yes, therapy helps!
Sexuality in Aging: older people also have sex

Sexuality in Aging: older people also have sex

January 4, 2023

Recently they have talked about Sexuality in the elderly in his latest research Feliciano Villar, Carme Triadó, Montse Celdrán and Josep Fabà; Psychogerontologists with great training and experience. They refer to the perspective of the institutionalized older person, but also to the perspective of the professional.

Of course, on the one hand, many medications that treat neurodegenerative diseases in the third and fourth age provoke as a secondary effect behaviors related to hyper-sexuality and / or sexual behavior disorders that are so complicated to treat or redirect for a professional of the geriatric care. In fact, the uninhibited behavior of the elderly person in relation to the Auxiliary is usually habitual.


That is why This article deals with sexuality in aging , as well as the most important conclusions that these authors have agreed upon after their investigation; because it is very important to know well the Sexuality in the Aging to treat the elderly from the Person Centered Care and offer the highest quality of life possible.

  • Related article: "The 3 phases of old age, and its physical and psychological changes"

Sexuality in aging

It is a reality that almost all people, from birth to death have sexuality, as well as the need to have sexual relations with others and alone. Therefore, it is a reality also that nowadays in residential centers there is a very relevant lack of privacy as well as individualized follow-up to the elderly due to lack of resources, professionals and, above all, training and communication.


In fact as well say Villar, F., Triadó, C., Celdrán, M., Fabà, J. (2017), after having interviewed elderly residents and professionals, some of them comment that there are professionals who tend to have reactions negative and very pejorative towards older people expressing their affective needs both in public and in private; In general, we do not react naturally, neither older people nor professionals, precisely because there is a clear stigmatization in the third and fourth age, in addition to age (ageism).

  • Related article: "5 basic principles to enjoy a full and satisfactory sexuality"

What are the sexual needs in aging?

According to the elderly people participating in the research and according to the professionals, in this case 83 of a total of 100, explain that sexual needs are maintained during the aging process, although not totally . However, some particularly consider that "interest is maintained but practice declines", and the intensity of sexual needs diminishes but they do not disappear.


In any case, the sexual needs in the Aging, as in the Adult Stage, will depend above all on the Life History, as well as the vulnerability to certain neurodegenerative and / or neuropsychiatric diseases, since the sexual desire is closely related to said diseases that are also so frequent. This set, therefore, must be reviewed by a socio-health professional, in this case the Psychogerontologist either in Residential Centers or in Home Care Startups; with the purpose of preserving in the best possible way the intimacy of the person and facilitating sexual expression since there are, according to the authors, two barriers in which work is required:

Internal Barriers

Pudores and feelings of shame in the case of sexuality in old age, they are the greatest age groups that exist, the greatest estimate, the greatest internal barrier. We speak of moral rules and generational factors such as repressive education.

External Barriers

The context in the Residential Centers as the context in the Home as well as the infrastructure of the space in which the elderly person is located is the main external barrier. In Residential Centers, due to lack of resources, they tend to live in shared spaces with a clear lack of privacy and in the domicile, infantilization and overprotection are frequent. In this case, in the Centers the individual rooms would be a Facilitator and in the Home it would be an adequate clinical evaluation of the elderly as well as their context.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 most frequent sexual problems and how to treat them"

Barriers and facilitators for the expression of libido

What can professionals do about this? According to Villar, F., et al."When asked about the most frequent sexual behaviors among residents, the majority of respondents (many residents do not, as they believe that this dimension is absent in institutions), masturbation is the most mentioned. Practically all professionals mention this type of behavior, which in many cases have been involuntary witnesses. So, what are the objectives and strategies to follow?

1. In relation to the elderly

Know firsthand your Life Story as well as evaluate and treat your neurodegenerative diseases and study the possible side effects of their psychopharmacological treatment.

2. In relation to the context

Due to the lack of resources, it is difficult to have individual rooms in the Residential Centers, which is why the best option is to watch for delaying and / or avoiding entry into these centers through the help of new home care startups.

3. In relation to the entire staff of professionals

To favor the continuous communication between Auxiliaries of Nursing and Psychogerontologists with such offer a person-centered care in the best way possible . To advise, in addition, is one of the main characteristic functions of the sociosanitary professionals of the third and fourth age.

Sexuality and Dementia: 3 points to consider

When dementias and sexuality overlap, the following points should be taken into account.

1. Discerning consent

Nursing Assistants with more than one patient in charge usually find themselves in situations in which they do not know how to handle the situation. It is clear that a sexual relationship between two people who have dementia or a couple in which one of the two suffers from a neurodegenerative disease creates a lot of uncertainty, so it is difficult to know how to discern the consent of the elderly person. That is why Prevention and Follow-up is important or carried out between Psychogerontologists and Auxiliaries in a horizontal way, through the ACP, to find a solution.

2. Advise and collect information

Occasionally, the reactions of professionals such as Nursing Assistants, Social Workers, Nurses, Psychogerontologists, etc., and / or family members are not correct, so Childhood can happen . That is why it is essential to stay informed and provide communication between professionals in order to advise and gather information from the different parties involved.

3. Dramatize

Dramatize and avoid the uninhibited behavior of the elderly person , if this is the case, they are the key in which professionals work to promote the well-being of the elderly; always, but from the focus of the ACP and from the evaluation and treatment within a clinical context.

Uninhibited behavior of the elderly person in relation to the Nursing Assistant

Psychotropic drugs such as antidepressants and benzodiazepines, which are usually prescribed at the aging stage to treat generally neurodegenerative diseases or dysthymic symptoms or symptoms of anxiety can alter sexual libido, sexual desire or trigger sexual behavior disorders if there is not adequate follow-up in the elderly person.

Uninhibited behavior refers to socially impertinent behaviors such as exhibitionism, indecent language and sexual intentions to the other without consent - decided unilaterally -. It may be due to neuropsychiatric symptomatology and / or coexisting with neurodegenerative symptoms.

In general, such behaviors usually happen in the face of the Nursing Assistant who is the professional who is physically and on a day-to-day basis with the elderly person residing in a center or in the SAD, the home-based service. In both cases, it is important to know the beneficiary of the service well in order to offer the best possible welfare.

  • Related article: "Exhibitionism: causes and symptoms of this sexual paraphilia"

Conclusion: Psychogerontologists and Auxiliaries working together

In short, the solution to the stigmatization of sexuality in older people and the lack of privacy lies above all in the work of professionals, be they auxiliary, psychogerontologists / as, nurses and assistants who are in direct contact with the elderly This is why it is important to prevent (knowing the neurodegenerative diseases), know how to discern consent, advise and collect information and, above all, to de-dramatize situations in which affective behaviors occur , as well as finding solutions to inappropriate behaviors, always from the Person Centered Care approach and from the evaluation within the clinical context.

Bibliographical references:

  • Villar, F., Triadó, C., Celdrán, M., Fabà, J. (2017) Sexuality and Elderly Institutionalized: the perspective of the resident and the perspective of the professional. Madrid: Pilares Foundation.

Still Going Strong: Sexuality in Older Adults | Tuuli Kukkonen | TEDxGuelphU (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La sexualité dans le vieillissement: les personnes âgées ont aussi des relations sexuelles

La sexualité dans le vieillissement: les personnes âgées ont aussi des relations sexuelles

Juillet 9, 2020

Récemment, ils ont parlé de la sexualité chez les personnes âgées dans ses dernières recherches, Feliciano Villar, Carme Triadó, Montse Celdrán et Josep Fabà; Psychogérontologues avec une excellente formation et expérience. Ils font référence à la perspective de la personne âgée institutionnalisée, mais également à celle du professionnel.

Bien sûr, d’un côté, de nombreux médicaments traitant les maladies neurodégénératives du troisième et du quatrième âge provoquent comme effet secondaire des comportements liés à l’hyper-sexualité et / ou des troubles du comportement sexuel si compliqués à traiter ou à rediriger pour un professionnel de la soins socio-sanitaires. En fait, le comportement désinhibé de la personne âgée vis-à-vis de l'auxiliaire est habituellement habituel.


C'est pourquoi Cet article traite de la sexualité dans le vieillissement , ainsi que les conclusions les plus importantes sur lesquelles ces auteurs se sont mis d’accord après leur enquête; car il est très important de bien connaître la sexualité dans le vieillissement pour soigner les personnes âgées des soins centrés sur la personne et offrir la meilleure qualité de vie possible.

  • Article connexe: "Les 3 phases de la vieillesse et ses changements physiques et psychologiques"

La sexualité dans le vieillissement

C'est une réalité que presque toutes les personnes, de la naissance à la mort, ont une sexualité, ainsi que le besoin d'avoir des relations sexuelles avec d'autres et seules. Par conséquent, il est une réalité aussi que de nos jours dans les centres résidentiels, le manque d'intimité est très important ainsi qu'un suivi individualisé des personnes âgées par manque de moyens, de professionnels et surtout de formation et de communication.


En fait, disent également Villar, F., C. Triadó, M. Celdrán, J., Fabà, J. (2017), après avoir interrogé des résidents et des professionnels âgés, certains d'entre eux mentionnant qu'il existe des professionnels qui ont tendance à avoir des réactions. négatif et très péjoratif envers les personnes âgées qui expriment leurs besoins affectifs tant en public qu'en privé; En général, nous ne réagissons pas naturellement, ni les personnes âgées ni les professionnels, précisément parce qu’il existe une stigmatisation aux troisième et quatrième âges, en plus de l'âge (discrimination par âge).

  • Article connexe: "5 principes de base pour jouir d'une sexualité complète et satisfaisante"

Quels sont les besoins sexuels dans le vieillissement?

Selon les personnes âgées participant à la recherche et selon les professionnels, dans le cas présent, 83 sur 100, expliquent que les besoins sexuels sont maintenus pendant le processus de vieillissement, bien que pas totalement . Cependant, certains considèrent en particulier que "l'intérêt est maintenu mais que la pratique décline" et que l'intensité des besoins sexuels diminue mais ne disparaît pas.


En tout état de cause, les besoins sexuels dans le vieillissement, comme au stade adulte, dépendront avant tout du cycle vital, ainsi que de la vulnérabilité à certaines maladies neurodégénératives et / ou neuropsychiatriques, car le désir sexuel est étroitement lié à les maladies qui sont aussi si fréquentes. Cet ensemble doit donc être examiné par un professionnel de la santé publique, en l'occurrence le psychogérontologue, qu'il soit en centre d'hébergement ou en entreprise de soins à domicile; dans le but de préserver au mieux l'intimité de la personne et de faciliter l'expression sexuelle puisqu'il existe, selon les auteurs, deux barrières pour lesquelles un travail est requis:

Obstacles Internes

Pudores et sentiments de honte dans le cas de la sexualité chez les personnes âgées, ce sont les plus grands groupes d’âge existants, la plus grande estimation, la plus grande barrière interne. Nous parlons de règles morales et de facteurs générationnels tels que l'éducation répressive.

Obstacles Externes

Le contexte dans les centres d’accueil, ainsi que l’infrastructure de l’espace dans lequel se trouve la personne âgée, constitue le principal obstacle externe. Dans les centres résidentiels, en raison du manque de ressources, ils ont tendance à vivre dans des espaces partagés avec un manque évident d'intimité et au domicile, l'infantilisation et la surprotection sont fréquentes. Dans ce cas, dans les centres, chaque pièce serait un facilitateur et à domicile, il s'agirait d'une évaluation clinique adéquate des personnes âgées ainsi que de leur contexte.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 problèmes sexuels les plus fréquents et comment les traiter"

Obstacles et facilitateurs pour l'expression de la libido

Que peuvent faire les professionnels à ce sujet? D'après Villar, F. et al."Quand on interroge la majorité des répondants sur les comportements sexuels les plus fréquents chez les résidents (de nombreux résidents ne le pensent pas, car ils pensent que cette dimension est absente des institutions), la masturbation est la plus mentionnée. Pratiquement tous les professionnels mentionnent ce type de comportement, qui dans de nombreux cas ont été des témoins involontaires. Alors, quels sont les objectifs et les stratégies à suivre?

1. En ce qui concerne les personnes âgées

Connaître de première main votre histoire de vie ainsi que évaluer et traiter vos maladies neurodégénératives et étudier les effets secondaires possibles de leur traitement psychopharmacologique.

2. Par rapport au contexte

En raison du manque de ressources, il est difficile d’avoir des chambres individuelles dans les centres d’habitation, c’est pourquoi la meilleure option est de surveiller les délais et / ou d'éviter l'entrée dans ces centres grâce à l'aide de nouvelles startups de soins à domicile.

3. Par rapport à l'ensemble du personnel de professionnels

Favoriser la communication continue entre les auxiliaires des soins infirmiers et les psychogérontologues ayant offrir des soins centrés sur la personne de la meilleure façon possible . Le conseil est en outre l’une des principales fonctions caractéristiques des professionnels sociosanitaires des troisième et quatrième âges.

Sexualité et démence: 3 points à considérer

Lorsque la démence et la sexualité se chevauchent, les points suivants doivent être pris en compte.

1. Consentement éclairé

Les infirmières auxiliaires ayant plus d'un patient en charge se trouvent généralement dans des situations dans lesquelles elles ne savent pas comment gérer la situation. Il est clair qu'une relation sexuelle entre deux personnes atteintes de démence ou un couple dont l'une des deux souffre d'une maladie neurodégénérative crée beaucoup d'incertitude, il est donc difficile de savoir comment discerner le consentement de la personne âgée. C'est pourquoi la prévention et le suivi sont importants ou réalisées entre les psychogérontologues et les auxiliaires de manière horizontale, par le biais du PVA, pour trouver une solution.

2. Conseiller et collecter des informations

Parfois, les réactions de professionnels tels que les infirmières auxiliaires, les assistantes sociales, les infirmières, les psychogérontologues, etc., et / ou les membres de la famille ne sont pas correctes. L'enfance peut arriver . C’est pourquoi il est essentiel de rester informé et d’assurer la communication entre professionnels afin de conseiller et de recueillir des informations auprès des différentes parties concernées.

3. dramatiser

Dramatiser et éviter le comportement désinhibé de la personne âgée , si tel est le cas, ils sont la clé dans laquelle les professionnels travaillent pour promouvoir le bien-être des personnes âgées; toujours, mais du point de vue de l'ACP et de l'évaluation et du traitement dans un contexte clinique.

Comportement sans tabou de la personne âgée vis-à-vis de l'infirmière auxiliaire

Médicaments psychotropes tels que les antidépresseurs et les benzodiazépines, qui sont habituellement prescrits au stade du vieillissement pour traiter généralement les maladies neurodégénératives ou les symptômes dysthymiques ou d'anxiété peut altérer la libido sexuelle, le désir sexuel ou déclencher des troubles du comportement sexuel s'il n'y a pas de suivi adéquat chez la personne âgée.

Le comportement sans tabou se réfère à comportements socialement impertinents tels que l'exhibitionnisme, le langage indécent et les intentions sexuelles à l'autre sans consentement - décidé unilatéralement -. Cela peut être dû à une symptomatologie neuropsychiatrique et / ou à une coexistence de symptômes neurodégénératifs.

En général, de tels comportements se produisent généralement face à l'infirmière auxiliaire, qui est un professionnel physiquement et quotidiennement avec la personne âgée résidant dans un centre ou dans le SAD, le service à domicile. Dans les deux cas, il est important de bien connaître le bénéficiaire du service afin d’offrir le meilleur bien-être possible.

  • Article connexe: "Exhibitionnisme: causes et symptômes de cette paraphilie sexuelle"

Conclusion: les psychogérontologues et les auxiliaires travaillent ensemble

En bref, la solution à la stigmatisation de la sexualité chez les personnes âgées et au manque de vie privée réside avant tout dans le travail des professionnels, qu'ils soient auxiliaires, psychogérontologues ou infirmiers et assistants en contact direct avec les personnes âgées C’est pourquoi il est important de prévenir (connaître les maladies neurodégénératives), de savoir discerner le consentement, de conseiller et de collecter des informations et, surtout, de dédramatiser les situations dans lesquelles se produisent des comportements affectifs , ainsi que la recherche de solutions aux comportements inappropriés, toujours à partir de l’approche Soins centrés sur la personne et de l’évaluation dans le contexte clinique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Villar, F., Triadó, C., M. Celdrán, J. Fabà (2017) La sexualité et les personnes âgées institutionnalisées: la perspective du résident et la perspective du professionnel. Madrid: Fondation Pilares.

Les personnes agées et la sexualité (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes