yes, therapy helps!
Sex Therapy: what it is and what are its benefits

Sex Therapy: what it is and what are its benefits

September 12, 2022

The expert psychologists in sexual therapy They deal daily with patients who come to their consultations for different reasons: erectile dysfunction, lack of desire or excitement, difficulties to reach orgasm, premature ejaculation ... These problems, many times, not only affect the person who suffers, but also to your partner.

But talking about sexual problems can be difficult, in large part because people in this situation may feel ashamed, guilty, unsuccessful and defeated both in life and in front of their partners. Luckily, sex therapy can help overcome these problems, the suffering they cause and, in turn, improve well-being.


But...What does this form of therapy really involve? What are its benefits? In this article that we present today we are going to expose the characteristics of this type of therapy and the reasons why it is advisable to go to sexual therapy.

  • Related article: "The main sexual and psychosexual disorders"

What is sex therapy?

Sex therapy is a type of psychotherapy that can help people who experience difficulties in their sexual and love life because they suffer from a sexual disorder or are not comfortable with their physical intimacy. Sexual dysfunctions, problems of gender identity , paraphilias (exhibitionism, voyeurism, etc.), conflicts regarding sexual orientation and even problems derived from sexual abuse, are some of the topics that are addressed in psychotherapeutic sessions.


Disorders or sexual limitations can be multicausal and there are many factors that may be involved in maintaining the problem. This is why professionals who work with sexual problems deal with psychological or mixed causes (that is, with psychological and organic elements), which often means that intervention to solve this type of difficulty requires a multidisciplinary work, involving psychologists, gynecologists, pelvic floor physiotherapists, among other specialists. The therapeutic process can last from two to three months to several years, although the latter is rare.

The impact of sexual problems on the couple

Sex therapy often associated with couples therapy , since this type of problems can affect the two members of the couple when they occur within the relationship. And is that intimate moments with the couple play a very important role in the unity and stability of this and influence the emotional health of its members.


Sexual intercourse makes both members feel a unique connection, but when this fails, the foundations that sustain the affective relationship can be destabilized . Sometimes, the couple can go together to the psychotherapeutic sessions when the problem affects both.

  • Related article: "7 questions to know if you're okay with your partner"

When to go to sex therapy

According to recent research, approximately 20% of men are not satisfied with their sex life and only 30% of women say they are. But nevertheless, only one third of affected people seek psychological help even though the benefits of sex therapy are more than proven.

The most frequent reasons to go to sex therapy are:

  • The lack of sexual desire
  • Difficulty getting or maintaining an erection (erectile dysfunction) or ejaculation. precocious in the case of men.
  • Difficulty having an orgasm
  • Pain during sex or inability to have sex with penetration.
  • Fear or aversion to sex
  • Assault or sexual abuse.
  • Lack of sexual skills
  • Sexual disinterest or problems derived from the monotony of the couple.
  • Sex addiction
  • Gender dysphoria.
  • Paraphilias

It is necessary to emphasize that it is not essential to have serious problems to go to this type of therapy, because sex therapy can also be useful to treat other issues. For example: to vary and enrich the erotic repertoire of the couple or to develop social skills in the field of sexuality. At the beginning of sexual therapy, each particular case is always carefully evaluated to determine the most appropriate treatment.

  • Related article: "10 signs that tell you when to go to the psychologist"

Where to find a therapist of this type

If you identify with any point of this article and you are looking for a sexual therapist, it is fundamental find a psychologist specialized in this type of problems, Because sexuality is a sensitive issue and, in many cases, it is somewhat delicate to start a therapeutic program of these characteristics.

In this sense, one of the most prestigious psychology centers, which has more than 35 years offering psychotherapy services, is the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona.

Mensalus Institute: psychological assistance in sexuality and couple problems

Mensalus Institute is a psychology center formed by a multidisciplinary team highly specialized in sexual and couple therapy, offering its services both in person and online . Its professionals apply techniques and strategies aimed at treating limitations and dysfunctions in sexual performance so that you can achieve a full and satisfactory sexuality.

Sex therapy is a positive resource to treat sexual disorders that often generate great personal suffering, stressful situations, low self-confidence and self-esteem and, in many cases, problems of a couple. Mensalus can help you overcome this difficult situation and can provide you with tools to restore emotional balance and mental well-being.

If you want more information, you just have to click here.


What is SEX THERAPY? mental health advice with Therapist Kati Morton & Sexologist Dr. Doe (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sex Therapy: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses bénéfices

Sex Therapy: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses bénéfices

Août 29, 2022

Les psychologues experts en thérapie sexuelle Ils traitent quotidiennement avec des patients qui se présentent à leurs consultations pour différentes raisons: dysfonctionnement érectile, manque de désir ou d'excitation, difficultés à atteindre l'orgasme, éjaculation précoce ... Ces problèmes n'affectent pas seulement la personne qui souffre, mais aussi à votre partenaire.

Mais parler de problèmes sexuels peut être difficile, en grande partie parce que les personnes dans cette situation peuvent se sentir honteuses, coupables, sans succès et vaincues tant dans la vie que devant leurs partenaires. Heureusement, la thérapie sexuelle peut aider à surmonter ces problèmes, les souffrances qu’elles engendrent et, partant, à améliorer le bien-être.


Mais ...Qu'est-ce que cette forme de thérapie implique vraiment? Quels sont ses avantages? Dans cet article que nous présentons aujourd'hui, nous allons exposer les caractéristiques de ce type de thérapie et les raisons pour lesquelles il est conseillé de recourir à la thérapie sexuelle.

  • Article connexe: "Les principaux troubles sexuels et psychosexuels"

Qu'est-ce que la sexothérapie?

La sexothérapie est un type de psychothérapie qui peut aider les personnes qui rencontrent des difficultés dans leur vie sexuelle et amoureuse parce qu'elles souffrent d'un trouble sexuel ou ne sont pas à l'aise avec leur intimité physique. Dysfonctionnements sexuels, problèmes d'identité de genre , les paraphilies (exhibitionnisme, voyeurisme, etc.), les conflits d’orientation sexuelle et même les problèmes liés aux abus sexuels, sont quelques-uns des sujets abordés lors des séances de psychothérapie.


Les troubles ou les limitations sexuelles peuvent être multicausaux et de nombreux facteurs peuvent être impliqués dans le maintien du problème. C’est pourquoi les professionnels qui travaillent avec des problèmes sexuels traiter des causes psychologiques ou mixtes (c’est-à-dire avec des éléments psychologiques et organiques), ce qui signifie souvent que pour résoudre ce type de difficulté, il faut un travail pluridisciplinaire associant psychologues, gynécologues, physiothérapeutes du plancher pelvien, parmi d’autres spécialistes. Le processus thérapeutique peut durer de deux à trois mois à plusieurs années, bien que ce dernier soit rare.

L'impact des problèmes sexuels sur le couple

Thérapie sexuelle souvent associé à la thérapie de couple , car ce type de problèmes peut affecter les deux membres du couple lorsqu'ils surviennent dans la relation. Et est-ce que les moments intimes avec le couple jouent un rôle très important dans l'unité et la stabilité de celui-ci et influencent la santé émotionnelle de ses membres.


Les rapports sexuels permettent aux deux membres de ressentir un lien unique, mais lorsque cela échoue, les fondements qui soutiennent la relation affective peuvent être déstabilisés . Parfois, le couple peut participer ensemble aux séances de psychothérapie lorsque le problème touche les deux.

  • Article connexe: "7 questions pour savoir si vous êtes d'accord avec votre partenaire"

Quand aller à la sexothérapie

Selon des recherches récentes, environ 20% des hommes ne sont pas satisfaits de leur vie sexuelle et seulement 30% des femmes le disent. Cependant, seulement un tiers des personnes touchées sollicitent une aide psychologique même si les avantages de la sexothérapie sont plus que prouvés.

Les raisons les plus fréquentes d'y aller à la sexothérapie sont:

  • Le manque de désir sexuel
  • Difficulté à obtenir ou à maintenir une érection (dysfonction érectile) ou une éjaculation. précoce chez les hommes.
  • Difficulté à avoir un orgasme
  • Douleur pendant les rapports sexuels ou incapacité à avoir des rapports sexuels avec pénétration.
  • Peur ou aversion pour le sexe
  • Agression ou abus sexuel.
  • Manque de compétences sexuelles
  • Désintérêt sexuel ou problèmes dérivés de la monotonie du couple.
  • Dépendance sexuelle
  • Dysphorie de genre.
  • Paraphilies

Il faut souligner que il n'est pas essentiel d'avoir de sérieux problèmes pour aller à ce type de thérapie, car la thérapie sexuelle peut également être utile pour traiter d'autres problèmes. Par exemple: varier et enrichir le répertoire érotique du couple ou développer des compétences sociales dans le domaine de la sexualité. Au début de la thérapie sexuelle, chaque cas particulier est toujours soigneusement évalué pour déterminer le traitement le plus approprié.

  • Article connexe: "10 signes qui vous indiquent quand aller chez le psychologue"

Où trouver un thérapeute de ce type

Si vous vous identifiez à un point de cet article et que vous recherchez un thérapeute sexuel, il est fondamental trouver un psychologue spécialisé dans ce type de problèmes, Parce que la sexualité est une question sensible et que, dans de nombreux cas, il est quelque peu délicat de lancer un programme thérapeutique présentant ces caractéristiques.

En ce sens, l’un des plus prestigieux centres de psychologie, qui offre des services de psychothérapie depuis plus de 35 ans, est l’Institut Mensalus de Barcelone.

Institut Mensalus: assistance psychologique en matière de sexualité et de couple

L'Institut Mensalus est un centre de psychologie formé par une équipe multidisciplinaire hautement spécialisée en thérapie sexuelle et de couple, offrant ses services. à la fois en personne et en ligne . Ses professionnels appliquent des techniques et des stratégies visant à traiter les limitations et les dysfonctionnements de la performance sexuelle afin que vous puissiez obtenir une sexualité complète et satisfaisante.

La sexothérapie est une ressource positive pour traiter les troubles sexuels qui génèrent souvent une grande souffrance personnelle, des situations stressantes, une perte de confiance en soi et une faible estime de soi et, dans de nombreux cas, des problèmes de couple. Mensalus peut vous aider à surmonter cette situation difficile et vous fournir des outils pour restaurer votre équilibre émotionnel et votre bien-être mental.

Si vous souhaitez plus d'informations, il vous suffit de cliquer ici.


Danger de l'excés de masturbation - La Masturbation et perte de cheveux (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes