yes, therapy helps!
Sleep paralysis: definition, symptoms and causes

Sleep paralysis: definition, symptoms and causes

July 18, 2024

At the end of the 18th century, the painter Johan Heinrich Füssli He finished one of his most emblematic works.

The painting, based on a painting by Giulio Romano, shows a sleeping woman who has a demon sitting on her belly while the head of a horse appears among the fabrics that form the background for the scene. It produced a quite common sleep disorder: sleep paralysis .

What is sleep paralysis?

The oneiric and dark ambience of this work called The nightmare makes the picture a perfect illustration of what could be one of the beasts of medieval European mythology: the incubus , a demon that is associated with the world of nightmares and that supposedly has sexual relations with women who, being between sleep and wakefulness, lie motionless without being able to do anything.


Today, some researchers believe that the mythology behind the figure of the incubus and its feminine alter ego, the succubus, is in fact a supernatural interpretation of a sleep disorder perfectly documented scientifically.

This disorder is called sleep paralysis , and the picture of Füssli expresses very well the sensations that are experienced while this curious phenomenon occurs.

What happen? symptom

The name of the sleep paralysis is quite descriptive: is a sleep disorder in which the person is unable to perform any voluntary movement . This means that, for a short period of time, someone who experiences sleep paralysis will go through a state of consciousness between sleep and wakefulness and will only be able to see what is happening around them, without being able to perform practically any physical action. You will be able to perceive what is happening around you in the place where you have laid to rest, but you will not be able to move or ask for help.


Of course, sleep paralysis does not affect vital functions such as breathing and heartbeat, since these movements are involuntary. However, that does not mean it is a very unpleasant and generating anxiety.

In addition, it is common to have the feeling of suffocation or having difficulty breathing, but it is only a consequence of not being able to consciously control the muscles, and there is no real risk of drowning.

Sleep paralysis can occur with other factors of a subjective nature, such as hallucinations or the sensation of having strange or threatening presences nearby that stalk the paralyzed person. This is mainly due to the fact that it appears in a phase of transition between sleep and wakefulness.

Common causes

In general terms, sleep paralysis is due to a lack of coordination between some areas of the brain and the part of the nervous system responsible for sending orders to the muscles which can be controlled voluntarily. This means that, although the person has regained consciousness and has awakened, their muscles are still not "connected" to the brain, because they remain in the inert state that occurs during the REM phase of sleep, while we dream.


During the REM phase , the fact of having the muscles isolated from what happens in our consciousness is useful, because otherwise we would move in body in function of everything that happens in our dreams.

However, this utility disappears in cases of sleep paralysis and the mechanism responsible for separating muscles and consciousness turns against us. Luckily, this is solved in a short time, usually after a few seconds. In any case, when this phenomenon appears in a state of transition between wakefulness and sleep, the perception of time could be somewhat altered.

Who can this happen to?

The different studies on the prevalence of sleep paralysis indicate that they are rare cases taking into account the number of times a person is put to sleep throughout their life, but the number of people who will experience this parasomnia at some point of his life could be a majority. In particular, approximately 60% of the population could go through a sleep paralysis .

However, the negative effects of sleep paralysis are found in the subjectivity and sensations experienced by the person experiencing it, so the fact of having read something about this disorder could make this situation more bearable.

In any case, the fundamental thing is that although sleep paralysis is usually experienced in an unpleasant way, in normal situations it is not a source of danger, nor does it lead to suffocation, although sometimes the lack of control over one's movements generates that fear to stop breathing (automated process by the nervous system itself and that does not depend on voluntary acts).

Bibliographic references:

  • American Sleep Disorders Association. International Classification of Sleep Disorders: Diagnostic and Coding Manual, In Press. 1990.
  • Teculescu, D.B .; Mauffret-Stephan, E., Gaultier, C .: Familial predisposition to snoring. (Letter) Thorax, 1994.

What is Narcolepsy? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Paralysie du sommeil: définition, symptômes et causes

Paralysie du sommeil: définition, symptômes et causes

Décembre 9, 2021

À la fin du 18ème siècle, le peintre Johan Heinrich Füssli Il a terminé l'une de ses œuvres les plus emblématiques.

La peinture, basée sur un tableau de Giulio Romano, montre une femme endormie qui a un démon assis sur son ventre tandis qu'une tête de cheval apparaît parmi les tissus qui forment le fond de la scène. Cela produisit un trouble du sommeil assez commun: paralysie du sommeil .

Qu'est-ce que la paralysie du sommeil?

L’ambiance onirique et sombre de cette œuvre appelée Le cauchemar fait de la photo une illustration parfaite de ce qui pourrait être l’une des bêtes de la mythologie européenne médiévale: incube , un démon associé au monde des cauchemars et qui aurait des relations sexuelles avec des femmes qui, étant entre sommeil et veille, sont immobiles sans pouvoir rien faire.


Aujourd'hui, certains chercheurs pensent que la mythologie à la base de la figure de l'incube et de son alter ego féminin, la succube, est en fait une interprétation surnaturelle d'un trouble du sommeil parfaitement documentée scientifiquement.

Ce trouble s'appelle paralysie du sommeil et le tableau de Füssli exprime très bien les sensations éprouvées pendant que se produit ce phénomène curieux.

Que se passe-t-il? Les symptômes

Le nom de la paralysie du sommeil est assez descriptif: est un trouble du sommeil dans lequel la personne est incapable d'accomplir un mouvement volontaire . Cela signifie que, pendant une courte période, une personne qui souffre de paralysie du sommeil passera par un état de conscience entre le sommeil et la veille et ne pourra voir que ce qui se passe autour d’elle, sans pouvoir effectuer pratiquement aucune action physique. Vous serez en mesure de percevoir ce qui se passe autour de vous à l'endroit où vous vous êtes assis, mais vous ne pourrez ni vous déplacer ni demander de l'aide.


Bien entendu, la paralysie du sommeil n’affecte pas les fonctions vitales telles que la respiration et le rythme cardiaque, ces mouvements étant involontaires. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que c'est une anxiété très désagréable et génératrice.

De plus, il est courant d'avoir la sensation d'étouffement ou d'avoir de la difficulté à respirer, mais cela ne résulte que de l'impossibilité de contrôler consciemment les muscles et il n'y a pas de risque réel de noyade.

La paralysie du sommeil peut survenir avec d'autres facteurs de nature subjective, tels que des hallucinations ou la sensation d'avoir des présences étranges ou menaçantes à proximité qui traquent la personne paralysée. Cela est principalement dû au fait qu’il apparaît dans une phase de transition entre le sommeil et la veille.

Causes communes

En termes généraux, la paralysie du sommeil est due à un manque de coordination entre certaines zones du cerveau et la partie du système nerveux responsable de l'envoi des ordres aux muscles qui peut être contrôlé volontairement. Cela signifie que, bien que la personne ait repris conscience et se soit réveillée, leurs muscles ne sont toujours pas "connectés" au cerveau, car ils restent dans l'état inerte qui se produit pendant la phase de sommeil paradoxal, pendant que nous rêvons.


Pendant la Phase REM , le fait d’isoler les muscles de ce qui se passe dans notre conscience est utile, car sinon nous bougerions dans notre corps en fonction de tout ce qui se passe dans nos rêves.

Cependant, cette utilité disparaît en cas de paralysie du sommeil et le mécanisme responsable de la séparation des muscles et de la conscience se retourne contre nous. Heureusement, le problème est résolu rapidement, généralement après quelques secondes. En tout état de cause, lorsque ce phénomène apparaît dans un état de transition entre éveil et sommeil, la perception du temps peut être quelque peu altérée.

À qui cela peut-il arriver?

Les différentes études sur la prévalence de la paralysie du sommeil indiquent qu'il s'agit de cas rares, compte tenu du nombre de fois où une personne est endormie tout au long de sa vie, mais du nombre de personnes qui connaîtront cette parasomnie à un moment donné. de sa vie pourrait être une majorité. En particulier, environ 60% de la population pourrait avoir une paralysie du sommeil .

Cependant, les effets négatifs de la paralysie du sommeil se retrouvent dans la subjectivité et les sensations ressenties par la personne qui en fait l'expérience. Le fait d'avoir lu quelque chose à propos de ce trouble pourrait donc rendre cette situation plus supportable.

En tout état de cause, l’essentiel est que, bien que la paralysie du sommeil soit généralement vécue de manière désagréable, elle n’est pas, en temps normal, une source de danger et ne conduit pas à la suffocation, bien que parfois le manque de contrôle de ses mouvements génère cette peur d'arrêter de respirer (processus automatisé par le système nerveux lui-même et qui ne dépend pas d'actes volontaires).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine des troubles du sommeil. Classification internationale des troubles du sommeil: Manuel de diagnostic et de codage, sous presse. 1990
  • Teculescu, D.B.; Mauffret-Stephan, E., Gaultier, C.: prédisposition familiale au ronflement. (Lettre) Thorax, 1994.

REPÉRER UN AVC (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes