yes, therapy helps!
Singles are happier than married people, according to science

Singles are happier than married people, according to science

October 16, 2021

We live in a society that practically forces us to be married . Having a partner, getting married and then having children is considered the normal pattern of behavior.

When someone does not have a partner (and also does not need to be fulfilled) the people around them begin to question the reason for this fact: "Why are you single? Why do not you want to be with anyone?"

Well, according to scientific studies, single people enjoy greater well-being and emotional balance than people who are married . In this article we explain it to you.

There are more and more divorces ...

Much is said today about the amount of divorces that exist today and that fewer and fewer people want to get married in these times. According to Eurostat (the European statistical office), in Spain there are fewer and fewer marriages, as they have fallen to 56% in the last 50 years . This shows the complexity of romantic relationships.


If we look around us, I'm sure we all know people who are in a relationship and unable to spend time with themselves. They seem to panic to be alone.

A few months ago I met a person who confessed to me that since he was 16 he had always had a partner and that, despite having several relationships, he recognized that he had not developed a series of skills necessary to be happy. He was afraid of uncertainty, he needed to know that someone always expected him and, in other words, he did not have enough leadership capacity or the ability to empower himself in front of life and he did not have the self-confidence necessary to overcome the challenges without the help of anyone. . Something that made me think about whether getting married has negative consequences for ourselves.


Since then, I have observed that many people have the same problem. In fact, in extreme cases this requires psychological assistance, is what is known as anuptaphobia (or anuptaphobia), irrational fear of being left alone.

  • You can know more about this condition in our article: "Anuptophobia: the irrational fear of being single"

Science confirms that singles are happier than married

And it is that, many times, the social pressure that marriage demands and having children, the fear of being labeled as "bachelor" or "spinster" or the emotional dependence that leads people to be together with another person forces you to have a partner. Many individuals think that they will be happier, when in reality it is not like that. At least that's what a recent study seems to indicate.

The research was carried out by Bella DePaulo, a doctor of psychology at the University of California. For his study, he had data from more than 800 researches of the last 30 years, with the conclusion that singles possess a greater sense of self-determination, which is essential for their own personal development.


Data presented at the APA annual convention

These results were presented at the annual convention of the American Psychological Association (APA), and they go against the popular belief that getting married makes you happier and that is what many people pursue.

As Bella DePaulo explains to the newspaper "The Independent", "Research shows that singles feel more self-actualized on a personal level and self-sufficiency and self-determination is beneficial for them because they experience less negative emotions and are mentally and emotionally stronger" .

  • Related article: "12 characteristics of mentally strong people"

Study data

This study is a compilation of different researches carried out in the United Kingdom, as people who have chosen to stay single in this part of the world have increased by 25% in 14 years.

Although some experts warn of the dangers of giving everything to one person throughout life, DePaulo concludes that "singles are often discriminated against and are victims of certain prejudices regarding singleness and marriage." Prejudices that are wrong , because as you see, scientists say that a life in marriage does not make you happier, rather the opposite.

Benefits of being single

The benefits of being single are many. By not having to share your life with someone, you also have more time to invest in yourself. If you are smart enough to realize that marriage is no more than a social imposition and that you can enjoy your life in single life, your quality of life can increase considerably.

In summary, the benefits of being single are the following:

  • It allows you to know yourself : Many people who are in a couple depend so much on their relationship with each other that they do not take the time to enjoy who they really are and the great potential they treasure to do what they want. That is not being selfish, it is having self-love. In fact, there are many people who are in pairs and all they want is to change the other so that it is as he wishes. Is not that more selfish?
  • Perfect to know the world : It may happen that you feel the need to explore the world, but someone ties you. It is ideal if the other person also wants to do it, but that is not easy to find. When you are single you go to the places you want to go without having to explain to anyone.
  • You invest time in yourself and seek your self-realization : You have time for the person who loves you the most, yourself. Nothing prevents you from being who you want to be.
  • You do not have continuous discussions : If you argue with someone, it's with yourself. If you do not have a partner you can not discuss your needs and your motivations with another. You decide what and when you will do it.
  • You enjoy more friendships : Some studies show that single people have more friendships and relate more with other people.
If you want to know more about these benefits, you can read our article: "Is it possible to be single and be happy? The 8 benefits of not having a partner "

conclusion

This does not mean that you should remain single forever, to avoid unhappiness . It simply refers to the fact that being single has its virtues. Everyone is free to make the decision they want, and it is possible to be happy as a couple. According to this study, however, many people leave aside a part of themselves to satisfy their partner, something that in the end seems to make them less happy.

You can be in pairs if you are not really afraid of being single and have found someone who complements you and who respects you as you are. That is what is known as mature love. To delve into this topic, you can click here.


Study Claims Single Life Beats Married Life (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les célibataires sont plus heureux que les gens mariés, selon la science

Les célibataires sont plus heureux que les gens mariés, selon la science

Octobre 28, 2022

Nous vivons dans une société qui nous oblige pratiquement à nous marier . Avoir un partenaire, se marier puis avoir des enfants est considéré comme le comportement normal.

Quand quelqu'un n'a pas de partenaire (et n'a pas non plus besoin d'être épanoui), son entourage commence à s'interroger sur la raison de ce fait: "Pourquoi êtes-vous célibataire? Pourquoi ne voulez-vous pas être avec quelqu'un?"

Eh bien, selon des études scientifiques, les célibataires jouissent d'un plus grand bien-être et d'un meilleur équilibre émotionnel que les personnes mariées . Dans cet article, nous vous l'expliquons.

Il y a de plus en plus de divorces ...

On parle beaucoup aujourd'hui du nombre de divorces qui existe et du fait que de moins en moins de personnes veulent se marier en ces temps difficiles. Selon Eurostat (l'office européen de la statistique), en Espagne, les mariages sont de moins en moins nombreux, ils sont tombés à 56% au cours des 50 dernières années . Cela montre la complexité des relations amoureuses.


Si nous regardons autour de nous, je suis sûr que nous connaissons tous des personnes qui sont en couple et incapables de passer du temps avec elles-mêmes. Ils semblent paniquer pour être seuls.

Il y a quelques mois, j'ai rencontré une personne qui m'a avoué que, depuis l'âge de 16 ans, il avait toujours eu un partenaire et qu'en dépit de plusieurs relations, il avait reconnu qu'il n'avait pas développé toute une série de compétences nécessaires pour être heureux. Il craignait l'incertitude, il avait besoin de savoir que quelqu'un l'attendait toujours et, en d'autres termes, il n'avait pas assez de capacité de leadership ni la capacité de s'autonomiser face à la vie et il n'avait pas la confiance en soi nécessaire pour surmonter les défis sans l'aide de personne. . Quelque chose qui m'a fait réfléchir à savoir si se marier a des conséquences négatives pour nous-mêmes.


Depuis lors, j'ai observé que beaucoup de gens ont le même problème. En fait, dans les cas extrêmes, cela nécessite une assistance psychologique, c'est ce que l'on appelle l'anuptaphobie (ou anuptaphobie), une peur irrationnelle d'être laissé seul.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette maladie dans notre article: "Anuptophobie: la peur irrationnelle d'être célibataire"

La science confirme que les célibataires sont plus heureux que les mariés

Et c'est que, plusieurs fois, la pression sociale qu'exige le mariage et avoir des enfants, la peur d'être étiqueté "célibataire" ou "célibataire" ou la dépendance émotionnelle qui conduit les gens à être ensemble avec une autre personne vous oblige à avoir un partenaire. Beaucoup de gens pensent qu'ils seront plus heureux alors qu'en réalité ce n'est pas comme ça. Du moins, c'est ce qu'une étude récente semble indiquer.

La recherche a été effectuée par Bella DePaulo, docteur en psychologie de l'Université de Californie. Pour son étude, il disposait de données provenant de plus de 800 recherches des 30 dernières années, concluant que les célibataires possédaient un plus grand sens de l'autodétermination, ce qui est essentiel pour leur développement personnel.


Données présentées au congrès annuel de l'APA

Ces résultats ont été présentés à la convention annuelle de l’American Psychological Association (APA), et ils vont à l'encontre de la croyance populaire selon laquelle se marier vous rend plus heureux et c'est ce que beaucoup de gens poursuivent.

Comme le dit Bella DePaulo au journal "The Independent", "des recherches montrent que les célibataires se sentent plus épanouis sur le plan personnel et que l'autosuffisance et l'autodétermination leur sont bénéfiques car ils éprouvent moins d'émotions négatives et sont plus forts mentalement et émotionnellement" .

  • Article connexe: "12 caractéristiques des personnes mentalement fortes"

Données d'étude

Cette étude est une compilation de différentes recherches effectuées au Royaume-Uni, les personnes ayant choisi de rester célibataires dans cette partie du monde ayant augmenté de 25% en 14 ans.

Bien que certains experts mettent en garde contre le danger de tout donner à une personne tout au long de la vie, DePaulo conclut que "les célibataires sont souvent discriminés et sont victimes de certains préjugés concernant l'unicité et le mariage". parce que, comme vous le voyez, les scientifiques disent qu’une vie dans le mariage ne vous rend pas plus heureux, bien au contraire.

Avantages d'être célibataire

Les avantages d'être célibataire sont nombreux. En ne partageant pas votre vie avec quelqu'un, vous avez également plus de temps pour vous investir. Si vous êtes assez intelligent pour comprendre que le mariage n'est rien de plus qu'une imposition sociale et que vous puissiez profiter de votre vie en célibataire, votre qualité de vie peut augmenter considérablement.

En résumé, les avantages d'être célibataire sont les suivants:

  • Cela vous permet de vous connaître : Beaucoup de personnes qui sont en couple dépendent tellement de leurs relations qu’elles ne prennent pas le temps d’apprécier qui elles sont vraiment et le grand potentiel qu’elles chérissent de faire ce qu’elles veulent. Ce n'est pas être égoïste, c'est avoir l'amour de soi. En fait, il y a beaucoup de gens qui sont en couple et tout ce qu'ils veulent, c'est de changer l'autre pour que ce soit comme il le souhaite. N'est-ce pas plus égoïste?
  • Parfait pour connaître le monde : Il se peut que vous ressentiez le besoin d'explorer le monde, mais quelqu'un vous lie. C'est idéal si l'autre personne veut aussi le faire, mais ce n'est pas facile à trouver. Lorsque vous êtes célibataire, vous vous rendez aux endroits que vous souhaitez visiter sans devoir l'expliquer à personne.
  • Vous investissez du temps en vous et cherchez votre réalisation personnelle : Vous avez du temps pour la personne qui vous aime le plus, vous-même. Rien ne t'empêche d'être qui tu veux être.
  • Vous n'avez pas de discussions continues : Si vous vous disputez avec quelqu'un, c'est avec vous-même. Si vous n'avez pas de partenaire, vous ne pouvez pas discuter de vos besoins et de vos motivations avec un autre. Vous décidez quoi et quand vous le ferez.
  • Vous appréciez plus d'amitiés : Certaines études montrent que les célibataires ont plus d'amitiés et ont plus de relations avec d'autres personnes.
Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ces avantages, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Est-il possible d’être célibataire et d’être heureux? Les 8 avantages de ne pas avoir de partenaire "

conclusion

Cela ne signifie pas que vous devriez rester célibataire pour toujours, pour éviter le malheur . Cela fait simplement référence au fait qu'être célibataire a ses vertus. Chacun est libre de prendre la décision qu'il souhaite et il est possible d'être heureux en couple. Selon cette étude, cependant, beaucoup de gens laissent de côté une partie d'eux-mêmes pour satisfaire leur partenaire, ce qui semble finalement les rendre moins heureux.

Vous pouvez être à deux si vous n’avez pas vraiment peur d’être célibataire et si vous avez trouvé une personne qui vous complète et qui vous respecte comme vous êtes. C'est ce qu'on appelle l'amour mature. Pour approfondir ce sujet, vous pouvez cliquer ici.


Vidéo : en Chine, célibataires par millions cherchent épouses désespérément (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes