yes, therapy helps!
Siderophobia (fear of the stars): symptoms, causes and treatment

Siderophobia (fear of the stars): symptoms, causes and treatment

May 9, 2024

The image of the starry sky could be attractive to many people. Sensations of calm and a romantic atmosphere are just some of the experiences that the dark sky filled with luminous points can easily transmit to us.

However, not all people react positively to such a stimulus. Far from infecting romanticism, the starry sky can trigger panic in some people. We will see below what this is about fear of the stars, which we know as siderophobia .

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is siderophobia?

The word "sidereal" comes from the Latin "sidus", which means celestial body. As such, "sidereal" is a term that refers to everything related to the stars. In this sense, siderophobia is about an excessive fear of the celestial bodies, specifically it is an exacerbated fear of the stars .


Although it is not a clinical category described by specialists in psychology or psychiatry, the term "siderophobia" has recently been used to refer to an important fear of exposure to the starry sky, as well as to some of the stimuli associated with it.

In other words, siderophobia itself is not considered a disorder, but in any case, it is an experience associated with a more complex symptomatology. Since the starry sky is a very difficult stimulus to avoid, the siderophobia is not only related to the stars, but with other elements that accompany darkness and open spaces .

For the same reason, siderophobia can be considered as one of the experiences that are added to broader spectrums of phobias that are considered by specialists as a specific clinical situation. Among these spectra could be, for example, agoraphobia.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Agoraphobia: what it is, causes, symptoms and treatment"

Other phobias to the stars

Stars are not the only celestial bodies that can cause excessive fear in some people. Being a fear enhanced by the elements that surround the celestial bodies, Other related phobias are fear of darkness , known as scotophobia or nictofobia; Astrophobia, which includes the fear of any celestial body; or meteorophobia, which is the specific fear of meteors.

Are the stars harmless?

A star is a luminous sphere composed mainly of hydrogen converted to helium, and maintained in the cosmos by the action of gravity. Very broadly, it is from the reactions occurring inside the stars, as the main chemical elements that, in turn, give rise to different particles. Subsequently, these particles allow the development of the different life forms that exist on our planet.


Therefore, the stars are not in themselves dangerous but quite the opposite, they are part of the chemical activity that has allowed the existence of the universe . So, what can be some of the causes why we might fear these luminous spheres?

Possible causes

As with other phobias, siderophobia may be caused by a series of learning and individual perceptions that, when in contact with certain external stimuli; they trigger important discomforts.

So, fear of the stars can be generated by the individual meanings that are attributed to both such celestial bodies , like the dark sky and the elements that surround it. In turn, these elements can be darkness, open spaces, the feeling of loneliness or danger, or a fear caused by the knowledge we have acquired about the characteristics of the cosmos.

The knowledge mentioned above may be linked, as well, with the idea of ​​immensity, with the unknown, with the lack of control , or, with some dangers related to the largest celestial bodies.

All this strongly fueled both by a lack of deep learning about the functioning of the cosmos, and by some types of science fiction present in film or literature. Likewise, a person can develop an irrational fear of the stars by some previous unpleasant experience, which has had a determined relationship with these stimuli and perceptions.

symptom

As happens in other types of phobias, siderophobia can cause Physiological responses related to anxiety , such as nausea, sweating, dizziness, hyperventilation, cardiac agitation, choking sensation, dry mouth, and so on.All this before the exhibition, or the possibility of exposing oneself, to the starry sky.

Treatment

As long as a specific clinical picture is not considered, there is also no special treatment for siderophobia. Broadly speaking, the way to accompany or diminish the fear of the stars can follow the procedure used for other phobias. In the beginning it is important to determine if it is a specific fear, or related to a more extensive and complex symptomatology, such as the one that characterizes anxiety disorders.

The latter allows us to work with the deepest emotional responses that may be affecting the person's day-to-day life, beyond the exposure to the starry sky . It also allows exploring the meanings and learning related to the stimulus that causes fear, and in this sense, generate strategies for coping and relearning the stimulus.

Bibliographic references:

  • Etymology of Sideral (2018). Etymological Spanish Dictionary Online. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available in //etimologias.dechile.net/?sideral.
  • Isan, A. (2018). Why is it said that we are stardust? UNCOMO. Recovered August 27, 2018. Available in //ocio.uncomo.com/articulo/por-que-se-dice-que-somos-polvo-de-estrellas-47701.html.
  • Siderophobia (2017). Common Phobias. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available at //common-phobias.com/sidero/phobia.htm.
  • Siderophobia-Fear of stars (S / A). Phobia Source. Retrieved August 27, 2018. Available at //www.phobiasource.com/siderophobia-fear-of-stars/.

Siderophobia Fear of stars (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sidérophobie (peur des étoiles): symptômes, causes et traitement

Sidérophobie (peur des étoiles): symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 7, 2022

L'image du ciel étoilé pourrait être attrayante pour beaucoup de gens. Des sensations de calme et une atmosphère romantique ne sont que quelques-unes des expériences que le ciel noir empli de points lumineux peut facilement nous transmettre.

Cependant, toutes les personnes ne réagissent pas positivement à un tel stimulant. Loin d'infecter le romantisme, le ciel étoilé peut déclencher la panique chez certaines personnes. Nous verrons ci-dessous de quoi il s'agit peur des étoiles, que nous connaissons comme sidérophobie .

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la sidérophobie?

Le mot "sidéral" vient du latin "sidus", qui signifie corps céleste. En tant que tel, "sidéral" est un terme qui désigne tout ce qui a trait aux étoiles. En ce sens, la sidérophobie est à propos de une peur excessive des corps célestes, en particulier c'est une peur exacerbée des étoiles .


Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une catégorie clinique décrite par des spécialistes en psychologie ou en psychiatrie, le terme "sidérophobie" a récemment été utilisé pour désigner une peur importante de l’exposition au ciel étoilé, ainsi qu’à certains des stimuli qui lui sont associés.

En d’autres termes, la sidérophobie elle-même n’est pas considérée comme un trouble, mais dans tous les cas, c’est une expérience associée à une symptomatologie plus complexe. Comme le ciel étoilé est un stimulus très difficile à éviter, la sidérophobie est non seulement liée aux étoiles, mais avec d'autres éléments qui accompagnent l'obscurité et les espaces ouverts .

Pour la même raison, la sidérophobie peut être considérée comme l'une des expériences ajoutées aux spectres plus larges des phobies considérées par les spécialistes comme une situation clinique spécifique. Parmi ces spectres pourraient être, par exemple, l'agoraphobie.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'agoraphobie: qu'est-ce que c'est, ses causes, ses symptômes et son traitement"

Autres phobies aux étoiles

Les étoiles ne sont pas les seuls corps célestes pouvant causer une peur excessive chez certaines personnes. Être une peur renforcée par les éléments qui entourent les corps célestes, Les autres phobies apparentées sont la peur de l'obscurité , appelée scotophobie ou nictofobie; L'astrophobie, qui comprend la peur de tout corps céleste; ou la météorophobie, qui est la peur spécifique des météores.

Les étoiles sont-elles inoffensives?

Une étoile est une sphère lumineuse composée principalement d'hydrogène converti en hélium et maintenu dans le cosmos par l'action de la gravité. De manière très générale, ce sont les réactions à l’intérieur des étoiles, en tant que principaux éléments chimiques, qui engendrent différentes particules. Par la suite, ces particules permettent le développement des différentes formes de vie existant sur notre planète.


Par conséquent, les étoiles ne sont pas dangereuses en elles-mêmes mais bien au contraire, ils font partie de l'activité chimique qui a permis l'existence de l'univers . Alors, quelles peuvent être certaines des causes pour lesquelles nous pourrions craindre ces sphères lumineuses?

Causes possibles

Comme pour les autres phobies, la sidérophobie peut être causée par une série d’apprentissage et de perceptions individuelles qui, au contact de certains stimuli externes; ils déclenchent des désagréments importants.

Ainsi, la peur des étoiles peut être générée par les significations individuelles qui sont attribuées à la fois de tels corps célestes , comme le ciel sombre et les éléments qui l’entourent. À leur tour, ces éléments peuvent être l'obscurité, des espaces ouverts, le sentiment de solitude ou de danger ou une crainte suscitée par les connaissances acquises sur les caractéristiques du cosmos.

Les connaissances mentionnées ci-dessus peuvent également être liées à l'idée d'immensité, avec l'inconnu, avec le manque de contrôle , ou, avec certains dangers liés aux plus grands corps célestes.

Tout cela est fortement alimenté à la fois par un manque d’approfondissement des connaissances sur le fonctionnement du cosmos et par certains types de science-fiction présents dans les films ou la littérature. De même, une personne peut développer une peur irrationnelle des étoiles par une expérience antérieure désagréable, qui a eu une relation déterminée avec ces stimuli et ces perceptions.

Les symptômes

Comme dans d’autres types de phobies, la sidérophobie peut causer Réponses physiologiques liées à l'anxiété , tels que nausée, transpiration, vertiges, hyperventilation, agitation cardiaque, sensation d'étouffement, bouche sèche, etc.Tout cela avant l'exposition, ou la possibilité de s'exposer, au ciel étoilé.

Traitement

Tant qu'un tableau clinique spécifique n'est pas considéré, il n'existe pas non plus de traitement spécial pour la sidérophobie. D'une manière générale, la manière d'accompagner ou d'atténuer la peur des étoiles peut suivre la procédure utilisée pour les autres phobies. Au début, il est important de déterminer s’il s’agit d’une peur spécifique, ou liée à une symptomatologie plus étendue et complexe, telle que celle qui caractérise les troubles anxieux.

Ce dernier nous permet de travailler avec les réponses émotionnelles les plus profondes qui peuvent affecter la vie quotidienne de la personne, au-delà de l'exposition au ciel étoilé . Cela permet également d'explorer les significations et les apprentissages liés au stimulus qui provoque la peur et, en ce sens, de générer des stratégies pour faire face et réapprendre le stimulus.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Étymologie de Sideral (2018). Dictionnaire étymologique espagnol en ligne. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible dans //etimologias.dechile.net/?sideral.
  • Isan, A. (2018). Pourquoi dit-on que nous sommes la poussière d'étoile? UNCOMO. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //ocio.uncomo.com/articulo/por-que-se-dice-que-somos-polvo-de-estrellas-47701.html.
  • Sidérophobie (2017). Phobies communes. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/sidero/phobia.htm.
  • Sidérophobie-Peur des étoiles (S / A). Source de phobie. Récupéré le 27 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.phobiasource.com/siderophobia-fear-of-stars/.

Qu'est ce que ça veut dire #Sidérophobie (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes