yes, therapy helps!
Sexist violence in young couples: data and analysis

Sexist violence in young couples: data and analysis

May 6, 2021

When you talk about macho violence , we get used to the idea that this type of violence exists, but that it only affects one sector of the population.

What exactly is macho violence?

The myths in this regard make us imagine that this type of violence occurs sporadically, events isolated in time, and in many cases motivated because the woman shows a provocative behavior that the man must control, or in other cases, the myth still It victimizes the woman more by asserting that "the women who endure to be beaten for so long is because they want to."

But, above all, one of the most established myths is that of think that sexist violence exists only in socially disadvantaged sectors and in families that have scarce economic resources.


It may interest you: "The cycle of violence in relationships"

The macho violence in adolescents

What would happen if we discovered that this is not the reality when we talk about sexist violence?

The current studies make us see that the sector of population most affected by gender violence is the adolescent . According to the Spanish macro survey of violence against women in 2015, 21% of women under 25 who have had a partner have been victims of gender violence. Likewise, a study conducted by González and Santana from 2001, reports that 7.5 of boys and 7.1 of girls recognize that they have hit or pushed their partner on one or more occasions (Samaniego and Freixas , 2010). These figures are alarming and make us ask ourselves why this violence is due and what factors can be considered risky at the time of suffering it.


The truth is that In our society, traditional ideals with respect to gender persist . The boys are endowed with a certain superiority, and it is assumed that they are born leaders, strong and without weaknesses; instead, the girls must be desirably docile, submissive and easily manipulated. These gender stereotypes are the ones that are at the base of this type of violence, according to the studies, although we assume that they already belong to the past.

Risk factor's

The risk factors associated with the aggressor in the phenomenon of "dating violence", the name that acquires this phenomenon, refer to the modeling processes adopted in childhood, as is the case of minors exposed to violence within the family, that they will have more possibilities of reproducing these behaviors in their relationships, or those minors who are immersed in a context in which violence is the main tool for resolving interpersonal conflicts.


Prince and Arias point, too, to two contrasting personality profiles, on the one hand, the adolescent with high self-esteem and a sense of control over his life, who uses violence to feel that he increases his control and, on the other hand, that adolescent with low self-esteem and under control that is violent as a way to manifest their frustration (González and Santana, 2010).

Risk factors for victims

On the other hand, the risk factors considered by the authors in relation to suffering said violence are the feelings of hopelessness and low self-esteem , an early start in sexual relationships, maintaining risky sexual relationships, the need for control and the idea of ​​romantic love.

The ballast that generates a certain conception of love

The idea of ​​romantic love, "love that can do anything", is instilled almost from birth to girls, with the idea that they need to have a partner to feel truly fulfilled. A study by Barrón and Martínez-Iñigo in 1999 already pointed to the differences in socialization between boys and girlss. They are taught to tolerate the adversities that affect their relationships, to minimize the problems , to support them and to believe that they are capable of changing their partners, something that does not happen in the case of the boys, who are taught to be independent.

The main problem that exists in violence in adolescent couples lies in the fact that the aggressions take place at very early ages. In many cases, this violence is triggered already from the first couple relationship , which means that the victim does not have the experience and information to adequately assess the situation they are living and, therefore, can not realize what is happening and what the consequences will be (González and Santana, 2010).

Also, as with macho violence, Abuse can range from verbal and emotional abuse to sexual assault and even murder , so that we are faced with a phenomenon that significantly affects the physical and mental health of any person can be a victim, regardless of age, sexual orientation or socioeconomic status.

Know more: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

Bibliographic references:

  • Baquero, J. M. (2015). Machist adolescents: the crude heritage of patriarchy. Eldiario.es. //www.eldiario.es/andalucia/Adolescentes-machistas-cruda-herencia-patriarcado_0_449355873.html
  • Carballar, O. (2016). The macho violence in adolescents: "if I said I did not feel like it, I would hit". Lamarea.com//www.lamarea.com/2016/02/12/violencia-machista-adolescentes/
  • González Méndez, R., Santana Hernández, J. D. (2001). Violence in young couples. Psychotema, vol. 13, n. 1, p. 127-131.
  • Samaniego García, E., Freixas Farré, A. (2010). Study on the identification and experience of violence in adolescent couples. Notes of psychology Vol. 28, n. 3, p. 349-366.

The Truth About Domestic Violence - You'll Never Believe... (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Violence sexiste chez les jeunes couples: données et analyses

Violence sexiste chez les jeunes couples: données et analyses

Mai 21, 2019

Quand tu parles de violence machiste , on s’habitue à l’idée que ce type de violence existe mais qu’il ne touche qu’un secteur de la population.

Qu'est-ce que la violence machiste?

Les mythes à cet égard nous laissent supposer que ce type de violence se produit sporadiquement, qu'il s'agisse d'événements isolés dans le temps ou, dans de nombreux cas, motivés par le fait que la femme manifeste un comportement provocateur que l'homme doit contrôler ou, dans d'autres cas, le mythe subsiste. Elle victimise davantage la femme en affirmant que "les femmes qui endurent d'être battues depuis si longtemps le font, c'est parce qu'elles le veulent".

Mais surtout, l’un des mythes les plus établis est celui de pense que la violence sexiste n'existe que dans les secteurs socialement défavorisés et dans les familles qui ont des ressources économiques rares.


Cela peut vous intéresser: "Le cycle de la violence dans les relations"

La violence machiste chez les adolescents

Que se passerait-il si nous découvrions que ce n'est pas la réalité lorsque nous parlons de violence sexiste?

Les études en cours montrent que le secteur de la population le plus touché par la violence sexiste est l'adolescent . Selon la macro-enquête espagnole sur la violence à l'égard des femmes réalisée en 2015 en Espagne, 21% des femmes de moins de 25 ans qui ont eu un partenaire ont été victimes de violence de genre. De même, une étude menée par González et Santana en 2001 indique que 7,5% des garçons et 7,1% des filles reconnaissent avoir frappé ou poussé leur partenaire à une ou plusieurs reprises (Samaniego et Freixas , 2010). Ces chiffres sont alarmants et nous amènent à nous demander pourquoi cette violence est due et quels facteurs peuvent être considérés comme risqués au moment de la subir.


La réalité est que Dans notre société, les idéaux traditionnels en matière de genre persistent . Les garçons sont dotés d'une certaine supériorité et on suppose qu'ils sont nés leaders, forts et sans faiblesses, mais que les filles doivent être dociles, soumises et faciles à manipuler. Selon les études, ces stéréotypes de genre sont ceux qui sont à la base de ce type de violence, même si nous supposons qu’ils appartiennent déjà au passé.

Facteurs de risque

Les facteurs de risque associés à l'agresseur dans le phénomène de "violence dans les fréquentations", nom qui l'acquiert, renvoient aux processus de modélisation adoptés dans l'enfance, comme c'est le cas des mineurs exposés à la violence au sein de la famille, qu’ils auront davantage de possibilités de reproduire ces comportements dans leurs relations ou que les mineurs qui sont immergés dans un contexte dans lequel la violence est le principal outil de résolution des conflits interpersonnels.


Prince et Arias soulignent également deux profils de personnalité opposés: l'adolescent qui a une grande estime de soi et le contrôle de sa vie, qui utilise la violence pour avoir le sentiment d'augmenter son contrôle et, de l'autre, cet adolescent. avec une faible estime de soi et une maîtrise maîtrisée et violente comme moyen de manifester leur frustration (González et Santana, 2010).

Facteurs de risque pour les victimes

Pour sa part, les facteurs de risque considérés par les auteurs en relation avec la souffrance dite violence sont les sentiments de désespoir et de faible estime de soi , un début précoce dans les relations sexuelles, le maintien de relations sexuelles à risque, le besoin de contrôle et l'idée d'amour romantique.

Le ballast qui génère une certaine conception de l'amour

L'idée de l'amour romantique, "l'amour qui peut tout faire", est inculquée presque de la naissance aux filles, avec l'idée qu'elles doivent avoir un partenaire pour se sentir vraiment épanouies. Une étude réalisée par Barrón et Martínez-Iñigo en 1999 a déjà mis en évidence les différences de socialisation entre garçons et filless. On leur apprend à tolérer les adversités qui affectent leurs relations, à minimiser les problèmes , pour les soutenir et croire qu’ils sont capables de changer de partenaire, ce qui n’arrive pas dans le cas des garçons, qui ont appris à être indépendants.

Le principal problème de la violence chez les couples adolescents réside dans le fait que les agressions ont lieu à un très jeune âge. Dans beaucoup de cas, cette violence est déjà déclenchée dès le premier couple Cela signifie que la victime ne dispose ni de l'expérience ni des informations lui permettant d'évaluer correctement la situation dans laquelle elle se trouve et ne peut donc pas se rendre compte de ce qui se passe et de ses conséquences (González et Santana, 2010).

En outre, comme avec la violence macho, La violence peut aller de la violence verbale et émotionnelle à l'agression sexuelle et même au meurtre. , afin que nous sommes confrontés à un phénomène qui affecte de manière significative la santé physique et mentale de toute personne peut être victime, indépendamment de l'âge, l'orientation sexuelle ou le statut socio-économique.

En savoir plus: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baquero, J. M. (2015). Adolescents machistes: l'héritage brut du patriarcat. Eldiario.es. //www.eldiario.es/andalucia/Adolescentes-machistas-cruda-herencia-patriarcado_0_449355873.html
  • Carballar, O. (2016). La violence machiste chez les adolescents: "si je disais que je n'en avais pas envie, je frapperais". Lamarea.com//www.lamarea.com/2016/02/12/violencia-machista-adolescentes/
  • González Méndez, R., Santana Hernández, J. D. (2001). Violence chez les jeunes couples. Psychotema, vol. 13, n. 1, p. 127-131.
  • Samaniego García, E., Freixas Farré, A. (2010). Étude sur l'identification et l'expérience de la violence chez les couples adolescents. Notes de psychologie, volume 28, n. 3, p. 349-366.

#LMPC5 - La TéléRéalité : un vrai danger pour le public ? (Les Anges, SS11..) (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes