yes, therapy helps!
Skype therapy: what are its benefits?

Skype therapy: what are its benefits?

October 1, 2022

The advancement of new technologies has allowed psychologists to get closer and closer to their patients without losing the quality of information and the confidence necessary for therapeutic benefits to occur. Nowadays, thanks to the use of the Internet, it is possible to reach more people, regardless of the distance that separates them and from the comfort of home, with the same effectiveness as face-to-face therapy.

One of the preferred options by many psychologists and patients to carry out the therapy online is Skype . In this article we will discuss the characteristics and benefits of this form of therapy.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

How Skype therapy works

Many patients, either for the convenience of conducting therapy sessions from home or for the impossibility of going to the therapeutic center, prefer remote psychotherapy. For less than a decade, some psychologists and even large psychology centers offer the therapy service via Skype .


The idea of ​​this type of therapy is the approach of a person who requires psychological help with a professional of Psychology, with the purpose that the latter will provide tools to restore well-being and improve their quality of life. Thanks to the technological advances of recent times, practically anyone has access to this software , which is easy to install, configure and, therefore, to start using.

Skype therapy sessions are conducted through video call, so it is necessary to have a series of requirements:

  • Computer or tablet
  • Webcam or microphone and speakers
  • Skype program installed

Performing Skype therapy is relatively simple, usually only have to meet these requirements and attend to some simple instructions by online psychologists to start with online therapy sessions.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy"

Scientific studies support the benefits of online therapy

There are more and more psychological centers that use this modality, since scientific studies have proven their effectiveness on multiple occasions. At some point in our existence, we have all felt that we are not at our best, and thanks to Skype therapy it is possible to access the online psychologist at any time and from anywhere.

A famous study, which was published in the Journal of Technology in Human Services in the year in 2008, showed that Online therapy helps many people overcome their difficulties or psychological problems , especially those related to anxiety and stress. To carry out the investigation, they had data of 9,764 subjects with different problems. After receiving the treatment, more than 50% of the patients said they had recovered and their quality of life and well-being increased significantly, so the researchers assured that the online treatment provides similar results to face-to-face treatment.


Later, a team of researchers from the University of Virginia, who published their results in the medical journal JAMA Psychiatry, observed in a study that more than half of people with insomnia and depression. The people who were analyzed experienced an improvement within a few weeks of receiving treatment .

Recently, another investigation, this time carried out by the University of Lancaster (United Kingdom), confirmed the improvement of 100 patients with bipolar disorder who received online psychotherapy sessions with Skype.

What are the benefits of Skype therapy?

Psychotherapy, either online or face-to-face, brings many benefits for patients : helps them to know themselves better, to recognize and modify their dysfunctional beliefs, to increase their emotional health and to make them feel better; facilitates these tools so that they can better handle everyday problems, interpersonal relationships and conflicts that may arise throughout their lives and, in general, empowers them in front of life, so that they can live in harmony with themselves and with the environment.

However, Online therapy also provides other benefits that face therapy does not offer . They are the following:

1. Access from anywhere

New technologies allow access from anywhere in the world and at any time, either from the computer, the tablet or the smartphone .

2. Anonymity

Since the patient does not have to go to the therapeutic center, he enjoys greater anonymity.

3. Greater time flexibility

Skype therapy facilitates time flexibility and is better suited to the needs of the patient.

4. Comfort

With this therapeutic modality, the patient does not have to travel Nor lose time in a waiting room.

5. Lower cost

The cost of this form of therapy is less than the cost of traditional therapy. Likewise, the patient saves costs derived from displacement.

6. Intimacy

When performed from the patient's own home, the patient may feel more comfortable perceiving that the situation is less threatening and, therefore, can open up more and increase confidence in their relationship with the psychologist.

7. Continuous monitoring

Those patients who want keep having contact with your trusted psychologist despite having to change city , they can do it thanks to new technologies and the use of Skype software.

Are you looking for trusted online psychologists?

Finding an online therapist is the first step in receiving online therapy. From Psychology and Mind we recommend the team of the Mensalus Institute of Barcelona, ​​considered as the best Psychology Center in Spain.

Mensalus Institute: the best online psychologists

Few clinics in Spain have the recognition and professional career of the Mensalus Institute, since their more than 30 years offering quality psychological assistance both in person (in Barcelona) and online guarantee it. In addition, this center offers personal growth workshops and post-graduate courses for psychologists, in collaboration with the most important university institutions in our country, which makes it a highly prestigious Psychology center.

The Mensalus Institute has an interdisciplinary team formed by psychologists, psychiatrists, neuropsychologists, psychopedagogues and speech therapists, all of them professionals of the highest level; and offers psychological therapy, brief therapy, personal coaching and specific consultations for adults, couples, families, adolescents and children. Thanks to online therapy, it contributes to improving the quality of life and well-being of people not only in the Barcelona area, but also around the globe.

Regarding online therapy, the first informative session is free, and it contains information about the patient's problems, conditions of service are explained and subsequent sessions are scheduled . This center guarantees effective, personalized and confidential care, and applies the most appropriate techniques to treat different problems (depression, anxiety, stress, couples and sexual therapy, etc.).

  • If you want more information about the Mensalus Institute, in this link you can find the contact information.

'15 Major Advantages Of Skype Therapy' (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie Skype: quels sont ses avantages?

Thérapie Skype: quels sont ses avantages?

Octobre 3, 2022

Les progrès des nouvelles technologies ont permis aux psychologues de se rapprocher de plus en plus de leurs patients sans perdre la qualité des informations et la confiance nécessaire pour que des avantages thérapeutiques se produisent. De nos jours, grâce à l’utilisation d’Internet, il est possible de toucher davantage de personnes, quelle que soit la distance qui les sépare et dans le confort de leur foyer, avec la même efficacité que la thérapie en face à face.

Skype est l’une des options préférées par de nombreux psychologues et patients pour effectuer le traitement en ligne. . Dans cet article, nous discuterons des caractéristiques et des avantages de cette forme de thérapie.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Comment fonctionne la thérapie Skype

De nombreux patients préfèrent la psychothérapie à distance, que ce soit pour faciliter les séances de thérapie à domicile ou pour se rendre au centre thérapeutique. Pour moins d'une décennie, certains psychologues et même de grands centres de psychologie offrent le service de thérapie via Skype .


L'idée de ce type de thérapie est l'approche d'une personne qui nécessite une aide psychologique auprès d'un professionnel de la psychologie, dans le but que ce dernier fournisse des outils pour restaurer le bien-être et améliorer sa qualité de vie. Grâce aux progrès technologiques récents, pratiquement tout le monde a accès à ce logiciel , facile à installer, à configurer et donc à utiliser.

Les sessions de thérapie Skype se déroulant par appel vidéo, il est donc nécessaire de répondre à une série d'exigences:

  • Ordinateur ou tablette
  • Webcam ou microphone et haut-parleurs
  • Programme Skype installé

Effectuer une thérapie Skype est relativement simple, il suffit généralement de répondre à ces exigences et de suivre quelques instructions simples données par des psychologues en ligne pour commencer les séances de thérapie en ligne.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 avantages de la thérapie psychologique"

Des études scientifiques confirment les avantages de la thérapie en ligne

De plus en plus de centres psychologiques utilisent cette modalité, des études scientifiques ayant prouvé leur efficacité à plusieurs reprises. À un moment donné de notre existence, nous avons tous senti que nous n'étions pas au mieux de notre forme et, grâce à la thérapie Skype, il est possible d'accéder au psychologue en ligne à tout moment et de n'importe où.

Une étude célèbre publiée dans le Journal de la technologie dans les services à la personne en 2008, a montré que La thérapie en ligne aide de nombreuses personnes à surmonter leurs difficultés ou leurs problèmes psychologiques , en particulier ceux liés à l’anxiété et au stress. Pour mener l'enquête, ils disposaient de données sur 9 764 sujets présentant différents problèmes. Après avoir reçu le traitement, plus de 50% des patients ont indiqué qu'ils s'étaient rétablis et que leur qualité de vie et leur bien-être augmentaient considérablement. Les chercheurs ont donc assuré que le traitement en ligne fournissait des résultats similaires à ceux du traitement en face à face.


Plus tard, une équipe de chercheurs de l’Université de Virginie, qui a publié ses résultats dans la revue médicale JAMA Psychiatrie, a observé dans une étude que plus de la moitié des personnes souffrant d’insomnie et de dépression. Les personnes analysées expérimentées une amélioration dans les quelques semaines suivant le traitement .

Récemment, une autre enquête, cette fois réalisée par l’Université de Lancaster (Royaume-Uni), a confirmé l’amélioration de 100 patients atteints de trouble bipolaire ayant bénéficié de séances de psychothérapie en ligne avec Skype.

Quels sont les avantages de la thérapie Skype?

Psychothérapie, en ligne ou en face à face, apporte de nombreux avantages pour les patients : les aide à mieux se connaître, à reconnaître et à modifier leurs croyances dysfonctionnelles, à améliorer leur santé émotionnelle et à se sentir mieux; facilite ces outils pour qu'ils puissent mieux gérer les problèmes quotidiens, les relations interpersonnelles et les conflits qui peuvent survenir tout au long de leur vie et, en général, les responsabilise face à la vie avec l'environnement.

Maintenant bien, La thérapie en ligne offre également d'autres avantages que la thérapie du visage n'offre pas . Ils sont les suivants:

1. Accès de n'importe où

Les nouvelles technologies permettent un accès depuis n’importe où dans le monde et à tout moment, soit depuis l'ordinateur, la tablette ou le smartphone .

2. anonymat

Le patient n'ayant pas à se rendre au centre thérapeutique, il bénéficie d'un plus grand anonymat.

3. Flexibilité accrue du temps

La thérapie Skype facilite la flexibilité du temps et est mieux adaptée aux besoins du patient.

4. confort

Avec cette modalité thérapeutique, le patient n'a pas à voyager Ni perdre du temps dans une salle d'attente.

5. Coût inférieur

Le coût de cette forme de thérapie est inférieur au coût de la thérapie traditionnelle. De même, le patient économise des coûts dérivés du déplacement.

6. Intimité

Lorsqu'il est exécuté à domicile du patient, celui-ci peut se sentir plus à l'aise de percevoir que la situation est moins menaçante et, par conséquent, peut s'ouvrir davantage et accroître la confiance dans ses relations avec le psychologue.

7. Surveillance continue

Les patients qui veulent rester en contact avec votre psychologue de confiance malgré le fait de devoir changer de ville , ils peuvent le faire grâce aux nouvelles technologies et à l’utilisation du logiciel Skype.

Vous recherchez des psychologues en ligne de confiance?

Trouver un thérapeute en ligne est la première étape pour recevoir un traitement en ligne. De la psychologie et de l'esprit, nous recommandons l'équipe de l'Institut Mensalus de Barcelone, considéré comme le meilleur centre de psychologie en Espagne.

Institut Mensalus: les meilleurs psychologues en ligne

En Espagne, peu de cliniques ont la reconnaissance et la carrière professionnelle de l’Institut Mensalus. Depuis plus de 30 ans, elles offrent une assistance psychologique de qualité à la fois en personne (à Barcelone) et en ligne. En outre, ce centre propose des ateliers de développement personnel et des cours de troisième cycle aux psychologues, en collaboration avec les plus importantes institutions universitaires de notre pays, ce qui en fait un centre de psychologie hautement prestigieux.

Institut Mensalus a une équipe interdisciplinaire formé de psychologues, psychiatres, neuropsychologues, psychopédagogues et orthophonistes, tous des professionnels du plus haut niveau; et offre une thérapie psychologique, une thérapie brève, un coaching personnel et des consultations spécifiques pour adultes, couples, familles, adolescents et enfants. Grâce à la thérapie en ligne, il contribue à améliorer la qualité de vie et le bien-être des personnes non seulement dans la région de Barcelone, mais également dans le monde entier.

En ce qui concerne la thérapie en ligne, la première session d’information est gratuite et contient des informations sur les problèmes du patient, les conditions de service sont expliquées et les sessions suivantes programmées . Ce centre garantit des soins efficaces, personnalisés et confidentiels, et applique les techniques les plus appropriées pour traiter différents problèmes (dépression, anxiété, stress, thérapie de couple et sexuelle, etc.).

  • Si vous souhaitez plus d’informations sur l’Institut Mensalus, vous trouverez dans ce lien les informations de contact.

coaching ce qui se passe dans le cerveau des ados (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes