yes, therapy helps!
Shopping addiction: symptoms, causes and treatment

Shopping addiction: symptoms, causes and treatment

September 15, 2022

Generally we associate the concept of 'addiction' to the consumption of some substance or narcotic that generates a physical reaction in our body. However, in the modern era there is also another type of addiction that corresponds to a certain activity such as random games, bets or work. Undoubtedly these latest trends have to do with the consumer society that surrounds us.

In this sense, we will stick to the phenomenon of shopping addiction , or more scientifically spoken, of the oniomania. The inability to control this desire to consume compulsively is what gives the label of addiction, given the high degree of dependence. To renounce the acceptance of the problem and its corresponding resolution, adds more weight to consider this behavior as a phenomenon to be taken into account like any other common disease.


How to detect addiction to purchases?

Unlike what may seem at first glance, it is not so easy to determine or detect a person with this pathology. We live in an era known as the "era of consumption", where this activity is practiced as if it were a sport. We buy permanently, every day and at any time thanks to new technologies and distribution platforms.

Without going much further and avoiding complex explanations, Addiction to purchases is observed when the consumer loses any notion of real need when purchasing the product , even reaching the absurdity of buying things that will not even be taken out of the packaging. The user buys to buy; being sad or happy; enjoy the purchase process -especially by credit cards-; feel relief when making the purchase and a long list of symptoms.


Causes that lead to addiction

It is worth highlighting the explosion of companies and companies dedicated to selling through online platforms or even applications in mobile devices that have been perfectly adapted to the demands of the consumer. The immediacy and ease with which you can obtain any product, aggravates the degree of addiction of those who suffer it. Nowadays you can buy the supermarket.

Likewise, the main cause that responds to this addiction to purchases is not distinguished in excess of conventional ones: it generally responds to profiles of people with deep personal problems, situations of depression or even low self-esteem, especially in individuals who consume textile products in Industrial quantities.

Although it is brief and relatively easy to make purchases, it is still a time of distraction for anyone who is going through an emotional blip. A moment to disconnect from bad thoughts is what an individual in a depressed state always looks for. Another element that we have to take into account, is that the profile most affected by the addiction to shopping, happens in young women.


Consequences and effects

The difficulties faced by people with addiction to shopping are not minor . The first resentment is found in their own economic resources, necessary to meet the basic expenses for day to day. It has been the case that some individuals renounce a good diet in order to meet the material expenses.

From the emotional point of view, the degrees of depression and sadness are extremely intense. The accumulation of unused objects generates a suffocating guilt. By not knowing where to hide the products, they become the reflection of the problem as they are visible at all times.

Treatment

As it usually happens with any pathology, the first step to take is the recognition that the subject has with the addiction to purchases . It is not trivial to recognize it to the own relatives and relatives to feel the psychological support. The environment must show a real empathy and willingness to help the affected. Thus, collaboration between these actors will be fundamental.

Obviously, the correct treatment must be accompanied by many other measures. The help of a professional is essential, but another exercise of willpower lies in the control of consumption. For example, canceling fiduciary credit cards is a good method to follow. In some banking companies there is the possibility of restricting this type of services and / or products by limiting the amount of credit or consumption facilities.

Finally, we must take into account the increase of this problem in the global world, especially in Western societies. Some studies show a clear trend towards addiction to purchases, which in the United States alone, for example, have doubled in less than a decade, from 5% in 2007 to 10% of the total population.


Compulsive shopping (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dépendance au shopping: symptômes, causes et traitement

Dépendance au shopping: symptômes, causes et traitement

Janvier 17, 2022

Généralement, nous associons le concept de "dépendance" à la consommation d'une substance ou d'un narcotique qui génère une réaction physique dans notre corps. Cependant, à l'ère moderne, il existe également un autre type de dépendance qui correspond à une activité donnée telle que les jeux aléatoires, les paris ou le travail. Il ne fait aucun doute que ces dernières tendances ont à voir avec la société de consommation qui nous entoure.

Dans ce sens, nous nous en tiendrons au phénomène de la dépendance au shopping , ou plus scientifiquement parlé, de l’oniomanie. L'incapacité à contrôler ce désir de consommation compulsive est ce qui donne l'étiquette de dépendance, étant donné le degré élevé de dépendance. Renoncer à l'acceptation du problème et à la résolution correspondante, ajoute plus de poids pour considérer ce comportement comme un phénomène à prendre en compte comme toute autre maladie courante.


Comment détecter la dépendance aux achats?

Contrairement à ce qui peut paraître à première vue, il n’est pas si facile de déterminer ou de détecter une personne atteinte de cette pathologie. Nous vivons à une époque connue sous le nom "d'ère de la consommation", où cette activité est pratiquée comme s'il s'agissait d'un sport. Nous achetons en permanence, tous les jours et à toute heure, grâce aux nouvelles technologies et plateformes de distribution.

Sans aller beaucoup plus loin et en évitant les explications complexes, La dépendance aux achats est observée lorsque le consommateur perd toute notion de besoin réel lors de l'achat du produit , atteignant même l’absurdité d’acheter des choses qui ne seront même pas retirées de l’emballage. L'utilisateur achète pour acheter; être triste ou heureux; profiter du processus d'achat, en particulier par cartes de crédit; se sentir soulagé lors de l'achat et avoir une longue liste de symptômes.


Causes menant à la dépendance

Il convient de souligner l’explosion des sociétés et des sociétés dédiées à la vente via des plateformes en ligne ou même des applications sur des appareils mobiles parfaitement adaptées aux exigences du consommateur. L’immédiateté et la facilité avec lesquelles vous pouvez obtenir n’importe quel produit aggrave le degré de dépendance de ceux qui le souffrent. De nos jours, vous pouvez acheter le supermarché.

De même, la principale cause de cette dépendance aux achats ne se distingue pas des causes classiques: elle correspond généralement aux profils de personnes ayant des problèmes personnels profonds, des situations de dépression ou même une faible estime de soi, en particulier chez les consommateurs de produits textiles. quantités industrielles.

Bien qu'il soit bref et relativement facile de faire des achats, c'est toujours un moment de distraction pour quiconque traverse une crise émotionnelle. Un moment de déconnexion des mauvaises pensées est ce que recherche toujours un individu déprimé. Un autre élément dont nous devons tenir compte est que le profil le plus affecté par la dépendance au shopping se produit chez les jeunes femmes.


Conséquences et effets

Les difficultés rencontrées par les personnes ayant une dépendance au shopping ne sont pas mineures . Le premier ressentiment se trouve dans leurs propres ressources économiques, nécessaires pour faire face aux dépenses de base quotidiennes. Certaines personnes ont renoncé à une bonne alimentation pour faire face aux dépenses matérielles.

Du point de vue émotionnel, les degrés de dépression et de tristesse sont extrêmement intenses. L'accumulation d'objets inutilisés génère une culpabilité suffocante. En ne sachant pas où cacher les produits, ils deviennent le reflet du problème car ils sont visibles à tout moment.

Traitement

Comme cela arrive généralement avec n'importe quelle pathologie, la première étape à franchir est la reconnaissance que le sujet a de la dépendance aux achats . Il n’est pas anodin de reconnaître aux membres de leur famille et à leurs proches le soutien psychologique. L'environnement doit faire preuve d'une réelle empathie et d'une volonté d'aider les personnes touchées. Ainsi, la collaboration entre ces acteurs sera fondamentale.

De toute évidence, le traitement correct doit être accompagné de nombreuses autres mesures. L’aide d’un professionnel est essentielle, mais un autre exercice de volonté réside dans le contrôle de la consommation. Par exemple, l’annulation des cartes de crédit fiduciaires est une bonne méthode à suivre. Dans certaines sociétés bancaires, il est possible de restreindre ce type de services et / ou de produits en limitant le montant des facilités de crédit ou de consommation.

Enfin, nous devons prendre en compte l’augmentation de ce problème dans le monde global, en particulier dans les sociétés occidentales. Certaines études montrent une nette tendance à la dépendance aux achats, qui aux États-Unis, par exemple, a doublé en moins de 10 ans, passant de 5% en 2007 à 10% de la population totale.


Trauma & Addiction: Crash Course Psychology #31 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes