yes, therapy helps!
Sex phobia (erotophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Sex phobia (erotophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

September 5, 2022

Sex is one of the greatest pleasures that human beings can experience, and it is beneficial not only on a physical level, but also to promote well-being. However, some people suffer great fear of sex and sexuality, what is known as erotophobia or sex phobia .

Erotophobia is an irrational fear of everything that has to do with sex and sexuality, and it is a complex disorder whose symptoms can vary from one individual to another. Some feel a great fear when they come in contact with sexual objects, others feel panic to sexual intimacy and others to penetration. People with this phobia can experience high doses of fear of any type of sexual act or the possibility of intimacy with another person .


  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Types of sex phobia

Regarding the irrational fear, anxiety and avoidance experienced by people with erotophobia, the object or situation that causes the phobia can vary from one case to another, as well as its severity.

Erotophobia is a complex disorder which includes other specific sexual phobias. They are the following.

1. Genophobia

Also known as coitophobia , refers to irrational fear and peaks of stress before intercourse with intercourse. Individuals with this condition can initiate romantic relationships, enjoy activities such as kissing or hugging, but feel great fear of sexual intercourse and penetration.


2. Gymnophobia

It is also called nudofobia, is the fear of nudity . It is a complex disorder in which people are afraid of being naked and the people around are afraid.

This fear may indicate body image problems or feelings of inadequacy, although it can also occur as a consequence of a traumatic experience.

3. Fear of privacy

This fear has nothing to do with the sexual act, but with the fact feel close to the other person in both the emotional and physical sense .

4. Paraphobia

The fear of sexual perversion is also a complicated phobia. Some people are afraid of perverting themselves, while others fear the perversions of others.

Some people with paraphobia are able to enjoy traditional sexual relationships that fit well within their personal moral code, while others are afraid that any form of intimacy can be perverted.


5. Haphophobia

This phobia is characterized by fear of physical contact, that is, to be touched , and often affects all relationships, not just those of a romantic nature. Some people experience it at the least contact, while others experience more prolonged contact.

6. Vulnerability phobia

Like extreme fear of intimacy, fear of vulnerability is often linked to fear of abandonment. Many people They are afraid to show themselves as they are , because they believe that this way they will not like others. Fear of vulnerability can affect many relationships, both sexual and non-sexual.

7. Filemafobia

Also known as filematophobia, it is the fear of kisses . It can have many causes and is often linked to physical concerns, such as a concern about bad breath or even phobia of germs.

Causes of sex phobia

Sex and sexuality are very important aspects of the human condition, and Erotophobia can have a devastating impact in those who experience it. Some people who suffer from this phobia choose to live their life asexually, that is, without having sex, and others have serious difficulties in maintaining intimate relationships with other people in a satisfactory manner.

Generally, the cause of this phobia is the associative learning or classical conditioning that occurs when a person experience a traumatic event related to sex and sexuality, for example, having suffered a bad sexual experience in the past or having been teased by the size of their genitals (in the case of men).

Now, irrational beliefs and bad sex education can also cause the person to develop this phobia. Some authors affirm that some people are more prone than others to develop this type of pathologies due to genetics .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Vaginismus: causes, symptoms and possible solutions"

Symptoms of erotophobia

Due to the variety of phobic disorders related to sex and sexuality, the object or situation that causes the phobia may vary. However, the symptoms are usually the same:

  • Intense fear of objects, situations and thoughts related to sex and sexuality.
  • Extreme anxiety in the presence of the object or situation that causes the phobia or towards the thoughts or images of it.
  • Avoidant behaviors
  • Feeling of shortness of breath and hyperventilation.
  • Hipersudation
  • Dry mouth.
  • Disorientation and lack of concentration.
  • Tension in the muscles .
  • Anguish.
  • Accelerated heartbeat and increased heart rate.
  • Stomach upset and headache

Treatment

Phobias are frequent disorders and there are many types of phobic disorders. But even though the objects or situations that cause these phobias are different, the procedure is usually similar in most cases .

On the other hand, since sex is a very important part of a person's life and often also affects relationships, the treatment usually includes a boost to improve self-esteem and correct those beliefs that interfere with the patient's well-being.

Patients with some type of phobia respond well to psychotherapy, and scientific studies indicate that cognitive behavioral therapy is really useful for the treatment of this disorder. Relaxation techniques and exposure techniques are the most used.

An exposure technique that has proven to be really effective in the treatment of phobias is systematic desensitization, which gradually exposes the patient to the sexual situations that he fears while giving him adaptive tools to cope with the phobic stimulus. In addition to cognitive behavioral therapy, hypnosis or Mindfulness have also been shown to be effective.

In extreme cases, that is, those in which the patient suffers great anxiety, drugs can be used. Now, always combined with psychological therapy and never as the only therapeutic option.

"Apps" for the treatment of phobias

Currently, new technologies are part of all areas of our life. We can buy online, train at distance universities and even receive online therapy.

Further, the mobile also serves as an aid or therapeutic tool in the case of phobias, there are different "apps" that help patients with phobic disorder through virtual reality or augmented reality.

  • You can learn more about these applications in this article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"

What is Asexuality versus Fear of Sex? (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Phobie sexuelle (érotophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Phobie sexuelle (érotophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 9, 2020

La sexualité est l’un des plus grands plaisirs que l’être humain puisse éprouver. Elle est bénéfique non seulement sur le plan physique, mais aussi pour la promotion du bien-être. Cependant, certaines personnes craignent beaucoup le sexe et la sexualité, ce qu'on appelle l'érotophobie ou la phobie sexuelle .

L'érotophobie est une peur irrationnelle de tout ce qui a trait au sexe et à la sexualité. Il s'agit d'un trouble complexe dont les symptômes peuvent varier d'un individu à l'autre. Certaines personnes éprouvent une grande peur lorsqu'elles entrent en contact avec des objets sexuels, d'autres paniquent face à l'intimité sexuelle et d'autres à la pénétration. Les personnes atteintes de cette phobie peuvent éprouver de fortes doses de peur de tout type d'acte sexuel ou possibilité d'intimité avec une autre personne .


  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Types de phobie sexuelle

En ce qui concerne la peur irrationnelle, l'anxiété et l'évitement vécus par les personnes atteintes d'érotophobie, l'objet ou la situation à l'origine de la phobie peut varier d'un cas à l'autre, ainsi que sa gravité.

L'érotophobie est un trouble complexe qui comprend d'autres phobies sexuelles spécifiques. Ils sont les suivants.

1. génophobie

Aussi appelé coitophobie , fait référence à la peur irrationnelle et aux pics de stress avant un rapport sexuel. Les personnes atteintes de cette maladie peuvent initier des relations amoureuses, apprécier des activités telles que les baisers ou les caresses, mais ressentent une grande peur des rapports sexuels et de la pénétration.


2. Gymnophobie

On l’appelle aussi nudofobia, est la peur de la nudité . C'est un trouble complexe dans lequel les gens ont peur d'être nus et ceux qui l'entourent ont peur.

Cette peur peut indiquer des problèmes d'image corporelle ou des sentiments d’inadéquation, bien que cela puisse aussi résulter d’une expérience traumatique.

3. Peur de la vie privée

Cette crainte n’a rien à voir avec l’acte sexuel, mais avec le fait se sentir proche de l'autre dans les sens émotionnel et physique .

4. Paraphobie

La peur de la perversion sexuelle est également une phobie compliquée. Certaines personnes ont peur de se pervertir, tandis que d'autres craignent les perversions des autres.

Certaines personnes atteintes de paraphobie peuvent avoir des relations sexuelles traditionnelles qui correspondent bien à leur code moral personnel, tandis que d'autres craignent que toute forme d'intimité puisse être pervertie.


5. Haphophobie

Cette phobie est caractérisée par la peur du contact physique, c'est-à-dire être touché et affecte souvent toutes les relations, pas seulement celles de nature romantique. Certaines personnes le ressentent au moindre contact, alors que d'autres le sont plus longtemps.

6. Phobie de vulnérabilité

Comme la peur extrême de l'intimité, la peur de la vulnérabilité est souvent liée à la peur de l'abandon. Beaucoup de personnes Ils ont peur de se montrer comme ils sont , parce qu'ils croient que de cette façon, ils n'aimeront pas les autres. La peur de la vulnérabilité peut affecter de nombreuses relations, sexuelles ou non.

7. Filemafobia

Aussi connu sous le nom de filematophobia, il est la peur des bisous . Il peut avoir de nombreuses causes et est souvent lié à des problèmes physiques, tels que la mauvaise haleine ou même la phobie des germes.

Causes de la phobie sexuelle

Le sexe et la sexualité sont des aspects très importants de la condition humaine et L'érotophobie peut avoir un impact dévastateur chez ceux qui en font l'expérience. Certaines personnes souffrant de cette phobie choisissent de vivre leur vie de manière asexuée, c'est-à-dire sans avoir de relations sexuelles, tandis que d'autres ont de sérieuses difficultés à entretenir de manière satisfaisante des relations intimes avec d'autres personnes.

En général, la cause de cette phobie est l’apprentissage associatif ou le conditionnement classique qui se produit lorsqu’une personne vivre un événement traumatisant liés au sexe et à la sexualité, par exemple, avoir eu une mauvaise expérience sexuelle dans le passé ou avoir été taquiné par la taille de leurs organes génitaux (dans le cas des hommes).

Maintenant, les croyances irrationnelles et la mauvaise éducation sexuelle peuvent aussi amener la personne à développer cette phobie. Certains auteurs affirment que certaines personnes sont plus enclines que d'autres à développer ce type de pathologies en raison de la génétique .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le vaginisme: causes, symptômes et solutions possibles"

Symptômes de l'érotophobie

En raison de la diversité des troubles phobiques liés au sexe et à la sexualité, l'objet ou la situation à l'origine de la phobie peut varier. Cependant, les symptômes sont généralement les mêmes:

  • Peur intense des objets, des situations et des pensées liées au sexe et à la sexualité.
  • Anxiété extrême en présence de l'objet ou de la situation qui cause la phobie ou envers ses pensées ou ses images.
  • Comportements évitants
  • Sensation d'essoufflement et d'hyperventilation.
  • Hipersudation
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Désorientation et manque de concentration.
  • Tension dans les muscles .
  • L'angoisse
  • Battement de coeur accéléré et augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque.
  • Maux d'estomac et maux de tête

Traitement

Les phobies sont des troubles fréquents et il existe de nombreux types de troubles phobiques. Mais même si les objets ou les situations qui causent ces phobies sont différents, la procédure est généralement similaire dans la plupart des cas .

D'autre part, étant donné que le sexe est une partie très importante de la vie d'une personne et affecte souvent aussi les relations, le traitement comprend généralement un coup de pouce pour améliorer l'estime de soi et corrigez les croyances qui nuisent au bien-être du patient.

Les patients atteints d'un certain type de phobie répondent bien à la psychothérapie, et des études scientifiques indiquent que la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est vraiment utile pour le traitement de ce trouble. Les techniques de relaxation et les techniques d'exposition sont les plus utilisées.

Une technique d'exposition qui s'est avérée très efficace dans le traitement des phobies est une désensibilisation systématique, qui expose progressivement le patient aux situations sexuelles qu’il craint tout en lui fournissant les outils nécessaires pour faire face au stimulus phobique. En plus de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, l'hypnose ou la pleine conscience se sont également révélées efficaces.

Dans les cas extrêmes, c'est-à-dire ceux dans lesquels le patient souffre d'une grande anxiété, des médicaments peuvent être utilisés. Maintenant, toujours combiné avec une thérapie psychologique et jamais comme la seule option thérapeutique.

"Apps" pour le traitement des phobies

Actuellement, les nouvelles technologies font partie de tous les domaines de notre vie. Nous pouvons acheter en ligne, nous entraîner dans des universités à distance et même recevoir une thérapie en ligne.

En outre, le mobile sert également d'aide ou d'outil thérapeutique dans le cas des phobies, il existe différentes "applications" qui aident les patients atteints de trouble phobique par le biais de la réalité virtuelle ou de la réalité augmentée.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ces applications dans cet article: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"

Tellement Vrai - Mes rougeurs me gâchent la vie ! (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes