yes, therapy helps!
Signal theory: is deception useful?

Signal theory: is deception useful?

August 17, 2022

Signal theory, or signaling theory , groups a set of studies in the field of evolutionary biology, and suggests that the study of signals exchanged in the communication process between individuals of any species, can account for their evolutionary patterns, and can also help us differentiate when the signals emitted are honest or dishonest.

We will see in this article what signal theory is, what are the honest and dishonest signals in the context of evolutionary biology, as well as some of its consequences in studies on human behavior.

  • Related article: "Do you know how to detect a liar? The 8 types of lies"

Signal theory: is deception evolving?

Studied in the context of biological and evolutionary theory, cheating or lying can acquire an adaptive sense . Translated to aprir to the study of animal communication, deception is understood as strongly linked to persuasive activity, since it consists mainly in providing false information for the benefit of the issuer, even if it means a loss to the issuer (Redondo, 1994).


The above has been studied by biology in different species of animals, including humans , through the signals that send individuals to others and the effects they produce.

In this sense, evolutionary theory tells us that the interaction between individuals of the same species (as well as between individuals of different species), is traversed by the constant exchange of different signals. Especially when it comes to an interaction that involves a certain conflict of interest, the signals exchanged may seem honest, even if they are not.

In this same sense, the theory of signals has proposed that the evolution of an individual of any species is marked in an important way by the need to emit and receive signals in a more and more perfected way, so that this allows to resist the manipulation of other individuals .


Honest signals and dishonest signals: differences and effects

For this theory, the exchange of signals, both honest and dishonest, has an evolutionary character, since when emitting a certain signal, the behavior of the receiver is modified, for the benefit of the emitter.

It is about honest signals when the behavior corresponds to the intention that appears. On the other hand, these are dishonest signals when the behavior looks like an intention, but in reality it has another, which is also potentially harmful to the recipient , and surely beneficial for the one who issues it.

The development, the evolution and the destiny of the latter, the dishonest signals, can have two possible consequences for the dynamics of some kind, according to Redondo (1994). Let's see them below.

1. The dishonest signal is extinguished

According to signal theory, signals of deception are especially emitted by those individuals who have an advantage over others. In fact, it suggests that in an animal population where there are predominantly honest signals, and one of the most biologically effective individuals initiates an honest signal, the latter will expand with speed .


But what happens when the receiver has already developed the ability to detect dishonest signals? In evolutionary terms, individuals who receive dishonest signals generated increasingly complex evaluation techniques in order to detect which signal is honest and which is not, which gradually decreases the benefit of the issuer of deception , and finally causes its extinction.

From the above it can also happen that the dishonest signals are eventually replaced by honest signals. At least temporarily, while increasing the likelihood that they will be used with dishonest intentions. An example of this is the exhibitions of threats made by seagulls . Although there is a great variety of such exhibits, they all seem to have the same function, which means that a set of potentially dishonest signals have been set as honest signals.

2. The dishonest signal is fixed

However, another effect may occur in the presence and increase of dishonest signals. This is that the signal is fixed permanently in the population, what happens if all the honest signals are extinguished. In this case, the dishonest signal no longer remains a dishonest signal, because in the absence of sincerity the deceit loses its meaning. It remains, then, as a convention that loses connection with the initial reaction of the person who receives it .

An example of the latter is the following: a flock shares an alarm signal that warns of the presence of a predator. It is a sincere sign, which serves for the protection of the species.

However, if any of the members emit that same signal, but not when a predator approaches, but when they experience a failure in the competition for food with other members of their own species, this will gain an advantage over their flock and would that the signal (now deceptive) is transformed and maintained. In fact, several species of birds make false alarm signals to distract others and thus get food.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "What is Ethology and what is its object of study?"

The principle of handicap

In the year of 1975, the Israeli biologist Amotz Zahavi proposed that the emission of some honest signals supposes a cost so high, that only the most biologically dominant individuals can afford to perform them .

In this sense, the existence of some honest signals would be guaranteed by the cost involved, and the existence of dishonest signals as well. This ultimately represents a disadvantage for less dominant individuals who want to emit false signals.

In other words, the benefit acquired by the emission of dishonest signals would be reserved only for biologically more dominant individuals. This principle is known as the principle of the handicap (which in English can be translated as "disadvantage").

Application in the study of human behavior

Among other things, signal theory has been used to explain some interaction patterns , as well as the attitudes displayed during the coexistence between different people.

For example, an attempt has been made to understand, evaluate and even predict the authenticity of different intentions, objectives and values ​​generated in the interactions between certain groups.

The latter, according to Pentland (2008), occurs from the study of their signaling patterns, what would represent a second communication channel . Although it remains implicit, it allows explaining why decisions or attitudes are made in the margin of the most basic interactions, such as in a job interview or in a first coexistence between strangers.

In other words, it has served to develop hypotheses about how we can know when someone is genuinely interested or attentive during a communicative process.

Bibliographic references:

  • Handicap principle (2018). Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved September 4, 2018. Available at //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Handicap_principle.
  • Pentland, S. (2008). Honest Signals: How They Shape Our World. The MIT Press: USA.
  • Redondo, T. (1994). Communication: theory and evolution of signals. In: Carranza, J. (ed.). Ethology: Introduction to the Science of Behavior. Publications of the University of Extremadura, Cáceres, pp. 255-297.
  • Grafen, A. and Johnstone, R. (1993). Why we need ESS signalling theory. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B, 340 (1292).

Detecting Emotion, Intent, Deception and other Signals in Text (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie du signal: la déception est-elle utile?

Théorie du signal: la déception est-elle utile?

Mai 11, 2021

Théorie du signal ou théorie de la signalisation , regroupe un ensemble d’études dans le domaine de la biologie de l’évolution et suggère que l’étude des signaux échangés dans le processus de communication entre des individus de toute espèce peut rendre compte de leurs modèles évolutifs et peut également nous aider à nous différencier lorsque les signaux émis sont honnêtes ou malhonnêtes.

Nous verrons dans cet article ce qu'est la théorie des signaux, quels sont les signaux honnêtes et malhonnêtes dans le contexte de la biologie de l'évolution, ainsi que certaines de ses conséquences dans les études sur le comportement humain.

  • Article connexe: "Savez-vous comment détecter un menteur? Les 8 types de mensonges"

Théorie du signal: la tromperie évolue-t-elle?

Étudié dans le contexte de la théorie biologique et de l'évolution, tricher ou mentir peut acquérir un sens adaptatif . Traduit après étude de la communication animale, la tromperie est considérée comme fortement liée à la persuasion, car elle consiste principalement à fournir de fausses informations au profit de l'émetteur, même si cela entraîne une perte pour l'émetteur (Redondo, 1994).


Ce qui précède a été étudié par la biologie chez différentes espèces d'animaux, y compris l'homme , à travers les signaux qui envoient des individus aux autres et les effets qu’ils produisent.

En ce sens, la théorie de l'évolution nous dit que l'interaction entre des individus d'une même espèce (ainsi qu'entre des individus d'espèces différentes) est traversée par l'échange constant de signaux différents. Surtout lorsqu'il s'agit d'une interaction impliquant un certain conflit d'intérêts, les signaux échangés peuvent sembler honnêtes, même s'ils ne le sont pas.

Dans le même sens, la théorie des signaux a proposé que l’évolution d’un individu de toute espèce soit marquée de manière importante par la nécessité d’émettre et de recevoir des signaux de manière de plus en plus perfectionnée, de sorte permet de résister à la manipulation d'autres individus .


Signaux honnêtes et malhonnêtes: différences et effets

Pour cette théorie, l’échange de signaux, à la fois honnête et malhonnête, a un caractère évolutif puisque lorsqu’il émet un certain signal, le comportement du récepteur est modifié au profit de l’émetteur.

Il s'agit de signaux honnêtes lorsque le comportement correspond à l'intention qui apparaît. D'autre part, ce sont des signaux malhonnêtes quand le comportement ressemble à une intention, mais en réalité il en a une autre, qui est également potentiellement dangereux pour le destinataire , et sûrement bénéfique pour celui qui l’émet.

Le développement, l'évolution et le destin de ces derniers, les signaux malhonnêtes, peuvent avoir deux conséquences possibles sur la dynamique, selon Redondo (1994). Voyons-les ci-dessous.

1. Le signal malhonnête est éteint

Selon la théorie des signaux, les signaux de déception sont surtout émis par les individus qui ont un avantage sur les autres. En fait, cela suggère que dans une population animale où les signaux sont majoritairement honnêtes et où l’un des individus les plus biologiquement efficaces émet un signal honnête, ce dernier se développera rapidement .


Mais que se passe-t-il lorsque le récepteur a déjà développé la capacité de détecter des signaux malhonnêtes? En termes d’évolution, les individus qui reçoivent des signaux malhonnêtes génèrent des techniques d’évaluation de plus en plus complexes pour détecter quel signal est honnête et lequel ne l’est pas, lequel diminue le bénéfice de l'émetteur de tromperie et provoque finalement son extinction.

De ce qui précède, il peut également arriver que les signaux malhonnêtes soient finalement remplacés par des signaux honnêtes. Au moins temporairement, tout en augmentant la probabilité qu'ils soient utilisés avec des intentions malhonnêtes. Les expositions de menaces par les mouettes en sont un exemple. . Bien qu'il existe une grande variété de telles expositions, elles semblent toutes avoir la même fonction, ce qui signifie qu'un ensemble de signaux potentiellement malhonnêtes ont été définis comme des signaux honnêtes.

2. Le signal malhonnête est fixé

Cependant, un autre effet peut se produire en présence et en augmentation de signaux malhonnêtes. C’est que le signal est fixé en permanence dans la population, que se passe-t-il si tous les signaux honnêtes sont éteints? Dans ce cas, le signal malhonnête ne reste plus un signal malhonnête, car en l’absence de sincérité la tromperie perd son sens. Il reste donc comme convention que perd le lien avec la réaction initiale de la personne qui le reçoit .

Un exemple de ce dernier est le suivant: un troupeau partage un signal d'alarme qui avertit de la présence d'un prédateur. C'est un signe sincère, qui sert à la protection de l'espèce.

Cependant, si l'un des membres émet le même signal, mais pas lorsqu'un prédateur s'approche, mais s'il rencontre un échec dans la compétition pour la nourriture avec d'autres membres de sa propre espèce, cela gagnera un avantage sur son troupeau et que le signal (maintenant trompeur) est transformé et maintenu. En fait, plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux émettent de faux signaux d'alarme pour distraire les autres et obtenir ainsi de la nourriture.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que l'éthologie et quel est son objet d'étude?"

Le principe du handicap

En 1975, le biologiste israélien Amotz Zahavi a suggéré que l’émission de signaux honnêtes supposait un coût si élevé que seuls les individus les plus biologiquement dominants peuvent se permettre de les exécuter .

En ce sens, l'existence de certains signaux honnêtes serait garantie par le coût impliqué, ainsi que par l'existence de signaux malhonnêtes. Cela représente finalement un désavantage pour les individus moins dominants qui veulent émettre de faux signaux.

En d'autres termes, le bénéfice acquis par l'émission de signaux malhonnêtes ne serait réservé qu'à des individus biologiquement plus dominants. Ce principe est connu sous le nom de principe du handicap (qui peut être traduit en anglais par "désavantage").

Application à l'étude du comportement humain

Entre autres choses, la théorie du signal a été utilisée expliquer certains modèles d'interaction , ainsi que les attitudes affichées lors de la coexistence entre différentes personnes.

Par exemple, on a tenté de comprendre, d’évaluer et même de prédire l’authenticité de différentes intentions, objectifs et valeurs générés lors des interactions entre certains groupes.

Selon Pentland (2008), ces dernières résultent de l’étude de leurs schémas de signalisation, ce qui représenterait un deuxième canal de communication . Bien que cela reste implicite, cela permet d’expliquer pourquoi des décisions ou des attitudes sont prises en marge des interactions les plus élémentaires, comme lors d’un entretien d’emploi ou lors d’une première coexistence entre étrangers.

En d'autres termes, cela a servi à développer des hypothèses sur la façon dont nous pouvons savoir quand une personne est réellement intéressée ou attentive au cours d'un processus de communication.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Principe du handicap (2018). Wikipedia L'encyclopédie libre. Récupéré le 4 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Handicap_principle.
  • Pentland, S. (2008). Signaux honnêtes: comment ils façonnent notre monde. La presse MIT: USA.
  • Redondo, T. (1994). Communication: théorie et évolution des signaux. Dans: Carranza, J. (ed.). Ethologie: introduction à la science du comportement, publications de l'université d'Estrémadure, Cáceres, pp. 255-297.
  • Grafen, A. et Johnstone, R. (1993). Pourquoi nous avons besoin de la théorie de signalisation ESS. Transactions philosophiques de la Royal Society B, 340 (1292).

CE TELEPHONE EST PLUS INTELLIGENT QUE NOUS ? Vrai ou Faux #76 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes