yes, therapy helps!
Snow White syndrome:

Snow White syndrome: "mirror, mirror ..."

July 22, 2022

We live in a society in which one of the most valued attributes is the physical appearance . Many women (and also some men) are not able to accept the appearance of the first wrinkles, and try to disguise their age.

With the passage of time, age leaves its mark , and the unhappiness becomes increasingly greater for them, since they can not bear to see how their physical appearance changes. After 40, they leave behind that beauty characteristic of their youth and frustration and anxiety appear.

The Blancanienves Syndrome: what is it?

In our article "The Syndrome of Peter Pan and Wendy: Trapped in Never Never" we speak of two disorders that have the origin of his name in two characters of Disney . In this article, we will expose the characteristics of Snow White syndrome .


The Snow White Syndrome refers to the distortion of the image that a person has of himself with respect to his youth, beauty or qualities characteristic of this stage of life, and the envy that the person feels toward younger people and that he considers to be more attractive.

Betsy Cohen, an American psychotherapist, coined the term in one of her books. Although this disorder is not part of the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), psychologists pay more and more attention to their symptoms, which usually appear in many women when they are over 40 years old.

Although this syndrome is more common in women, some cases have also been reported in men.


The Snow White Syndrome: insecurity and envy

The name of this syndrome is inspired by the Queen Grimhilde , the evil stepmother of Snow White. This does not support that there is someone more beautiful than her, and feels a great envy for the young and beautiful Snow White. The wicked and vain stepmother, asks Humbert, a hunter, to end the life of his stepdaughter and bring her his heart.

Since Humbert refuses to kill her, Queen Grimhilde disguises herself as an old woman and goes in search of Snow White, to kill her herself with a poisoned apple. The envy that Queen Grimahalde feels, makes her not only want to kill an enemy, but her goal is to end the life of a family member.

The person who suffers from this disorder, like the Disney character, feel insecurity about their own image and he is afraid of old age, unless he looks as before, and does not accept the physical consequences of the passage of time. This insecurity causes that he feels envy towards young and attractive people and can go on to emotionally attack (in some cases it can be physically), with constant humiliations, the person object of his envy.


Many of these cases occur between mother and daughter , but it can also occur between mothers-in-law and daughters-in-law, between sisters, between friends and at work. The great frustration felt by the person affected by the Snow White Syndrome, negatively affects their well-being and causes depression and anxiety.

Some consequences of the low tolerance to age, make him a person obsessed with his physical image, being able to reach cosmetic surgery to keep looking young. Despite his age, wants to remain a "twenty-year-old" and dresses as if she were still in the early 20's . Also, try to have many relationships with men to feel young, beautiful and desired.

Symptoms of Snow White Syndrome

Below we expose the symptoms more than manifested by a person suffering from Snow White Syndrome:

  • Anxiety and depression for not accepting the fear of getting old.
  • Envy and competitive desire before younger and beautiful women.
  • Obsession for health and physical beauty.
  • Frequent flirtations with men (most of them younger) due to the constant search for approval of their physical appearance.
  • Fear of being single and searching for a new partner after the breakup sentimental.
  • Envy towards women who lead a satisfying couple life.
  • Distortion of self-concept and low self-esteem.
  • Obsession to maintain the appearance of youth, coming to cosmetic surgery in many cases.
  • Sadness to remember the lost youth and the qualities of that age that are already lost.

How to overcome the Snow White Syndrome?

The irrational beliefs Due to the social pressure these people feel they can cause these women (and some men) to need psychological help. To get out of this situation, it is necessary to work self-knowledge, self-acceptance and self-concept improvement to reduce anxious symptoms . The change of dysfunctional beliefs is necessary to restore well-being and reduce frustration.

Behavioral Cognitive Therapy, Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Mindfulness or Emotional Intelligence, can be effective forms of therapy for the treatment of this syndrome.


Mirror Mirror - Treatment (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le syndrome de Blanche-Neige:

Le syndrome de Blanche-Neige: "miroir, miroir ..."

Novembre 18, 2022

Nous vivons dans une société dans laquelle l’un des attributs les plus précieux est le apparence physique . Beaucoup de femmes (et aussi certains hommes) ne sont pas capables d’accepter l’apparition des premières rides et tentent de dissimuler leur âge.

Au fil du temps, l'âge laisse sa marque et le malheur devient de plus en plus grand pour eux, car ils ne peuvent pas supporter de voir comment leur apparence physique change. Après 40 ans, ils laissent derrière eux cette beauté caractéristique de leur jeunesse. La frustration et l'anxiété apparaissent.

Le syndrome de Blancanienves: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Dans notre article "Le Syndrome de Peter Pan et Wendy: Pris au piège de Jamais Jamais", nous parlons de deux troubles qui ont pour origine son nom en deux caractères de Disney . Dans cet article, nous exposerons les caractéristiques de Syndrome de Blanche Neige .


Le syndrome Blanche-Neige fait référence à la déformation de l'image qu'une personne a de soi-même en ce qui concerne sa jeunesse, sa beauté ou les qualités qui caractérisent cette étape de sa vie, et à l'envie que ressent une personne envers les plus jeunes. et qu'il considère comme plus attrayant.

Betsy Cohen, une psychothérapeute américaine, a inventé le terme dans l'un de ses livres. Bien que ce trouble ne fasse pas partie du DSM-5 (Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux), les psychologues accordent de plus en plus d’attention à leurs symptômes, qui apparaissent généralement chez de nombreuses femmes âgées de plus de 40 ans.

Bien que ce syndrome soit plus fréquent chez les femmes, certains cas ont également été rapportés chez les hommes.


Le syndrome de Blanche-Neige: insécurité et envie

Le nom de ce syndrome est inspiré par le Reine grimhilde , la méchante belle-mère de Blanche-Neige. Cela ne prouve pas qu’il existe une personne plus belle qu’elle et elle suscite une grande envie pour la jeune et belle Blanche-Neige. La belle et méchante belle-mère demande à Humbert, un chasseur, de mettre fin à la vie de sa belle-fille et de lui apporter son cœur.

Comme Humbert refuse de la tuer, la reine Grimhilde se déguise en vieille femme et part à la recherche de Blanche-Neige pour la tuer elle-même avec une pomme empoisonnée. L’envie de la reine Grimahalde la pousse non seulement à tuer un ennemi, mais aussi à mettre fin à la vie d’un membre de sa famille.

La personne qui souffre de ce trouble, comme le personnage de Disney, ressentir de l'insécurité à propos de leur propre image et il a peur de la vieillesse, à moins qu'il ne paraisse comme avant et qu'il n'accepte pas les conséquences physiques du temps qui passe. Cette insécurité fait en sorte qu'il ressent de l'envie envers des personnes jeunes et attrayantes et qu'il peut ensuite attaquer émotionnellement (dans certains cas, ce peut être physiquement), avec des humiliations constantes, la personne objet de son envie.


Beaucoup de ces cas se produisent entre la mère et la fille , mais cela peut aussi se produire entre belles-mères et belles-filles, entre soeurs, entre amis et au travail. La grande frustration ressentie par la personne touchée par le syndrome de Blanche-Neige affecte négativement son bien-être et provoque une dépression et une anxiété.

Certaines conséquences de la faible tolérance à l’âge font de lui une personne obsédée par son image physique, capable d’atteindre la chirurgie esthétique pour rester jeune. Malgré son âge, veut rester "à vingt ans" et s'habille comme si elle était encore au début de la vingtaine . Essayez également d’avoir de nombreuses relations avec les hommes pour vous sentir jeune, belle et désirée.

Symptômes du syndrome de Blanche-Neige

Ci-dessous, nous exposons les symptômes davantage que ceux manifestés par une personne atteinte du syndrome de Blanche-Neige:

  • Anxiété et dépression pour ne pas accepter la peur de vieillir.
  • Envie et désir compétitif devant les femmes jeunes et belles.
  • Obsession pour la santé et la beauté physique.
  • Flirt fréquent avec des hommes (la plupart d'entre eux plus jeunes) en raison de la recherche constante d'approbation de leur apparence physique.
  • Peur d'être célibataire et de chercher un nouveau partenaire après la rupture sentimentale.
  • Envie envers les femmes qui mènent une vie de couple satisfaisante.
  • Déformation du concept de soi et faible estime de soi.
  • Obsession de maintenir l'apparence de la jeunesse, venant dans de nombreux cas à la chirurgie esthétique.
  • Tristesse de se souvenir de la jeunesse perdue et des qualités de cet âge déjà perdues.

Comment vaincre le syndrome de Blanche-Neige?

Le croyances irrationnelles En raison de la pression sociale que ces personnes ressentent, elles peuvent faire en sorte que ces femmes (et certains hommes) aient besoin d'une aide psychologique. Pour sortir de cette situation, il est nécessaire de travailler sur la connaissance de soi, l'acceptation de soi et l'amélioration de la conception de soi pour réduire les symptômes anxieux . Le changement de croyances dysfonctionnelles est nécessaire pour rétablir le bien-être et réduire la frustration.

La thérapie cognitive comportementale, la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement, la pleine conscience ou l'intelligence émotionnelle peuvent être des formes efficaces de thérapie pour le traitement de ce syndrome.


Miroir Magique au Mur ou Miroir miroir (Effet Mandela) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes