctions sont responsables de la régulation de la sérotonine:

"Sérotonine: les 6 effets de cette hormone dans votre corps et votre esprit"

L'importance de la sérotonine pour l'organisme

La sérotonine est une substance chimique avec laquelle les neurones communiquent, c’est-à-dire un neurotransmetteur . Celui-ci est synthétisé à partir du tryptophane, un acide aminé essentiel fourni par l'alimentation, car il n'est pas fabriqué par le corps. Certains aliments contenant du tryptophane sont: l'avoine, le blé, les amandes, les œufs ou le poisson bleu.


Mais bien que beaucoup pensent que la sérotonine ne se trouve que dans le cerveau (agissant comme un neurotransmetteur), le système nerveux central (SNC) ne contient que 5% de 5-HT, car l'intestin grêle produit le reste et la sérotonine n’atteint jamais le cerveau, mais a d’autres fonctions dans le corps (par exemple, elle régule l’état de contraction des muscles lisses des vaisseaux sanguins).

Bien que les neurones sérotoninergiques soient présents en moindre quantité dans le cerveau, leurs fonctions dans le SNC sont très variées, car ces neurones sont fortement ramifiés et réalisent un grand nombre de synapses. Certaines des fonctions les plus importantes de la sérotonine sont les suivantes: réguler l'appétit, réguler les humeurs positives et négatives, intervenir dans le filtre des sensations (en ce qui concerne la concentration), contrôler le niveau de température corporelle, etc.


Le syndrome sérotoninergique peut être fatal

La stimulation excessive de la sérotonine sur les récepteurs postsynaptiques 5-HT1A et 5-HT2A aux niveaux central et périphérique a effets négatifs pour l'organisme qui ils peuvent devenir très sérieux et même mortel . L'ensemble des symptômes attribués à une activité excessive de la neurotransmission sérotoninergique sur ces récepteurs s'appelle le syndrome de la sérotonine et a été décrit à l'origine à Oates en 1960.

Ces dernières années, la consommation d’antidépresseurs est devenue très à la mode et c’est la principale cause de l’augmentation du nombre de cas de ce syndrome. Les antidépresseurs qui inhibent la recapture de la sérotonine sont le traitement de choix de la dépression, des troubles anxieux, de l'anxiété généralisée, des troubles obsessionnels compulsifs, du stress post-traumatique, du diaphorèse prémenstruel et de la boulimie.


Le surdosage ou la combinaison de ces médicaments peut entraîner le syndrome de sérotonine et, comme de nombreux médicaments peuvent causer cette affection, voici les substances pharmacologiques les plus connues associées au syndrome de sérotonine:

Médicaments psychiatriques

  • Antidépresseurs hétérocycliques : amitriptyline, imipramine, inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase (IMAO)
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine : citalopram, escitalopram, fluoxétine (prozac), paroxétine, sertraline
  • Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la dopamine et / ou de la noradrénaline : bupropion, duloxétine, venlafaxine
  • Stabilisateurs d'humeur : carbamazépine, lithium

Médicaments neurologiques

  • Agents parkinsoniens : lévodopa, amantadine, bromocriptine
  • Agonistes des opioïdes : mépéridine, fentanyl, hydrocodone, pentazocine
  • Les amphétamines : méthylphénidate, amphétamines
  • Médicaments pour le mal de tête : sumatriptan, élétriptan, rizatriptan
  • Antiémétiques : ondansétron, granisétron, métoclopramide
  • Antitussifs : dextrométhorphane

Autres médicaments

  • Antibiotiques : linézolide
  • Drogues d'abus: cocaïne, ecstasy, LSD
  • Substances naturelles : Millepertuis, caféine, l-tryptophane, ginseng
  • Autres anesthésiques : tramadol

Symptômes du syndrome sérotoninergique

Les symptômes du syndrome sérotoninergique apparaissent quelques heures après le surdosage ou l’interaction de médicaments augmentant la présence de sérotonine et se caractérisant par ce que l’on appelle la triade: dysfonctions autonome, neuromusculaire et neurologique. S'il n'est pas diagnostiqué à temps et que les mesures appropriées sont prises, La toxicité sérotoninergique est associée à une mortalité élevée .

Les symptômes caractéristiques sont variés et peuvent être légers ou graves.Ci-dessous la symptomatologie qui présente un individu atteint du syndrome de la sérotonine:

Traitement du syndrome sérotoninergique

Pour traiter correctement le syndrome sérotoninergique, il est nécessaire de disposer d'un histoire pharmacologique mise à jour , qui inclut les médicaments ou les substances de vente libre et les fitofármacos.

Les cas d'intoxication sérotoninergique légers ou modérés peuvent être résolus 24 heures après l'arrêt du traitement, mais beaucoup dépend de la demi-vie des substances en cause. Les cas graves nécessitent une hospitalisation immédiate et des soins intensifs, car le patient peut présenter une hyperthermie grave, une rhabdomyolyse ou une insuffisance respiratoire.

Pour le traitement, même dans les cas bénins, il est habituel d'administrer des benzodiazépines pour réduire l'agitation, les mouvements pseudoconvulsifs et la rigidité musculaire. L'hydratation correcte, le contrôle de l'instabilité autonome ou le contrôle de la fièvre sont des mesures de soutien habituelles.

La cyproheptadine (Periactin), un antagoniste H1 ayant une activité sur le 5-HT2A du muscle lisse et des propriétés anticholinergiques et antisérotoninergiques, est bénéfique car elle parvient à inverser les effets antidépresseurs. les récepteurs sérotoninergiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • González A. R. (2009). Le syndrome de sérotonine Journal médical de l'Université du Costa Rica, 3 (3): 16-30
  • Gillman P. Ken. (2006). Examen des données de toxicité de la sérotonine: implications pour les mécanismes d’action des antidépresseurs. Biol Psychiatry; 59: 1046-1051.

La Sérotonine et la Dépression, Animation. (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes