yes, therapy helps!
Sexual abuse within the family

Sexual abuse within the family

July 12, 2024

Today, child sexual abuse is becoming a scourge, with the consequences this poses for the victims. Approximately 25% of girls suffer some type of abuse or sexual assault before reaching adulthood, and in children the statistic is approximately 16%. They are very high values ​​that society often does not want to see or has trouble digesting. Still, both in books, as in movies and series are very discussed topics and I think that little by little there is beginning to be an awareness of all this.

But what is more difficult to accept is that The vast majority of these sexual abuse occur within the family of the victim , which makes the trauma even more painful and difficult to overcome.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 4 differences between abuse and abuse"

Sexual abuse within the family

In many occasions the people who abuse the child are a father, a grandfather, an uncle, a cousin, a friend of the family, people who are close to the child, who gain the child's trust sometimes for years, and then to use you to manipulate you by treating you like an object.

The psychological damage suffered by the victim of sexual abuse by a family member is tremendous, because it not only has the consequences suffered by victims of abuse by strangers, but also your confidence is totally betrayed . Not only is the lack of understanding of what happened, social isolation, feeling stigmatized or marked, but also creates the feeling that you can not trust anyone and that no one will be able to offer their help in an authentic way.


In addition, sexual abuse in the family does not usually occur through a single isolated event that does not happen again, but becomes a lifestyle that children can suffer for years, with the incongruity that the person who abuses may be the only one who basically listens to the victim in their home, or is the same person who at the same time takes care of her when she is ill, feeds her, feeds her and continuously tells her how much wants.

  • Related article: "Prevent and detect early childhood sexual abuse"

The psychological consequences

These are some of consequences of sexual abuse :

  • Concentration problems.
  • Problems to integrate in the group of equals.
  • Night terrors and fears in general.
  • Serious problems of self-esteem.
  • Depersonalization
  • Anxiety attacks .
  • Depression.
  • Sexual problems
  • Problems in healthy bonding with other people.
  • Eating disorders and problems in the perception of body image and body rejection.
  • Addictive disorders: alcohol and drug use, gambling, kleptomania.
  • Self-injury
  • Attempts to commit suicide .
  • Problems with impulse control.
  • Possible development of personality disorders, BPD type, avoidant disorder, emotional dependency disorder ...
  • Serious difficulties in personal self-care.
  • Problems in couple relationships .
  • Irritability.
  • Problems of conciliation of sleep and strong nightmares.
  • Difficulty to set limits to others.
  • Great social isolation.

Sequelae in adulthood

Actually I have put only some of the repercussions that can have sexual abuse in childhood and more when these have been committed by a family member, obviously the closer that member of the family is much worse. That does not mean that all victims have these symptoms , but surely if a victim is reading this article, it may be identified by several of these points.


In addition, the fact that this symptomatology begins during the processes of abuse, does not mean that it ceases when the abuse has disappeared, not even when the person reaches adulthood. In fact, it gives rise to problems that are dragging along, and that generally worsen over time and create new traumas that the person accumulates.

Even so, all this can be treated, but we must face the problem, see that the symptomatology may be due to this and not to other causes that seem more superficial. Of course, it is everyone's job to help, denounce, and help heal people who in their own home have had to live in fear.


This Can Happen in Any Family (Full Version) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Abus sexuel au sein de la famille

Abus sexuel au sein de la famille

Décembre 9, 2021

Aujourd'hui, les abus sexuels sur enfants sont en train de devenir un fléau, avec les conséquences que cela entraîne pour les victimes. Environ 25% des filles subissent un type quelconque de violence ou d'agression sexuelle avant d'atteindre l'âge adulte, et chez les enfants, les statistiques sont d'environ 16%. Ce sont des valeurs très élevées que la société ne veut souvent pas voir ou a du mal à digérer. Pourtant, les livres comme les films et les séries sont des sujets très discutés et je pense que petit à petit, on commence à prendre conscience de tout cela.

Mais ce qui est plus difficile à accepter est que La grande majorité de ces abus sexuels se produisent au sein de la famille de la victime , ce qui rend le traumatisme encore plus douloureux et difficile à surmonter.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 différences entre abus et abus"

Abus sexuel au sein de la famille

Bien souvent, les enfants qui abusent de l’enfant sont un père, un grand-père, un oncle, un cousin, un ami de la famille, des proches de l’enfant, qui gagnent parfois la confiance de l’enfant pendant des années, puis de vous utiliser pour vous manipuler en vous traitant comme un objet.

Les dommages psychologiques subis par la victime d'abus sexuel par un membre de la famille sont énormes, car ils ont non seulement les conséquences pour les victimes d'abus commis par des étrangers, mais aussi votre confiance est totalement trahie . Non seulement le manque de compréhension de ce qui s'est passé, l'isolement social, le sentiment d'être stigmatisé ou marqué, mais aussi le sentiment que vous ne pouvez faire confiance à personne et que personne ne sera en mesure d'offrir son aide de manière authentique.


En outre, les agressions sexuelles au sein de la famille ne surviennent généralement pas à la suite d'un événement isolé et isolé qui ne se reproduit plus, mais devient un mode de vie que les enfants peuvent subir pendant des années, avec l'incongruité la personne qui maltraite est peut-être la seule à écouter la victime chez elle, ou la même personne qui la soigne en même temps lorsqu'elle est malade, la nourrit, la nourrit et lui dit en permanence combien veut

  • Article connexe: "Prévenir et détecter les abus sexuels dans la petite enfance"

Les conséquences psychologiques

Ce sont certains de conséquences des abus sexuels :

  • Problèmes de concentration.
  • Problèmes à intégrer dans le groupe des égaux.
  • Terreurs nocturnes et les peurs en général.
  • De graves problèmes d'estime de soi.
  • Dépersonnalisation
  • Attaques d'anxiété .
  • La dépression
  • Problèmes sexuels
  • Problèmes de liaison saine avec d'autres personnes.
  • Troubles de l'alimentation et problèmes de perception de l'image corporelle et de rejet du corps.
  • Troubles addictifs: consommation d'alcool et de drogues, jeu, kleptomanie.
  • Automutilation
  • Tentatives de suicide .
  • Problèmes de contrôle des impulsions.
  • Développement possible de troubles de la personnalité, type de DBP, trouble évitant, trouble de dépendance affective ...
  • Difficultés sérieuses dans les soins personnels.
  • Problèmes dans les relations de couple .
  • L'irritabilité
  • Problèmes de conciliation du sommeil et de forts cauchemars.
  • Difficulté à fixer des limites aux autres.
  • Grand isolement social.

Séquelles à l'âge adulte

En fait, je n’ai mis que quelques-unes des répercussions possibles de l’abus sexuel sur l’enfance et plus encore lorsque celles-ci ont été commises par un membre de la famille. De toute évidence, plus ce membre de la famille est proche, plus il est grave. Cela ne signifie pas que toutes les victimes ont ces symptômes , mais si une victime lit cet article, il peut être identifié par plusieurs de ces points.


De plus, le fait que cette symptomatologie commence au cours des processus de maltraitance ne signifie pas qu'elle cesse quand la maltraitance a disparu, pas même lorsque la personne a atteint l'âge adulte. En fait, cela crée des problèmes qui traînent en longueur, qui s'aggravent avec le temps et créent de nouveaux traumatismes accumulés par la personne.

Même dans ce cas, tout cela peut être traité, mais nous devons faire face au problème, sachez que la symptomatologie peut être due à cela et non à d'autres causes qui semblent plus superficielles. Bien sûr, c’est le travail de tous d’aider, de dénoncer et d’aider à guérir les personnes qui, dans leur propre maison, ont dû vivre dans la peur.


Santé - Enfance abusée (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes