yes, therapy helps!
Sexist prejudice: explanatory theories

Sexist prejudice: explanatory theories

May 6, 2021

In 2005, in Spain, the Organic Law on Comprehensive Protection Measures against Gender Violence to try to intervene in social problems such as gender violence, domestic violence or domestic terrorism.

Article 1.1 of the aforementioned Law indicates that violence occurs as a manifestation of discrimination, the situation of inequality and the power relations of men over women.

Although many believe that this inequality or "marginalization" towards the female sex is being exaggerated or that, directly, it does not exist, it shows that such a problem is due to clearly psychosocial factors. Is for that reason that from the Social Psychology studies have been realized on the matter. To solve a problem, you have to understand it, know how it operates and what factors reproduce it.


Background in the study of the status of women

Janet Taylor Spence creates in the 70s the Scale of Attitudes towards Women, which proved to be very useful and continues to be so today. In it, beliefs are measured about the rights and roles of men and women that assess a different treatment between both sexes emphasizing that women do not perform certain tasks as well as men.

Fortunately, the results of the application of this scale have varied over the years and, although today women continue to be more equal than men, the score of the latter has increased. In our country, the Scale on Gender Identity. The results conclude that men with a lower educational level and older score in more prejudicial attitudes towards the female sex .


Theory of ambivalent sexism

The ambivalence that is referred to in the name of this theory of sexism refers to the coexistence of two types of sexism that complement each other: hostile sexism and benevolent sexism.

Hostile sexism

By which women are considered as an inferior group that must be subordinated to the control of men. How can we justify its existence?

For the dominant paternalism, which underlies the belief that men should have more power than women, so they are afraid that they can usurp the status of dominance. For example, in the private sphere within a heterosexual relationship it is the male who must make the important decisions. For a hostile sexist the prototypical characteristics of women (as their greater sensitivity) make them less prone to roles of higher status.


Within heterosexual relationships, hostility includes the belief that women are manipulative with men and that, in addition, exert power over men through sexual satisfaction. With the paradox that although they consider them subordinate, they depend on them sexually.

Benevolent sexism

In this second one adopts a "positive" connotation towards women but subject to certain functions . This kind of sexism is explained by the protective paternalism, according to which, women depend on men and they must protect them. For example, to attend to women before men in case of emergency. The complementary sex differentiation for the benevolent sexist is that the feminine characteristics complement them, however, their roles will always be of less status than those that he can or should exercise.

Finally, in this sexism heterosexual intimacy is also based on cooperation, however, the physical and psychological aggression towards their partner has been a way to control them to maintain inequality.

How does a man react to the ambivalent conflict?

To resolve the unpleasant psychological conflict that occurs before an ambivalent man towards the opposite sex, one can choose to react in two ways.

First of all, you can Divide the woman into subparts by evaluating each one differently . They can, for example, love some women (for example, their daughters) and hate others (for example, those who defend gender equality). The problem with this form of resolving the conflict is that the subdivision of women can lead to the fact that not all women fit into one of these categories.

Secondly, sexists can negatively evaluate powerful women but respect them for being competent in their professional life . Or vice versa, to feel affection towards subordinated women but perceive them as incompetent.What sexists must take into account is that, in real life, they do not interact with stereotypes but with women of flesh and blood who can be included in many categories (housewife, mother, worker with positions of responsibility, etc.). ) for which they will have ambivalent feelings, especially if they maintain some type of social or affective bond with them.

Concluding

The theories that address the issue of sexist prejudices should understand the problem as part of a psychosocial dynamics . On the one hand, we must study about the styles of thought linked to sexism, and on the other we must study the way in which individuals interact with each other and with the environment. In this way you can get to understand a phenomenon as complex as this.


What Hillary Clinton really thinks (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Préjugé sexiste: théories explicatives

Préjugé sexiste: théories explicatives

Avril 16, 2021

En 2005, en Espagne, le Loi organique sur les mesures de protection complètes contre la violence sexiste essayer d'intervenir dans des problèmes sociaux tels que la violence sexiste, la violence domestique ou le terrorisme domestique.

L'article 1.1 de la loi susmentionnée indique que la violence est une manifestation de la discrimination, de la situation d'inégalité et des relations de pouvoir des hommes sur les femmes.

Bien que beaucoup pensent que cette inégalité ou cette "marginalisation" à l'égard du sexe féminin est exagérée ou que, directement, elle n'existe pas, cela montre qu'un tel problème est dû à des facteurs clairement psychosociaux. C'est pour cette raison que des études de psychologie sociale ont été réalisées à ce sujet. Pour résoudre un problème, vous devez le comprendre, savoir comment il fonctionne et quels facteurs le reproduisent.


Contexte de l'étude de la condition de la femme

Janet Taylor Spence crée dans les années 70 le Échelle d'attitudes envers les femmes, qui s’est avéré très utile et continue de l’être aujourd’hui. On y mesure les croyances relatives aux droits et aux rôles des hommes et des femmes qui évaluent un traitement différent entre les sexes, soulignant que les femmes ne remplissent pas certaines tâches aussi bien que les hommes.

Heureusement, les résultats de l'application de cette échelle ont varié au fil des ans et, bien qu'aujourd'hui les femmes restent plus égales que les hommes, le score de ces derniers a augmenté. Dans notre pays, le Échelle de l'identité de genre. Les résultats concluent que les hommes moins instruits et plus âgés ont des attitudes plus préjudiciables envers le sexe féminin .


Théorie du sexisme ambivalent

L’ambivalence à laquelle se réfère le nom de cette théorie du sexisme fait référence à la coexistence de deux types de sexisme qui se complètent: sexisme hostile et sexisme bienveillant.

Sexisme hostile

Par lequel les femmes sont considérées comme un groupe inférieur qui doit être subordonné au contrôle des hommes. Comment pouvons-nous justifier son existence?

Pour le paternalisme dominant, qui sous-tend la conviction que les hommes devraient avoir plus de pouvoir que les femmes, ils ont donc peur de pouvoir usurper le statut de dominance. Par exemple, dans la sphère privée au sein d’une relation hétérosexuelle, c’est l’homme qui doit prendre les décisions importantes. Pour un sexiste hostile, les caractéristiques prototypiques des femmes (leur sensibilité accrue) les rendent moins sujettes à des rôles de statut supérieur.


Dans les relations hétérosexuelles, l'hostilité inclut la croyance que les femmes manipulent les hommes et que, de plus, exercer un pouvoir sur les hommes par le biais de la satisfaction sexuelle. Avec le paradoxe que même s'ils les considèrent subordonnés, ils en dépendent sexuellement.

Sexisme bienveillant

Dans cette seconde on adopte une connotation "positive" envers les femmes mais soumise à certaines fonctions . Ce genre de sexisme s'explique par le paternalisme protecteur selon lequel les femmes dépendent des hommes et doivent les protéger. Par exemple, assister les femmes avant les hommes en cas d'urgence. La différenciation sexuelle complémentaire pour le sexiste bienveillant est que les caractéristiques féminines les complètent, cependant, leurs rôles seront toujours de statut inférieur à ceux qu'il peut ou devrait exercer.

Enfin, dans ce sexisme, l’intimité hétérosexuelle est également fondée sur la coopération. Cependant, l’agression physique et psychologique à l’égard de leur partenaire a été un moyen de les contrôler pour maintenir l’inégalité.

Comment un homme réagit-il au conflit ambivalent?

Pour résoudre le conflit psychologique déplaisant qui se produit devant un homme ambivalent envers le sexe opposé, on peut choisir de réagir de deux manières.

Tout d'abord, vous pouvez Diviser la femme en sous-parties en les évaluant différemment . Ils peuvent, par exemple, aimer certaines femmes (par exemple, leurs filles) et en haïr d'autres (par exemple, celles qui défendent l'égalité des sexes). Le problème avec cette forme de résolution du conflit est que la subdivision des femmes peut conduire au fait que toutes les femmes ne rentrent pas dans l'une de ces catégories.

En second lieu, les sexistes peuvent évaluer négativement les femmes puissantes mais les respecter pour leur compétence dans leur vie professionnelle . Ou vice versa, ressentir de l'affection envers les femmes subordonnées, mais les percevoir comme incompétentes.Ce que les sexistes doivent prendre en compte, c’est que, dans la vie réelle, ils n’interagissent pas avec des stéréotypes mais avec des femmes de chair et de sang pouvant être incluses dans de nombreuses catégories (femme au foyer, mère, travailleuse occupant des postes de responsabilité, etc.). ) pour lesquels ils auront des sentiments ambivalents, surtout s’ils entretiennent avec eux un type de lien social ou affectif.

En conclusion

Les théories qui traitent de la question des préjugés sexistes devraient comprendre le problème dans le cadre d’une dynamique psychosociale . D'une part, nous devons étudier les styles de pensée liés au sexisme et, d'autre part, nous devons étudier la manière dont les individus interagissent les uns avec les autres et avec l'environnement. De cette façon, vous pourrez comprendre un phénomène aussi complexe que celui-ci.


"C'est quoi le genre ?" (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes