yes, therapy helps!
Sex between friends consolidates friendship

Sex between friends consolidates friendship

June 24, 2021

The possibility of have sex with a friend It is always a theme taboo . Our culture seems to lecture us on the basis of topics forged on the big screen: sex between friends ruins friendship.

Intimate relationships between friends: a utopia?

But is that true, or is it merely a mere invention? Have we become accustomed to drawing too rigid a line between friendship and sex?

A few months ago we were wondering if there can be friendship "without more" between a man and a woman. Today we ask the question in reverse: What happens when two friends have sex?

Science defends the importance of maintaining relationships with friends

Several studies argue that having a night of passionate sex with a friend is not only not harmful, but that could strengthen the relationship . Therefore, we should no longer ponder and choose between one thing or the other.


The reflection that most people usually do in this regard is that, once a sexual relationship with a friend has been maintained, the relationship always ends up spoiling because one of the two ends up falling in love with the other and therefore things go to a different level.

Investigation

An extensive study conducted at Boise State University has confirmed that generalized thinking is false and that sex between friends, effectively, is able to improve the relationship, at least in most cases they analyzed.

300 people were surveyed, and more than 75% acknowledged that having had sex with a friend had photographed their friendship . 20% admitted, along the same lines, that at some point in their lives they had had sex with a close friend and that, far from spoiling the friendship, the intimate contact had made them feel more united as friends.


It seems that more and more people are willing to maintain sporadic sexual contact with a friend without having to confuse feelings or that the foundations of friendship are shaken.

Couples that start as a simple friendship tend to be more durable

Another conclusion of the study is the following: 50% of the respondents who had a partner and had started their current relationship from a simple friendship, still remained attached to their partner. In other words: People who start being friends and who later become boyfriends are more likely to last longer .

This may be because the level of trust and understanding is greater in these cases than in people who quickly met and matched without having passed through the friendship stage.


Some tips on sex and friendship

Despite everything, the researchers came to certain conclusions about the practice of mixing friendship with sex. Those who have in mind to take a friendship relationship "with friction" should be aware of several things.

One, they must know the other person well and make clear in advance what we expect from it , so as not to give rise to unreal expectations that could end up hurting someone. Two, prioritize friendship to intimate relationships if the latter can lead to negative consequences for one of the two. One of the main drawbacks of having an afer with a friend is precisely that we can be paving the way for a potentially toxic friendship. Therefore, you have to be careful and try to do things well.

Even though the idea that friends can have sex without one of them getting hurt from the experience is culturally not accepted, this research that we have explained places in the spotlight the speed with which our way of relating is mutating, and so our conception of right and wrong.

What is your opinion? Have you maintained relationships with a friend? What happened? You can leave us a comment below or discuss it with us on our social networks. We will wait for you!

Bibliographic references:

  • Affifi, W. & Faulkner, S. (2000). On being "just friends": The frequency and impact of sexual activity on cross-sex friendship. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 17 (2), 205-222.

Between the Sheets: Matthew Mercer (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le sexe entre amis consolide l'amitié

Le sexe entre amis consolide l'amitié

Décembre 9, 2021

La possibilité de avoir des relations sexuelles avec un ami C'est toujours un thème tabou . Notre culture semble nous faire la leçon sur des sujets forgés au grand écran: le sexe entre amis ruine l’amitié.

Relations intimes entre amis: une utopie?

Mais est-ce vrai ou s'agit-il simplement d'une invention? Sommes-nous habitués à tracer une ligne de démarcation trop rigide entre amitié et sexe?

Il y a quelques mois, nous nous demandions s'il pouvait y avoir une amitié "sans plus" entre un homme et une femme. Aujourd'hui, nous posons la question en sens inverse: Qu'est-ce qui se passe quand deux amis ont des relations sexuelles?

La science défend l'importance de maintenir des relations avec des amis

Plusieurs études soutiennent qu’avoir une nuit de relations sexuelles passionnées avec un ami n’est pas seulement nocif, mais que pourrait renforcer la relation . Par conséquent, nous ne devrions plus méditer et choisir entre une chose ou l’autre.


La réflexion que la plupart des gens font habituellement à cet égard est que, une fois qu'une relation sexuelle avec un ami a été maintenue, la relation finit toujours par se gâter parce que l'un des deux finit par tomber amoureux de l'autre et donc les choses vont à un niveau différent.

Enquête

Une étude approfondie menée à l'Université Boise State a confirmé que la pensée généralisée est fausse et que les rapports sexuels entre amis peuvent effectivement améliorer la relation, du moins dans la plupart des cas analysés.

300 personnes ont été interrogées et plus de 75% ont reconnu avoir eu des relations sexuelles avec un ami et l'avoir photographiée . 20% ont admis, dans le même sens, avoir eu des relations sexuelles avec un ami proche à un moment de leur vie et que, loin de gâcher leur amitié, le contact intime leur avait permis de se sentir plus unis en amis.


Il semble que de plus en plus de personnes souhaitent entretenir des contacts sexuels sporadiques avec un ami sans avoir à confondre leurs sentiments ou que les fondements de l'amitié soient ébranlés.

Les couples qui commencent comme une simple amitié ont tendance à être plus durables

Une autre conclusion de l’étude est la suivante: 50% des répondants qui avaient un partenaire et qui avaient commencé leur relation actuelle à partir d’une simple amitié restaient toujours attachés à leur partenaire. En d'autres termes: Les personnes qui commencent à être amis et qui deviennent ensuite des amis sont plus susceptibles de durer plus longtemps .

Cela peut être dû au fait que le niveau de confiance et de compréhension est plus grand dans ces cas que chez les personnes qui se sont rapidement rencontrées et associées sans être passées par l’amitié.


Quelques conseils sur le sexe et l'amitié

Malgré tout, les chercheurs sont parvenus à certaines conclusions concernant la pratique consistant à mêler amitié et sexe. Ceux qui ont à l’esprit une relation d’amitié "avec friction" devraient être conscients de plusieurs choses.

Un, ils doivent bien connaître l'autre personne et préciser à l'avance ce que nous en attendons , afin de ne pas donner lieu à des attentes irréelles qui pourraient éventuellement blesser quelqu'un. Deuxièmement, donnez la priorité aux relations intimes d'amitié si celles-ci peuvent avoir des conséquences négatives pour l'un des deux. Avoir un contact avec un ami est l’un des principaux inconvénients, c’est précisément que nous pouvons ouvrir la voie à une amitié potentiellement toxique. Par conséquent, vous devez faire attention et essayer de bien faire les choses.

Bien que l’idée que des amis puissent avoir des relations sexuelles sans que l’un d’eux se blesse, soit culturellement inacceptable, cette recherche que nous avons expliquée met en lumière la rapidité avec laquelle nous entretenons des relations en mutation, et donc notre conception du bien et du mal.

Quelle est votre opinion? Avez-vous maintenu des relations avec un ami? Que s'est-il passé? Vous pouvez nous laisser un commentaire ci-dessous ou en discuter avec nous sur nos réseaux sociaux. Nous t'attendons!

Références bibliographiques:

  • Affifi, W. & Faulkner, S. (2000). Être simplement "amis": La fréquence et l'impact de l'activité sexuelle sur les relations sexuelles. Journal des relations sociales et personnelles, 17 (2), 205-222.

CHRIS : 6 Trucs à Savoir Sur L'Homosexualité (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes