yes, therapy helps!
Sexual predators on the Internet: their traits and strategies of manipulation

Sexual predators on the Internet: their traits and strategies of manipulation

June 17, 2024

Between 1915 and 1919, a French man named Henri Désiré Landru killed at least eleven women, although the police estimated that the actual number of his victims exceeded one hundred.

Taking advantage of the effects of war, he published advertisements in the newspapers in which he presented himself as a well-positioned man He wanted to meet a widow and, after meeting his victims, he made them disappear by staying with his fortune.

Currently, this way of attracting victims through the media has been refined with the appearance of the Internet. The network of networks allows to have a series of resources that make a trap look like an opportunity in which the danger is surprisingly camouflaged.


But... What characteristics define predators? In what way do they act?

The profile of the digital predator

People who set traps through the Internet to meet people and kill or abuse them are, mostly, men between 18 and 60 years. Beyond this physical description, however, there are a whole series of psychological and skill characteristics that explain how they act to set the trap. They are the following:

1. They are very skilled at detecting vulnerabilities

The masking offered by the anonymity of the Internet makes it surprisingly easy to know details of the victims that can be used to intuit their vulnerabilities.


On the one hand, social networks offer the possibility of knowing a significant amount of information about a person: musical tastes, the most visited places, how is the circle of friends, etc.

On the other hand, the fact of not being face to face with a person makes it easier to reveal intimate information , among other things because you lose the fear of seeing how the interlocutor reacts uncomfortably.

These two factors mean that the digital predator can exploit their abilities when it comes to offering a personal image that fully fits with what the other person seeks or wants to get to know. To fall well is easier if there are tastes in common, if you pretend to have gone through similar experiences, etc.

In other words, these people are very good at reading between the lines and imagining what are the vulnerabilities by which the other person can be made to act in predictable ways.


2. Act alone

The possibility of acting through the Internet means that sexual predators do not need anyone's help to weave their plan; If they want, can pretend to be two people at a time to influence the victim more, using false user profiles. At the moment of tracing the trap their efforts are fundamentally intellectual, and in that aspect they are self-sufficient and very methodical.

3. They know how to use advertising resources

Digital predators are able to design advertisements that are especially attractive for that victim profile that they want to attract. They use messages that they capture attention at the moment and they express a clear message , and place them in forums, applications to meet people, specific virtual groups, etc.

Sometimes, they can make the content of their message fit with what is known about a potential victim so that, once published in a group with a relatively small number of people, someone will notify whoever is interested. If this attempt fails, you can modify the ad and republish it.

This way of attracting victims makes the defense of the other person go down, since it is entered into a psychological framework in which it is the victim who must "seduce" the predator, which makes it has much room for maneuver.

4. The abuse of depersonalization

Depersonalization, which consists of perceiving others as objects, is one of the characteristics of people with a high level of psychopathy or narcissism, and in the case of digital predators is also very present.

The Internet only reinforces this degree of depersonalization, which makes the potential guilt feeling, which is already very low in psychopaths, disappear Almost completely.

The predator of digital media takes advantage of both the options of covering their identity with a false user profile and the advantages of not having to interact face to face with the other person until the trap is already laid and "there is no march behind".

5. Set long-term goals

In cases where the trap is not an advertisement, sexual predators who seek victims through the Internet are able to set a long-term goal so that the time to appear seems a natural step with fewer implications.

Currently it is relatively normal to have constant contact with people who are not known in person, and this makes this kind of traps are hidden. At the beginning it may be that there is distressing conversation and that, after a few weeks, you start talking. This is done because in this way by the time the dialogue has begun, the victim has already begun to get used to the presence (virtual, at the moment) of the other.

Contrary to what is believed, sexual predators they do not have to be clearly impulsive, and in fact this is penalized ; In the case of those who act through the Internet, your plan needs to have a series of intermediate steps to function.

  • Related article: "Profile of the psychological abuser: 21 features in common"
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Prédateurs sexuels sur Internet: caractéristiques et stratégies de manipulation

Prédateurs sexuels sur Internet: caractéristiques et stratégies de manipulation

Mai 27, 2022

Entre 1915 et 1919, un Français nommé Henri Désiré Landru a tué au moins onze femmes, bien que la police ait estimé à plus de cent le nombre de ses victimes.

Profitant des effets de la guerre, il a publié des annonces dans les journaux dans lesquels il s'est présenté comme un homme bien placé Il voulait rencontrer une veuve et, après avoir rencontré ses victimes, il les a fait disparaître en restant avec sa fortune.

Actuellement, cette manière d'attirer les victimes par le biais des médias s'est affinée avec l'apparition d'Internet. Le réseau de réseaux permet de disposer d’une série de ressources qui donnent à un piège l’apparence d’une occasion dans laquelle le danger est camouflé de manière surprenante.


Mais ... Quelles caractéristiques définissent les prédateurs? De quelle manière agissent-ils?

Le profil du prédateur numérique

Les personnes qui installent des pièges sur Internet pour rencontrer des gens et les tuer ou les maltraiter sont, pour la plupart, des hommes âgés de 18 à 60 ans. Au-delà de cette description physique, cependant, il y a toute une série de caractéristiques psychologiques et de compétences cela explique comment ils agissent pour mettre le piège. Ils sont les suivants:

1. Ils sont très compétents pour détecter les vulnérabilités

Le masquage offert par l'anonymat d'Internet rend étonnamment facile la connaissance des détails des victimes qui peuvent être utilisés pour deviner leurs vulnérabilités.


D'une part, les réseaux sociaux offrent la possibilité de connaître une quantité importante d'informations sur une personne: goûts musicaux, lieux les plus visités, comment se situe le cercle d'amis, etc.

D'un autre côté, le fait de ne pas être face à face avec une personne facilite la divulgation d'informations intimes , entre autres parce que vous ne craignez plus de voir comment l’interlocuteur réagit mal à l’aise.

Ces deux facteurs signifient que le prédateur numérique peut exploiter ses capacités lorsqu'il s'agit d'offrir une image personnelle qui correspond parfaitement à ce que l'autre personne cherche ou veut apprendre à connaître. Bien tomber est plus facile s'il y a des goûts en commun, si vous prétendez avoir vécu des expériences similaires, etc.

En d'autres termes, ces personnes savent très bien lire entre les lignes et imaginer quelles sont les vulnérabilités permettant à l'autre personne d'agir de manière prévisible.


2. Agir seul

La possibilité de passer par Internet signifie que les prédateurs sexuels n'ont besoin de l'aide de personne pour élaborer leur plan. si vous voulez, peut prétendre être deux personnes à la fois pour influencer davantage la victime, en utilisant de faux profils d'utilisateurs. Au moment de tracer le piège, leurs efforts sont fondamentalement intellectuels et, à cet égard, autosuffisants et très méthodiques.

3. Ils savent utiliser les ressources publicitaires

Les prédateurs numériques peuvent concevoir des publicités particulièrement attrayantes pour le profil de victime qu’ils souhaitent attirer. Ils utilisent des messages qui ils capturent l'attention en ce moment et ils expriment un message clair et placez-les dans des forums, des applications pour rencontrer des gens, des groupes virtuels spécifiques, etc.

Parfois, ils peuvent adapter le contenu de leur message à ce que l'on sait sur une victime potentielle de sorte que, une fois publié dans un groupe comprenant un nombre relativement réduit de personnes, quelqu'un en informera les personnes intéressées. Si cette tentative échoue, vous pouvez modifier l'annonce et la republier.

Cette façon d’attirer les victimes fait baisser la défense de l’autre personne, puisqu’elle s’inscrit dans un cadre psychologique dans lequel c’est la victime qui doit "séduire" le prédateur, ce qui lui laisse une grande marge de manœuvre.

4. L'abus de dépersonnalisation

La dépersonnalisation, qui consiste à percevoir les autres comme des objets, est l’une des caractéristiques des personnes présentant un niveau élevé de psychopathie ou de narcissisme et, dans le cas des prédateurs numériques, elle est également très présente.

Internet ne fait que renforcer ce degré de dépersonnalisation, ce qui rend le sentiment de culpabilité potentiel, qui est déjà très faible chez les psychopathes, disparaît presque complètement.

Le prédateur des médias numériques profite à la fois des possibilités de couvrir leur identité avec un faux profil d'utilisateur et des avantages de ne pas avoir à interagir face à face avec l'autre personne tant que le piège n'est pas déjà posé et qu'il n'y a pas de marche. derrière".

5. Fixer des objectifs à long terme

Dans les cas où le piège n'est pas une publicité, les prédateurs sexuels qui recherchent des victimes sur Internet sont en mesure de se fixer un objectif à long terme, de sorte que le temps qui leur semble comparaître paraisse naturel avec moins de conséquences.

À l’heure actuelle, il est relativement normal d’avoir des contacts constants avec des personnes inconnues en personne, ce qui fait que ce genre de pièges sont cachés. Au début, il se peut que la conversation soit pénible et qu'après quelques semaines, vous commencez à parler. Ceci est fait car de cette manière, au moment où le dialogue a commencé, la victime a déjà commencé à s'habituer à la présence (virtuelle, en ce moment) de l'autre.

Contrairement à ce que l'on croit, les prédateurs sexuels ils ne doivent pas être clairement impulsif, et en fait c'est pénalisé ; Dans le cas de ceux qui agissent via Internet, votre plan doit comporter une série d'étapes intermédiaires pour fonctionner.

  • Article connexe: "Profil de l'agresseur psychologique: 21 caractéristiques communes"

Gerald BRONNER - Négociation intellectuelle avec le monde (Les lois de l'attraction mentale) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes