yes, therapy helps!
Slow Cognitive Tempo: causes and related disorders

Slow Cognitive Tempo: causes and related disorders

January 25, 2022

Although it was previously believed that the slow cognitive tempo (TCL) was a subtype of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) with predominance of inattention symptoms, it is now known that it is a differentiated syndrome that manifests itself in other psychopathological alterations.

In this article we will describe the clinical characteristics, the causes of slow cognitive tempo and its relation to other disorders . The research around this set of symptoms is in the initial stage, but it has been advancing at an important speed for some years.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is the Slow Cognitive Tempo?

The concept "slow cognitive tempo" refers to a cognitive-emotional style that is characterized mainly by the continued presence of a state of confusion, lost eyesight, daydreaming, lack of motivation and slowness or laziness. If these manifestations are understood as symptoms, we can conceptualize the LCL as a syndrome.


In addition to these five cardinal signs, it is usual to also detect the following in people with slow cognitive tempo:

  • Low accuracy and speed in information processing.
  • Frequent appearance of fatigue sensations, or chronic fatigue.
  • Relatively low levels of energy and activity.
  • Drowsiness during the day.
  • Difficulties to maintain the alert or the wakefulness in little stimulating situations.
  • Withdrawal, lower interest and participation in activities.
  • Difficulties to transform thoughts into words.
  • Loss of the thread of thought, blocks by forgetting when speaking.

Initially it was believed that the slow cognitive tempo was a subtype of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in which the symptoms of inattention predominated. The advance of scientific research has shown that it is in fact an independent clinical category, although there is no agreement as to whether it is a disorder or not.


In this sense, the clinical characteristics of the slow cognitive tempo appear in the context of various psychological disorders and psychiatric, among which are major depression, generalized anxiety, intellectual functional diversity or different disorders related to learning, in addition to ADHD.

  • Related article: "Attention deficit or selective attention in ADHD"

Causes of this syndrome

The causes of the slow cognitive tempo are not known in depth at the moment. It is believed, however, that the nerve networks associated with the attention of the back of the brain , in the parietal lobes, they are more associated to this syndrome than the frontal lobes, as in the case of ADHD.

On the other hand, it has been discovered that exposure to high amounts of alcohol during fetal development favors the appearance of these neurocognitive signs.


The slow cognitive tempo seems to have a biological basis similar to that of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder . However, the heritability of ADHD is greater in the subtype in which the symptoms of hyperactivity predominate.

In contrast, cases of ADHD that are related to the presence of slow cognitive tempo are those that have a lower weight of genetic inheritance. It has been hypothesized that this style of thought and emotion arises as a result of changes in environmental influences caused by the very presence of inattentive symptoms.

Relationship with other disorders

Currently there is an unresolved debate about the clinical nature of the slow cognitive tempo. Its correlation with other psychological disorders may shed some light in this regard.

1. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder

The investigations indicate that between 30 and 50% of children diagnosed with ADHD show the characteristic syndrome of slow cognitive tempo. The clinical similarities between this pattern and ADHD with predominance of inattention are significant, but both constructs differ in some neurological and cognitive characteristics.

For many experts the increased interest in the slow cognitive tempo is an opportunity to question the very diagnosis of ADHD, which encompasses very diverse manifestations and became restrictive in the area of ​​inattention in the passage from DSM-III to DSM -IV, but gains explanatory capacity if the TCL is included among the criteria.

2. Major depression

Has been found a clear association between the slow cognitive tempo and the presence of internalization symptoms , particularly those that are characteristic of mood and anxiety disorders.

Although this relationship has a modest intensity, it is somewhat more powerful in the case of depression than in that of anxiety. In addition, some authors argue that the slow cognitive tempo is associated to a greater extent with internalization than with ADHD.

3. Anxiety disorders

Regarding the category of anxiety disorders, comorbidities have been found between slow cognitive time and alterations like social phobia, obsessive thoughts and especially generalized anxiety disorder, which is closely connected to depression from a biological point of view.

The signs of inattention mediate the relationship between anxiety disorders and the slow cognitive tempo: the difficulties in attending to the TCL are increased by the effects of anxiety, which itself involves alterations in this psychological function.

4. Behavioral disorders

Children and adolescents with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder are more likely to develop behavioral problems, such as conduct disorder, negative-defiant disorder or substance abuse. However, in the cases that occur with slow cognitive tempo this relationship is reduced; so, the TCL acts as a protection factor .

5. Learning difficulties

The slow cognitive tempo interferes with learning through the appearance of Deficits in self-organization and problem solving , as well as in other executive functions. The severity of the associated difficulties depends on the intensity of the symptoms in each specific case.

Bibliographic references:

  • Camprodon, E., Duñó, L., Batlle, S., Estrada, X., Aceña, M., Brown, M., Torrubia, R., Pujals, E., Martin, LM & Ribas-Fitó, N. (2013). Slow cognitive time: revision of a construct. Journal of Psychopathology and Clinical Psychology, 18 (2): 151-168.
  • Mueller, A. K., Tucha, L., Koerts, J., Groen, T., Lange, K. W. & Tucha, O. (2014). Sluggish cognitive tempo and its neurocognitive, social and emotive correlates: a systematic review of the current literature. Journal of Molecular Psychiatry, 2: 5.

Attention Disorders Q&A (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ralentissement du tempo cognitif: causes et troubles associés

Ralentissement du tempo cognitif: causes et troubles associés

Juillet 22, 2022

Alors que l'on croyait auparavant que le tempo cognitif lent (LCT) était un sous-type de trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH) avec prédominance de symptômes d'inattention, on sait maintenant qu'il s'agit d'un syndrome différencié qui se manifeste ailleurs altérations psychopathologiques.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques cliniques, les causes de la lenteur du rythme cognitif et sa relation avec d'autres troubles . La recherche autour de cet ensemble de symptômes en est à sa phase initiale, mais elle progresse à une vitesse importante depuis quelques années.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Quel est le tempo cognitif lent?

Le concept de "tempo cognitif lent" fait référence à un style cognitivo-émotionnel caractérisé principalement par la présence continue d'un confusion, perte de la vue, rêverie, manque de motivation et lenteur ou la paresse. Si ces manifestations sont comprises comme des symptômes, nous pouvons conceptualiser le LCL comme un syndrome.


En plus de ces cinq signes cardinaux, il est habituel de détecter également les facteurs suivants chez les personnes présentant un tempo cognitif lent:

  • Faible précision et rapidité de traitement de l'information.
  • Apparition fréquente de sensations de fatigue, ou fatigue chronique.
  • Niveau relativement bas d'énergie et d'activité.
  • Somnolence pendant la journée.
  • Difficultés à maintenir l'alerte ou l'état de veille dans des situations peu stimulantes.
  • Retrait, moindre intérêt et participation aux activités.
  • Difficultés à transformer des pensées en mots.
  • Perte du fil de la pensée, bloque en oubliant quand on parle.

Au départ, on croyait que le tempo cognitif lent était un sous-type de trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention dans lequel prédominaient les symptômes d'inattention. Les progrès de la recherche scientifique ont montré qu’il s’agissait en réalité d’une catégorie clinique indépendante, même s’il n’ya pas d’accord sur le point de savoir s’il s’agit ou non d’un trouble.


En ce sens, les caractéristiques cliniques du tempo cognitif lent apparaissent dans le contexte de divers troubles psychologiques et psychiatrique, parmi lesquels la dépression majeure, l’anxiété généralisée, la diversité fonctionnelle intellectuelle ou différents troubles liés à l’apprentissage, en plus du TDAH.

  • Article connexe: "Déficit de l'attention ou attention sélective dans le TDAH"

Causes de ce syndrome

Les causes de la lenteur du rythme cognitif ne sont pas connues en profondeur pour le moment. On pense cependant que les réseaux nerveux associés à l'attention de l'arrière du cerveau , dans les lobes pariétaux, ils sont plus associés à ce syndrome que les lobes frontaux, comme dans le cas du TDAH.

D'autre part, il a été découvert que l'exposition à de grandes quantités d'alcool pendant le développement du fœtus favorise l'apparition de ces signes neurocognitifs.


Le tempo cognitif lent semble avoir une base biologique similaire à celle du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention . Cependant, l'héritabilité du TDAH est plus grande dans le sous-type dans lequel les symptômes d'hyperactivité prédominent.

En revanche, les cas de TDAH liés à la présence d’un ralentissement du rythme cognitif sont ceux qui ont un poids héréditaire plus faible. On a émis l’hypothèse que ce style de pensée et d’émotion découle de changements dans les influences environnementales causés par la présence même de symptômes inattentifs.

Relation avec d'autres troubles

Il existe actuellement un débat non résolu sur la nature clinique du tempo cognitif lent. Sa corrélation avec d’autres troubles psychologiques pourrait nous éclairer à cet égard.

1. Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

Les enquêtes indiquent que entre 30 et 50% des enfants diagnostiqués avec le TDAH montrer le syndrome caractéristique du tempo cognitif lent. Les similitudes cliniques entre ce schéma et le TDAH avec prédominance d'inattention sont significatives, mais les deux constructions diffèrent par certaines caractéristiques neurologiques et cognitives.

Pour de nombreux experts, l'intérêt accru pour le lent rythme cognitif est une occasion de remettre en question le diagnostic même du TDAH, qui englobe des manifestations très diverses et est devenu restrictif en matière d'inattention lors du passage du DSM-III au DSM. -IV, mais gagne une capacité explicative si le THC est inclus parmi les critères.

2. dépression majeure

Il a été trouvé une association claire entre le tempo cognitif lent et la présence de symptômes d'internalisation , en particulier ceux qui sont caractéristiques des troubles de l'humeur et de l'anxiété.

Bien que cette relation ait une intensité modeste, elle est un peu plus puissante dans le cas de la dépression que dans celui de l’anxiété. En outre, certains auteurs soutiennent que le tempo cognitif lent est davantage associé à l’internalisation qu’au TDAH.

3. Troubles anxieux

En ce qui concerne la catégorie des troubles anxieux, des comorbidités ont été trouvées entre temps cognitif lent et altérations. comme la phobie sociale, les pensées obsessionnelles et en particulier le trouble d'anxiété généralisé, étroitement lié à la dépression d'un point de vue biologique.

Les signes d’inattention jouent un rôle dans la relation entre les troubles anxieux et le ralentissement du rythme cognitif: les difficultés d’assistance au THC sont aggravées par les effets de l’anxiété, qui entraîne elle-même des modifications de cette fonction psychologique.

4. Troubles du comportement

Les enfants et les adolescents présentant un trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention sont plus susceptibles de développer des problèmes de comportement, tels qu'un trouble des conduites, un trouble de défi négatif ou une toxicomanie. Cependant, dans les cas qui se produisent avec un rythme cognitif lent, cette relation est réduite; pourtant, le TCL agit comme un facteur de protection .

5. Difficultés d'apprentissage

La lenteur du rythme cognitif nuit à l’apprentissage par l’apparition de Déficits en auto-organisation et résolution de problèmes , ainsi que dans d’autres fonctions exécutives. La gravité des difficultés associées dépend de l'intensité des symptômes dans chaque cas particulier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Camprodon, E., Duñó, L., Batlle, S., Estrada, X., Aceña, M., Brown, M., R. Torrubia, E., Pujals, E., Martin, LM et Ribas-Fitó, N. (2013). Temps cognitif lent: révision d'un construit. Journal de psychopathologie et de psychologie clinique, 18 (2): 151-168.
  • Mueller, A. K., Tucha, L., Koerts, J., Groen, T., Lange, K. W. et Tucha, O. (2014). Tempo cognitif lent et ses corrélats neurocognitifs, sociaux et émotionnels: une revue systématique de la littérature actuelle. Journal of Molecular Psychiatry, 2: 5.

Alcoholism - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes